Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Associated Inspection Firm Inc

Founded 2005 • With Angi since May 2009

4.9

(46) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

PO Box 823052

Vancouver, WA 98682

Description

If you demand an ethical, educated, experienced and reliable home inspection company, give us a call. You deserve the best home inspector in the industry and I am committed to providing my very best service and expertise.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

05/12/2020


Michael D.

My wife and I contacted James for a home inspection and a Radon test. He answered the phone on the second ring and was willing to give pricing over the phone, which we found more than fair given his expertise when it comes to inspections. Come to find out he has almost 2 decades of experience and it shows. Due to COVID-19, only an inspector and real estate agent were permitted in the house at the time of inspection. After completion, he called and in detail covered all of his findings and took the time to explain how features worked or didn't, (like a hybrid heat system.) He even took the time to educate us on energy efficiency improvements that could be made if we so chose. The next day we received our inspection report which was amazing. We could tell by the details included that he did not just copy and paste from prior inspections. He definitely took the time to make sure everything was well documented. The amount of money that we saved by having a thorough report in purchasing our home was one of the best returns on investments we have ever seen. We will definitely be using Associated Inspection Firm, Inc. in the future.

Description of Work
Home Inspection and Radon detection

Category home inspection, radon testing

3.0

09/27/2016


Chelsea G.

Phone skills were lame. Answered with a loud TV in the background, didn't seem interested or helpful (maybe slightly drunk?) and basically just said, "Nah, I don't have any availability." When asked if he could recommend any other companies he said, "Not off the top of my head." What a weirdo.

Description of Work
home inspection for real estate purchase

Category home inspection

5.0

05/12/2015


Derek L.

James spent over 4 hours doing a very detailed review of this prospective property. He was extremely thorough on the exterior, interior, in the attic and crawlspace, and in evaluating all of the systems and major appliances. His report was the best I've seen...very detailed with photos, descriptions of the problem, and recommendations. He was very willing to provide a high level overview of major issues and answer questions. He followed up the next day to make sure I received the report and checked to see if I had questions. Best inspector I've used yet. Would definitely use him again.

Description of Work
Home inspection (main house + shop), radon

Category home inspection, radon testing

5.0

06/05/2014


LAURIE D.

James was very professional and scheduled our inspection very quickly. He was informative and answered all our questions and concerns. His inspection report was incredibly thorough and detailed. I would definitely recommend him to all my friends and acquaintances.

Description of Work
Inspection on house purchase

Category home inspection

5.0

05/22/2014


susan J.

James did an excellent job. I hadn't planned on being present for the inspection, but when he detected a musty/moldy odor in the basement, he immediately had our realtor get us over there. He didn't sugar coat the obvious (once he pointed it out) presense of condensation on vapor barriers in the basement and signs of mold on the exposed portion of the foundation. He was frank and open about the potential risks/costs that this might represent. The rest of his inspection and inspection report were extremely detailed, well written, and useful. The possible presense of mold was enough to end this particular deal for us, but we appreciated how thorough he was as he went through the rest of the home. We will definitely be seeking James out again when we need another home inspection completed.

Description of Work
James provided us with an inspection of a home we were considering purchasing.

Category home inspection, mold removal

5.0

03/27/2014


Charles O.

James showed up a few minutes early and completed a thorough inspection. It was very detailed even catching a burned out bulb in the oven. James also pointed out a few things that were acceptable when the house was built but would be done differently today. The written report was in my hands the following morning. There was a summary section in the first few pages followed by pages of details and photos that clearly explained areas that needed attention. Several days after receiving the report, I had a question about one of the items. I emailed James and received a prompt answer to my question via email. I fixed all the must-do items on the report and listed the house FSBO on Zillow. Eight days later an offer was accepted and a buyers inspection completed with zero must-do items. This built a lot of confidence and trust with the buyers. I feel that the inspection was a good investment and James did an excellent job in every way.

Description of Work
Pre-list home inspection requested by the seller.

Category home inspection

5.0

03/20/2014


Dona M.

James was great. He was there ahead of time. Was very thorough. But most importantly he explained his findings in a manner that was understandable and helpful in our making a decision on purchasing the home. James is friendly and was open to questions.

Description of Work
Provided us a home inspection for a house we are planning to purchase.

Category home inspection

5.0

02/10/2014


Greg F.

