Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Gaspars Construction

Founded 1974 • With Angi since August 2005

4.6

(34) Verified Reviews

Description

Gaspar's Construction is a residential Design/ Build remodeler. We have been in business for 45 years and started as a small construction company. We added Design Services in 1995 and in 2003 added our Handyman Division. At Gaspar's we pride ourselves on our unequaled ability to remodel, restore, or renovate homes. Our dedication to providing the highest quality work is reflected in our passion for making a difference in our clients' lives....

Other local Pros in your area

Fresh Coat Painting LLC

We provide best painting services. We guarantee your satisfaction and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out our services offered and call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

Orange Painting & Remodeling

Orange painting is a full-service one stop shop for interior/exterior home services, offering the highest quality residential and commercial paint jobs in Seattle and all over King county. Every day, we strive to provide great results for a great value. Our team members are skilled professionals who take great pride in their work. We will arrive on time, keep you informed, deliver what we promise and guarantee our work. Orange Painting fully licensed, bonded and insured.  

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2020
Green Brush Painting

The Green Brush is a Seattle-based painting company dedicated to the use, promotion, and education of the highest quality non-toxic paints and stains. Our skilled craftspeople are friendly, knowledgeable and highly dependable with over 14 years of professional painting experience. Contact us today!  

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

09/12/2017

As a homeowner of less than 10 years of a new construction, we have not had the need (yet) to take on any major renovation projects. That said however we have had a variety of handyman services out to the home to keep it looking new. Some were good, while others where less than desirable. Most recently we decided to give Gaspar’s a try following a friend’s recommendation, and we are certainly glad...

Description of Work
Handyman services

Category handyman service,woodworking,interior painters

4.0

04/01/2017

Once the work began, Reed (the lead doing almost all the work) was great . Our main frustrations was paying for design work not needed. They went over budget when it possibly could have been avoided. We ended up hiring our own painter after work was completed to save some money.

Description of Work
open up dining room to kitchen. Ended up needing to frame in chimney in middle of wall since it couldn't be removed or exposed We also replaced upper cabinets to match new lower cabinet next to new wall oven (under pass through counter.

Category home remodeling

5.0

04/22/2015

Everthing was great....there was a problem with the gutter. it was making a lot of noise. They sent the sub contractors back out promptly to fix the problem and we weren't charged for that. We were very happy with the service

Description of Work
Repaired eves and had sub contractor install gutters. New steps to garage and repaired the garage flooring

Category remodeling

5.0

04/22/2015

They were really good and I have no complaints.

Description of Work
They did a renovation on the kitchen, bathroom, laundry room, and old hardwood floors.

Category home remodeling

1.0

02/26/2015

I spent a lot of time and effort researching design and build companies in Seattle and handpicked a few to reach out to for estimates on a full house makeover, including a significant master suite remodel and two smaller projects that I wanted to start with. I specifically picked companies who had larger team of employees so that I would not have to rely on the availability of just one person and ...

Description of Work
Nothing, could not get the company to return my phone calls.

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

[Member name removed], I am sure that we have lost the opportunity to do business with you but wish you a great remodeling experience just the same. I am of course embarrassed that your calls were not returned. This is one of the worst things a business owner can hear. While there is no excuse for this I can tell you that we have been going through an a very busy time since in the last couple of m...
5.0

02/16/2015

We did not go with Gaspars mainly because of cost. We just didn't have the budget for what they were probably going to charge. Jen was very forthcoming with us about cost but she was very easy to talk with and I would recommend them as a place to start if not use.

Description of Work
We met Jen Gaspar at the Seattle Home show and she was very nice and listened to all of our wish list wants and looked at pictures of our very sorry master bathroom. She gave some suggestions which we hadn't thought of.

