Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

J & J Plumbing & Heating

With Angi since August 2012

3.8

(19) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

3515 N Beige St

Spokane, WA 99216

Description

No description has been provided for this pro.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

07/17/2022


Lynn H.

100 percent RIPOFF! After numerous uncompleted supposed attempts to email a project quote to us over the course of 2 days, it finally got texted. No wonder the emails refused to deliver > the quote was more than THREE TIMES anything offered by other local plumbers. The only reason we even checked here was because it was the single one referred by our local Home Depot store, where we purchased the new heater. The install and related charges totaled a couple hundred dollars MORE than the new heater and accessories themselves. We later learned other not complimentary stories about this business, including alleged illegal use of non-certified/licensed handymen. BEWARE!

Description of Work
Water Heater replacement/installation

Category handyman service, plumbing

5.0

10/09/2019


Mark or Kathruyn F.

The installation was completed as scheduled. They guaranteed the work for a year. We had a problem with a leak under the sink and they sent a crew out that day to fix it. We had the same problem again and again they sent a crew out the same day. They made an adjustment to the way the pipe coming from the garbage disposal connected to the pipe leading to the drain and we have had no problem since. They were always very helpful, courteous and professional!

Description of Work
Replace pipes under kitchen sink, install new sink, garbage disposal and dishwasher.

Category plumbing

2.0

09/10/2018


John F.

We had J&J plumbing install new natural gas lines to both our elevated patio and into our laundry room to behind where the dryer would go. The crew working the job was pleasant and kind but the end result is well below industry standard. Firstly, the job was scheduled for one day, which could not be completed. Understandable, that happens. The crew left and said they would return in the morning. Not only did they not return, multiple phones calls and messages were not returned. I received a call 2 days later after threatening to dispute the credit card charge for the work to be completed 5 days after the start day. The work was completed, but not at the quality one would expect (I have had natural gas installs done 4 times at separate homes). The drywall and backing behind the fridge were sawed open and not repaired (the pieces were simply screwed back in. Furthermore, the outlet behind the dryer is not recessed into the wall, resulting in the dryer protruding 10 inches from the wall, downright ridiculous looking. Phone calls after the fact discussing the issues have not been returned. 3 neighbors planning to use them have now found other contractors. I would do the same.

Description of Work
Natural Gas Piping

Category handyman service, plumbing

5.0

05/28/2018


Judith P.

The two guys that came did a great job.

Description of Work
Delivery and installation of refrigerator.

Category handyman service, delivery service

1.0

05/14/2018


Wendy M.

Got a voicemail response from J&J the next day after getting their number from Home Depot as a sub-contractor. Called them back - only got voicemail. Left messages but no one called back and no one ever answered the phone - was always voicemail. Went with someone else.

Description of Work
Water heater installed

Category handyman service, plumbing

1.0

11/19/2017


Eric S.

They came out right away to check out the situation. When they saw that it was a power vent tank they said they'd have to get back to me. I heard nothing back. I called to follow up and mentioned maybe we'd be interested in going tankless. They sent out a guy to check out the tankless option and then never called back. I called. I went on their facebook page and sent a message to their customer service cetner. I finally gave up. Nothing. Went to Home Depot, ordered a tank, only to be directed to J&J. Still no call. So I called AGAIN, this time very frustrated that no one had responded to my multiple inquiries. They were very professional and apologetic on the phone. The gal I spoke to said she'd have someone follow up right away. Nothing. I am hesitant to give a bad review because of our great experience with J&J in the past. Also, I know that this is someone's livelihood and I don't take that lightly. But after receiving no follow up bid or communication after reaching out several times, I am irritated. Perhaps they're doing so well that they're too busy to keep up? Either way, I am taking my business elsewhere.

Description of Work
Our hot water heater went kaput. We asked J&J to replace the tank.

Category handyman service, plumbing

5.0

08/31/2017


Sidney H.

Very well.

Description of Work
Removal of toilet and to install a new toilet at a later time, at which time we'll be charged.

Category plumbing

5.0

04/24/2017


Noelle R.

Quick and easy.

Description of Work
Dishwasher installation

Category handyman service, plumbing

5.0

01/09/2017


Margaret H.

