Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Kittleson Landscape Inc

5.0

(23) Verified Reviews

Founded 1987 • With Angi since August 2009

Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Hours are not available for this pro right now. Please check back later.

Phone Number

Address

10486 CR-ID

Blue Mounds, WI 53517

www.kittlesonlandscape.com

Description

Kittleson landscape Inc. provides landscape design and installation services throughout the greater Madison Wisconsin and surrounding areas. Our work can be seen in many areas of Dane, Iowa and Sauk counties, in urban areas, the suburbs, along lakeshores and riverfronts and out in the country. We take pride in our quality of work and your satisfaction is our goal. When you meet with our landscapers, they will answer all your questions and will follow through with you until your project is completed. We take a personal interest in your project and work to exceed your expectations. We want to give your home a new space – an outdoor living space. Whether this is basic landscaping and features, or a complete outdoor kitchen, you will have a space that will meet your needs and that you love spending time in. Owner and founder, Craig Kittleson, takes pride in his work with his clients, and in his crew of landscapers and landscape architects. When you hire Kittleson Landscape, you can rest assured the people working on your home or businesses are qualified, professional and pay attention to details. You can trust your home or business is in good hands. Since our beginning in 1987, Kittleson Landscape has been serving Madison area homes and businesses with custom, quality landscape services, including brick and paver patios, retaining walls, water features, landscape waterfalls, rain gardens, lawns, grasses, low voltage landscape lighting, and water conservation....

Verified Reviews

5.0

(23) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

22

4

1

3

0

2

0

1

0

Rating Details

Price

4.8

Professionalism

5.0

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

5.0

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

lawn & landscaping (22)hardscaping (9)outdoor kitchens (3)Patios (2)lawn care (2)concrete repair (1)
Showing 1-23 of 23 reviews
5.0

08/26/2017


David G.

Far better than we ever dreamed. The staff was very good. The cleaned up each day. They were professional and flexible. We did not like the stone color that we had chosen for the fire pit and they replaced it with no hesitation. The work is beautiful. Craig (owner) was flexible and had great ideas. He completed the jog almost to the day he had promised. The price came in over $2000 LESS than originally estimated, even though we changed our mind part way through and they had to remove and replace brick.

Description of Work
We had a fire pit added along with repair to our brick patio. Steps were replaced and grading was modified to keep water away from house.

Category landscaping,hardscaping

Cost $30,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/26/2017

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed] Thank you for the great review. The crew enjoyed you two as well. I hope you use the new fire pit area with friends and family. Thanks, Craig
5.0

05/08/2017


Barbara B.

The company explained it was not a job it would do, and offered an alternative.

Description of Work
I asked for an estimate.

Category lawn service

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/08/2017

5.0

12/10/2015


Tim C.

Craig came out and talked through all of our options and gave us some great ideas. We went back and forth a couple of designs plans to get it right and he was very patient with us! We got delayed a bit due to rain in the project but Craig stayed in commutation through the entire project. Everyone who came out did great and were incredibly professional. They even let us come out and make some game time decisions on placement of plants/decorative rocks etc. Anytime we had questions or concerns Craig was incredibly responsive and helpful. We love our patio. We consistently get compliments from people in the neighborhood and visitors. While they weren't the cheapest quote we received the design, previous reviews/recommendations and Craig's personality/communication made us choose Kittleson and I don't regret it for a minute! I'd absolutely recommend calling Kittleson for landscaping work. Well likely call in the spring for work in the front yard!

Description of Work
Brick paver patio and landscaping with several plant beds

Category landscaping,hardscaping,patios

Cost $24,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/10/2015

5.0

11/03/2015


Sally M.

Description of Work
They regraded about half of our 10,000 square foot backyard after the installation of 18' X 20' patio. We wanted everything to blend with the existing yard. Craig made a suggestion of adding a 20' by 4' retaining wall to define the area for our grill, and it looks beautiful. The grading was done exactly as we wanted. They also graded around a concrete shed slab we had poured. Then they planted grass, and thoroughly mulched the area. The grass came up within a short amount of time and looks unbelievably good. The crew did all this work when we were not at the house. Everything was perfect! What a group! They were very timely in coordinating their work with the concrete contractor, which meant we could get the grass up and growing (so our big dog could have her back yard back!) Their cost estimate was right on, and very fairly priced. We highly recommend this group.

Category landscaping,outdoor kitchens

Cost $3,700

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/28/2015

5.0

11/03/2015


Steve C.

