Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

AREA HEATING & COOLING INC

Founded 1975 • With Angi since June 2005

4.7

(105) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

2721 NE 65TH AVE

Vancouver, WA 98661

Description

Area Heating & Cooling Celebrating 40 years serving Clark County. Locally owned and operated, we understand that your comfort is important and the quality of air in your home is a priority for you and your family. As the industry leading provider in Clark County, let us solve your heating and cooling needs; from a maintenance to keep your equipment running at optimal capacity, to a complicated repair or a full system change out, we are here to keep your home comfortable. The advantage of using Area Heating & Cooling, Inc is that we take the time to understand and resolve your specific questions and needs. From filter questions, noises in your unit, or why your heating bill seems so high. We are here to help! If you're building a new home or want to replace the equipment you currently have in the Vancouver, WA area we offer a full installation and service department ready to answer your questions. FLAT RATE PRICING. SERVICE HOURS: 7 TO 6 MON-SAT (no OVERTIME during regular hours) INSTALLATION HOURS: MON-FRI 8:00-5:00 SHOWROOM HOURS: MON-FRI 8:00-5:00...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

07/07/2021


Pierre S.

I contacted Area Heating and Cooling after our AC stopped functioning on 6/22/21 Due to the hot weather and high demand, they were unable to schedule an appointment until 6/28/21. The technician confirmed that the blower motor and capacitor were shorted out and needed to be replaced. He also provided a verbal estimate of $1,100 to complete the work which seemed somewhat steep to me not knowing what the repairs entitled. I was charged $160.20 for that first Service call and was left without AC on that day when the outside temperature went up to a blistering 114° which was the hottest day ever recorded in Vancouver, WA. Another Technician came to perform the repairs on 7/2/21. Replacing the blower motor and capacitor involved removing 6 screws of the blower cabinet cover, 4 screws of the blower motor assembly, 3 screws from the motor bracket, 1 nut on the blower motor collar to remove the motor from the blower housing; another screw on the strap to remove the capacitor, removing the wires from the capacitor and motor and putting everything back together in reverse order with the new motor and capacitor. The verbal estimate ended up being $1184.70 with tax for which I paid and received the invoice 2 days later. Since Area Heating and Cooling never provided me with a written estimate of the repair, I was not able to look up the parts beforehand and left only to accept the verbal estimate, but what can you do when you can’t find someone else to make the repairs. High heat, high demand so..? High prices? Hoping to find some justification on the invoice for the high cost but the invoice only listed: Non stock blower motor repair $800.00 and non stock capacitor repair $300.00. First of all, it’s not a repair but a replacement. Second, The first Technician on 6/28/21 replaced the capacitor which he had in his truck but since the motor was dead, he removed it. How could this be “Non Stock” if it’s in the truck? I looked up the manufacturer website on line and was able to find reference numbers for the parts that had been replaced and found a motor between $150.00 and $264.00, the capacitor is available from $15.00 to $30.00. Apparently there is a markup for labor but a 300% to 530% for the motor and between 1,000% and 2,000% markup for the capacitor. This is robbery! I am not planning on contesting the cost with Area Heating and Cooling but the least I can do is post this review to warn potential customers of how this company conducts business.

Description of Work
Replace defective AC blower motor and capacitor

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

We tried our very best to get to as many customers as quickly as we possibly could. Our standard diagnostic rate in the Vancouver area is $100 trip fee and $195/hr to diagnose which was quoted to the customer during the phone call occurring at 9:22 am on 6/22. We billed for a trip fee & 15 min of labor ($48.75 - $195/hr broken into 15 min increments) while we have documented 29 min onsite. The technician quoted the customer $1100+tax flat rate price including parts/labor and warranty to replace the blower motor and capacitor which the customer agreed to and moved forward with repairs. Parts were ordered and we returned for repairs and was completed at 7:13 pm by my after hours tech since we are working extended hours to get through as many jobs as possible. This is our standard flat rate pricing that includes markup on factory original equipment replacement parts (not aftermarket from the internet), shipping, labor to remove existing parts and to reinstall new parts by a licensed/certified HVAC repair technician and warranty coverage for 1 year parts and labor coverage. At no time did the customer dispute or request any information about repair or pricing.
5.0

12/06/2020


THOMAS B.

