Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Excavators Northwest

Founded 1990 • With Angi since February 2012

4.9

(52) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1416 NW 46th Street Ste 105-216

Seattle, WA 98107

Description

Excavators Northwest is a small family owned excavation business that specializes in house lifting, excavation, building foundations, pin piling foundations, drainage, and foundation repair....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

07/02/2018


Brian N.

Fine. Flexible, on time, did the work as needed and followed up as necessary.

Description of Work
Excavation & dirt removal

Category excavators, foundation repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you for a nice review. Excavators Northwest 206-948-2000
5.0

06/19/2018


Tran F.

I highly recommend Excavators Northwest: courteous, hardworking, skilled staff, and a very experienced principal who designed and oversaw the project. They were consistently on-time and maintained a clean worksite. Our backyard faces an alley and is about 7 feet higher than the alley. There is a 4' high rockery which is good shape. The remainder of the retention system was railroad ties at least 20 years old - rotting and failing. We spoke with three contractors, seeking suggestions for how to proceed, materials, etc. We selected Excavators Northwest because of the scope and design of the project. There were a few very interesting things about this project. The project spanned 10 days and involved driving 20' pipe 15' deep at 6' intervals to which beefy treated timbers are attached, forming the new retaining wall. The contractor had to carefully drive two different earth movers into the backyard, first clearing dirt from where the existing wall, removing the existing wall, then grading the backyard which included filling a stairwell that was unwanted access to the alley and adding to the lower rockery where the access met the alley. We are completely satisfied with the results.

Description of Work
Replacement of failing retaining wall

Category excavators, home builders, foundation repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your nice review. Excavators Northwest
1.0

04/10/2018


Lyle B.

I originately poke with the owner about the estimate. I gave him lol the information f what I wanted. I had my architect send him copies of the plan. I never heard from him again. I called and left messages. I emailed him an left messages. I never heard from him. I was very unhappy with the unprofessional way he acted towards me.

Description of Work
I requested an estimate for a basement.

Category concrete repair, excavators, foundation repair

Service Provider Response

Our estimator remembers going out to see your project. Your house had burned down and you were anxious to get a bid for the basement to turn into your insurance company. Your architect sent plans and we were able to give you a bid from that information within the short timeline you requested. The bid was sent on December 19, 2017. We followed up with a phone call a week later because we hadn't heard from you. We did not hear from you after the phone call either.
5.0

03/31/2017


Carol K.

You can't ask for a nicer, harder-working, knowledgeable person with whom to work. He and his crews are respectful and he does what he says he will do and when he says he will do it. Easy to work with. Top-notch.

Description of Work
Frank and his crew ran our gutter downspouts into the ground and to a drainage pipe that fed into dry wells in our front yard.

Category excavators, drain pipe

5.0

03/23/2017


Becky W.

We were thrilled with the results! The fellows in the crew were all business (as in they didn't stand around talking), but were courteous any time we went to see how things looked. They took a break to eat lunch, but otherwise they were on the job. There was not a huge overage on materials. They bought only what they needed and asked us how we wanted things. The trim on the revamped garage was made to mirror that on the house, so that the new roof fit right in with the house and yard. The boys cleaned up after themselves both during and after the job. Any leftover wood scraps we didn't want to keep were hauled away. The digging for the drainage was smoothed and a layer of gravel was added to the top, per our request. We would use Excavators Northwest again in a heartbeat. Good work, well done, by honest people.

Description of Work
Excavators Northwest added second story storage to our old garage. The original garage had a flat roof that filled with water every time it rained. Frank and his crew basically cut off the old roof and designed and built a new peaked roof (that they had shingled) with loads of storage reachable by stairs that they also designed and built. They added LED lights and a window, as well. The space is terrific and the perfect spot to keep sports equipment safe, dry, and out of the way. They also dug out and installed some drainage around the garage because the old foundation is below grade.

Category foundation repair

5.0

02/19/2015


John M.