I have built 3 houses in the past, so am comfortable acting as a contractor. J & J was very responsive to my questions and input. They installed the tiniest sink in the world for me because of the small size of my one bathroom and used PVC piping. It was not aesthetically pleasing, so I did some research and informed Justin that we could do better. I ordered the metal parts, he had to remove some of the wall. Both of us were very pleased with the end result. Josh did a great job installing my appliances and gave me a break when he had to take the refrigerator apart to get it through the kitchen door. I also had Justin install the Nuvo water system.

Description of Work
kitchen and bathroom remodel

Category handyman service, plumbing

2.0

09/16/2016


David D.

Installed dishwasher and the door would open right. They said it was the dishwasher. Sears came and said no it was the install. Sears ended up fixing it and J&J never called me back.

Description of Work
Dishwasher install

Category handyman service

5.0

09/23/2015


Nancy K.

Description of Work
The installed the water line for the ice maker on our new refrigerator. The timing was such that the fridge was delivered after the water line was installed. The guys who delivered the refrigerator did not understand how to attach the water line. So, J and J came back THAT NIGHT at no charge, and connected the water line to the refrigerator. Nice!

Category handyman service, plumbing

5.0

05/07/2015


Cheryl P.

Description of Work
They removed an old dishwasher, new electricalcord and water lines, then installed new dishwasher. The guys we're very professional and polite I will definately use them again.

Category handyman service, plumbing, appliance sales

1.0

10/15/2014


Helen P.

Category handyman service

3.0

08/18/2014


b C.

I was concerned by the fact that they tapped into an existing power source, but I was told that it was okay since the range doesn't draw much current. When I asked if there was a way to make the cut out where the gas and electrical come up from the basement look better and more professional, I was told that it was code to leave open and not box it in like they do for new construction on washing machine water supply. When the contractor came to do the gas and electrical installation, they asked my daughter for the invoice. When she said she could print it for them they said "you are the s***" meaning that you are the "bomb" or the best. This was very unprofessional of them. After voicing my concerns, the "boss" said that they would install the stove at no charge. For the amount that they charged for just running the gas and electrical, the installation of the range should have been included anyway.

Description of Work
The first trip they came to do the gas and electrical installation while waiting for the range to come in. They put in about five feet of gas flex line from a preexisting gas line in basement under stove and tapped into an existing power supply. Cut a large hole (about 10 inch wide by 8 inch high) in the wall behind the range to accommodate a place for the gas and electrical to come up inside the wall cavity so the range could be pushed back against the wall. So the outlet could be recessed in the wall, they cut one side of the electrical cover so it would fit. They had to screw a flat piece of metal that fits around the gas line into the floating tile we had. When I asked if this couldn't be screwed into the wall structure, they said that this is code so that if the stove ever hit it, it wouldn't damage the gas line. It sort of makes sense, but it doesn't allow for the laminate floating floor to move due to weather changes. A week later, they came and installed the stove. There was only one person to bring the heavy range into the house. He did a wonderful job considering he was working alone. When he was bringing the range into the kitchen, he damaged the stove stem where the knob attaches. It broke a plastic part on the stem. Fred's Appliance will fix it since it is under warranty, but I wonder if he would have said anything if I hadn't been there to see and point it out.

Category handyman service

2.0

06/11/2013


David S.

They did an install of a toilet from Lowes. They installed it on May 6th, as part of the install they caulked around the bottom of the toilet.. After 2 weeks the grout on the bathroom floor turned dark and water started seeping up between the tiles through the grout. They came back out and reinstalled the toilet. The next day it was leaking again so we turned off the water and they came out again. At that time I asked that they repair the grout that was now discolored, and pieces were being pushed up from the water pressure under the tiles. There was a lot of water under the tiles. They said they would send out the floor guy to fix the grout. When he came out to do the 3rd installation They refused to correct any damage to the floor saying that it would dry and that wasn't their problem. A week later, it was leaking again. On their 4th trip to my house, one that began with the plumber/floor installer beginning the conversation with " I'm not here to do any work, I'm here to re explain to you that we are not responsible for the floor. After arguing back and forth for 10 minutes and my saying it is absolutely still leaking and pointing out that when you step on the tile water bubbles up through the grout due to the amount of water under the floor. He finally acknowledged it was still leaking and took it out. At this point they found cracks in the toilet and took it back to Lowes for a replacement. Lowes has called me each day for the last 3 days asking if the owner (Justin) has called me which of course he has not. Lowes is now sending their own flooring person out to help repair this. It seems clear to me that this company does not back their work and although the first two groups to install the toilet were friendly, the 3rd and 4th visits were rude, condescending and extremely frustrating. I would never recommend this company!