Overall went pretty smoothly. Area Heating and Cooling replaced our 21 year old Trane air handler and AC unit with a new Trane higher efficiency unit. They also created a zoned system to split the upstairs and downstairs controls. Out of three bids, they were in the middle. All in all, they did a good job installing. They really took time to make sure the air handler and AC unit install looked good. However, the employee who bid the job was not really involved during the installation, which made communication a little more difficult (i.e., it was often indirect). Also, I would highly recommend either having a home inspector take before and after pictures of your attic and crawl space or do so yourself. It seems like the installers were much more interested in doing quality work in the spaces we could easily see, but did not take pride in the "unseen" work. I ended up spending quite a bit of time myself under our home fixing insulation problems which I'm fairly confident was a result of shoddy workmanship. With that said, I assume that it's pretty much par for the course for most contractors. I would not hesitate to use Area Heating and Cooling again. Would just be a little more careful and make sure they understand that my expectations regarding quality are the same regardless of location.

Description of Work
Replace HVAC system

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

05/03/2019


Ralph and Cindi O.

They are very good and responsive during emergencies. They give good advice and are very knowledgeable. We would highly recommend them and will use them again.

Description of Work
We have been using them for years for servicing our HVAC system. They installed it and have serviced it every since.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to share! I'm glad to hear my team met the mark! Tina Blackmore CEO
5.0

10/03/2017


FRED P.

The tech was on time, seemed very knowledgeable and professional. No problems.

Description of Work
Performed a check up and cleaning on a heating and cooling system. AC unit outside, gas furnace inside.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed] for taking time to leave a review. We appreciate it!
5.0

07/31/2017


Richard H.

They diagnosed the problem quickly and were able to replace the capacitor. We were up and running in 20minutes.

Description of Work
Air conditioner was not working due to a capacitor issue.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

06/27/2017


Frank M.

It didn't cost me anything because it's still under warranty. I'll give them, well it's kind of hard to say because I've had more service than I thought I should have. They're always real punctual I'll probably give them probably a high grade for their service and then a little lower for the reliability of equipment but you know it was just that dealer. Like I said it didn't cost me anything it was still under warranty. Well, two people came out because they had to come back, they came out then they had to order the part, a different guy came and put that in.

Description of Work
They fixed a broken part on the evaporator.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

06/05/2017


Donna L.

It was just a thermostat issue, which he fixed in no time.

Description of Work
A/C wouldn't come on.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

1.0

05/10/2017


Michael W.

Very unprofessional with their telephone ettiquet. Ended up using another company based on a recommendation from one of my kids.

Description of Work
Needed some work on my daughter's condo regarding her heat pump.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

05/05/2017


JUDITH H.

They do an excellent job of keeping track of when my furnace needs to be cleaned an maintained. They call me and schedule appointments. Then, they come out and do the work. I don't have to worry about it unless something happens. This way, things don't happen, because they are on top of it all. I really appreciate that type of service. They just take care of letting me know when it's time to have the service done. The price is quite reasonable. They always call before they come, so I know that they are on their way. I have never had them not come when they are supposed to come.

Description of Work
I am on a maintenance plan.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

4.0

04/19/2017


Michael J.

They come out to do initial installation and then they come back to do the final installation. The area looked real good after they were finished.

Description of Work
They installed a furnace and the piping.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

03/11/2017


Janet H.

They have taken care of my equipment for the past 16 years. They are very reliable. They come when they say they are going to come. They are doing what they say they are going to do. They are very responsive. My heat went out with it was 31 degrees here, and they brought me a heater to try and keep my house above 50 degrees. They are doing a really good job. We are not finished yet because there are some thing going on, but they have been very responsive. They are just excellent. I don't think you could ask for anything more. I wanted a trained system, because that's a quality system, and they are a trained dealer. They are a good company, but I went another direction to verify that. I talked to a number of different customers of theirs that had the same experience I had. I knew the product that I wanted. So that limited me in what I could use, because I wanted a trained system, and needed a trained provider. One night I got home and my furnace wouldn't come home. I think I saw icicle's hanging from our kitchen. I called them at 7am in the morning and left a voicemail, and they were out here at 9am with a heater in hand to help with that, and we started making a plan. They diagnosed what the problem was.

Description of Work
Installing furnace, and heat pump.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

03/11/2017


Janet H.

The technician did warn me that my system was getting older, and I should be thinking about replacing it. So he was just giving me a fair warning. I would give them an A all the way down. I do remember that he advised me that my system was getting older, because that system is 19 years old at this point, and your expected to get 15-20 years out of them. I just think they are an excellent company.

