Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Sound Seismic LLC

4.9

(81) Verified Reviews

Founded 1999 • With Angi since October 2006

Awards and Badges

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2021

Business Highlights

Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
Wears MaskWears Mask
Licensed
Trade License Number
SOUNDSL836ND
Trade License Locale
Washington
Trade License Authority
WA Dept of Labor and Industries (L&I)
Trade License Expiration
06/18/2022
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Monday
7:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Tuesday
7:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Wednesday
7:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Thursday
7:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Friday
7:30 AM - 4:00 PM

Phone Number

Address

7543 15th Ave NW

Seattle, WA 98117

http://www.soundseismic.com
COVID-19 Update
We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

Health & Safety Measures

We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

Description

Sound Seismic, established in 1999, is a FEMA certified earthquake retrofitting specialist, dedicated to using proven materials and construction practices to help protect our clients' homes from earthquake damage. We pride ourselves in having the best trained and most experienced retrofit crew in the greater Seattle area....

Verified Reviews

4.9

(81) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

77

4

1

3

1

2

1

1

1

Rating Details

Price

4.6

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

5.0

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

earthquake retrofitting (76)foundation repair (9)home remodeling (2)siding companies (2)
Showing 1-25 of 81 reviews
5.0

12/13/2021


Emily C.

We hired Sound Seismic to retrofit our older Seattle house. We were thrilled with the service, communication, and professionalism of the company, especially our two contractors, Monty and Angelo, who went above and beyond to transform what might have been a daunting house project into a positive experience. They were excellent at communicating, sending us detailed, thoughtful texts daily to let us know their arrival and departure times, and though the work is loud (not their fault, of course- that's the nature of the project), they worked SO clean that I didn't noticed dust anywhere upstairs. They were also extremely warm and friendly that my daughter baked them cookies one day. I highly recommend this company, not just for the peace of mind a retrofit provides, but for the wonderful experience they provide.

Description of Work
Earthquake Retrofit for home

Category remodeling, earthquake retrofitting

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/05/2021

5.0

10/27/2021


Dennis B.

Thanks to Sound Seismic, we now have a new sense of security in our 1909 era house. The owner, Leif, came to estimate the project already equipped with a floor plan of our house which was very impressive. Once we decided to go with them for this project, we communicated with the project manager, John, who was very thorough in communicating what we needed to do to prepare our basement for the procedure. The construction crew, Monty and Nico, showed up at the expected time on the day the work was scheduled to begin, and they proved to be very hard-working, very friendly. The whole process felt very seamless. I would recommend Sound Seismic to anyone wanting to help safeguard their home against an earthquake.

Description of Work
Seismic retrofit

Category earthquake retrofitting

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/04/2021

5.0

06/15/2021


Don P.

Timely, respectful, diligent, responsive and reasonably priced.

Description of Work
Home Earthquake Retrofitting

Category earthquake retrofitting

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/06/2021

5.0

06/15/2021


Nickie M.

Sound Seismic arrived on time, completed the job on time, and cleaned up thoroughly. Their work was professional all the way from bid to cleanup. I’m very satisfied.

Description of Work
Home Earthquake Retrofitting

Category earthquake retrofitting

Cost $12,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/16/2021

5.0

06/15/2021


Judy and Robert S.

Professional, friendly, assessed the job carefully and completed work diligently. Showed up on time, respectful, good communication. A job well done!

Description of Work
Home Earthquake Retrofitting

Category earthquake retrofitting

Cost $5,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/20/2021

5.0

06/15/2021


Irene S.

Everyone at Sound Seismic was professional and efficient, our unfinished basement is now ready to finish, and we feel far more secure—everything we asked for and more.

Description of Work
Home Earthquake Retrofitting

Category earthquake retrofitting

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/15/2021

5.0

05/11/2021


Steve R.

Very professional with clear explanations of the process. When changes had to be made, I was included in the decision process.

Description of Work
Home Retrofit

Category earthquake retrofitting

Cost $8,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/12/2021

5.0

05/11/2021


janer B.

Total pros! No mess, we hardly knew they were there. Great communication we would definitely recommend or work w/ them again.

Description of Work
Home Earthquake Retrofit

Category earthquake retrofitting

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/11/2021

5.0

04/06/2021


Jesse R.

I hired Sound Seismic to do an earthquake retrofit of my house and they did an excellent job through the entire process. Leif came out to do an estimate and was very knowledgeable and did a great job explaining the work and answering my questions. Scheduling was smooth and all of the communication was prompt. Monte was the main carpenter working on the job and he always showed up right on time, did a great job communicating, and did a great job cleaning up once the work was done. Overall I was very happy with the job they did and would definitely recommend them.

Description of Work
Earthquake Retrofitting

Category earthquake retrofitting

Cost $10,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/23/2021

5.0

12/14/2020


Eric O.

