Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Gross Heating & Air Conditioning Inc

Founded 1925 • With Angi since May 2000

4.9

(294) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

3260 N 126th St

Brookfield, WI 53005

Description

Gross Heating and Air Conditioning has been serving Milwaukee and the surrounding suburbs since 1925 with quality service, HVAC repair, and installations. Our work goes far beyond the basic residential and commercial heating and cooling systems. We can design any type of energy-efficient indoor

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

12/02/2020


Gwen S.

Really really great. Always on time and professional. Give good instruction.

Description of Work
Installed new furnace and HVAC Maintenance

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

1.0

07/02/2020


Jeff N.

This is an update to my earlier review. I've docked them two stars (that is, the average of this "F" and the earlier "A" is a "C") because, in retrospect, the installation had several issues and problems they should have caught. Specifically: the control box for the zoning system did not correctly operate the dampers, leaving air flowing to the first floor even when the first floor thermostat was not calling for air. When the system was installed, it was definitely an improvement over the non-zone system it replaced, so we didn't really know that that excess airflow should not have been happening. Over time, however, it seemed to grow worse--and despite having Gross out a couple of times, they never addressed this. In fact, when we called them for a quotation to replace our A/C unit, even though we specifically mentioned this problem, they made no particular suggestions on fixing it nor did they check the control box. It was only when we had the new A/C/ unit installed and tuned by another company that the faulty set-up was discovered and corrected. So: first, Gross installed the system incorrectly, and then, despite our complaints about the flow imbalance, did not investigate deeply enough to solve the problem and, even in soliciting a quote for a new, more effective A/C system, still did not think to check why our current setup (which they installed) was not working properly. As A/C experts, they should have known that such excess airflow indicated a problem and was not how the zone system was supposed to work.

Description of Work
furnace-a/c installation

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, air duct cleaning

5.0

03/05/2020


Ruth S. A.

I like several things about them. They really know their information. They could explain to us why our heating is in a bad shape. It was a gas heater and inside it it has a burner. That's why we called them in the first place. The equipment they put in was quality. The people who live there are very happy. We use them now to tune up our furnace. We call them first. They offer equipment in several different price points. They answer question very thoroughly. They are very good explainers.

Description of Work
It was 2013, we moved but before we moved we replaced the heating and air conditioning unit.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

09/27/2019


mary D.

They were great.. Had have them forever. Always been fine.

Description of Work
Hvac maintenance

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

08/21/2018


Donna S.

I called to request service on the central air. A service man was at my door in half an hour. Talk about speedy service. The service man replenished the freon and did a check up and cleaning.

Description of Work
Air conditioner was not cooling.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

08/06/2018


Ilze B.

From selling to the install, Gross Heating did an excellent job. When Jeff first came to the house to give us a quote, he was very accommodating and laid out all the options so we could make our best selections for a new furnace and a/c. The installers arrived on time. The first thing they told me was that they were working for me and their job that day was to keep me happy and they did! The install itself went very smoothly overall. Mike explained how to operate the equipment to us in terms we could understand. The job site was thoroughly cleaned up before they left. I called the office to arrange for payment and the office staff member was very cordial. Everyone in the company behaved professionally and are just nice people. Gross Heating did an excellent job and I highly recommend them. The air-conditioning unit works so much better than our old one. This one dehumidifies without getting the temp too cold in the house. It is so very quiet too. Love the easy to use thermostat. Its summer, so no comment on the heating capabilities. Cost listed is before the various rebates are applied.

Description of Work
Replacement of Gas Furnace and Central A/C

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

06/21/2018


James S.

Mike the technician arrived promptly as scheduled and did a terrific job replacing my very old, outdated central air unit. Also repaired 3 base registers that were not secured properly to the walls. Mike had to fabricate some sheet metal parts to make registers fit. Work areas were protected and everything was left clean and tidy when finished.

Description of Work
Replace 30 year old central air unit. Repair 3 base registers.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, metal restoration

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the review. Glad Mike could help you out with the three registers.
5.0

06/18/2018


Mary D.

