Cascade Valley Construction

About

Founded 2006 • With Angi since October 2009

Cascade Valley Construction is a licensed, bonded and insured general contractor in Washington . We use licensed subcontractors for plumbing and electrical work. We are a father and son team located in Northwest Washington serving our customers since 2006, Thomas has been in construction for 43 years. Please call Thomas at 541-653-6195....

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Verified Reviews

4.9

(78) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

70

4

1

3

3

2

0

1

4

Rating Details

Price

4.9

Professionalism

5.0

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

5.0

Responsiveness

5.0

Read reviews by category

drywall (19)siding companies (18)door installation (16)roofing (15)home remodeling (13)interior painting (11)insulation (10)general contractors (10)woodworking (9)window replacement (9)water damage restoration (8)flooring (8)
Showing 1-25 of 78 reviews
5.0

05/19/2020


Kathleen M.

I have hired Thomas for three different projects and wouldn't hesitate to hire him again. After getting two sets of three bids from other contractors over a couple-year span and not feeling confident with any of them, I was impressed with the time, energy and focus he put into the bid. He listens well and communicates clearly. As issues always come up with an older house, I was grateful he had the experience and knowledge to solve unexpected problems while considering my budget. He works as hard as his crew and was willing to arrive early several times to met with me before I left for work at 7 a.m. When delays popped up due to permits, shipments, etc., he stayed in touch and kept me up to date. When a tarp was placed over a part of my roof during the project, he drove by and checked frequently to ensure it stayed in place during wind and rain storms. Thomas had no problem allowing me to paint in order to save some money, sought input from me when decisions needed to be made and was available at any time for questions or concerns. I am very happy with my family room, which is more functional than before and definitely a more appealing space to hang out in. My new garage was integrated to look like it was always meant to be a part of the house and the front porch fits in seamlessly and gets used almost daily this time of year. I highly recommend Cascade Valley Construction.

Description of Work
family room remodel, garage and porch addition

Category remodeling, garage builders

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/07/2020

5.0

03/10/2020


Marcia R.

Thomas communicated very well with us every step of the way and now our garage and workshop look even better than before the damage occurred.

Description of Work
We had a new roof put on our garage and a total workshop rebuild after 3 trees feel on our garage. There was degree all over the workshop and water.

Category drywall, gutter repair, insulation, remodeling, roofing, siding, garage builders, woodworking, house painters, interior painters, doors

Cost $31,599

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/10/2020

5.0

02/21/2018


Mike M.

This is a 12 year old home that has had a shower leak for a long time. A new type of sealer for the shower pan was used and didn't work. Being that water goes down, we didn't realize there was a problem. 12 years later we did! Insurance / Safeco was called and sent a claims manager to view damage. They didn't cover damage as it had been going on too long. Was given a list of folks to call. Their bids were all over the place. So I Checked on Angie's List. My wife started calling contractors and everyone was busy. We liked the reviews on Cascade Valley Construction, and so she called Thomas. To Busy! Well she kept calling him and offered to bake him a blackberry Pie. That was too much to resist and he came to our home. Thomas went under the house pulling insulation as he accessed the damage. It was bad. He took a video of the damage and we were shocked. All of the support beams and sills were rotten and that side of the house was sinking. Thomas asked a $1000.00 to start and tore into the Bathroom and part of the bedroom. We moved upstairs as the smell and black mold was bad. As I said He was very busy and took a month to get his crew in to repair damage. The out side wall had to be removed, the floor removed and sills and beams replaced. New flooring, Plywood treated, not OSB. second story had to be braced and leveled. New out side wall was built and siding put on. Belly board was something called white board and starting to rot. so Thomas used cement board as a replacement. Now the time had arrived to put inside walls up and a new shower. Thomas put the shower together correctly using a very thick shower pan and used cement board instead of plaster board that was used originally. He then put a red sealer on the floor and walls. Thomas smiled and said this time it won't leak, We now have a handicap accessible shower and a heated tile floor! Thomas was very good at explaining what he was doing step by step and his crew was great They were here to work when they said they would be and stuck with the job until our work was done We now know why He is so busy.

Description of Work
Complete replacement of bathroom and part of master bedroom

Category contractors, ceramic tile, concrete repair, drywall, flooring contractor, picture framing, hardwood floor, insulation, plastering, remodeling, siding, water damage restoration, woodworking, home remodeling, doors, foundation repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/01/2017

Service Provider Response

This project was definitely a challenge! We have enjoyed the many pies, cakes, cookies, cinnamon rolls, and endless cups of coffee. The [Member Name Removed]'s deserved a fix to an issue that happened due to no fault of their own. In the process we gained some great friends. They have now attended a family wedding and a baby shower. Sometimes it just works out that way and makes what we do that much more worthwhile. All our best to the [Member Name Removed] family!
5.0

11/09/2017


Richard S.