James is very knowledgeable and thorough...as others here have indicated, I would highly recommend them. Thanks!

Description of Work
Radon Test

Category home inspection, radon testing

5.0

02/10/2014


Sylvia E.

James provided outstanding service and documentation (photos, written details) to describe inspection findings. He is very professional, punctual, patient, and goes the extra mile to bring desired results. We were contemplating additional work on the house after discovering shortcomings in previous work by contractors. His inspection results and detailed explanation helped us with decision-making on expensive alternatives. He discovered melting insulation from a wire that was overheating in a main service panel - a potential cause of fire. We are grateful for his help and highly recommend his work.

Description of Work
He provided an excellent, well-documented Inspection Report.

Category home inspection

5.0

12/23/2013


D Pei W.

This is my second home inspection with James, and he has been stellar, helpful, objective, and thorough both times. James did a radon test and home inspection at one home I was interested in buying, had put the offer in, and he found severe structural issues. The reports he does are detailed, with photos and explanations of what he found, as well as having categorized the findings into recommendations: satisfactory, monitor, monitor & repair, or repair. Or something like that. He also made himself available to talk by phone with me after he submitted the report for any questions and clarifications about what he found. At the second house, James also helped me out tremendously by helping me to sift through the information he provided in the inspection report and prioritize what I would want to have fixed immediately, versus what I would want to monitor and fix on my own. I was traveling - as you can see, it's over the holiday weekend - and he made himself available to consult with me on Sunday afternoon so I could then consult with my realtor and start the repair addendum process. We're on a tight timeline, everyone's going on holiday, so I really appreciated his availability. As a first time homebuyer, and looking at older homes, I appreciated that he also couched the inspection findings in that context.

Description of Work
Home inspection at two houses.

Category home inspection

5.0

12/06/2013


Allison N.

Very nice and informative. He arrived early to get started on the outside before our appointed time. Returned feedback the next day and replied promptly to emails.

Description of Work
Pre-purchase home inspection.

Category home inspection

5.0

12/02/2013


David H.

Performed comprehensive home inspection. Very thorough. Very detailed inspection w/pictures. Clear, concise language.

Description of Work
.

Category home inspection

5.0

08/22/2013


Marjie V.

James has inspected numerous clients' homes for my clients over the years (I am a real estate broker), we met him as a result of a buyer's friends' referral to him. He inspects things that other inspectors don't check and is not afraid to go on a roof (some inspectors "inspect" from the ground with binoculars! He is always on time or early, ready to work and energetic. I tell my clients that no inspector I have meet is more thorough or knowledgeable than him. He has numerous certifications in an industry when only one or two certifications are required. He stays on top of national and local changes and is very on top of various manufacturer defects for heating systems, wiring, plumbing, roofing, siding, etc. For this inspection, he inspected a client's home in Vancouver, Washington and whereas I thought the home looked to be very clean, he found that all of the siding was defective and needed the be changed. None of us (buyer, seller, buyer's agent [me] nor seller's agent) was looking for this to happen, but seller agreed to fix the problem, thankfully. James will be out to re-inspect the work when it is done, to make sure it is all fixed too. He finds issues that other inspectors do not find and will defend the position to sellers and seller's agents. He is an excellent advocate for buyers, even in a seller's market. Highly recommended. One of the best inspectors in the Portland Metro Area.

Description of Work
Inspected and did radon monitoring on a home.

Category home inspection, radon testing

5.0

05/14/2013


Rod E.

James was there promptly and had already coordinated with the homeowners on the placement of a radon test kit well prior to the inspection date so we could have the results that day. He worked with us on a quick turnaround for a report as well. We stayed with him during the inspection and he was great at answering all of our questions and concerns as well as making sure to discuss initial concerns we had that he could inpsect while he was there. Overall just a great experience and really easy to work with.

Description of Work
James performed our home inspection and also tested for radon gas in a daylight ranch home we were purchasing.

Category home inspection, radon testing

5.0

01/31/2013


Byron M.

