Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Columbia Drain Co

Founded 1996 • With Angi since July 2005

5.0

(30) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

po box 65668

Vancouver, WA 98665

Description

Columbia Drain Co. is a locally owned and operated sewer and drain servicing company in the Portland, OR and Vancouver, WA area. We are dedicated to providing the best sewer and drain cleaning and environmental services with the latest technology available.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

12/20/2014


David S.

The best part you ask, he didn't charge us!! I was touched and impressed by the whole experience, and will refer him as often as I can. Thank you Jim!

Description of Work
We were told by a home inspector that our rain drains were probably clogged due to a small amount of water in the crawl space. Jim came to the house to hydro jet the pipes, and determined the pipes were clear. He gave sound advice on what he discovered the issue was, and explained how we could easily fix it.

Category plumbing, drain cleaning

5.0

09/08/2014


John A.

There wasn't a ground level sewer clean out so they had to go up on the roof and run the scope down the sewer vent. This was much better than having to remove a toilet. Work was done as on as planned and I received the CD of the scope right then and there.

Description of Work
Sewer scope

Category plumbing, sewer cleaning, drain cleaning

5.0

02/24/2014


Ron P.

I have 3 downspouts that disappear into pipes in the ground which lead to some sort of drain fields (Jim said he thought they were "poor man's dry wells". One of those was completely clogged; a second one was so nearly clogged that it was overflowing in a very light rain, and both had a lot of silt in them. He showed up when he said he would and cleaned all three of them in very short order. He was very pleasant and easy to deal with; very quick and professional. I feel the service was well worth the cost.

Description of Work
Hydrojet cleaned 3 poor man's drywells

Category drain cleaning

5.0

11/26/2013


Ronald M.

Work completed as it should be done.

Description of Work
Remove clog in kitchen drain. On time, good job, professional, price right.

Category plumbing, sewer cleaning, drain cleaning

5.0

08/23/2013


Diana B.

Jim was BY FAR the very best provider we have had work for us. He came when he said he would. Worked hard the entire time. Was very friendly and helpful in explaining why we have the problems we do. We have two sewer pipes that connect under our basement. He thoroughly cleaned all. Talked us through preventative measures we could take to lessen re-occurring issues. Thoroughly checked our line and found no problems with it. Talked to us about options if we ever need to replace the line. We have had other companies come to our home in the past and always felt like they were trying to sell a product rather than help us.That was not the case with Jim. He helped us problem solve and left us feeling much less troubled by our old house sewer. If and when we need help in the future, we will most definitely call him again. Highly recommend using his services.

Description of Work
Jim cleaned out our plugged sewer line.

Category plumbing, drain pipe, sewer cleaning, drain cleaning

5.0

06/14/2013


Sandra P.

I was able to reach someone immediately when I called Columbia Drain. An appointment was set for a couple days later, and Jim arrived exactly when he was supposed to. He was friendly and courteous, but he focused completely on his job, not on socializing. He was able to clear the drain with high pressure blast of water within about fifteen minutes. I was very pleased with all aspects of his service and would recommend him to anyone.

Description of Work
Jim Peschka cleared the main underground pipe leading to drain field from the downspout on my home.

Category drain cleaning

5.0

06/05/2013


Edie E.

I narrowed him down from other listings on Angie's List based on what his specialties were and the prices I saw. He was able to schedule me the next afternoon. He's not only prompt, he was two minutes early. Nice guy, great service and gave me an extremely fair price. I wouldn't hesitate to hire him again.

Description of Work
Unplugged my kitchen drain and fixed the toilet tank leakage problem. He knew immediately what the latter problem was and happened to have the correct part for the tank in his truck even though I hadn't mentioned it when I called him. :-)

Category plumbing, drain cleaning

5.0

01/05/2013


alicia C.

Jim came to figure out why my drains were backing up. he snaked, camera'd, and tried to work his way through the 'blockage' . He spend over an hour trying to get it fixed, breaking one of his tools in the mean time. come to find out there was what we thought was a tree root in the sewer line, so he could not fix the problem. He recommended a construction company(which i knew really well). When my sewer line was fixed, i had him come back out to put foam in the lines, just to be sure that a root from my tree wont break the pipe again... thank you Jim

Description of Work
attempt to snake sewer pipe. Came back to put foam in sewer pipe after it was repaired.

Category plumbing, drain cleaning

5.0

07/18/2012


Robert O.

