Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Vulcan Knife

Founded 1977 • With Angi since July 2012

5.0

(9) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

602 E 25th St # 78

Tacoma, WA 98421

Description

With 35 years experience in the art of sharpening and custom knife making experience, we at Vulcan knife provide the very finest sharpening services available....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

11/16/2016


David B.

Knives are probably sharper than they've ever been, including the day they were purchased. They were ready at the time promised.

Description of Work
Sharpened chef's knife and two carving knives.

Category sharpening

5.0

05/28/2015


Edward C.

Description of Work
sharpened yard tools and one knife.

Category sharpening

5.0

04/10/2015


Tracey C.

Description of Work
I have misc knives/kitchen shears in my collection (Henckels, Wusthoff, etc.) My scissors (Gingher, Marks, Wiss) were passed on to me by my grandmother who had them for at least a decade before I got them. Even though I have had these knives/scissors for 15+ years the quality is still great after all these years. | |I had been noticing they weren't keeping the edge as well as they used to after home sharpening so I contacted Vulcan Knives. AMAZING!! I'm not sure they were even this sharp when I brought them home. | |I found Vulcan Knives to be very friendly, knowledgeable, and informative. | |I will definitely be using them again and highly recommend them to anyone who needs a sharpening service!

Category sharpening

5.0

09/17/2014


Anita D.

Description of Work
Sharpened knives. They did the best job I have ever had done.

Category sharpening

5.0

05/31/2014


Judy O.

The work was excellent and performed in a timely manner.

Description of Work
Left a pair of barber shears late Thursday afternoon and was told they would be ready by 4 the next day and the charge would be $18. (the shears are more expensive to sharpen than regular scissors). The service was good and the shears work great.

Category sharpening

5.0

04/01/2014


Brandon S.

The owners and staff at Vulcan Knife are connoisseurs of their craft providing excellence in sharpening their knives and expert knowledge. The group there doesn't just treat this as a job, they treat it as a specialized art. The prices are great too. It is family owned too. I will definitely go back.

Description of Work
Sharpen kitchen knives

Category sharpening

5.0

08/10/2013


Christy M.

Prompt, professional, sharp, same day service. They have a flat rate rather than a per inch price which works out to be cheaper than most other shops I've looked at. Will use them again without hesitation.

Description of Work
Sharpened 4 steak knives, two chefs knives, a carving knife, and a very small food knife. Straightened bent knife and got rid of a nick in another.

Category sharpening

5.0

08/05/2013


Ruth Anne H.

It went fine...I dropped off the knives, I picked up the knives about an hour later. Nothing more to say than I've already said.

Description of Work
I had six kitchen knives that were sorely needing to be sharpened. Two of the knives had bent tips as well. They repaired the tips and sharpened the knives within several hours...and, boy, are they ever sharp now! Excellent service, prompt and efficient. The shop is also a 'must see' enterprise...their armor display is amazing!! I definitely will be telling my circle of family and friends that Vulcan Sharpening Service is the real deal.

Category sharpening

5.0

07/17/2012


JOSEPH M.

I was leary about having a high carbon custom japanese knife sharpened. We talked for an hour about technique and I was convinced he knew what he was doing. My knife came back a little sharper than when I bought it in kyoto. I will use him exclusively.

Description of Work
3 knives, 2 garden tools sharpened

Category sharpening

Service Provider Response

Your very welcome! come back and see us when your magic is fading

    Other local Pros in your area

    JGC Services

    Handyman services, home repairs, and more! --Don't see your need on our list of services? Give us a call to further discuss your needs! Your local Handyman providing polite, professional, and proficient home improvements.  

    Knife sharpening
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Sharpen and refurbish knives, axes, hatchets, garden tools, wood working tools, & scissors, restoration and repair of antique swords & armor.

    Services Not Offered

    Sharpen chainsaws, circular blades, pinking shears & electric clippers.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Vulcan Knife

    How is Vulcan Knife overall rated?

    Vulcan Knife is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Vulcan Knife open?

    Vulcan Knife is open:

    Sunday: Closed
    Monday: Closed
    Tuesday: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
    Wednesday: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
    Thursday: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
    Friday: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
    Saturday: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    What payment options does Vulcan Knife provide

    Vulcan Knife accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Vulcan Knife offer free estimates?

    No, Vulcan Knife does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Vulcan Knife offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Vulcan Knife does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Vulcan Knife offer a senior discount?

    No, Vulcan Knife does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Vulcan Knife?

    Yes, Vulcan Knife offers warranties.

    What services does Vulcan Knife offer?

    Vulcan Knife offers the following services: Sharpen and refurbish knives, axes, hatchets, garden tools, wood working tools, & scissors, restoration and repair of antique swords & armor.

    Are there any services Vulcan Knife does not offer?

    Sharpen chainsaws, circular blades, pinking shears & electric clippers.