Sound Seismic was top-notch from the bid through project completion. They were clear in communications and after a pre-project walkthrough with Production Manager, John, I knew exactly what to expect, in addition to what I needed to do to prepare for day one. The workers showed up on time and were respectful of my property, taking care to cover my personal property stored in the unfinished basement where the work was performed. Half of the basement is a crawl space, with very tight space to work, in addition to duct work and water lines as obstacles. One of the heat ducts was likely bumped and disconnected (totally understandable given the tight quarters) at some point during the project. When I realized there wasn't heat blowing from one of the registers after the workers left, I mentioned it to John in a text exchange we had going previously about the wrap up of the project. I told him that I would take a look at it later in the afternoon when I could crawl up there and get dirty and it would hopefully be a quick fix. He immediately responded that someone was already on the way to my house to fix it. Wow! And a short time later it was fixed. I wish all my construction projects were this smooth.

Description of Work
EQ Retrofit

Category remodeling, earthquake retrofitting

Cost $8,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/15/2020

5.0

01/14/2019


Bonnie S.

Ok.. very nice team of workers, timely, neat job.

Description of Work
Seismic refit

Category earthquake retrofitting

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/14/2019

5.0

09/17/2018


Nancy W.

Sound Seismic was great to work with. They clearly explained their bid, planned work and timeline. They responded quickly when I had questions about scheduling and made sure to conduct a walk through to ensure the work and related details were handled to our satisfaction. Mark even gave us business cards to pass along to the neighbors if they had questions or issues while the work was being done. We received their bid in February and selected them as our contractor. We paid a deposit when we signed the contract and were scheduled to receive our retrofit in early August. All work was completed on time and as described. We would recommend them highly - good work and nice people.

Description of Work
Earthquake retrofit

Category earthquake retrofitting

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/08/2018

5.0

08/27/2018


Cathy G.

I chose Sound Seismic to do the earthquake retrofitting of my 1960s based on their reputation in the community and reviews in Angie's List. I was not disappointed. They demonstrated excellent project management throughout -- on top of all aspects of the project and the timeline for completion. Communication with me was outstanding. The staff were personable and professional, and always willing to explain the work being done. I always knew what time and day to expect them. They finished ahead of schedule and cleaned up as they went. I couldn't have been more satisfied as a customer.

Description of Work
Earthquake retrofitting

Category earthquake retrofitting

Cost $20,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/01/2018

5.0

07/15/2018


mark F.

I hired Sound Seismic to do a seismic reinforcement/retrofit of my wood frame house. Overall the level of service was excellent. Leif went over the work to be done with me at my home, explained exactly what was to be done and how, and drafted a work plan and quote at a nominal cost (might have been free). Scheduling was some time out, but when the time came the communication about timing, preparation of my basement, access, etc. was all smooth and very responsive. After the work was complete, cleanup was done well and all documentation was provided. Some unforseen circumstances prevented the drywall repair from being completed, but they handled the situation very well and provided a small discount for the work not done. Overall this was excellent service and I would not hesitate to recommend them for seismic work.

Description of Work
Seismic Retrofit of wood frame house

Category earthquake retrofitting

Cost $10,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/15/2018

5.0

06/28/2018


Kelly M.

They were excellent, timely and professional.

Description of Work
They did a earthquake retrofit.

Category earthquake retrofitting

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/25/2018

5.0

04/12/2018


Catherine H.

Excellent work done by professional and courteous technicians. On time, clean, communicative and responsive. Highly recommended.

Description of Work
Residential Earthquake Retrofit

Category earthquake retrofitting

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/22/2018

5.0

08/26/2017


julia B.

From start to finish they were professional and met all commitments. Showing up promptly when they said they would, and finishing the job on schedule.

Description of Work
Sound Seismic did a retrofit, attaching the home to the foundation

Category earthquake retrofitting

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/07/2017

5.0

07/28/2017


Ari B.

These guys are the platonic ideal of how a contractor should work. Leif came out and did an estimate even though they were literally booked 6 months out as I live close to their business. They managed to slightly move us up in the schedule since we had a baby on the way, and when the time came to work, the crew did more than agreed to in the expect amount of time and were super professional and clearly experts in their craft. The only contractors I've worked with where I have literally zero complaints.

Description of Work
Basement seismic retrofit

Category earthquake retrofitting

Cost $10,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/28/2017

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the superlative review! I am very happy that my team exceeded your expectations. Cheers!
5.0

04/10/2017


Donald C.

Perfect--skilled, professional workmen

Description of Work
Earthquake retrofit

Category earthquake retrofitting

Cost $7,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/07/2017

5.0

11/03/2016


Kim R.