We discovered a mess in the basement last night, after the kitchen waste line backed up. Yuck! We called Jim first thing this morning, and even though he was busy today, he managed to fit us into the schedule. It took a while for him to discover where the clog was hiding, but he was thorough and cleared out the drainage pipe for us. He cleaned up after the repair, there was literally nothing for us to do after he left, but breathe a sigh of relief. High marks for a job well done! We will definitely recommend Jim to others.

Description of Work
Jim cleared a clog in our kitchen waste line. He had the patience to thoroughly test the line to make sure that there wasn't a clog further down in the pipe (there was). We appreciate his attention to detail and his high standards. This was the second time the drain got clogged (Jim thinks we might have an irregularity in the main pipe), but it was within his one-year warranty period, so he did the work without charging us.

Category plumbing, drain cleaning

5.0

05/15/2012


Joseph W.

Jim ran the snake down the drain and all seemed OK, but when there was still a problem he returned and cleared the drain from the other direction without any additional charge.

Description of Work
Drain blockage cleared.

Category plumbing, drain cleaning

5.0

04/07/2012


Steve L.

This is the second time I have used Jim for our house. He is always on-time, very efficient and takes pride in work. He make sure your house is cleaner than he found it wherever he is working on it. I would/will be hiring Jim in the future for my drain issues

Description of Work
Camera inspection of drain system

Category plumbing, drain pipe, drain cleaning

5.0

03/19/2012


Joe B.

We contacted Columbia Drain by e-mail on Sunday afternoon. They responded by e-mail the same day and scheduled the repair for the next day. Jim Peschka from Columbia Drain was here as scheduled on Monday and quickly fixed the clogged drain. This service comes with a one year guaranty. We will not hesitate to contact them again and will be glad to refer others to them.

Description of Work
Fixed drainage clog in kitchen sinks

Category plumbing, drain cleaning

5.0

01/21/2012


Erin C.

Water from every interior drain in the house (sinks, toilet, washing machine) was hitting some sort of blockage as it tried to leave the house, causing the water to back up into and overflow from the utility sink in the basement and flooding the basement floor. Jim used a high-pressure water hose and cleaned the mainline from the clean-out, through the back yard, to the City mainline. He described the situation as a "sludge blockage" and assured me that he didn't find any evidence of tree roots in the mainline (which had been a big concern of mine). He took the time to explain what he was doing, and why. He was also careful to clean up after himself (leaving things cleaner than he found them). Jim gave me an initial (very reasonable) quote for the job, then adjusted the final price to reflect a 10% Angie's List discount, which I hadn't even thought to request. Jim also reminded me of the 1 year warranty against blockages, and encouraged me to call him if there were any problems. Jim's integrity was obvious in every aspect of his work and I look forward to the opportunity to recommend him to friends and family!

Description of Work
Jim used a high-pressure water hose and cleaned the mainline from the clean-out, through the back yard, to the City mainline.

Category drain cleaning

5.0

11/08/2011


Evelyn B.

He showed up in his truck , right in time ,went right to work ,he was profesional ,did an excellent work and we will use him again. we also are thankful for the discount.

Description of Work
he cleaned a 6" pipes that runs under the driveway, took out large amount of rocks that were clogging them.

Category plumbing, drain cleaning

5.0

09/08/2011


Randy W.

Our kitchen sink was backed up and we had spent all night trying to plunge and snake it. We were referred to Jim at Columbia Drain by Christensen Plumbing. We called Jim at 10am and he scheduled a 2-4pm appointment for the same day! He showed up promptly at 2:10pm and was done within 30 minutes. He was courteous, friendly and took care to minimize mess. He explained what he was doing and how I could prevent clogs in the future. We could not have had a better experience. In the future I will only call Columbia Drain for drain issues.

Description of Work
Kitchen drain severely clogged. Jim snaked the drain 65 feet with an industrial power snake and was able to clear the clog.

Category plumbing, drain cleaning

5.0

04/28/2011


Bridget O.

I was referred to Jim at Columbia Drain by Christiansen Pluming, for my blocked drains. The drain in the Kitchen and Bathroom were "backing up" and we had removed the drains under the sinks to try to clean them out. Both drains were blocked at the outbound pipes. I called Jim around noon or 1pm, and he said he could come by between 4pm and 6pm. He arrived about 4:30, with a truck that had all the equipment necessary for any job small or large. He assessed the problem, pulled his equipment from the truck, cleared the drains from the roof (no mess in the house) and put my pipes under both sinks back together. His fee was approx. $147.00 and he was in and out in 1 hour. He was friendly, knowledgable, reasonably priced and fast. I would use Jim again for any drain/sewer problems.Drain

Description of Work
Drain repair and sewer clean out for blocked drains in Kitchen and Bathroom.