Category landscaping,outdoor kitchens

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/15/2015

Service Provider Response

Thanks you two for the review. We will be back next season to get the rest of the project done. Craig
5.0

07/06/2015


Joan P.

I worked with Jane Kuzma to develop a design and she provided many good improvements like the dry stream. She listened well and was easy to work with. It took some time to get into the schedule which was a bit disappointing. Craig came out to launch the plan and was wonderful to work with. They provided a crew of three gentleman to do the work - Tyler, Justin and Andy. They were hard working and very professional. They asked questions and made decisions that improved the implementation and outcome. Each evening they tidied up and left thing reasonably orderly. I would definitely use them again - great people and a pleasure to work with.

Description of Work
They removed all the grass on the lake side of our home, created pathways with flagstone and grave, put in a dry steam and planted three trees and small shrubs. The work was extensive. It took 4 days after the rain finally let up.

Category landscaping

Cost $13,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/11/2015

Service Provider Response

[Member's name removed] Thank You for the nice review. I did share this on our Facebook page. I really looks nice and will be good for the Madison Lake Chain. Cant wait to see all the plantings in the beds. Craig
5.0

04/26/2015


Michael C.

Things went as smoothly and wonderfully as you would hope! Craig was great to work with, super friendly, gave us suggestions on improvement areas and ... I could go on and on. We initially contacted him via email and he got right back to us. Any communication was returned with a call or email in a short period of time. Craig was out to our house within a week to do a walk through and give us an estimate of the work. His crew was awesome! They did a thorough job and definitely cared a lot about the work they were doing. The yard looks amazing!!! I had also asked about a last minute deck issue to see if they could also fix it,...and they were out to our house and fixed it before we knew they were there! Talk about service!! We will definitely be going back to Kittleson for any future landscaping needs.

Description of Work
Removed 4 small trees, cleaned up the yard from the fall, replaced the old edging (~450 ft), re-mulched, removed some bushes, repaired an area of our lower deck, and fixed one of our drains.

Category landscaping,lawn service

Cost $3,700

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/16/2015

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the nice review!! I believe there are some plant sales coming up for your perennials for you to install just watch the paper. Thanks for the Business! Craig
4.0

04/14/2015


Stephen W.

I called originally to get their advice on landscaping, to make my garden less maintenance-heavy. They came and did a good walk through, had some suggestions and arranged to draft a plan later. In the interim, they agreed to mulch and edge my garden beds. I also asked them to build up a bed that abuts the house, to prevent basement leaks in this location. They did a professional job on these counts, though (a) the charge seemed quite high for the amount of mulch provided (my neighbor subsequently bought mulch from them and found that they delivered about half of what he was expecting, based on a similar nominal amount purchased from another provider); (b) the basement was leak-free for almost a year but then leaked again in that location during a particularly stormy month, so I had to build it up more; (c) they never did get back to me about the original purpose for my call to them - the landscaping advice. Overall I'd say that the work was high quality and professional, but quite expensive.

Description of Work
Mulched and edged garden beds, built up a trouble spot on the side of the house to avoid basement leaks in that location.

Category landscaping

Cost $1,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/01/2013

Service Provider Response

Hi [name removed] Thanks for the review. You worked with Scott last year on your project estimate. Let me know if I can help with addressing lowering the maintenance of your gardens. We are known for high quality at a nice price so I am surprised at the value for your project. Anything I can do to help out let me know. Wevalue repeat business. Just call the office. 437-8845 #11 Thanks, Craig Kittleson owner
5.0

03/17/2015


Pamela D.

They were punctual, polite and very professional. They were meticulous in measuring every stone they placed. Would highly recommend them and we are planning to work with them this spring on our landscaping.

Description of Work
Created stone patio with walkway and steps.

Category landscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/01/2014

5.0

02/17/2015


John C.

These guys were great. Project was pushed back several weeks by heavy rains but they were able to get to work as soon as things dried out. Quality job and great customer service. I plan to have the replace my front steps in the near future.

Description of Work
Replace old wood retaining walls and planter with concrete brick.

Category landscaping,hardscaping

Cost $10,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/01/2013

5.0

02/16/2015


Karyn G.

They were on time, responsive to our needs and questions, finished on time, offered recommendations, allowed us to purchase the equipment to fix the problem (decreasing our expense), cleaned up when done, friendly and were just all around excellent.