My husband and I are buying a home in SE Portland and called around to check on rates of the top rated inspectors in Angie's List. James' rates were the most competitive, and since he had many positive reviews we hired him. We were not disappointed. James arrived early and was happy to answer questions and show us issues as he found them. James was extremely thorough (he spent about 3.75 hours doing the inspection of a 2000 sq ft house). He found many issues that could easily have been overlooked and was willing to look things over more than once to make sure he caught every little thing. When we mentioned that we were thinking of creating an accessory dwelling unit in the basement, he took special care to point out changes we would need to make (to the electrical, the window etc.). His report came the next day and was extremely helpful. This is the fifth home we've purchased, so the fifth home inspection we've had done. James' inspection and report were definitely the most thorough. This is the first time it felt to me that the home inspector was working for our interests, rather than working in the interest of getting the deal done. Highly recommended.

Description of Work
A whole house inspection was performed for $380 and a radon inspection was performed for $90.

Category home inspection, radon testing

5.0

12/19/2012


Nancy G.

The home inspection when buying a home is got to be the most inportant thing to me. Therefore i wanted a good service that I felt would inspect the whole house. I needed to have confidence that the inspection would uncover any problems that I wouldn't see. Angie's list was a help in this manner. Associated Inspection Firm filled the needs for me. They really did check the whole house top to bottom, side to side. They did not mind that I walked around with them when they were done to show me the spots that were questionable. Some of the spots I could easily fix, and some would cost me more money to repair. When I got the report, it was very complete, with descriptions, photos, and summary. I had some work done by the seller and Associated Inspection came back to check the work. Very nice to have the same folks come back. This company is top notch.

Description of Work
Home buyers home inspection.

Category home inspection

5.0

12/07/2012


Janian M.

After having put on new siding and a new roof, water was penetrating through walls and into the basement. James came out and identified and documented defective work by the siding contractor. The Oregon Construction Contractor's Board validated his findings and incorporated his work by reference into the State's official findings which is the basis for a pending suit. James is very personable and professional and I would recommend Associated Inspection Firm.

Description of Work
Independent Construction Defect Investigation and Documentation.

Category home inspection

5.0

11/04/2012


Lisa C.

Excellent! Jim is a professional and it showed in his inspection, documents, and recommendations.

Description of Work
He performed a visual inspection of the home in and out, tested appliances, sinks, tubs, faucets, furnace, etc. to ensure they are in working condition. He noted all deficiencies for my review.

Category home inspection

5.0

09/30/2012


Cynthia I.

James was awesome.From the first phone call he was professional, patient and very responsive. He met us on time at the property and did a thorough inspection. Due to all of questions and multiple interruptions by the realtors the inspection took 3 hrs, even though the property was fairly small and straight forward. No time was wasted, he was simply thorough. He tested everything. He even made a couple of notes on concerns noted in the condo commons areas so that I could be fully informed when making my purchase decision.He freely shared his expert knowledge with us and our realtor. It was clear to me that James stays abreast on home inspection science, following him around during the inspection was a great learning experience. He was patient and very thorough. He took the time to make sure I understood items of concern he was finding. We were on a really tight time line and he didn't blink an eye at our time restraints. He said we would have the report in the morning, and sure enough the report was in my email box before 8 a.m. My realtor is a past home builder and he's been selling homes for more than 25 years, he commented that he'd never seen such a thorough and well done inspection and report. James protected our interest, and yet didn't try to up-sale us either. We had some mold found and he didn't try to talk us into adding on mold assessment, he gave us straight forward guidance, I wish all contractors could be such a dream to work with.

Description of Work
I hired James to do a home inspection on a condo I wanted to purchase.

Category home inspection

1.0

08/24/2012


PATTY M.

After calling for information regarding mold testing and inspection of my property I was told by James that he was not interested in doing such work. I was very disappointed since he advertises that he performs this work. Don't call him if you need this type of work performed. When asked if he could refer me to anyone elso he very abrubtly said "no". Very rude, obviously not interested in good customer service!

Description of Work
Thankfully NONE!

Category home inspection, mold removal

5.0

07/13/2012


Jia Y.

1. James arrived at the property 40 minutes before the appointment and completed the inspection of the exterior of the house before I arrived at 9am. 2. He went above and beyond by doing the de-winterization of the house since the bank didn't do that.3. He was very detail oriented and professional, and was also easy to work with.4. He gave me the report the following morning and the report is very detailed. 5. I called him the day after receiving the report and asked him several questions. He was very patient and answered all my questions.6. He is reasonably priced.

Description of Work
James performed a home inpsection for me before I purcahsed the house.

