Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Smart Finishes

Founded 2002 • With Angi since July 2009

Smart Finishes employs on average 12-20 experienced painters. Smart Finishes only uses reputable and fully licensed/bonded subcontractors. Most of our remodel work is performed in-house. Smart Finishes trade associations are the PDCA (Paint and Decorating Contractors of America),NAHB (National Association of Home Builders) and SHBA (Spokane Home Builders Association). References supplied upon request.

Verified Reviews

4.8

(32) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 32 reviews
Camille and Kevin R.
5.0
09/05/2015
We were extremely happy with the paint job. The painters themselves were very prompt, friendly, and great to work with. I would highly recommend Smart Finishes.
Description of Work
They prepared the entire interior of our rental house for painting. All the holes were filled and sanded. The doors, trim and baseboards were removed. The switch plates were removed and cleaned. Everything thst needed protection from paint overspray was covered in plastic and taped well. Then all the woodwork was spray painted in a semigloss and the walls were painted last in a flat paint.
Category
interior painters
Gary G.
5.0
03/19/2015
Performed all work and services according to plan and our understanding. We recommendation them with no reservations.
Description of Work
paint and repair a large ceiling
Category
drywall, interior painters
Joseph C.
5.0
06/13/2014
They are very responsive and they do a great job.
Description of Work
They are painting a large townhouse complex for my association, its about 14 units.
Category
remodeling, house painters
Tim M.
5.0
06/10/2014
Went very well. took two coats and finished in two days.
Description of Work
Finished inside frame of windows
Category
interior painters
Evelyn R.
5.0
06/04/2014
It was meticulous, and very professional, but very pricey. They had to do a lot of hand work.
Description of Work
I used Smart Finishes. They painted the exterior of my home.
Category
house painters
James K.
5.0
05/27/2014
It looks fantastic. The new siding on the south side areas also looks so much better...it was starting to warp and separate on the ends because of water being trapped behind some facia boards that weren't previously caulked. All of the crew members were polite and professional. I had Andre patch a plaster crack that started at the top of my cathedral ceiling and ran all the way to the floor. It looks like it was never cracked and the texture matches perfectly. It was then painted with an accent color. The other painting contractor I contacted couldn't do the siding replacement that I felt it needed. He also couldn't patch the plaster crack in my living room. So although it was more than I had budgeted for, Smart Finishes did what I needed to have done. Overall, I am extremely pleased with their work and the workers I received using Smart Finishes! I would recommend them to anyone!
Description of Work
Smart Finishes prepped, caulked and sanded all surfaces after the initial power washing was done. They also replaced several areas with new T111 siding. This was done because the previous painting contractor failed to caulk some critical areas. They prepped and primed my cedar fence. Then they painted the house with Sherwin Williams Duration and the fence with Flood. I needed to have a plaster crack in my living room patched also.
Category
interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the kind words. You were a pleasure to work with Andre Miesch Smat Finishes
Kasey C.
5.0
01/31/2014
I can't quite remember is that Mr. Andre Miesch that owner? Yes, it went very well. He did a good job. He was there and price it right and it went well and he did work fast. They were good. Yes, he did have a son. The owner dealt with it primarily and they were very good. There were some like some issues that came up while we were working on it and they were able to resolve them and get the work right and it was well done. It took than I expected because of bigger job than I am expecting. The price is reasonable.
Description of Work
Smart Finishes removed the wallpapers throughout our house and they removed it and then painted the interiors.
Category
wallpaper removal, interior painters
Mike & Mariann B.
4.0
09/16/2013
They arrived promptly for the estimate and provided that estimate quickly. They were prompt and helpful. The painting was O.K. Wouldn't say it was the best I'd seen, but for the price was acceptable. The guys were friendly and helpful. They made every effort to accommodate me to the point of answering questions about work unrelated to the current job. I have to say, they went out of their way to help me find the color I was looking for and when I couldn't find the right one, asked questions and presented me with EXACTLY what I was looking for. They even cleaned up the light fixture in the two story entry way that I just couldn't reach to clean. Was a little disappointed that their ladder marred the banister to my staircase. I would use them again...their prices were middle of the road and I feel I got a good value for the money.
Description of Work
Smart Finishes painted the exterior of my house and the interior two story entry way.
Category
interior painters
Sheri T.
1.0
08/27/2013
Came out and looked at the house but never provided a bid. I would really appreciate just being told that you don't have the time. To not respond is highly unprofessional.
Description of Work
Came out and looked at the house but never provided a bid. I would really appreciate just being told that you don't have the time. To not respond is highly unprofessional.
Category
interior painters
Naomi I.
4.0
08/08/2013
I would have used his company but had contacted the company who did the work last year and they offered to re-do the job.
Description of Work
This was an estimate for redoing my deck which had been done in 2012 by another company. Andre was prompt in returning my call & arrived promptly for the estimate appointment. Very professional and personable.
Category
interior painters
Ronald C.
5.0
06/27/2013
Everything was done on time and looked great. They were always here on time and did an exceptional job.
Description of Work
They painted 4 rooms
Category
interior painters
Dave H.
5.0
06/12/2013
Andre from Smart Finishes provided a bid to paint our interior living room and dining room walls. The walls are very tall with cathedral ceilings and the area above the stairs was not easily accessible so I wanted professionals to do the work. Andre also helped us with color selection. The job turned out beautifully. His crew was punctual and professional. We felt very comfortable leaving them in the house to work while we were away. The job required two coats of paint and the cutting-in was perfect. A small detail but very important to us was painting the grills of two existing recessed wall speakers. Just rolling paint on would have clogged the small grill openings. Instead, the painters diluted the paint and applied several coats to the grills which maintained the same color as the walls but didn't plug the grills. I would definitely recommend Smart Finishes to friends and neighbors.
