Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Abbey Carpet of Tacoma

Founded 1972 • With Angi since September 2005

4.7

(38) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

3852 S 74th St

Tacoma, WA 98409

Description

We provide and install carpet, vinyl, laminate, wood, stone, ceramic and porcelain tile plus just about any other floor coverings that are available. We have been servicing the Pacific northwest for over 45 years and we are very proud to be rated #1 in checkbook for price, service, and installation. If you need design service and help with your selections, we have two excellent designers that will help you with your choices. We also have a commercial department that works with general contractors; large and small....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

04/24/2017


Wendy J.

Outstanding!

Description of Work
Installation of hardwood flooring

Category flooring contractor

4.0

03/09/2017


Clayton J.

.

Description of Work
.

Category home remodeling

5.0

02/24/2017


william B.

Abbey Carpet was able and willing to find a sheet vinyl suitable for my specific needs when other suppliers, including online suppliers, were not. It was not a big job (40 sq ft) for a lot of money, but they worked with me to get what I wanted in the end. The installer was very skilled and professional. They are one of the best vendors I've used in my full-house remodel.

Description of Work
Sheet vinyl and underlayment were installed in my 1963-style bathroom

Category flooring contractor

2.0

01/23/2017


Mike B.

Work was to be completed in about 1.5 to 2 weeks from order date. Installed kitchen almost 3 weeks later. Started entry way install at same time. Installer had no idea he was also installing entry when he came out. The materials needed to complete the entry were not there so it only got partially done. Got all kinds of excuses from the salesman over the next month about when the material needed to complete the job would be in. I had to do all the follow up. Finally got the needed material in a month later, installed and does not match rest of wood in entry. Looks terrible. Bottom line the job that was supposed to be done in 2 weeks took over 7 weeks and then was not done well.

Description of Work
Had engineered hardwood installed in kitchen and entry.

Category flooring contractor

5.0

12/13/2016


Sharon W.

We were very satisfied. The installers were amazing. We actually had had the same installers before when they put in a kitchen and pantry floor for us, Abbey did, and we had these installer so when we went back to get our carpet that was sort of a stipulation that we wanted the same installers. They were as amazing as before. They were friendly and helpful. They were not cheap, but we felt like we got good quality both times we dealt with them.They have a wide range of quality which is nice so they can meet everybody's needs.

Description of Work
We used Abbey Carpet of Tacoma. They re-carpeted our house and did a little small piece of tile work by our back door.

Category carpet installation, ceramic tile

4.0

07/21/2015


Jason P.

I had them come out a couple of times to fix air bubbles. I had to call like three times to get the installer to come back out. Communication just was not as good as I wanted. They were punctual.

Description of Work
I used Abbey Carpet and Flooring for a vinyl flooring installation for final flooring in the bathroom.

Category flooring contractor

5.0

06/03/2015


GARFIELD A.

We purchased our new carpet and vinyl flooring from Abby Carpet on 74th in Tacoma because they had a large selection of carpet and vinyl flooring from in which to choose. The owner of the company came out to our home and measure our house. He brought a number of samples with him to give us an idea of the type of flooring his company could provide. We then made an appointment to come into the store in order to see additional selections to make sure that the flooring we selected was that best fit our budget and needs. After we selected the carpet that would go into three main rooms in our house we then selected the vinyl tile we wanted for our kitchen, utility room and second bathroom. Mick then brought samples of our selections to our home to make sure that what we had chosen would look good in our home under different light. We also looked at two other floor covering stores and they did not compare with the price and quality of those at Abby Carpet in Tacoma. We highly recommend Abby Carpet for quality and price to anyone that is in the market for new flooring. Dr. and Mrs. A. Federal Way, WA

Description of Work
See Below:

Category carpet installation, flooring contractor

5.0

11/13/2014


Janice P.

They did a beautiful job. They were very willing to work with me because it is easier to carpet a house when it is empty. They ended up coming 3 times to do the carpeting, because we did one bedroom, emptied it, did the other room,and emptied the living room. The quality was excellent. I didn't look around as far as price is concerned because it was okay for me. They had what I wanted, and I stuck with them. The punctuality was really good.

Description of Work
I used Abbey Carpet. They put carpeting in my front room, dining room, 2 bedrooms and the hall.

Category carpet installation, flooring contractor

4.0

10/27/2014


Sharon W.

The installers were fabulous. The quality of the installation was wonderful. Their responsiveness was good. They were 25 miles away. We went to the store but we did a lot of communication with the salesperson by email. She did come to our house and she showed up on time. She took all the measurements. The installers were very professional. They were really expensive. I would consider using them.

Description of Work
For the flooring company, we used Abbey Carpet.

Category flooring contractor

5.0

07/23/2014


Seta J.