Category plumbing, sewer cleaning, drain cleaning

5.0

03/01/2011


PATRICIA D.

I spent $10000 on that work. He did a very good job. He was here every day. It was very challenging because they had to bring the new pipe through all the broken drain tiles that were broken by the trees. He did not charge us anything extra for it being more challenging. He was very true to his work regarding the estimate.

Description of Work
I used Columbia Drain Co. last summer to put an entirely new drainage pipe from the street to the house which was a very difficult project.

Category plumbing, drain pipe

5.0

09/07/2010


Luisa S.

We had a great experience with Jim because he was honest. He came over to take a look at a leak-problem we were experiencing in the basement. We were hoping that Jim could scope the line to tell us where the leak was located. However, after looking at the problem, Jim told us that scoping was not possible (the pipes were too small and there were too many cleanouts). But he did take the time to give us some good suggestions about the best way to repair the drain pipe. We appreciate his honesty and his knowledgeable opinion.

Description of Work
Jim came over to inspect our drain pipes in order to help us locate a leaky pipe.

Category plumbing, drain cleaning

5.0

04/29/2010


Carol R.

He showed up in his giant truck in the first half hour of the two hour time range and went right to work. He checked out the problem, climbed on the roof, cleaned out the drain (no tree limbs or other catastrophic trauma!) and was finished in less than an hour. He also checked out my washing machine drain and gave me some recommendations for keeping it unclogged, clean and fresh smelling. He was courteous, professional, helpful AND gave one year guarantee on the work. Very happy with the outcome. Or outflow as the case may be.

Description of Work
I had a TERRIBLY clogged kitchen drain. I thought for sure my pipes were filled up with tree limbs or had suffered some other catastrophic trauma.

Category plumbing, drain cleaning

5.0

03/20/2010


JANET A.

Excellent! I will use him again and again.

Description of Work
Cleaned out all of our drains with a pressure cleaner. After a section of pipe was replaced, he came back and blew that out as well the same day. He didn't even charge us for the extra trip.

Category drain cleaning

5.0

04/15/2009


Paula G.

I was impressed with Jim’s professionalism and that, in the end, he was as unhappy as I was that the line didn't stay clear. He said it was a matter of pride with him. I respect that kind of work ethic. Now, in hindsight, I’d wish we’d cleared out the drain from the cleanout in the first place. But I was very protective of my new washer and dryer and I think Jim was trying to be sensitive to that. Plus, it was an emergency situation and everyone was reacting to the nature of the emergency. Overall, Jim did a great job and I’d be happy to recommend him to anyone.

Description of Work
Our basement bathroom flooded from the bottom of the toilet. We called a plumber (Nichols Plumbing who did a good job too) and he did what he could, but eventually concluded that we needed to rooter the drain. He offered to call Jim of Columbia Drain for us to see if he could come out that day and he assured us Jim would be cheaper than Roto-Rooter, which he was. Jim made it out within the hour and rootered our sewer pipe from the toilet. We told him we knew the pipes had roots in them so he also treated the pipes with RootX. There wasn't any heavy sales pressure to do so, we just thought it would help to keep the drain clear until we could get the whole sewer line fixed. With the treatment, Jim’s services ran us about $325. About two and half weeks later, the toilet started leaking again. Upset, I called Jim. He was surprised that the line didn't stay clear longer than that and offered to come back out and rooter the drain again, but this time from the clean out (which was sitting behind my brand new washer and dryer). He said he wouldn't charge us for the second visit. Next day, he was back, carefully moved my washer and dryer, and had the line cleared in less than an hour. It has held up long enough for us to get the sewer line replaced, and we’re grateful to Jim for that.

Category sewer cleaning, drain cleaning

5.0

11/25/2008


BOB P.

I called to Columbia Drain late yesterday afternoon and we set an apt. for the following morning at 8 AM. At 8AM sharp, Jim(the owner)arrives. As expected, he took care of the clog quickly. However, what was not expected is he gave some good advice on how to keep this from happening again. That was very thoughtful and I was appreciative. He was out by 8:30, problem solved.

Description of Work
Had another slow moving drain in the bath tub(same problem about 6 mos ago)and was unable to clear it myself.

Category drain cleaning

5.0

01/22/2008


Pat L.

Weeks after the work was done, and satisfactory, I was concerned that the sump pump was not working after heavy rains, Jim came out and diagnosed the sump hose blockage, instructions what could be done by the homeowner for free, and then sent an assistant to crawl under the house and do the repairs for me when I was unsuccessful doing it on my own. This was a separate problem aside from the original work, but I was never billed for any of this. I'm guessing this is part of the 1 year satisfaction guarantee mentioned with the original bid. I now have "a plumber" who I recommend to anyone who asks, or doesn't. We are very satisfied with all of the work and help Columbia Drain delivered.

