Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Gaspars Construction

Founded 1974 • With Angi since August 2005

4.6

(34) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

300 S Lucile St

Seattle, WA 98108

Description

Gaspar's Construction is a residential Design/ Build remodeler. We have been in business for 45 years and started as a small construction company. We added Design Services in 1995 and in 2003 added our Handyman Division. At Gaspar's we pride ourselves on our unequaled ability to remodel, restore,

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Tracy F.
5.0
09/12/2017
As a homeowner of less than 10 years of a new construction, we have not had the need (yet) to take on any major renovation projects. That said however we have had a variety of handyman services out to the home to keep it looking new. Some were good, while others where less than desirable. Most recently we decided to give Gaspar’s a try following a friend’s recommendation, and we are certainly glad we did! The handyman turned out to be a handywoman (can’t recall her name unfortunately) and she did a superior job on a variety of tasks we required over the course of the 4 hours we paid for. She repaired an attic vent, a ding in some sheetrock, to include matching the paint and painting, and also replaced and painted some trim. The best part about the experience was everything looked new and matched after completed. Unlike some of the other reviews, I will not complain about what we paid because more importantly I realize the VALUE in a job well done the first time, which is exactly what occurred. You know the old saying, you get what you pay for! Thank you Gaspar’s for a job well done! I will not hesitate to use their ‘handyperson’ services in the future, and when we are ready for that big renovation, Gaspar’s will be the first call we will make!
Description of Work
Handyman services
Category
handyman service, woodworking, interior painters
Chris M.
4.0
04/01/2017
Once the work began, Reed (the lead doing almost all the work) was great . Our main frustrations was paying for design work not needed. They went over budget when it possibly could have been avoided. We ended up hiring our own painter after work was completed to save some money.
Description of Work
open up dining room to kitchen. Ended up needing to frame in chimney in middle of wall since it couldn't be removed or exposed We also replaced upper cabinets to match new lower cabinet next to new wall oven (under pass through counter.
Category
home remodeling
Lisa B.
5.0
04/22/2015
Everthing was great....there was a problem with the gutter. it was making a lot of noise. They sent the sub contractors back out promptly to fix the problem and we weren't charged for that. We were very happy with the service
Description of Work
Repaired eves and had sub contractor install gutters. New steps to garage and repaired the garage flooring
Category
remodeling
William T.
5.0
04/22/2015
They were really good and I have no complaints.
Description of Work
They did a renovation on the kitchen, bathroom, laundry room, and old hardwood floors.
Category
home remodeling
Malinda M.
1.0
02/26/2015
I spent a lot of time and effort researching design and build companies in Seattle and handpicked a few to reach out to for estimates on a full house makeover, including a significant master suite remodel and two smaller projects that I wanted to start with. I specifically picked companies who had larger team of employees so that I would not have to rely on the availability of just one person and there would be a variety of expertise that goes into the projects. Gaspars seemed to fit the bill based on previous Angie's List reviews and their website. I called the company twice and both times the person answering the phone informed me that I should speak with Ted, but that he was in meetings and would call me back. The second time she specifically told me he would call me back that day. He never called. It makes you wonder how the communication would go if you were actually working on a project with the company.
Description of Work
Nothing, could not get the company to return my phone calls.
Category
remodeling

Service Provider Response

[Member name removed], I am sure that we have lost the opportunity to do business with you but wish you a great remodeling experience just the same. I am of course embarrassed that your calls were not returned. This is one of the worst things a business owner can hear. While there is no excuse for this I can tell you that we have been going through an a very busy time since in the last couple of months and have been working hard to staff up which we have accomplished as of today. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Thanks, Sarah Henry
Tami R.
5.0
02/16/2015
We did not go with Gaspars mainly because of cost. We just didn't have the budget for what they were probably going to charge. Jen was very forthcoming with us about cost but she was very easy to talk with and I would recommend them as a place to start if not use.
Description of Work
We met Jen Gaspar at the Seattle Home show and she was very nice and listened to all of our wish list wants and looked at pictures of our very sorry master bathroom. She gave some suggestions which we hadn't thought of.
Category
remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