I couldn't be more satisfied with Excavators NW. They were responsive and helped solve a number of unforeseen problems. Also my direction and plans were not entirely clear and they worked with me to get me exactly what I wanted. My initial experience was with their representative, Adam. He came out within a week of contact and was able to clearly understand what my goals for the project were and also had some great suggestions. Frank (the owner) was always available and checked in on the progress often. Once underway, the project Super, Rick Cash was awesome and his direction, communication, and problem solving couldn't have been better. We ran into a number of unforeseen issues, including 2 oil tanks, unstable earth, constant water, and unclear plans on my part. The problem solving and solutions provided were spot on. Rick did everything he could to help manage expectations and cost over-runs, and his ability to communicate the issues well, and spend a good deal of time ironing out solutions was a great trust builder for me. If I ever have another project like this, I would not hesitate to partner with Excavators Northwest again.

Description of Work
Lifted existing house, excavated for new and extended foundation/basement, soil stabilization, water management, retaining walls, concrete pad, poured concrete crawlspace, oil tank remediation.

Category concrete repair, excavators, foundation repair

5.0

01/17/2015


Tyler A.

Even though I didn't use this company, they called a few weeks later to check up and see if my problem had been resolved. Their customer service is unmatched, and I highly recommend them.

Description of Work
I asked for an estimate on some drainage issues I was having, and the people at excavators northwest were amazing. Unfortunately the size of my job was too small for what they do, but I was given terrific advice and recommendations which I eventually had performed by another company.

Category foundation repair

5.0

01/02/2015


Kristina S.

He was very informative and helpful and honest. He basically explained to us why it would be quite costly to excavate an extra room in our basement, and what would be involved. He looked at several issues related to that space and made some alternative suggestions for fixing a structural issue that we were concerned about. We thought we had to excavate the space to fix that structural issue, and he was able to show us that we could do it from the outside. He referred us to an architect that could help us with our complicated basement remodeling issues. If we did decide to excavate the basement, we would certainly hire this company, without a doubt.

Description of Work
The owner of the company came out to our house to talk to us about excavating part of our basement.

Category excavators, foundation repair, basement remodeling

5.0

12/23/2014


Danielle O.

Excavators took my call right away and offered me good advise on next steps suggesting that I get plans and talk to a structural engineer. They also provided a very high level estimate of their costs and time it would take to do the work. They offered to come and give an estimate as well. I was very impressed with how professional they were and would definitely use them if I decide to move forward with my project.

Description of Work
I am considering digging out my basement or raising my house.

Category excavators, foundation repair

5.0

12/09/2014


Kai D.

The whole team of three came out to give an estimate. I appreciate how prompt, knowledgeable and professional they were. They spent a great deal of time going over the whole house, listening to the issues, answering questions and gave an opinion about the problems with the house and possible solutions. When additional damage with the house was found, they returned promptly to reassess and give additional comments and opinions. When we are ready to do the work we will definitely call them to do it.

Description of Work
estimate

Category foundation repair

5.0

09/29/2014


Judi W.

It has gone very, very well. It is a huge job that needs to be done. They haven't done it yet. They were very informative and very good. He did a lot of measuring and gave us a lot of information. He spent a lot of time talking with both my niece and me. He really seems to know what he was talking about. She knows a lot more than I do about the information and he gave good information. She has been a contractor all her life. He was very nice. The appointment wasn't very far out and he was very prompt in getting the information out to me. He was very professional.

Description of Work
We got an estimate because the house has shifted a bit. It was for foundation repair. The place was built in 1893 and they were some underground creeks here.

Category foundation repair

5.0

08/26/2014


Christopher F.

Frank came out to check out a crack I had in our foundation. He arrived on time and was very professional and polite. It turned out that it wasn't a crack that needed to be repaired. He was very helpful and even offered advice for a simple repair.

Description of Work
Crack in Foundation

Category foundation repair

5.0

07/25/2014


John M.

We had a number of complications that came up, like not 1 but 2 oil tanks that contaminated the soil, and what appeared to be a stream running under the house. Also the soil was too sandy and wet to properly support the new foundation. The experience with Excavators NW from start to finish was stellar and they went beyond normal support to help solve some complicated issues. The superintendant on the job inparticular was awesome, and his years of experience and support helped drive the complications to great solutions. Even with a large amount of other jobs, the owner came by on a regular basis to check up on the work and ensure that I was happy with how everything was progressing. This was a very big job and I would not heistate to hire Excavators NW again. They do excellent work and went above and beyond what I would have expected.