Highly trustworthy! Had they not responded as quickly as the did we would have needed to replace our furnace for sure.

Description of Work
Furnace repair

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

12/04/2017


Harriett B.

He arrived promptly, explained what was needed and completed the repairs. Since the furnace was still under warranty, there was no charge. I have a 10 year parts and labor warranty.

Description of Work
Furnace tune up and repair of a condensate line that was broken. Furnace was still under warranty.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

4.0

11/15/2017


Anthony N.

I had a furnace that was in the brink. They put in some new coils and stuff like that. They didn't completely solve the problem. I'm still having the problem with the same stupid furnace. Nobody's been able to solve it. Their suggestion to me was to change out the furnace, which is not really cost effective for rental real estate depending on where you are. Incomplete. It didn't solve the problem. It just patched the problem.

Description of Work
They provided repair services for a furnace.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

11/01/2017


Maxine S.

The repair was made quickly and at a fair price. Everything was clearly explained.

Description of Work
Furnace repair.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

10/31/2017


Jeff N.

Very effective—installation was timely and efficient

Description of Work
We hired Gross to install a new furnace and reconfigure our heating system. Specifically, we wanted to solve the problem of ineffective heating and A/C on the second floor. Gross suggested a zoning system whereby heating and cooling could be directed variably according to independent thermostats. This has solved our problem.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

09/21/2017


Randy R.

The process from quote to installation was professional and delivered on my expectations. I obtained four quotes from reputable contractors on Angie's list and they gave me the best value for a new air conditioner. They arrived on time and completed the work in a half day. Just in time for Indian Summer.

Description of Work
Replace an existing air conditioner that had defective coils.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

09/20/2017


JULIE M.

Gross Heating was very professional from the initial office contact, to the salesperson, and lastly, the installer. The dehumidifier is exactly what I wanted and has done a great job bringing the humidity level down below 50% throughout the entire basement. I wish I would have made the investment years ago.

Description of Work
I have a very damp basement and wanted a larger capacity free-standing dehumidifier than is available at big box stores.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

09/07/2017


GINGER F.

I would say pretty good. I buy filters from them every four months, and I go to their store and buy that. They are pretty nice. They are really expensive. Responsiveness is pretty good. I didn't like the one guy I had. I would recommend them.

Description of Work
I had a new furnace put in.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

08/28/2017


Robert H.

Annual inspection and cleaning. They do fine. No improvements needed.

Description of Work
Annual inspection

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

07/12/2017


Jake S.

Randy's arrival at the scheduled time was preceded by a call from the Gross office informing me that a technician was on his way. He explained my options for a slow coolant leak. The recharge that he performed was only a temporary fix that will hopefully get me through the next cooling season. Randy was done in an hour. When this coolant leaks out (and it eventually will) I'll be calling Gross again to replace my 21-year-old A/C and furnace.

Description of Work
Recharge my air conditioner with 2 lbs of R22

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Glad to hear everything went well with the service call. Thanks for your feedback.
5.0

06/14/2017


Margaret G.

Gross has been very helpful helping us to navigate the outdated heating system in our 1930's home. Really appreciate their honest advice and fair prices

Description of Work
Helped us identify heating issues in our new "old" home.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

05/04/2017


MARIE S.

They are very good and trustworthy. I have come to rely on them and their expertise and I would highly recommend them.

Description of Work
I have been using them for over 20 years for heating and AC maintenance needs. They have also replaced a couple of HVAC systems in the past as well.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

05/03/2017


Steve F.

Punctual, professional, affordable, and high quality product.

Description of Work
Removal of old furnace. Install new Carrier Infinity modulating furnace, humidifier, wifi thermostat, and ductwork.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

04/10/2017


Gardner H.

Excellent experience. Responsive to inquiry for estimate, representative came onsite to provide estimate and service was done on time, in professional manner and at a reasonable cost. Highly recommend.

Description of Work
Needed to get section of duct work replaced.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

4.0

04/04/2017


Antonio O.