[member name removed], Thanks for your feedback. It is always nice to hear that we did a nice job of helping someone even it that means we didn't win the business. Hopefully we will have another opportunity with you in the future. Best Regards, Sarah Henry
Pamela U.
5.0
11/20/2014
It went very well. I met with 2 different contractors before deciding to go with Gaspars. We ultimately decided to go with Gaspars because (from our perspective), they view their business as primarily customer service, and their product as construction and handyman work. It was also easier to work with them because they are a design-build team. So we didn't have to find our own designer, and she weighed in at various points during the project to make little tweaks (which, ineveitably occur), so the finished project has a cohesive feel. I, as the consumer, am smart, capable, the owner and user of the (now) renovated space, but am not an inherently handy person (neither is my husband). So, I want to work with someone who walks me through the whole process (because I'm new to renovations), let's me know when they need information from me, keeps me informed on the progress of the project (when issues come up as well as when everything is right on track), and is sensitive to the particular issues I'm sensitive to (in our case budget was our biggest concern and optimizing functionality in the space was our biggest goal). These are all things that Gaspars did for us. The project management was top notch. This is not to say everything went perfectly, but if issues came up they were addressed head on. We had weekly meetings to update us on progress and for us to give them feedback in person. We also had daily email summaries on project progress so even if we didn't see the team (we were living in home during renovations), we still understood what was happening in the space (which we peaked at almost daily during the work period). The quality was top notch. Nothing is rickity, everything looks great and solid. We asked them to for high quality work, but not high end finishes. We wanted the space nice enough that we won't ever need to upgrade or do it again, so we skipped on say... the bathroom chadelier, but no the two shower heads. When picking finishes, we described our vision and the desired functionality and Gaspars limited our selections to what was within our budget so we wouldn't fall in love with something we couldn't afford. They also suggested tweaks to the design/scope during the project when they were in the space and realized something was wonky (getting rid of a step up into the bedroom that was there for no reason, moving a heat register so that the ceiling had a consistent ceiling height, which it didn't before renovation, and adding extra outlets in logical spaces for future functionality). The price was our only pain point. It was higher than we wanted, but to be fair, it was within 10% of the agreed upon price at the beginning of the project. Because we plan to be in this house forever, we wanted it the way we wanted it. So they could have done less of the work for less money, we could have finished it with cheaper finishes, but we didnt' want to. And our space is moderately compact, so we had to best utilize the avaiable square footage, which involved a lot of drilling up of congrete and moving plumbing around in our daylight basement (not just re-finishing the space), all of which added more to the cost than if you googled bathroom renovation. But to their credit, the costs only went up for things we couldn't see before the walls were busted into, and, they gave us options for cutting costs should that need to happen (we could wait on doing the powder room, we could have done the paint ourselves, etc.); ultimately we didn't cut any of those costs, but with those options, you feel like you have more control over what the final scope costs. The team was awesome. We worked with Sarah (owner) as our overall project point person, Richard as secondary point, Lance as our onsite primary doer, and Gunnar as our handy man. They were all wonderful, nice, friendly, professional, easy to communicate with, receptive to feedback, and overall a pleasure to work with. The actual logistics of the work is that handyman work started in May or June (deck work) and only took a few days. We started design work in early August. Same time as we got our financing lined up. We did a contractor walk through late August. Had the final estimate pitch in early September. Started work 9/17, and finished up 11/17 (2 months later).
Description of Work
The big projects were in our daylight basement: 1. Reconfiguring a sad 3/4 bath (that was finished to look ok, but really just be functional for renters) into a master bath that connected to a bedroom through a new pass through closet (which was formerly just a hang bar on a wall), 2. Adding a powder room (1/2 bath), and 3. Creating a closet for newly stacked washer/dryers. The smaller projects were, patching/re-inforcing our deck, installing new windows on the front of our house, adding soffet venting, patching some drywall from a previous leak, fixing all door hinges in our kitchen (they were 60 years old and dying quickly) and fixing some quirky things in the area of the house being renovated (moving light switches to more logical spots, standardizing ceiling heights, and leveling an uneven floor.
Category
decks, electrician, handyman service, lighting, remodeling, replacement windows, home remodeling, doors
Chelsea C.
5.0
08/25/2014
Absolutely loved working with Gaspar's. We needed a few last projects finished up while we rushed to get our house on the market. We worked with Ted to price out an estimate and get on the schedule. Ted sent one main handyman who handled the majority of the projects and also helped to coordinate the services of the hardwood floor contractors. The handyman was very helpful and helped us figure out a plan for our fireplace, where the grout around the insert was flaking away. He thought of using black silicone caulk when we couldn't find matching grout anywhere in the city. I wish we had thought of this years ago - it looked great! The hardwood floor contractors were very efficient - in and out in an hour over two days (had to seal the new wood - had to sit overnight). You couldn't tell the patch was even there after they were done. Pricing was in line with other handymen services we scouted out. We will definitely be going with Gaspar's again if we need other services around our new place done quickly and efficiently.