Description of Work
We have a sump pump under our house for ground water, but had noticed it working far too much, and suspected something was wrong. Jim came out and ran a scope from the house to the street to see if there was a break in the system, that might be allowing backup of drainage water under the house. The line from the house to street was clear. Then, Jim came out again and put plumber's dye through the system, and found that there was a leak somewhere beneath the house in our plumbing system, and also noted that the sump pump basin was caving in with the clay soil. Then, 2 plumbers assistants spent several hours under our house, bringing out the large amount of cracked plumbing, areas where the two main drains from the bathrooms, and the main drains from the laundry and dishwasher, would meet before draining to the sewer. They crawled entire crawl space, having the wash machine turned on intermittently to check all of the line. They relined the sump basin with a drain bucket and rocks.

Category plumbing, wells

5.0

09/20/2006


JENNIFER V.

I called 9 other places with no luck. Jim answered my 1st call promptly, was very nice & quoted a reasonable price. After talking about the plumbing problems I felt comfortable that he was honest. He said his schedule was booked solid today. But I told Jim that we are buying this house (we are supposed to close tomorrow!) The sellers have tried to fix the plumbing (without hiring a contractor) & they still have not fixed it. So then Jim said he could make it out by late afternoon today! He called us when he was on his way over and he met my husband about 3 PM. He used a camera to inspect the line and found a big crack & gap in the main waste line to the sewer. So Jim told us to have the seller call him so he could explain it to him too, and he gave us a business card for a repair company. So we were able to negotiate with the seller to hire a licensed contractor & fix the problem before closing escrow. This was money well spent!

Description of Work
He used a camera to inspect the line and found a crack and an 18 inch gap in the main waste line to the sewer. He marked where to find the problem in the yard and the depth at which the repairman would need to dig.

Category plumbing

5.0

01/16/2006


MICHELE W.

I would call Jim again. He is professional, prompt, and knowledgeable.

Description of Work
We had blocked downspouts and drains that were overflowing. We called Jim Peschka at Columbia Drain Co at the suggestion of our plumbing company. He came out the same day and cleaned them all out.

Category drain cleaning

    Other local Pros in your area

    penneyexcavating

    Penney Excavating LLC is committed to excellence in every aspect of our business. We uphold a standard of integrity bound by fairness, honesty, and personal responsibility. Our distinction is the quality of service we bring to our customers. Accurate knowledge of our trade combined with ability is what makes us true professionals. Above all, we are watchful of our customers' interests and make their concerns the basis of our business.  

    Angi Certified

    D & F Plumbing Co

    D & F Plumbing has an entire staff of dedicated journeyman plumbers for all your plumbing needs. Serving homeowners and business owners in Portland, OR, Vancouver, WA and all surrounding cities since 1927. We're here for you 24/7! Licensed, bonded, insured and safety-oriented. On-site diagnosis and estimates. Top quality equipment and durable brand-name parts. Call today for local plumbing advice or to schedule your service! License #CCB#465 & WA #CCDAE DFPLU 339N8 and WBE#7402  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Christensen Plumbing

    Christensen Plumbing was established by Brad Christensen in 2006. Brad is a second generation plumber who has been helping his dad & uncle plumb since he was 10. With more than 20 years experience, we are locally owned and operated and look forward to serving you and your family with all your residential plumbing needs.  

    Angi Certified

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for Details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    # Drain cleaning # Sewer scope inspections # High-pressure water jetting # Underground leak and line detection # Grease trap and liquid waste pumping # Backflow protection

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Columbia Drain Co

    How is Columbia Drain Co overall rated?

    Columbia Drain Co is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Columbia Drain Co open?

    Columbia Drain Co is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

    What payment options does Columbia Drain Co provide

    Columbia Drain Co accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover

    Does Columbia Drain Co offer free estimates?

    Ask Columbia Drain Co for details on free project estimates.

    Does Columbia Drain Co offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Columbia Drain Co does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Columbia Drain Co offer a senior discount?

    No, Columbia Drain Co does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Columbia Drain Co?

    Yes, Columbia Drain Co offers warranties.

    What services does Columbia Drain Co offer?

    Columbia Drain Co offers the following services: # Drain cleaning # Sewer scope inspections # High-pressure water jetting # Underground leak and line detection # Grease trap and liquid waste pumping # Backflow protection