Description of Work
I had Excavators NW raise my house, remove existing foundation, remove 2 oil tanks, stabilize the soil, manage an extreme amount of water under the house, and pour a new basement foundation, slab, driveway, retaining walls, extend foundation back 12', and extend foundation forward 3'

Category foundation repair

3.0

07/02/2014


Stephanie P.

I sent in some pictures through email. Frank respond letting me know "at this time they have decided not to pursue my project". No reason why. Is the project to small? To big? Do you not have the time? Are you concerned about details of the project? Can you recommend anyone else? Nothing. Pretty disappointing. Based on his reviews I would have expected a little more professionalism. Any details would have helped me feel better about this interaction and make sense of the rejection.

Description of Work
Requested a quote.

Category excavators

5.0

06/26/2014


Karin C.

Great. He responded to my initial inquiry right away and was able to come out and look at the house within the same day. He was on time and very thorough in reviewing more than what was identified as a possible foundation problem. A written formal report and estimate were provided less than one day later.

Description of Work
Came out to the home we are in the process of buying and measured any areas where the house was measuring uneven. Estimator checked out a crawl space under part of the house to investigate a possible compromise in the house foundation as reported by our house inspector. He provided an assessment of the foundation and a price estimate for work needed to bring house back to original level status.

Category foundation repair

5.0

06/12/2014


Ayako H.

My husband and I were planning on building 60ft concrete retaining wall on our back yard for the past 3 years. We have researched and talked to at least five different contractors. As an architect, I always tell my clients to get at least 3 estimates. First three estimates I received were priced all over the place and didn't get the impression they know what they're doing nor priced fairly. I decided to get two more and their price came out close. I decided to use Excavators Northwest at the end because the estimator, Adam, left me with good confidence this company knows how to build a quality wall. I like the fact everything except concrete supply is in house. The first day of work two workers, Jack and Matt, came on time and started working right away. They worked hard all day long to finish excavation on the first day. The following five days they worked right on schedule and kept the project moving. They had great work ethic whether or not their boss is watching. The final quality of the concrete wall was fantastic! We're so glad we waited long enough to find the right contractor. Thank you for your hard work.

Description of Work
Built 60ft x 32in x 8in concrete retaining wall in smooth architectural finish.

Category foundation repair

5.0

06/10/2014


Jayne H.

GREAT EXPERIENCE! No job is too small or silly. Quite pleased from initial e-mail inquiry, to completion of project, and a follow-up personal phone call regarding the same. Digging in our small garden I hit a "rock." Curious enough the "rock" turned out to be a 4' x 2 1/2' concrete slab. Impossible to move and quite impossible for me to let it go, since I had a new home in mind for this vintage slab. An e-mail inquiry was sent to Excavators Northwest and Adam responded. A free estimate was provided and removal was scheduled. The concrete slab was placed in its new location without a hitch, and the actual invoice was lower than the estimate. Bonus. Thank you Adam, Jim, and Excavators Northwest for making this a pleasant experience. You're the best! Jayne Hibbing

Description of Work
Extracted large concrete chunk buried in garden, recycled same by placing in new location.

Category foundation repair

5.0

06/09/2014


Jessica D.

The project took a bit longer than they had thought but they did a thorough job. The project managers were very professional, courteous and knowledgeable. The only minor complaint I have is that the work crew left some of their trash behind. I bought the crew some coffee and they left the empty cups along with some energy drink cans behind.

Description of Work
lifted/leveled the first floor by jacking and shimming

Category mudjacking, foundation repair

5.0

06/03/2014


Karl R.

The work went smooth and efficiently. They even went out and got a "specialist" to oversea and help with the concrete formwork. The owner, Frank, helped and negotiated a change order with the building inspector (which they had a good reputation with (it helps alot). I was impressed at how easy the crew and Frank were to work with.

Description of Work
Excavated and poured a concrete foundation for an addition to my residence.

Category foundation repair

5.0

05/05/2014


John N.

Adam was very professional and punctual. While we decided not to pursue the basement project due to overall cost, the numbers for the work proposed did seem very reasonable. Should we decide to do this kind of work in the future we will call Excavators NW first thing.

Description of Work
Adam made two trips to our house to bid on a project to excavate under our existing home and provide us with a new 600 sf. ft. basement.

Category foundation repair

5.0

04/21/2014


Antony K.