Description of Work
Replaced small section of damaged hardwood floor Cut new window sill (water damage on existing MDF sill) Removed grout & caulked gas fireplace Removed damaged baseboard in bathroom Replaced baseboard in 3 bathrooms
Category
contractors, ceramic tile, flooring contractor, handyman service, remodeling, replacement windows, woodworking, home remodeling
Doug M.
5.0
07/12/2014
Gaspar's professionalism is exceptional. They arranged weekly meetings to discuss progress, difficulties and necessary decision-making. This was critical given our distance from the building. Every member of their team was friendly and knowledgeable. We got weekly billing updates and lots of pictures to help us monitor the project. They coordinated all the scheduling and subs and we ended up with a finished product that we love. Recently, another tenant has given notice so we will rehab this second unit and Gaspar's was the first contractor we called. They responded immediately and we are already in the design phase of our next project.
Description of Work
Gaspar's renovated a 1200 sq ft. apartment for us. This included new kitchen cabs, counters and appliances, new shower and bath fixtures, new flooring and paint as well as tile and slate work. We live out of the area so we really needed a contractor who could do it all and communicate well during the process.
Category
ceramic tile, countertops, flooring contractor, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters, cabinet refacing
ANNE C.
5.0
06/10/2014
The costs were not inexpensive, and I ended up spending more than I had wanted, but the results are absolutely gorgeous. They interpreted my vision and added to it. The craftmanship and professionalism of the services were excellent.
Description of Work
I have a fairly new architectually designed house that needed some exterior "refreshing" and finishing touches. It wasn't exactly a remodeling but the work had many steps and was complicated. I worked with the Handyman division of Gaspars to bring in the professionals to do various steps of the work. Carpenters, roofers and painters ended up doing pieces of the project.
Category
contractors, remodeling, roofing, interior painters
Luciano M.
5.0
02/25/2014
The contractor was on time, and performed all the work requested to full satisfaction.
Description of Work
1. Fixed hinges on entry door and realigned to frame 2. Installed metal hook on ceiling beam
Category
remodeling
William T.
5.0
02/10/2014
They did a wonderful job and we've got nothing but compliments about them. They were very attentive and when there were a couple of flaws here and there, they addressed and fixed them. They actually put the house up on the Remodel Show all throughout Bellevue and they actually had people come in and look at the project. We were really happy with their work and other than paying them, we had a big BBQ party in appreciation to them.
Description of Work
We have used Gaspars Construction for an extensive remodeling work. We have a fixed bedroom downstairs and they moved the laundry room and the bathroom into that room. Then they doubled the size of the kitchen with new appliances, all new cabinets, and hardwood floors. They replaced some of the old hardwood with new hardwood and refinished the floors. They had to put lights in above the kitchen because of such a big span and put in an island. They did a bunch of work for the gas range and a lot of ductwork for the heating. They installed new lights all the way through, new sheetrock, and covered all the tabletops with granite. They put a new bar, painted the living room and ceiling all the way through the hallway and five bedrooms. They also refinished the kitchen floors, bathroom floors, laundry room, the entryway, and the entire living room. They also put in insulated glass windows and framing in our media room. We lived downstairs while they were doing the work and and they made a kitchen in our multimedia room as well.
Category
appliance repair, countertops, flooring contractor, lighting, remodeling, replacement windows, home remodeling, interior painters, basement remodeling
Gail G.
4.0
11/25/2013
They were very nice, but after setting up an appointment, they said they didn't work in the Woodinville area any longer and referred me to another company.
Description of Work
Discussed remodeling project.
Category
remodeling
Meera G.
5.0
09/09/2013
They were nice. I don't know if we will go with them because we haven't made that decision yet. They were friendly and accommodating. They took me to other sites to see projects that they were working on; that was helpful.
Description of Work
We consulted Gaspars Construction for their remodeling service which included a master suite.
Category
remodeling
Kristina C.
5.0
07/22/2013
Our experience with Gaspar's was very positive. We worked with them through the design process, to choose materials and such for our bathroom remodels. Once materials were chosen, they submitted a fixed bid. It was higher than we might've gotten elsewhere (or if we'd chosen lower-end materials), but you do get what you pay for: the work was completed on time, despite various things we added on partway through (additional electrical work, adding a french door to the master bedroom, painting the master, etc), the quality of the work is high, and the folks coming in and out of our house were always respectful. The worksite (and any other parts of the house they walked through) was clean at the end of each day. They also got the bathtub up and running (in a room with bare studs and just a copper pipe for the water) right away, so we could give our toddler proper baths during the rest of the process. Our project manager, Michael, made great friends with our 2-year-old daughter; she always wanted to go into the and quot;structionand quot; to and quot;help Michael.and quot; All the folks we worked with were friendly and professional, and addressed any concerns we had right away. They were very easy to contact via email, text, or phone, which fit our communication preferences perfectly. We are very much enjoying our new bathrooms, and wouldn't hesitate to use Gaspar's again next time we have a project.