Description of Work
HVAC routine service

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

12/14/2016


SEAN O.

They do a really good job! They’re just all around excellent work.

Description of Work
Tune up on heating and air conditioning system.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

12/01/2016


tina K.

They always do really good; they're really good.

Description of Work
I use Area Heating & Cooling for heating and A/C services. They did repair.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

10/03/2016


Terrie H.

I haven't had any trouble and it seems sized very well for my home. They've been really good about helping me get all my vents adjusted correctly for maximum efficiency.

Description of Work
Installed an air conditioning unit.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

1.0

03/09/2016


Gusti W.

I had been a long time customer of Area Heating. I had purchased 2 full heat pump systems and many service calls... but no more. I am very disappointed and upset at how I was treated. My "old" system was 12 years old (not really very old). I had a service call in January for my heat pump icing up. They came out and could find no problem. That was $180. Last week I noticed the breaker to the heat pump was flipped and heating was with the expensive electric heater. I called Area Heating they came out and told me the compressor was shorted out. Someone else would give call me with a price. That was another $180. 24 hours later still no call. I called Area Heating and talked with Cindy (service manager) and I complained about the charges and lack of communication. Basically I was told tough and the charges stood. They were unwilling to make any accomodation... And still no pricing for a repair. 4 hours later I had another HVAC company in my home and I bought a new system to be installed in 2 days. Beware of Area Heating and their lack of customer service. I will never do business with them again.

Description of Work
HVAC service of my heat pump system

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

10/09/2015


John B.

They started and finished work like they said they would We are very happy with the installation

Description of Work
Installed Heatpump- Airhandler and Ductwork in our Ranch Style House I know I got top of the line service and equipment

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac,air duct cleaning

5.0

08/27/2015


VICKI S.

We moved into a two-story home last year. It had one heater/AC unit for the entire home, and during the summer the second story tended to get very hot because (a) the thermostat was downstairs, (b) hot air from downstairs flowed upstairs, and (c) the second story was not a full story, but a half-story surrounded by attic that tended to collect hot air. Area Heating and two other vendors examined and bid on the job. The bids were similar in content: Add baffles to separate the upstairs/downstairs air, put in an additional thermostat upstairs, and use a computer to decide which floor (first, second, or both) needed air at any given time. All three vendors were high-scorers on Angie's List, but Area Heating's bid was substantially lower than the other two. The gentleman from Area pulled out a computer during his site visit, pulled the standard rezoning work off a menu, and handed me a bid. The other two bidders went away and emailed bids (that were very high) to me later. I think (but don't know) that they were "pricing the neighborhood", and that Area Heating's same-bid-for-all caught them unawares. The installers were quite good. They checked system anomalies with their boss, and came up with good solutions. The system works quite well. We now have two livable floors in the house. I wouldn't hesitate to use Area Heating again. One minor issue: they couldn't squeeze us into their schedule within a month. Quality work brings lots of customers, I guess.

Description of Work
Re-zoned the heating and cooling in our home.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind words and great referral. We appreciate our customers and strive to offer a quality product with the best possible installation. Thanks again
5.0

07/13/2015


Eric W.

Tech arrived on time and completed tune up in a timely manor.

Description of Work
Annual service on heating and cooling system

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you [member name removed] for the great review. We appreciate all of our customers and especially like to get feedback on how we are doing.
5.0

06/30/2015


Richard L.

Eleven year old home had the HVAC fresh air 8" ducting hooked to the roof vent. Lots of greasy dirt on roof and lots of dirty furnace air filters. Area Heating replaced entire flex duct. Installed screened vent in side of house above garage ceiling. Vent sealed and caulked, all piping and ducting properly supported. All debris removed. All work done in a professional manner. Furnace filter checked and install debris removed from it. Service tips given to owner on best practices of maintaining the heating & cooling system. When having vents cleaned; remember supply, exhaust, fresh air, dryer, stove vents.

Description of Work
Re locate HVAC fresh air ducting.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac,air duct cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thank you (removed members personal information) for the great review. We are glad that you were satisfied with our duct, venting and cleaning of your system. Remember to keep your system clean and your equipment should last for years to come.
5.0

06/21/2015


Jeff H.