Description of Work
Painted interior living room and dining room walls
Category
interior painters
Naomi I.
1.0
04/01/2013
unacceptable for business not to return call
Description of Work
Smart Finishes did not answer their phone and never returned my call.
Category
house painters, interior painters
Jennifer E.
5.0
03/06/2013
Prompt, courteous, good clean'up, thorough
Category
interior painters
Anthony Q.
5.0
01/21/2013
Very professional from start to finish. Flexible in scheduling and adjusting schedule when needed. Cleaned area and were respectful of home. Pleasant experience. Would definitely use them again. Excellent work.
Description of Work
Prepared and painted walls, doors, baseboards, and moulding.
Category
interior painters
Cris C.
5.0
01/04/2013
In process but great so far!
Description of Work
Smart Finishes was one of three bids I got to finish a partially finished basement/bathroom, as well as replace a damaged exterior door/wall (from a break-in), and install a closet by-pass door on a finished opening that never had a door. Their bid was very competitive, not the lowest, however, Andre spent many hours with us describing and explaining his services and the process needed to finish the job. He was very understanding when we decided we couldn't do the whole project for the basement, but only the bathroom for now. He helped us understand the costs involved and was not rude or put off by needing further explanations. Money is tight and he was respectful of that fact. The drywall guy is here right now...the project is in process, but I can already see their quality of work is outstanding. They do EVERYTHING and one reason I chose them is because they already had an A rating on Angie's List.
Category
drywall, doors, basement remodeling
Lannie M.
5.0
12/26/2012
Andre and I walked around my house just talking about the overall effect of color and detail. Actually, I think we did this twice. Once he created the bid, I talked to him about the quality of the paint and he showed me some differences in paint quality. He bid the job for the top quality Sherwin Williams exterior paint, but ended up using a newer higher value paint from SW at the same price as the bid paint. The painter's supervisor, Marty, checked in with me every day, sometimes more than once. We walked the house and anything I noticed was addressed or had already been noted by Marty. The painters were fast; it took about 4 days I think. They were professional and courteous. Once the house was finished, Marty came by and we walked the house again. I was completely satisfied with the work. I recommend Smart Finishes highly.
Description of Work
Smart Finishes painted the exterior and some interior walls of my home. Andre Miesch, the owner, and his partner, Marty, are wonderful to work with, call back right away, and Andre has an artist's eye for detail and color. Andre drove me around to look at houses with the orange brick that I have on the front. It was important to me to make the house look much more sophisticated than the orange brick usually allows. Andre and Marty painted small amounts of my five color choices and the possible contrasting colors. They used top quality paint and at least two coats of the colors. The painters were organized, monitored, and cleaned up each night.. My house looks beautiful and it's because of the painting, but also because of the time spent choosing the right colors. I would use Smart Finishes again. Actually, I have something in the works for them!
Category
house painters, interior painters
Ed S.
4.0
12/17/2012
The work they did was very good and we were very satisfied.
Description of Work
They refinished our floors, painted the interior, crown molding, new front double doors
Category
hardwood floor, interior painters
Henry J.
5.0
12/10/2012
Smart Finishes, Andre and his crew did a good job. The crew arrived, set-up and did work in a very professional manner. Work site was cleaned and all trash was removed when work was completed. The quality of the work and the time taken to ensure the paint was properly and evenly applied is evident by the finished product. My wife and I are very pleased and would recommend Smart Finishes for any of your painting needs.
Description of Work
Paint the interior of my home which included four bedrooms, living room,dining room, kitchen, laundry room and hallway and basement staircase. Prep, repair and retexture minor wall imperfections.
Category
interior painters
James O.
5.0
12/07/2012
Propmt getting out for a bid, and started when they said they would. Did a great job where wallpaper was removed. Took care to keep things clean. Finished on time
Description of Work
Painted several rooms
Category
interior painters
Michael C.
5.0
10/10/2012
Prior to moving in to our home in the summer of 2011, we hired Smart Finishes. We wanted them to do a few things before the furniture showed up. We worked extensively with Andre getting the price, paint, etc. "just right". We had them install 7 doors and casings in the basement, install baseboard all the way around the basement, do a few small drywall patches, and paint the entire interior of the 4200 sq. ft. home. All ceilings were painted bright white, while the walls were beige. Work progressed quickly and professionally. The guys were clean, neat, and showed up on time. The entire job took about 2 weeks. It has now been a over a year since the work was performed. We are still very happy with the workmanship, the materials and the price. I would highly recommend Smart Finishes to anyone seeking paintings and finishing services.
Description of Work
Install 7 Doors and Casings, Install 200 ft. +/- baseboard, minor drywall patches, paint entire interior of home.
Category
drywall, interior painters, doors
K Z.
3.0
04/13/2012
Their bid was the highest out of the people I contacted and I did not use them.
Description of Work
Collected estimates to have the exterior of my house painted and theirs was the highest. I did not use them.
Category
house painters
Tim M.
5.0
04/13/2012
He did a very nice job. He explained what he is going to do a little more and everything, so I went with him, and he gave me a ten percent senior’s discount.
Description of Work
I used Smart Finishes to finish the window trim painting, and there were twenty one windows.
Category
interior painters
Ed S.
5.0
12/09/2011
We have used Smart Finishes for several different projects (painting, furniture and cabinet refinishing, flooring etc.) and have been very pleased with all the work performed and the people we worked with. I would highly recommend them and will use them again.
Description of Work
painting, furniture and cabinet refinishing, flooring new front doors, etc
Category
drywall, hardwood floor, house painters, interior painters, doors
Lannie M.
5.0
12/08/2011
He is great. He gets the job done. His price is excellent. His quality is top notch. You can call him on his cell phone anytime. I would use him in the future.
Description of Work
I used Smart Finishes to install windows, drywall, and add a new bathroom. He also did the interior painting.
Category
drywall, remodeling, interior painters