Description of Work
Remodeled our 2 bathrooms, added french doors to master bedroom
Category
electrician, remodeling, home remodeling, doors
Monic P.
2.0
06/17/2013
Contacted the company and they did an estimate over email. They did not seem overly interested in the job and when I asked for an onsite estimate, they made me feel as though I was asking them to go out of their way. They wanted me to confirm the job without having them come to the house in person. I would not recommend going with this company if they do not have time. The quote seemed ok but made me seem wary as they would not give me a dollar figure unless I scheduled the work. They made me feel as though they pressure you into getting the work done and unless you do, then they dont want to bother with you.
Description of Work
Exterior work on house
Category
remodeling
Doug M.
5.0
05/02/2013
Gaspars Construction did a good work. Their communication was very good. I'd give them an A plus everywhere. They were expensive but they're worth every penny.
Description of Work
We used the services of Gaspars Construction. They did the flooring, wiring, painting, cabinets, counter tops, plumbing and the design.
Category
contractors, countertops, electrician, flooring contractor, remodeling, architect, home remodeling, interior painters, cabinet refacing
Carol D.
5.0
07/23/2012
The project was delayed for two weeks halfway through because the backsplash tile wasn't available when promised by the distributor, otherwise the project was on time. There was minimal disruption to our household, other than not having a kitchen for six weeks. The only significant change order was required to vent the hood--they had hoped to vent it through the space between floors, but there were water lines running through that space. So they built a soffit to contain the ducting, which turned out looking like it had always been there. We couldn't be happier with the result, and everyone in the company was so nice and easy to work with, from the president down to the guy who put up the plastic sheeting to protect the rest of the house--and especially the foreman (Reed) for the job. We would use them again in a heartbeat. I'm pretty sure I could have found someone cheaper, but we chose not to bargain hunt because we wanted a quality job and Gaspar's came highly recommended.
Description of Work
Gaspar's remodeled our kitchen during a six-week project starting mid-May. They replaced the countertops and backsplash, removed a cabinet that contained double-ovens, and installed a free-standing range with overhead hood in the same space. They converted a false drawer front into a drawer, added pull-out shelves to an existing cabinet, and put up new crown molding and cabinet trim so the changes made would fit in. They also installed under-cabinet lighting and a new sink & faucet. A small piece of unfinished floor was exposed under the new range. We could have touched up the finish ourselves, but Gaspar's sent out their refinisher who made it look perfect.
Category
home remodeling
Sara B.
5.0
07/18/2012
They did a good job. I would use them again.
Description of Work
They've done a couple of things. They've replaced an outside door and door frame. They fixed a leak in my shower.
Category
handyman service, doors
Carolyn G.
3.0
02/12/2012
The work was done satisfactorily; however, to use an entire 8-hour day to perform this work seemed very inefficient. I expect faster work and common-sense cost-control from a handyman who charged $85/hr. as a base rate. I own rental properties as well as my home and wouldn't hire this company again.
Description of Work
Odd jobs I estimated to take about 4 hours: Hung four strands of Xmas lights, applied a single strip of caulking at the tub base, changed one out-of-reach lightbulb, put two anchors in a child's bedroom ceiling for a swing, examined and lubricated door locks.
Category
handyman service
A B.
2.0
12/23/2011
did not recontact them as they did not seem to interested in small job.
Description of Work
Asked for cost to reside gable and all they would do is to have us send photo and dimensions for them to give price. They did gave an appx hourly cost which was pretty high
Category
remodeling, siding
Dave S.
1.0
07/13/2011
Very poorly -- they never responded to my call for services/help.
Description of Work
There were no services performed -- I called them on Monday the 11th, and they never called back. Since then, two other handymen have called and come to quote the job, and I hired one of them.
Category
handyman service, doors
Wendy Y.
5.0
07/05/2011
They were excellent. Everything went exceptionally well. They were very professional and efficient. They did their job and got out for a very reasonable rate. I would rate them highly and would use them again in the future.
Description of Work
I used Gaspar's Construction for some demolition work.
Category
excavators, handyman service
Bette L.
1.0
06/27/2011
They were going to be my remodelers initially but they were very expensive. The one thing that I was very upset about was that they kept giving me the plans that cost more where as I had been telling them that I had only this much money. I had to keep telling them we could not go with their plans. They would not give me any of the plans that they had already made up when I changed. They refused to give me the progress that we had made so far. I had to get another architect and had the plans remade. They charged me for the plans and refused to give them to me. I was not very happy with them at all. I had quite a bit into it and then I lost it. They were very responsive.
Description of Work
I have interacted with Gaspar's Construction five years ago for making the architectural plans for remodeling my house.
Category
architect
Laura B R.
5.0
01/21/2011
Everything was perfect about their service; they always left things spotless at the end of the day, they made very little mess, they only came during convenient hours, and they came when they said they would come. I can’t think of anything that I would want to improve except the price. It was expensive but I knew that going into it. You get what you pay for. They are the first company I'll call in the future.
Description of Work
Gaspar’s Construction fixed our porch after there was water damage.
Category
decks