The short story Very happy with the whole process. I am very glad that Mike suggested the system we have as it makes our split level home comfortable no matter what level you happen to be on. The long story We called for a consultation and Mike showed up and reviewed our concerns and property. We talked about using the old ductwork, but I was concerned it would not be as flexible as a ductless system. Mike confirmed my thoughts and presented an excellent plan with options. We worked through those options and came up with a system. The estimate was presented and a timeline, which was much sooner than I expected. Apparently, I was ahead of the curve and a bit lucky on my timing. I'll take that. Work day approached and the crew showed up on time. As it turned out, I had to be away for the second day of work and I had to leave some verbal instruction for the next day. They totally nailed the install and handled the small issues we discussed the day before beautifully. In 2 days time we went from sweltering levels to perfect comfort. I love the Mitsubishi units and how slowly the meter is turning outside. Very happy with the whole experience. Pictures https://www.flickr.com/gp/44441397@N03/27X7XZ

Description of Work
Install ductless heat pump systems.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac,air duct cleaning

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed] Thank you for your kind words about Area Heating and Cooling and your Sales Rep Mike Deloria. We appreciate our customers and strive to make everyone's experiences great. All of our staff are factory trained and we think the best in the business. We are glad that you are happy with your system! Thanks again, Linda Sales Manager Area Heating and Cooling
5.0

05/19/2015


Stan O.

Robert, the technician was very punctual. He called me 45 minutes prior to his arrival and arrived ahead of time. Although he is relatively new to this area, he was very professional and knowledgeable and provided the service within one hour. He changed all my filters and answered all my questions. I will definitely use them again in the future. Normally, Sarkinen Plumbing provided this service but are no longer and referred me to Area Cooling and Heating.

Description of Work
Preventive maintenance on air conditioning and heating system.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

10/15/2014


Debra Ann D.

Unfortunately my almost three year old Trane HVAC system stopped producing AC last Friday (I use it April through October as my energy star home is so tight that it's about 15 degrees warmer inside than out and I don't like opening windows due to allergies and living in a one level home; security). I have a variable speed furnace and heat pump that is used for heat except for rare days when it is super cold; and AC. I choose area to install the system during my new home build as opposed to the builder's sub who did not offer Trane (chose for my previous home and very happy). Area had someone out the same day to diagnose the problem and managed to order the part (which ended up being in the furnace) so that it would be delivered the next Monday; then installed the following day. Fortunately everything was covered under my 10 year zero deductible parts/labor warranty. They also put in more refrigerant to replace all that had leaked out so that the three days were bearable given the unseasonably warm weather (work from home). They went so above and beyond which is why I have recommended them to friends who recently bought older homes which need their systems replaced!!!

Description of Work
Replace a main coil unit in the variable speed furnace after all the refrigerant leaked out rather suddenly. I have a Trane 10 year zero deductible EXTENDED WARRANTY on labor and parts; HENCE ZERO COST but would have been at least $1,500 if I had to pay; so the $700 or so I paid for the warranty just paid off double :)

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

09/11/2014


Denise C.

Our 20 year old heat pump was on its last leg, so we contacted Area (as well as various other providers). I left a message for Area and my phone call was promptly returned and I was scheduled for an estimate. The estimate occurred promptly and on a day that nicely fit my schedule. A sales coordinator arrived on time and inspected the existing unit and layout of my home. The various options for a new heat pump were clearly explained to me and the estimate arrived on the date promised. The pricing was competitive with other providers, and was among the lowest of the bids we received. The sales coordinator followed up with me on an agreed-upon date, but did not try to pressure me into going with Area. Rather, he made himself available for further questions. I appreciated that I was not given a "hard sell." While I felt very comfortable going with Area, in the end it came down to pricing. My family elected to go with the company that had the lowest bid for the product we were looking for.

Description of Work
Provided an estimate for a new heat pump/air-conditioning unit.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

07/07/2014


Robert C.

It has all been great. They are capable and reasonable.