Other local Pros in your area

Big Dog Custom Carpentry

 

Angi Certified

Klean Kata Window Cleaning LLC

Klean Kata Window Cleaning is the premier vendor for residential window cleaning, gutter cleaning and roof cleaning in the Spokane and Coeur d'Alene area. We strive to hit the mark each and every time by providing high quality high value services. We look forward to serving you!  

Angi Certified

Honest Builds LLC

Here at Honest Builds LLC, we sustain our business on quality and integrity. With over 6 years of experiences are experts in Flooring and Remodeling and are committed to quality from the beginning to the end of your project. We look forward to earning your business.  

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

Phone

Address

5125 E Railroad Ave

Spokane Valley, WA 99212

Other Information

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

Payment options

Check
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

FAQ

Smart Finishes is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

Smart Finishes is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Saturday: Closed

Smart Finishes accepts the following forms of payment: Check

Yes, Smart Finishes offers free project estimates.

Yes, Smart Finishes offers eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Smart Finishes does not offer a senior discount.

No, Smart Finishes does not offer warranties.

Smart Finishes offers the following services: Interior/Exterior Residential/Commercial painting. Fully equipped 5000 sqft. spray shop for all fine finishes. Faux finishes. Concrete sealing and staining. Home remodels including door/window/siding and roof installations.