Sandra, the sales representative at Abbey Carpets was extremely professional and helpful with our selection of the material. There were no hidden costs and non-pressured sales. Installation was on time. The installers, Joel Laclaire and his brother, were very professional, did a superb job, listened to our concerns, answered questions to our satisfaction. The whole instillation was EXCELLENT, A+ in ratings!

Description of Work
We had the carpeting and the padding in the two bed rooms replaced. We had the old hardwood in the kitchen removed, the carpeting in the living room, dining room, and hallway removed and these areas were replaced by hardwood Brazilian Cherry.

Category carpet installation, flooring contractor

5.0

06/17/2014


Casey K.

Installation and communication went great! Mick is great to work with! Highly recommend to others looking to get new carpet.

Description of Work
Installed carpet in our house.

Category carpet installation, flooring contractor

5.0

06/16/2014


Cheryl R.

Fast service, accurate, the tile setting couldn't have been better, prompt, and when there was a glitch, Lori personally drove to Seattle to get missing tile for us! We are going to recarpet the house in a few months, and we will go back to abbey, Olympia

Description of Work
It was actually the Abbey in Olympia, they were great!

Category carpet installation, flooring contractor

5.0

05/23/2014


Valerie M.

This project went as expected. Got a bid, signed agreement, work completed professionally, they got their money. Finally a project that went as planned.

Description of Work
Installed LVTin my spare bathroom. Installer did a good job and the floor is very pretty.

Category flooring contractor

5.0

03/04/2014


Bernadette W.

John was one of the installers. He really went above and beyond. My family was experiencing a tragedy at the time, and we needed carpet in the space where our relatives were going to say. They were very professional, and were great to work with at such a troubling time. They cleaned up after themselves, used high quality materials, and did a great job in a "less-than-ideal" situation. They worked with what we gave them to work with (which was no easy task!), and did a beautiful job. Mike, the salesman, was patient with us and was very easy to deal with. I'd give them an "A+" if I could!

Description of Work
They installed carpet where there was none in our home.

Category carpet installation, flooring contractor

5.0

10/29/2013


NATHAN B.

Great experience. Able to rely completely on Barb and her team to provide a quote in my absence. Barb sent photos of possible carpet options and worked with me throughout the process. I was concerned as I am in VA and could not actively participate in the process, but it worked out great. My realtor was impressed with the service and quality as well.

Description of Work
Remove old and install new carpet

Category carpet installation, flooring contractor

1.0

10/28/2013


ELAINE B.

Bob from Abbey carpet came to the house and looked at the bathroom I want tiled. He gave suggestions and took a tile sample I lent him. I had heard nothing 2 weeks later so stopped by the store on a Saturday. Bob was alone with some customers so I lft him a note on his desk with phone numbers email address etc. asking him to call me. I also took back my sample tile. This all all happened back in the summer. I have never heard from anyone from this company since. I have shared my experience with friends and cannot recommend Abbey.

Description of Work
None

Category flooring contractor

5.0

10/22/2013


Carol F.