Category home inspection

5.0

06/23/2012


Cory J.

James was very thorough and professional. The inspection report was detailed, well organized, and included lots of pictures. Overall, we were very satisfied with the service.

Description of Work
James performed a complete home inspection, including radon testing.

Category home inspection

5.0

05/30/2012


Ryan M.

The final report presented to me was the best home inspection report I've ever seen. It is 28 pages long, with tons of photos and narrative to explain James's findings. It's so good that I am going to utilize it as a home improvement guide in the months to come. It included observations that don't affect my interest in buying the house, but will be invaluable in the months and years to come. I would recommend James to anyone without hesitation. It's the best money I've spent to guarantee that the home I am buying is worth my investment. Thank you again, James.

Description of Work
I contracted James to perform a home inspection in Camas, WA. He was able to schedule the inspection within days of my first call to him, which was great. James was on time and very thorough. He is certified to inspect just about anything you could want to inspect...pests, mold, etc. I'm told that James is one of the few inspectors to use a thermal camera to see inside walls and under floors in the search for issues with a home. I really appreciate the fact that he is so meticiulous in his work. I think, all told, James spent a little over 4 hours conducting his inspection. Thorough almost doesn't describe his work...truly an amazing job.

Category home inspection

5.0

05/21/2012


Stanley C.

They did a great job. They were punctual and detail oriented.

Description of Work
We used their home inspection service for a new home purchase.

Category home inspection

5.0

04/23/2012


Helen W.

They are very thorough. I like the very detailed report, the timeliness that the report was provided after the inspection. They were very professional and used state of the art equipment.

Description of Work
They did a thorough home inspection.

Category home inspection

    Other local Pros in your area

    Armored Restoration

    We are a locally owned and operated company with over 20 years of industry experience; specializing in Mold Remediation and Water Damage Mitigation services including Water Extraction, Pump Outs and more. We pride ourselves on the quality of our work as well as our commitment to outstanding results and superior customer service. We look forward to building lasting relationships with our clients and guarantee your satisfaction! https://armoredrestoration.com/  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2022
    ZeroMold

    The latest technology in mold removal. Our non-toxic, Fog Technology is the most effective and affordable way to clean and disinfect a home with mold. Unlike traditional tear-out and rebuild methods, our fog requires no demolition and is safe for people, pets, and the environment. And, it's about 60% more affordable! This new technology eliminates any mold issues from your home and provides protection against future mold, as well as viruses and allergens. We offer a one year warranty that no other company can provide. ZeroMold is the most effective and affordable way to eliminate mold, guaranteed.  

    PDX Top Finishes LLC

    We specialize in water/smoke damage as well as kitchen/bathroom remodels. We also have a variety of carpenters, drywall, painters and handyman employees who each individually specialize in home renovations to suit your every home care needs. We have been in business since 2011. The quality of our work makes our business strive. PDX Top Finishes has an extensive background in providing thorough home improvement project planning, and we know what it takes to get the job done right, on time, and within budget. We rather take our time but have quality work than finish fast and head to our next job. We make sure when you use PDX Top Finishes you are secure as we are bonded and licensed. Other areas of our work also consist of plumbing, decks, home remodels, asphalt, sod install and sprinkler systems. There is not a job to small we do them all! Feel free to reach out for a free in home consultation/estimate, we also are the number one contractor with deductible assistance for any unfortunate home repairs through your insurance company (ask us how.)  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2022
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Visa, PayPal
    Senior Discount
    $10
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Home inspection, commercial building inspection PCA, radon testing, mold inspection, home energy audit, infrared thermal imaging & moisture intrusion investigation

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Associated Inspection Firm Inc

    How is Associated Inspection Firm Inc overall rated?

    Associated Inspection Firm Inc is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What payment options does Associated Inspection Firm Inc provide

    Associated Inspection Firm Inc accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Visa, PayPal

    Does Associated Inspection Firm Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Associated Inspection Firm Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Associated Inspection Firm Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Associated Inspection Firm Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Associated Inspection Firm Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, Associated Inspection Firm Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Associated Inspection Firm Inc?

    Yes, Associated Inspection Firm Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Associated Inspection Firm Inc offer?

    Associated Inspection Firm Inc offers the following services: Home inspection, commercial building inspection PCA, radon testing, mold inspection, home energy audit, infrared thermal imaging & moisture intrusion investigation