Category room remodeling","home remodeling contractor

5.0

11/20/2014

It went very well. I met with 2 different contractors before deciding to go with Gaspars. We ultimately decided to go with Gaspars because (from our perspective), they view their business as primarily customer service, and their product as construction and handyman work. It was also easier to work with them because they are a design-build team. So we didn't have to find our own designer, and she weighed in at various points during the project to make little tweaks (which, ineveitably occur), so the finished project has a cohesive feel. I, as the consumer, am smart, capable, the owner and user of the (now) renovated space, but am not an inherently handy person (neither is my husband). So, I want to work with someone who walks me through the whole process (because I'm new to renovations), let's me know when they need information from me, keeps me informed on the progress of the project (when issues come up as well as when everything is right on track), and is sensitive to the particular issues I'm sensitive to (in our case budget was our biggest concern and optimizing functionality in the space was our biggest goal). These are all things that Gaspars did for us. The project management was top notch. This is not to say everything went perfectly, but if issues came up they were addressed head on. We had weekly meetings to update us on progress and for us to give them feedback in person. We also had daily email summaries on project progress so even if we didn't see the team (we were living in home during renovations), we still understood what was happening in the space (which we peaked at almost daily during the work period). The quality was top notch. Nothing is rickity, everything looks great and solid. We asked them to for high quality work, but not high end finishes. We wanted the space nice enough that we won't ever need to upgrade or do it again, so we skipped on say... the bathroom chadelier, but no the two shower heads. When picking finishes, we described our vision and the desired functionality and Gaspars limited our selections to what was within our budget so we wouldn't fall in love with something we couldn't afford. They also suggested tweaks to the design/scope during the project when they were in the space and realized something was wonky (getting rid of a step up into the bedroom that was there for no reason, moving a heat register so that the ceiling had a consistent ceiling height, which it didn't before renovation, and adding extra outlets in logical spaces for future functionality). The price was our only pain point. It was higher than we wanted, but to be fair, it was within 10% of the agreed upon price at the beginning of the project. Because we plan to be in this house forever, we wanted it the way we wanted it. So they could have done less of the work for less money, we could have finished it with cheaper finishes, but we didnt' want to. And our space is moderately compact, so we had to best utilize the avaiable square footage, which involved a lot of drilling up of congrete and moving plumbing around in our daylight basement (not just re-finishing the space), all of which added more to the cost than if you googled bathroom renovation. But to their credit, the costs only went up for things we couldn't see before the walls were busted into, and, they gave us options for cutting costs should that need to happen (we could wait on doing the powder room, we could have done the paint ourselves, etc.); ultimately we didn't cut any of those costs, but with those options, you feel like you have more control over what the final scope costs. The team was awesome. We worked with Sarah (owner) as our overall project point person, Richard as secondary point, Lance as our onsite primary doer, and Gunnar as our handy man. They were all wonderful, nice, friendly, professional, easy to communicate with, receptive to feedback, and overall a pleasure to work with. The actual logistics of the work is that handyman work started in May or June (deck work) and only took a few days. We started design work in early August. Same time as we got our financing lined up. We did a contractor walk through late August. Had the final estimate pitch in early September. Started work 9/17, and finished up 11/17 (2 months later).

Description of Work
The big projects were in our daylight basement: 1. Reconfiguring a sad 3/4 bath (that was finished to look ok, but really just be functional for renters) into a master bath that connected to a bedroom through a new pass through closet (which was formerly just a hang bar on a wall), 2. Adding a powder room (1/2 bath), and 3. Creating a closet for newly stacked washer/dryers. The smaller projects were, patching/re-inforcing our deck, installing new windows on the front of our house, adding soffet venting, patching some drywall from a previous leak, fixing all door hinges in our kitchen (they were 60 years old and dying quickly) and fixing some quirky things in the area of the house being renovated (moving light switches to more logical spots, standardizing ceiling heights, and leveling an uneven floor.

Category deck company","electrician","handyman service","Lighting","room remodeling","window installer","home remodeling contractor","door installer

5.0

08/25/2014

Absolutely loved working with Gaspar's. We needed a few last projects finished up while we rushed to get our house on the market. We worked with Ted to price out an estimate and get on the schedule. Ted sent one main handyman who handled the majority of the projects and also helped to coordinate the services of the hardwood floor contractors. The handyman was very helpful and helped us figure out a plan for our fireplace, where the grout around the insert was flaking away. He thought of using black silicone caulk when we couldn't find matching grout anywhere in the city. I wish we had thought of this years ago - it looked great! The hardwood floor contractors were very efficient - in and out in an hour over two days (had to seal the new wood - had to sit overnight). You couldn't tell the patch was even there after they were done. Pricing was in line with other handymen services we scouted out. We will definitely be going with Gaspar's again if we need other services around our new place done quickly and efficiently.

Description of Work
Replaced small section of damaged hardwood floor Cut new window sill (water damage on existing MDF sill) Removed grout & caulked gas fireplace Removed damaged baseboard in bathroom Replaced baseboard in 3 bathrooms

Category contractor","ceramic tile installer","flooring contractor","handyman service","room remodeling","window installer","woodworker","home remodeling contractor

5.0

07/12/2014

Gaspar's professionalism is exceptional. They arranged weekly meetings to discuss progress, difficulties and necessary decision-making. This was critical given our distance from the building. Every member of their team was friendly and knowledgeable. We got weekly billing updates and lots of pictures to help us monitor the project. They coordinated all the scheduling and subs and we ended up with a finished product that we love. Recently, another tenant has given notice so we will rehab this second unit and Gaspar's was the first contractor we called. They responded immediately and we are already in the design phase of our next project.

Description of Work
Gaspar's renovated a 1200 sq ft. apartment for us. This included new kitchen cabs, counters and appliances, new shower and bath fixtures, new flooring and paint as well as tile and slate work. We live out of the area so we really needed a contractor who could do it all and communicate well during the process.

Category ceramic tile installer","countertop installation","flooring contractor","room remodeling","home remodeling contractor","interior painter","cabinet refacing contractor

5.0

06/10/2014

The costs were not inexpensive, and I ended up spending more than I had wanted, but the results are absolutely gorgeous. They interpreted my vision and added to it. The craftmanship and professionalism of the services were excellent.

Description of Work
I have a fairly new architectually designed house that needed some exterior "refreshing" and finishing touches. It wasn't exactly a remodeling but the work had many steps and was complicated. I worked with the Handyman division of Gaspars to bring in the professionals to do various steps of the work. Carpenters, roofers and painters ended up doing pieces of the project.

Category contractor","room remodeling","roofer","interior painter

    Services Offered

    Bathroom Remodeling, Kitchen Remodeling, Condo Remodeling, Handyman Services, Green Construction

    Services Not Offered

    .

    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard
    Senior Discount
    NO
    Warranties
    No