The project turned out fabulous! Vinyl flooring has changed so much, over the years. I think people need to give it another look and definitely consider this material, for bathroom remodels. It's waterproof, not slippery, there's no grout to keep clean, or eventually chip out or loosen. And it's soft and warm to bare feet! Why pay for heated, tiled floors, when vinyl will give your a softness to bare feet that's not there with tile and it's NOT cold, so doesn't need heating for comfort! It comes in a variety of colors and patterns. In the hands of a master installer it can and does, look terrific. Clyde and Paul, the flooring installers, arrived right on time and immediately went to work. As the baseboards were going to be replaced, they didn't need to be careful, with the removal. We were replacing MDF, that had warped, softened and bubbled from years of water drops leaking out of the shower doors, in the master bath and water dripping off the tub surface in the guest bath. Clyde had to do a small build up of the floor, in the master bath, to address a problem with the way the carpet had been laid in the master closet. The closet is immediately adjacent to the bath. That turned out fantastically. You can't tell there was any floor repair. Rather than lay the new vinyl over the existing layer (there was only one layer and it's acceptable to lay over one layer) the original vinyl was removed. Clyde was concerned the new vinyl wouldn't "set right" over a layer that one wasn't assured was glued, or laid correctly, initially. A template was made for each bathroom, and the new vinyl went down. The master closet isn't huge, but has lots of hanging area, due to high and low double bars and there's a set of drawers that's only about one foot off the floor. The carpet looks terrific! Paul was able to get it properly stretched, even with having to work under a one foot space! We did the closet with a remnant. It had to be seamed, but due to his expertise, Paul made it look like one large piece. The trick I found to having vinyl look as realistic as possible, is keep the "grout lines" as small as possible. The master bath was a grey/black looking "tile" with dark, dark, grey, 1/8" "grout lines". One hardly sees the "grout lines", but if Clyde hadn't laid the vinyl exactly "square" it wouldn't have looked right. Rooms are never square and it takes a practiced installer to get the vinyl square. The only place it won't look right, is butted up against the cabinet and walls. But when the new floorboards were placed, they covered that up. The vinyl in the guest bath was a soft grey, light brown, soft green, and white color, that looks like marble. You have to actually touch it, to realize it's not marble. It was masterfully laid, and looks soooooooooo nice!!! I can't say enough about Clyde and Paul's skill in their respective jobs. Everything looks so nice and has made a huge difference in the looks of the bathrooms. Sandra was the designer that helped me pick out the vinyl for the floors. I told her what I wanted for a "look" and what our budget was, and she came through. There was absolutely no pressure to go with something more expensive, but her knowledge of flooring materials, helped me to select the best colors, quality and "looks" for our bathrooms. Kenny, the carpenter, turned out to be a real gem. He was recommended by the flooring company. Since I had such a good feeling about the flooring and was pleased with the variety and quality of the flooring materials, I went with the floor company's recommendation about the carpenter. His work was impeccable. He did 45 degree angles at every point, rather than just butting the new baseboard material, in areas where it wouldn't show. He had suggested using a plastic material, that is used for both exterior and interior applications and looks like wood. It's perfect for a bathroom, where there's dampness, puddles and splashes. The material is impervious. It comes white all the way through and doesn't need painting, ever! His frames for the mirrors, updated them very nicely. They gave a completely different look to the rooms. We had purchased new sinks, faucets, toilets, light fixtures, and bathroom hardware, all on line (no shipping fees or sales tax)and had the countertops and shower stall refinished. And while these items made a big difference, it's the floors one notices first. They look terrific and set the tone for the entire remodel. I wouldn't hesitate to use Abbey Carpet & Floor, again and thank Sandra for all her advice and help. Clyde and Paul were absolutely terrific and Kenny did an outstanding job. If someone tells you it's going to cost $10-$15,000 to remodel your bathroom, look for other alternatives. Don't overdo for your home, or the neighborhood in which you live. We spent less than $5,000 for 2 bathroom remodels and ended up with a product that looks wonderful, functions beautifully, is easy to maintain and we'll get every cent back, when we sell. But then again, we have no plans to ever sell.

Description of Work
Vinyl flooring was installed in both the master and guest bathrooms. New carpet and padding was installed in the master closet. Both of these jobs were done by Abbey Carpet. New baseboards were installed in both bathrooms and frames were made and applied to the mirrors in both bathrooms, by a carpenter that was recommended by the flooring company.

Category carpet installation, flooring contractor, woodworking

4.0

09/20/2013


Joel K.

Barb was great on the material sales and overall coordination. Installation work was good but not the best. Price was competitive. Overall it was a good value.

Description of Work
I used them for R and R carpet and pad.

Category carpet cleaners

5.0

08/14/2013


Kathleen M.

I'm a widow who lost her job & had to sell her house. Mick gave me such a good deal & lots of moral support. Carpets looked so good the realtor raised the asking price! "I love Abbey Carpets!"

Description of Work
Replaced carpets main floor, stairs & one bedroom upstairs, plus halls. Re-stretched carpets in 3 other bedrooms.

Category carpet installation, flooring contractor

5.0

08/07/2013


Ralph S.

We called Abbey Carpet and Floor in Tacoma for our Tacoma rental, after getting their name from a carpet provider in Seattle. All of the people at Abbey Carpet and Floor could not have been nicer. I felt like we trusted them right out of the gate. They gave us a bid and stuck to it. They told us we could keep the old matt (under the carpet), saving us money. They came exactly when they said they would which was on a Saturday morning after the 4th of July, most people were on vacation on that particular weekend. They finished the job in about 3-4 hours. We were very happy with the results. The only negative was that I wished we could have had more color options in the particular type of carpet that we used. The house is more greys and we had to go with a tan. In the end, it still looks good. The carpet they suggested was inexpensive but quality, with a life time stain guarantee. I would happily recommend them and hire them again.

Description of Work
Replaced the carpet in 2 bed rooms and a hallway.

Category carpet installation, flooring contractor

5.0

04/01/2013


Robin F.

Sandra the salesperson was so helpful in winnowing down the myriad choices and exploring options. She also had the integrity to agree when we said we had found a better deal on one room flooring material than they could provide. The installers were seasoned, skillful, professionals.

Description of Work
Carpet installation.

Category carpet installation, flooring contractor

5.0

03/29/2013


Judith K.

They were helpful in explaining different products; installer worked effeciently and fast and hauled away old carpet. Office called later to verify job was done to my satisfaction

Description of Work
prepared stairs and installed new pad and carpeting in staircase.

Category carpet installation, flooring contractor

5.0

10/09/2012


Glenna R.