Description of Work
Helped with landscaping drainage and aesthetics to make the drainage look like part of the landscape.

Category landscaping

Cost $150

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/02/2014

5.0

01/14/2015


Pam S.

Description of Work
I needed an all inclusive landscaper and achitect who had all the resources to complete a paving project, grade adjustment for better water drainage,tree removal and planting suggestions for new walkway. What I imagined was put on design, confirmed and happened in 3 days. They did hit cable in spite of markings but worked it out with the cable company. We planned it in the early spring and it happened in July, which was the confirmed time frame. The workers were friendly and did not leave a mess. I am very pleased and I would recommend them to anyone.

Category concrete repair,landscaping,hardscaping

Cost $12,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/20/2014

Service Provider Response

Thanks [removed member name] for the nice review. We ended up doing the new house across the street in the late fall as well. You have some nice new neighbors. I think your water situation is fixed. Ill stop by on my way through tis spring and look over everything. Thanks, Craig
5.0

12/16/2014


Kevin M.

Our house was in desperate need of a patio and an additional spot to park. The backyard is quite sloped and we needed some usable space for grilling, eating, playing games, etc. We decided to give Craig a call based on his reputation. He was very responsive and helpful during both the design process and installation. It was a relatively large and complicated project. The layout and grade of our yard made it a more difficult and costly project, but the guys did a great job working through it. They clearly communicated any changes that they recommended from the original plan and got my permission to move forward. All changes ended up looking better than I could have imagined. When the project was completed, my wife and I wanted a portion of the additional parking spot extended. We told Craig what we wanted changed and he had the guys over that same day. It involved tearing down an existing wall, carving out more dirt and putting the wall back up. It was no small task, but Craig had it done with no complaints. All around a great experience. We definitely got our money's worth!

Description of Work
Built a large paver patio, seat wall, numerous retaining walls, leveled out the side yard and carved out an additional parking spot next to the driveway.

Category landscaping,hardscaping,patios,outdoor kitchens

Cost $50,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/20/2014

Service Provider Response

[member name removed] Thanks for the nice review. I am glad you went through the project even though it was a challenge to get to the back lawn. It completly changed the back usable space. I hope you two get to use it all season. Craig
5.0

07/31/2014


Paul M.

I called Craig after finding the profile on Angie's List. We had some pretty severe flooding in a recent storm. We were new to the home as well. We needed a complete regrade of the front yard, and to get our windows wells dug out and re-worked. Craig suggested a swail to direct water around the house and take advantage of the backyard to dissipate water flow. Craig said new work was several weeks out, but he would see what he could do since it looked like we were in pretty rough shape. He was able to come two weeks earlier than he had anticipated, and completed the work almost $500 under budget. Originally, he'd only planned two of the three window wells. The dug out all three and replaced with new wash stone, and raised the window wells as best they could. They also replanted and laid hay all over the front yard and the part of the back they worked on. The swail was covered with erosion netting to keep it in place while we grow the grass. No nonsense. Easy to work with.

Description of Work
Complete re-grade of yard, swail, and window well re-build.

Category landscaping

Cost $1,650

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/21/2014

Service Provider Response

[member name removed] Thanks for the review. I think you will be in much better shape with your drainage. Craig
5.0

01/02/2014


scott W.

I'm very satisfied and happy with the services provided during the installation of the retaining wall. I don't 'hand out' high grades so every "A" was earned on this report card from the development of the project requirements to the execution of the project and the closeout of billing. The project manager, Kirk, made several site visits to ensure that what was to be done would meet the objective for installing the retaining wall. This was a competitive bid with 2 other contractors and the bid by Kittleson was the lowest (apples to apples comparison). The project was an end of season project and my needs (as the customer) were for the job to be done correct rather than quick. Kirk and I were on the same page. It didn't matter if it took 3 or 4 weeks in my opinion as long as the final deliverable was of high quality workmanship. Several weather events caused delays (not a big deal for me) and Kirk was excellent at maintaining communication and keeping me in the loop as to what was happening. There is nothing worse as a customer than to wonder where the contractor is and what is going to happen. I had great comfort throughout the project knowing what was to happen next, a reflection of quality project management. My yard, and my neighbor's yard, were cleaned up and left looking better than when the project started. Seeding and straw were put in place for a spring germination with the promise to return in Spring and ensure that things get off on the right foot. I am a firm believer that small town companies rely on a good reputation and word-of-mouth referrals. I would, and most likely will, use Kittleson Landscape services again in the coming year.