I remember that we thought it was expensive, because it was mostly the labor. I think my husband had figured it out. They were very responsive.

Description of Work
They replaced a part. They had installed the furnace and there was a noise, so they replaced the part in it.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

02/05/2017


Shawn R.

Excellent job. I called on a Monday and they were available the next morning. Very quickly identified that secondary heat exchanger was failing. He went and got the parts and had completely disassembled and rebuilt the furnace (while properly checking everything) before noon. Prompt, clean, professional, and resolved it quickly.

Description of Work
Furnace repair

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

01/24/2017


Sarah B.

It's always rough having workmen in your house. The Gross Heating crew was very professional and worked as quickly as they could. We have baseboard heat, radiant heat in some of the floors and radiators. Gross successfully integrated all 3 systems and we have conforming temps on both floors which was an issue with the old system.

Description of Work
Replaced furnace

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

01/06/2017


STEPHANIE T.

I have them come out periodically for the tuneups. I used a coupon, it was one of the deals that they had. Their customer service is very friendly and the technician arrived on time, knew exactly what he was doing and didn't take long. It has been working fine. Everything was fine. The technician was professional and has manners. It took maybe about 30 minutes or so.

Description of Work
They tuned up the furnace.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

    Other local Pros in your area

    Over the Top Roofing & Construction

    Over the Top Roofing and Construction was established over a decade ago and have built a reputation for exceptional work and customer satisfaction. We have earned our reputation for excellence by delivering personalized service and expert installations. We can repair any damage to exterior of a home or building and make a difference in the appearance of your home. Over the Top Roofing and Construction has a perfect record with the BBB and we are fully bonded and insured. We know that choosing a contractor is a very important decision that you, the customer, will make because you live with the results of the work for years to come. Our customers know that they will receive outstanding workmanship and value for their dollar. Please note that we do charge credit card fees back to the customer.  

    Angi Certified

    Art Karos, LLC - DBA Art's Chimney & Stonework

    Arthur Karos has been an expert in Masonry for 23 years and a Master Mason for 12 years. With 85 year of combined experience along with his five employed master Masons, you can expect the job to be expedited in a professional manner. We do chimney brick laying and stone work, chimney repair, flue installs & repair, ash-pits doors, stainless steel flue caps, Tuck Pointing, replace bricks, and insurance work for brick damage. Chimneys, masonry and stonework are done with expertise. We can custom match stone and color match mortar for Tuckpointing or masonry repair. FOR FASTER SERVICE, PLEASE USE ANGIE'S LIST MESSAGING!  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Legends Fireplace & Chimney Services

    As a locally owned and operated business we feel invested in our clients and constantly strive for customer satisfaction. We won't leave until the job is done right! Call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for Details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Installation, service & maintenance of residential & commercial heating & cooling forced air systems. Radon mitigation, indoor air quality products, hydronic & steam heating systems.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Gross Heating & Air Conditioning Inc

    How is Gross Heating & Air Conditioning Inc overall rated?

    Gross Heating & Air Conditioning Inc is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Gross Heating & Air Conditioning Inc open?

    Gross Heating & Air Conditioning Inc is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Gross Heating & Air Conditioning Inc provide

    Gross Heating & Air Conditioning Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available

    Does Gross Heating & Air Conditioning Inc offer free estimates?

    Ask Gross Heating & Air Conditioning Inc for details on free project estimates.

    Does Gross Heating & Air Conditioning Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Gross Heating & Air Conditioning Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Gross Heating & Air Conditioning Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, Gross Heating & Air Conditioning Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Gross Heating & Air Conditioning Inc offer emergency services?

    Yes, Gross Heating & Air Conditioning Inc offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Gross Heating & Air Conditioning Inc?

    No, Gross Heating & Air Conditioning Inc does not offer warranties.

    What services does Gross Heating & Air Conditioning Inc offer?

    Gross Heating & Air Conditioning Inc offers the following services: Installation, service & maintenance of residential & commercial heating & cooling forced air systems. Radon mitigation, indoor air quality products, hydronic & steam heating systems.