Initially, I contacted Jackson/Sound Seismic just as the online version of the New Yorker "Big One" came out. Understandably, Jackson/Sound Seismic was besieged with phone calls and inquiries. Because of overwhelming demand, the wait time for Jackson/Sound Seismic was longer than I preferred. Instead, I elected to look at other options or hope the wait time for Jackson/Sound Seismic would subside in a few months. After looking around, my conclusion is it's slim pickings for those specializing in retrofit. Surprising due to the demand. After six months, the wait time was still (if I remember correctly) almost nine months. However, I felt sure my best bet was to go with Jackson/Sound Seismic so I plunged ahead. Since Jackson/Sound Seismic offers the option of dry wall repair, I opted for that rather than take on the repair as a separate project. To me, the convenience was worth going this route. If you have a good relationship with another company or want to get competitive bids, you can elect to go that route. Matt was my first contact and was on site to assess my property and prepare the bid. I very much appreciated the way Matt clearly explained exactly how the retrofit worked, what they did and how they did it. The bid was detailed, clear and easy to understand. Matt was delightful to work with the entire project. Luckily, my project was squeezed in 5 months early due to a cancellation. Everybody seemed to be proficient, were timely, pleasant to work with and patiently answered my concerns. The whole project went off with out a hitch. There is no doubt in my mind that I choose wisely when I signed up with Jackson/Sound Seismic to do my retrofit work. Hopefully, I'm good on retrofitting but should I have the need, I would definitely go with Jackson /Sound Seismic again.

Description of Work
Earthquake retrofit, water heater strapping and dry wall repair.

Category earthquake retrofitting

Cost $1,900

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/31/2016

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you appreciate the way we do business and saw value in out handling the finish removal and replacement. It was a pleasure working with you. I do need to point out, so others don't get the wrong idea, that the work didn't cost $1,900. A zero was dropped, and the work actually cost about $19,000. That price covered structural engineering services, building permit, dust containment, removal of sheetrock wall and ceiling finishes as needed, anchor bolts, shear panels, framing connectors, hold downs, building inspections, and then the patching and finishing of the sheetrock. Basically everything to make the basement "paint-ready". And then our completion certificate for you to show your insurance provider as proof of a retrofit. All the best, Leif Jackson, owner, Sound Seismic
5.0

08/25/2016


Ari B.

Amazing. The biggest issue was their backlog - they were booked out for 6 months, but we weren't in a huge rush and Leif stopped by to build a plan and to get permits pulled well in advance of the work. We were told the price and the timeline on day one and even when it came time to do the work and they realized they'd have to do more prep than they thought we'd agreed on, they did it all, on time, like total pros. Site was clean every day and they were timely, respectful, and as professional as can be. Can't recommend highly enough.

Description of Work
Seismic retrofit of our 1915 house

Category earthquake retrofitting

Cost $12,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/25/2016

Service Provider Response

We are happy we were able to work your project earlier in our schedule. Congratulations on your new bundle of joy! It's nice that the baby was able to come home to a much safer nest. All the best, Leif Jackson Owner, Sound Seismic
5.0

08/01/2016


Robin S.

Sound Seismic did a great job. There was a long lead time (initially 9 months) because they had a substantial backlog of work, but they provided a quick estimate and I got on the schedule. They checked with me when they had an earlier opening in their schedule and I was able to get the job done at about the 6 month mark. The lead was David Pullman; he was always ready to answer my questions about the different measures they were using to fix the house to the foundation. He was especially knowledgeable about the requirements and specifications of the fasteners used in different locations and he was also the guy who walked the city inspectors through at the end of the project. I had taken the Seismic retrofit classes offered by the city, and had considered doing the work myself. I was glad I went with Sound Seismic. They did the job much faster than I could have and they had the experience and techniques (and specialized tools) to do this fairly technical work quickly and effectively. About half of the work was done in the house's crawl space and the job required the crew to shift precut plywood panels in tight quarters. I consider the cost of the project money well spent. My house is more secure now that this work is done.

Description of Work
I needed a seismic retrofit of my basement. My house was built in 1927, and the walls between the foundation and first floor (the 2 foot high pony walls) were not up to current standards. Some of these walls have a slight slant, indicating that the house *had* shifted a little in a past quake; there is a possibility of the house structure leaving the foundation in a bad earthquake. I saw this as the most critical work I needed to do on the house.

Category earthquake retrofitting

Cost $11

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/12/2016

Service Provider Response

What a great review - thank you! I'm sure most people will figure it out, but the cost of this work was $11,000 plus tax. We can't even take our truck around the block for $11. :-)
5.0

03/24/2016


Barb B.

Sound Seismic staff are very professional, good communicators, take care with the work site keeping it clean, and delivered everything contracted plus provided finishing work better than my expectations. Jess and Chris performed the majority of the work. They were dependable, considerate, and when I had questions they had answers that assured me they were well qualified. They also were flexible enough to accommodate a few smaller changes that I had not planned for in advance. Matt managed the schedule, planning an earlier start date to accommodate my busy schedule. He was also there to help with review of the engineering and build design and he helped with some finishing work. Thank you all! I am a very happy customer and highly recommend this company for earthquake retrofit services.

Description of Work
Earthquake retrofit of 65 year old home.

Category earthquake retrofitting