    Other local Pros in your area

    Seattle painting and landscaping

    We do painting drywall landscaping. We guarantee your satisfaction and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out our services offered and call or click to schedule a free estimate today.  

    Angi Certified

    PERDUE BUILDERS & SUPPLY INC

    Perdue Builders & Supply, Inc. is located in Bothell, Washington. We are locally owned and operated and have been serving Washington state for more than 20 years. We are licensed, bonded & insured and also a member of the Better Business Bureau. The quality of our craftsmanship and relationships with our customers is something in which we take great pride. Our competitive pricing coupled with our 100% customer satisfaction guarantee allows Perdue Builders & Supply, Inc. to stand out from the rest. We give our customers quality assurance they can count on for decades to come! As premier providers of top-quality siding and windows, we are committed to providing you the best in energy saving products and to solving all of your exterior home improvement needs. We also provide a complete range of services to complete your home improvement project including patio and sliding glass doors, decks, painting and more! We are a James Hardie Preferred Remodeler. Please note - depending on volume and schedule we may not be able to offer repair services.  

    Angi Certified

    Bul Pro Painting LLC

    BUL Pro Painting LLC starts on May 2016 and it’s been doing better and better every year with hundreds of new customers some of them are our friends now. We are very professional and detail oriented company. Our team have a really good communication and explaining every step that we are taking in our project. We will be happy to help you with your project! This is the company that you can trust for quality and value!  

    Angi Certified

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard
    Senior Discount
    NO
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Bathroom Remodeling, Kitchen Remodeling, Condo Remodeling, Handyman Services, Green Construction

    Services Not Offered

    .

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Gaspars Construction

    How is Gaspars Construction overall rated?

    Gaspars Construction is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are Gaspars Construction open?

    Gaspars Construction is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Gaspars Construction provide

    Gaspars Construction accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard

    Does Gaspars Construction offer free estimates?

    No, Gaspars Construction does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Gaspars Construction offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Gaspars Construction offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Gaspars Construction offer a senior discount?

    No, Gaspars Construction does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Gaspars Construction?

    No, Gaspars Construction does not offer warranties.

    What services does Gaspars Construction offer?

    Gaspars Construction offers the following services: Bathroom Remodeling, Kitchen Remodeling, Condo Remodeling, Handyman Services, Green Construction

    Are there any services Gaspars Construction does not offer?

    .