Description of Work
Installed a toilet 4 times.

Category handyman service, plumbing

5.0

05/14/2013


Eric S.

From the time that I called to make the appointment to the time it took for the job to be done, only 24 hours had passed! They were quick, professional, and got the job done. Although the cost was slightly more than we'd anticipated, it wasn't a huge deal since it was the cost of the permit to do the work, as well as the added cost of using "hard pipes" outdoors rather than soft ones. As always, the guys were friendly and conscientious about not tracking in dirt, etc. This is our 2nd time using J&J, and will gladly use them again in the future if the ned arises.

Description of Work
J&J Plumbing came to the house and put a natural gas hookup on our deck so that we could use natural gas with our BBQ (rather than propane).

Category plumbing

5.0

05/06/2013


Eric S.

We had our hardwood floors refinished, and needed our fridge moved to the garage while the floors were being done. I called the day before and scheduled them. The operator told me it would be $85 per trip, with two total trips (the 2nd to replace the fridge after the floors were finished). This was fine since I wanted a professional to deal with the tubing for the ice maker. When the guys showed up they were right on time, very polite, friendly with my inquisitive 3 year old, and fast. They were done within 10 minutes. When they returned to replace the fridge after the floors were done, they were again polite, prompt and professional and VERY CAREFUL not to hurt my brand new floors. When I went to pay them for the second trip, the guy insisted that I only needed to pay once and if he was wrong he would eat the cost. I called later to make sure he didn't have to eat the cost and the woman I spoke to said no, he was authorized to not accept a 2nd payment! My husband was so happy with their service, he asked them to give him a bid for a different job that had to do with getting a gas connection to our BBQ so that we would no longer have to use propane tanks. The guy gave us a bid that was far below the other 3 we had received (from a gas fireplace company and 2 other plumbers) and we plan to have them perform that service in the coming weeks.

Description of Work
Move fridge to the garage while hardwoods were being refinished, then return the fridge to the kitchen 1 week later.

Category handyman service

5.0

11/05/2012


George S.

The first oven that came was damaged (no fault of theirs, the packaging was in perfect condition) they immediately conducted a search for another suitable oven with the appliance store. They went above and beyond trying to resolve the challenge of fitting a wall oven into a brick enclosure. When the new oven arrived they did a great job and showed great care of my new appliance and my home. It required that they increase the size of the brick opening. A tedious job. I won't hesitate to have them back for the installation of the new dishwasher. It'll requiring interesting plumbing work as well as electrical work.

Description of Work
J&J Plumbing and Heating professionals took great care and did a great job in installing a new wall oven in a brick wall with a non-standard opening.

Category handyman service

3.0

08/09/2012


Robert J.

The installation was done in a timely manner, the quality of the installation was good. My only complaint is being charged $90.00 for less than $10.00 in parts. I would avoid this contractor. If purchasing products from Fred's Appliance I would ask about another installer.

Description of Work
I purchased a new garbage disposal and a new dishwasher through Fred's Appliance. Fred's uses J&J Plumbing as a subcontractor for their sales. I was told up front how much the charge would be install these two new appliances. But when the service man started he informed me that the code had changed and that dishwashers could no longer be hardwired and need to have a disconnect. And that the charge would be $89.00. The disconnect is nothing more than a duplex outlet mounted in a metal box. My complaint is that it took no longer to hook my house hold wiring upto an out let than it would have to connected it to the dishwasher. I have bought enough electrical boxes and outlets to know that there was less than $10.00 in parts. I think it is outrageous to charge so much for such a simple installation.

Category handyman service

    Other local Pros in your area

    Flint Focus Construction

    Ive worked construction for lots of big name companies over the years and have finally decided to go ahead and start for myself. Concrete patios sidewalk driveways. Siding, framing,remodeling restoration let me know what you need done and ill give you a fair price.  

    Angi Certified

    Max Imports Distribution

    We offer quality service at an affordable price. Contact us today about an estimate!  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    APGC LLC

    We have the experience and dedication to bring your dreams to reality! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. Our team has quality experience in this industry, and we make sure our customers are happy before we leave. Call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No

    Services Offered

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about J & J Plumbing & Heating

    How is J & J Plumbing & Heating overall rated?

    J & J Plumbing & Heating is currently rated 3.8 overall out of 5.

    Does J & J Plumbing & Heating offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, J & J Plumbing & Heating does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.