Adam was extremely professional, responsive, and easy to communicate with. His examination was thorough, and given the time and site limitations, more than I expected. Afterward, he spent a lot of time answering questions and explaining all our options regarding his findings, and also followed up promptly with the estimates I requested. I would absolutely recommend using their services, and plan to use them again.

Description of Work
Foundation Inspection

Category foundation repair

4.0

03/10/2014


James F.

The owner of the company, Frank, was very nice and was very easy to work with. I believe he made a concerted effort to try to save the foundation which really would save the structure. He was also the carpenter who after 3 days of working on it came to me and said, I wish I could have said this earlier to you but I wouldn't bother to bring one more penny to this house, you should just tear it down. It was a very expensive advice, but I ended up doing a little more examination of it and I did tear it down a couple of months later. I wish I didn't have to spend $5,000 to learn that.

Description of Work
We had a portion of the house which we tried to renovate and Excavators Northwest came in and tried to save the foundation that was there at that time.

Category foundation repair

1.0

02/26/2014


Andre G.

Company emailed me two days before the meeting to say they had to cancel since I had not provided my address. I provided my address when I booked the appointment and the least the company could have done was email or call me saying they still needed my address rather then saying that as a result of me not providing it that they had to cancel. Very unprofessional and I will not do business with them,

Description of Work
Called provider over a week ago to schedule an estimate for repairing a crack in our basement foundation.

Category foundation repair

5.0

02/24/2014


deborah E.

These guys are tight, they work well together and my project was completed exactly as I had communicated. They resolved an old water run issue that had been inherited with the house with a very simple grading and trenching trick. Very happy with these guys and have used their services more than once with this old house. Their history and knowledge of the area we live in, is invaluable to the projects Frank has worked on for me. Excavators NW is very thorough and approached each project with respect and pride in their work. Thank you Excavators NW.

Description of Work
Removed around 15yards of soil from my backyard, graded it, water control engineered it to contain and drain properly. Replaced grass with T-minus for a low maintenance park like setting.

Category foundation repair

5.0

02/19/2014


Douglas G S.

It went great with Excavators Northwest. From what I had done before it was a very good price. The estimate was very positive. I am still getting bids, but it's possible I would end up using them.

Description of Work
Excavators Northwest gave us an estimate for leveling the house.

Category mudjacking

    Other local Pros in your area

    Rain Pros Inc

    As the name implies, we are professionals of the rain. If it hasn’t rained, and you want it to, we do that. If it has rained too much and it is ruining your landscape or is damaging your home, we solve that. If you would like to catch the rain when you have too much and use it when it hasn’t rained, we even fully automate that. Our professionals have years of experience in drainage and irrigation installation and repair and maintenance. We are very proud to be growing company and leader in each of our fields. For bid requests please email our general manager (Brandon@RainPros.com). Sprinkler and Drainage inspection and repairs please contact our service coordinator at (253) 678-7111 Additional email- customerservice@rainpros.com  

    Offers by Rain Pros Inc on Angi
    FC The Mason LLC

    Our mission is to be a provider that brings back the personal touch with our customers. We will build a relationship that will last a lifetime after you see our quality work.As a locally owned and operated business we feel invested in our clients and constantly strive for customer satisfaction. Call or message us to schedule an estimate today!  

    Oceania Construction

    We specialize in concrete services, repairs, pouring, leveling, driveways, walkways, stamped patios, and more! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out all the services we offer below and call -or- click to schedule a free estimate today!  

    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    EXCAVN-908O7
    Trade License Locale
    State of Washington
    Trade License Authority
    Washington State Department of Labor and Industries
    Trade License Expiration
    07/28/2016
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    House lifting, excavation, trucking, demolition, cement work, consultant services

    Services Not Offered

    Please call for with questions.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Excavators Northwest

    How is Excavators Northwest overall rated?

    Excavators Northwest is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What payment options does Excavators Northwest provide

    Excavators Northwest accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Excavators Northwest offer free estimates?

    Yes, Excavators Northwest offers free project estimates.

    Does Excavators Northwest offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Excavators Northwest does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Excavators Northwest?

    No, Excavators Northwest does not offer warranties.

    What services does Excavators Northwest offer?

    Excavators Northwest offers the following services: House lifting, excavation, trucking, demolition, cement work, consultant services

    Are there any services Excavators Northwest does not offer?

    Please call for with questions.