Description of Work
Installed a large, curved limestone retaining wall, backfilled with clear stone and soil, repair any damage to existing lot (mine and neighbors), and seed for spring germination.

Category landscaping

Cost $9,300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/15/2013

5.0

09/05/2013


Rosalie M.

Once the work started it went well; difficulties occurred with timeliness and communication. We signed the contract in late April and put down a down payment of approximately !5%. The work did not occur until early August. Communication about delays were not communicated very clearly. I especially did not enjoy paying so far in advanced. Once they started, a delay occurred with completing the driveway as the company did not get the necessary permission from the street department of Madison. To be fair, apparently this was a new requirement of the city. However, because of this, we had our driveway unusable for several days longer than needed. However, the work done was excellent!! They did a superb job of regrading the driveway so it slopes away from the house. They did a great job of laying the sod and replacing the brick pavers around the landscaping.

Description of Work
Completely redid the driveway, front porch, planted sod.

Category landscaping

Cost $900,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/05/2013

Service Provider Response

[member name removed] Thanks you for the input on your project. I apoligize for the delay this year. We as well as the whole industry we at a real disadvantage with the spring rain that didnt let us or and contractor start when we usually do. The intresting thing this year's work and estimates have just been coming in non stop and the amount of people that are having work done is more than the last 5 years. I hope the economy is recovering from our recent downturn and feel it is. My peers are having the same results as well. Again I am sorry for the inconvenience and we are working toward a shorter schedual. Craig Kittleson
5.0

03/20/2013


Dale N.

They did a very good job.

Description of Work
I used Kittleson Landscape Inc to plant some bushes and do some other landscaping around my house.

Category landscaping

Cost $1,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/11/2012

5.0

02/14/2013


carl G.

Good

Description of Work
Estimate only

Category landscaping

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/10/2012

5.0

07/10/2012


Stacey P.

I liked their punctuality. Their estimate was accurate. They were helpful, if I had questions. I would recommend them to other members.

Description of Work
Kittleson Landscape Inc. removed some large shrubs and landscaped by putting in new smaller shrubs.

Category landscaping

Cost $3,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/20/2012

5.0

05/19/2012


tony L.

The landscape architect made a brilliant design based on what I told him. He worked within my budget and only offered upgrades that made sense. No pressure. He was in constant communication with me and also trimmed my tree for free. The job was done in 2 days as promised. Could hardly tell work was done in the yard it was so clean. I would recommend these guys to anyone!

Description of Work
Ripped out old landscaping and put in new rock beds with plants, decorative rocks, and shrubbery.

Category landscaping,hardscaping

Cost $4,200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/17/2012

5.0

11/02/2011


Joseph D.

Responded to our phone call promptly. Kirt the salesman was very professional and had good suggestions. He e-mailed a proposal the very same day along with pictures of completed projects..He kept us informed of how project would proceed.. Their final bill however was not the same as the proposal--IT WAS $100 LESS-YES LESS!. This is a great company to work with.

Description of Work
Installed a Limestone retaining wall approx 18 ' by 5' tall. Ryan, the Bobcat operator that did the work, is highly skilled at building limestone retaining walls. He is experienced at picking the right size blocks for a good appearance. It was amazing to watch him nudge the stones with the bobcat into "just the right " position. I was impressed. He responded to all our questions and suggestions and willingly made the changes we requested. He was very courteous, professional, efficient AND thoroughly cleaned up when he was finished.

Category landscaping,hardscaping

Cost $1,600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/20/2011

5.0

03/25/2011


Joseph B.

First rate group of people skilled in both laying pavers and cutting lannon stone. Got the job done on cost and schedule.

Description of Work
Replaced old lannon stone patio. Patio is elevated, so extensive grading was necessary and steps were put in to go down to lower level. A path was made using some of the old lannon stone, with pavers making up the patio proper.

Category landscaping,hardscaping

Cost $22,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/15/2010

5.0

08/10/2009


Richard B.

The employees from Kittleson have done excellent work. They are very much involved in design and working it all out. Everything has been very good. The workers have been great. They leave everything looking good. They use limestone, they feed my greenery, they put in foundations, concrete, and decks. They do a lot. They use great equipment. They make sure they are doing things correctly. They explain things well and they show up on time. They do the work quickly and efficiently.

Description of Work
I hired Kittleson Landscape Inc. to do my landscaping.

Category landscaping,hardscaping