Description of Work
They did a maintenance check.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

    Other local Pros in your area

    BenchMark Restoration & Cleaning

    Over 17,000 Home Owners Have Benefited From The BenchMark Healthy Home Cleaning System We Provide Proven Cleaning Services To FREE You From Housework Servitude…GUARANTEED. HOME OWNERS WHO FEEL FATIGUED, UNDERAPPRECIATED, DISRESPECTED AND MISUNDERSTOOD If you find your self the role of motivator, but rarely on the receiving end from those around you - and the anti-effort, anti-engaged rhetoric you encounter in the day to day wears you down-you’ll welcome a kind word from someone who really understands your daily experience and appreciates your contributions. What you’ll discover is that our team of experts and top members are the champions of the discreet person who faithfully keeps their home functioning, even as others barely notice it. If you find yourself having to “talk yourself out of a tree” fairly frequently, we get it! We know the conversations that you must have only with yourself. Now, probably for the first time in you home-ownership experience, you’ll step into place where there can be an open discussion, exchange of truth-based ideas and experiences, and energizing encouraging “virtual-visit” twice a month to discuss, gather and plan ideas for maintaining your home. Location phone contacts: Ph 1-Portland; (503) 635-2243 Vancouver; (360)696-4140 Lake Oswego/Tigard/Beaverton; (503) 653-5083 Milwaukie/West Linn/Clackamas County/Oregon City; (503) 262-8030 NE Portland/Gresham; (360) 687-2271 Battle Ground/Ridgefield/North County; (360) 253-7955 Camas/Washougal/Fisher's Landing. Award winning.  

    Offers by BenchMark Restoration & Cleaning on Angi
    Eager Beaver Duct Cleaning

    Residential and Commercial Air Duct cleaning serving the Portland Metro area since 2004. Licensed, bonded & insured. Owner Kristen Currie has a great team of knowledgeable technicians to service your ducts and improve the air quality in your home or office. Free Quotes available. Angie's List members will receive a discount. We aim for 100% customer satisfaction.  

    POWER VAC LLC

    Family owned and operated since 1988. Can give quotes over the phone or email. Call or email. CCB #176330. WA #POWERVL938J6. NADCA & ANGIE'S LIST SUPER SERVICE AWARD..  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    SALES, INSTALLATION, SERVICE & REPAIR OF HEATING & COOLING EQUIPMENT. ESTIMATES FOR CUSTOM HOMES AND REPLACEMENT IN YOUR EXISTING HOME. ENERGY EFFICIENCY COMPARISON AND HEATING/COOLING LOAD CALCULATIONS ALL PART OF OUR SERVICE. WE ARE A PUD PREFERRED CONTRACTOR AND CAN OFFER PUD FINANCING OR FINANCING THROUGH WELLS FARGO AT UP TO ZERO PERCENT FOR 36 MONTHS. *(OAC) WE OFFER PRIMARILY TRANE HEATING AND COOLING UNITS DUE TO THE FACT THAT TRANE PRODUCTS OFFER SUPERIOR AMERICAN MADE OPTIONS.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about AREA HEATING & COOLING INC

    How is AREA HEATING & COOLING INC overall rated?

    AREA HEATING & COOLING INC is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are AREA HEATING & COOLING INC open?

    AREA HEATING & COOLING INC is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    What payment options does AREA HEATING & COOLING INC provide

    AREA HEATING & COOLING INC accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available

    Does AREA HEATING & COOLING INC offer free estimates?

    Yes, AREA HEATING & COOLING INC offers free project estimates.

    Does AREA HEATING & COOLING INC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, AREA HEATING & COOLING INC offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does AREA HEATING & COOLING INC offer a senior discount?

    No, AREA HEATING & COOLING INC does not offer a senior discount.

    Does AREA HEATING & COOLING INC offer emergency services?

    Yes, AREA HEATING & COOLING INC offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by AREA HEATING & COOLING INC?

    Yes, AREA HEATING & COOLING INC offers warranties.

    What services does AREA HEATING & COOLING INC offer?

    AREA HEATING & COOLING INC offers the following services: SALES, INSTALLATION, SERVICE & REPAIR OF HEATING & COOLING EQUIPMENT. ESTIMATES FOR CUSTOM HOMES AND REPLACEMENT IN YOUR EXISTING HOME. ENERGY EFFICIENCY COMPARISON AND HEATING/COOLING LOAD CALCULATIONS ALL PART OF OUR SERVICE. WE ARE A PUD PREFERRED CONTRACTOR AND CAN OFFER PUD FINANCING OR FINANCING THROUGH WELLS FARGO AT UP TO ZERO PERCENT FOR 36 MONTHS. *(OAC) WE OFFER PRIMARILY TRANE HEATING AND COOLING UNITS DUE TO THE FACT THAT TRANE PRODUCTS OFFER SUPERIOR AMERICAN MADE OPTIONS.