Very well. Floors look wonderful. Installation took 3 days, but lots of corners and doorways.

Description of Work
new hardwood flooring in hall/entry way. Area rugs.

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor

5.0

08/24/2011


Gary S.

Although the job took a little longer than originally thought (Victor worked alone), we were more concerned with getting a quality job. We also insisted that we preferred taking the time to do a good job. and thus did not mind.. Victor was very precise in the cutting and placement of the tile to the tiniest details.. It was amazing to watch. We could not be more pleased with the final product.

Description of Work
We were in a bind. A work contract we put a downpayment on was canceled due to bankruptcy. We contacted Mick Johnson the owner of Abbey Carpet in Tacoma. He came out the same day all the way to Silverdale. He reviewed our former contract for new tile, completed all measurements and agreed to honor the original contract we had with the other company. We got his best tiler Victor, who started work the next day. Victor did an excellent job treating the project as if it were his own home. We were kept informed of any delays due to traffic or getting materials. We would highly recommend this company. Excellent customer service.

Category ceramic tile, flooring contractor

3.0

09/16/2005


JENNIFER L.

THE CUSTOMER SERVICE AT ABBEY CARPET WAS NOT THE BEST. THEY WOULD NOT SHOW US UPGRADES AND ONLY LET US LOOK AT CERTAIN COLORS OF CARPETS. THEY WERE RUDE TO US AT THE STORE. THE INSTALLERS WERE VERY FAST AND EFFICIENT. I WAS PLEASED WITH THEM.

Description of Work
ABBEY CARPET OF TACOMA INSTALLED MY CARPETS, VINYL FLOORS AND COUNTERTOPS. THEY HAD SELECTIONS READY FOR US TO CHOOSE WHAT WE WANTED. THEY CAME IN AND INSTALLED ALL OF OUR FLOORS FROM CARPET TO VINYL TO TILE.

Category flooring contractor

Service Provider Response

On behalf of Abbey Carpet & Floor we apologize that your customer service experience at our showroom was unpleasant in 2005. That staff member is no longer with us. I assure you that Abbey Carpet & Floor puts customer service at the top of our priority list. We were rated number 1 in the Pacific Northwest for service, installation & installation by consumer driven Check Book magazine. We request the opportunity to invite you to our showroom to experience our wonderful selection and knowledgeable staff. Thank you! From the staff of Abbey Carpet & Floor of Tacoma, WA

    Other local Pros in your area

    Custom Hardwood Floors, Inc.

    We are a small family owned business since 1990, based in Steilacoom with the owner on every job. Free Estimates, DUST CONTAINMENT SYSTEM, Serving all of South Puget Sound area. Inlays and Innovative Design, Our Specialty. Competitively priced. References Provided Gladly. Better Business Bureau A+ rated since 1994.  

    ARTISAN HARDWOOD FLOORS

    Proudly family owned and operated, Artisan Hardwood Floors was founded 12 years ago by Mike and his father. We strive to bring the highest level of care and craftsmanship to every project. Customer satisfaction and referrals have helped Artisan become a respected leader in the Seattle and Eastside markets. Artisan is an expert in all types of hardwood services and provides installation, sanding, refinishing, restoration and stair work. “We will go above and beyond to make your vision a reality on time and budget. I will personally be on site to make sure we live up to our reputation.” Mike Diep, Owner  

    Premier Hardwood Floors

    Proudly family owned and operated with over 18 yrs of experience. We specialize in wood flooring and are craftsmen in the trade. We're finish only when YOU are happy with our service, and we guarantee our work! That's why you don't pay us until we are done and you are happy with our service.  

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for Details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    American Express, Check, Discover, MasterCard, Visa, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    All floor coverings.

    Services Not Offered

    Window coverings.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Abbey Carpet of Tacoma

    How is Abbey Carpet of Tacoma overall rated?

    Abbey Carpet of Tacoma is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are Abbey Carpet of Tacoma open?

    Abbey Carpet of Tacoma is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 10:00 PM - 4:00 PM

    What payment options does Abbey Carpet of Tacoma provide

    Abbey Carpet of Tacoma accepts the following forms of payment: American Express, Check, Discover, MasterCard, Visa, Financing Available

    Does Abbey Carpet of Tacoma offer free estimates?

    Ask Abbey Carpet of Tacoma for details on free project estimates.

    Does Abbey Carpet of Tacoma offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Abbey Carpet of Tacoma offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Abbey Carpet of Tacoma offer a senior discount?

    No, Abbey Carpet of Tacoma does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Abbey Carpet of Tacoma?

    No, Abbey Carpet of Tacoma does not offer warranties.

    What services does Abbey Carpet of Tacoma offer?

    Abbey Carpet of Tacoma offers the following services: All floor coverings.

    Are there any services Abbey Carpet of Tacoma does not offer?

    Window coverings.