Excellent. I think this is my second time ever writing a review, but felt it important given the relationship we built with Thomas and Cascade Valley Construction. Thomas was extraordinarily dedicated to our project. He is of course a competent and capable general contractor, that was expected. What set him apart from anyone I have worked with in this field was his respect and consideration for my family - he is a true gentleman and treated my family as one; his attention to detail and ensuring things are done the correct way - if they aren't he will have it redone; and that he is a man of his word on big things and small. Of course this is how he makes a living, but Thomas seems to be doing this job for love of the work, and I always felt that our project getting done beyond my family's expectations was his number one priority, more so than his personal bottom line. If I need any work done on this house, Thomas is who I will call, no question. He has earned my loyalty.

Description of Work
We added approximately 500 square feet to our home. The work involved converting one garage bay into a mud room and multipurpose room and re-engineering the trusses in our garage attic to create a bedroom and a bathroom. It was relatively complicated given the amount of "home hardware" and structure that needed to be moved. The room above the garage included a dormer and the rooms were connected to the existing house on both floors.

Category contractors, remodeling, replacement windows, home builders, home remodeling

Cost $60,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/30/2017

5.0

07/26/2017


Norman G.

They did just a very small job. I had a bathroom sink that was fastened kind of lingered off the wall which I wanted to remove and replace with a pedestal sink. There was a spot on four feet in diameter that needed to be restored before the sink went in, so it was a very small job. It was one man, and he was very good. He came with some sort of powder that he mixed up and put on. Then, he waited around for it to dry, and it just didn't dry. So, after an hour or an hour and a half, he said well, this stuff is just not working at all, setting out and not even close to what it's supposed to be doing. So, he ripped it, all out went to the store and bought some of the right stuff and came back. H spent maybe four or five hours to get the job done because of this unexpected glitch he had with the plaster mixture. I was very pleased. He went above and beyond, he only charged me for the original job. Neither of us knows what happened, but he just took care of it and did the right thing. It was a somewhat tricky job, even with the glitch, it went as expected. When it didn't go well, he just dealt with it and did the right thing.

Description of Work
He did plastering work.

Category plastering

Cost $250

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/26/2017

5.0

05/08/2017


Phillip A.

On time every morning and prompt completion. Thomas is a gentlemen and personable to do business with. He followed up on any concerns and "owns" his projects start to finish. His tradesman did a very good job keeping the house clean, laying protective material and cleaning up work area daily. 100% would recommend, price was fair and I recieved quotes of over $1500 more. He keeps his cost down and does not cut corners, just a general contractor who knows how to run an efficient operation.

Description of Work
Installation of non load bearing wall and closet addition to convert den into a bedroom. Work consisted of rough framing, moving electrical switch for overhead light, sheetrock and texture. Additionally hanging of interior door and bi-fold closet doors.

Category contractors, drywall, picture framing, insulation, remodeling, doors

Cost $3,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/28/2017

5.0

04/16/2017


Barry R.

We hired Cascade Valley Construction to make several repairs to our house's siding, steps and fencing, and we're delighted with the responsiveness, quality and professionalism we received. Thomas, the owner, is a man of high integrity, skilled craftsmanship and professionalism. He quickly assessed what needed to be done and promptly gave a very detailed estimate. Thomas and his crew arrived every day on schedule and completed the project on budget and on time. I wish I could say the same for other contractors I've hired over the years. Thomas is a pleasure to do business with. He has a great sense of humor and communicates clearly. But most importantly he honors his word. I'm looking forward to working with his company in the future. If you're looking for skilled craftsmen, with high integrity, hire Cascade Valley Construction. You won't be disappointed.

Description of Work
Siding, step and fence repair.

Category fencing, remodeling, siding

Cost $7,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/10/2017

Service Provider Response

As always we strive to give her a clients the highest quality possible, with the least amount of inconvenience, it always makes us happy to know that we have succeeded in satisfying all of our clients needs, it has been a pleasure . sincerely Cascade Valley Construction
5.0

09/20/2016


Jeri S.

Wonderfully well!!! Thomas is A-1 in my book. He is friendly, honest, and thorough. He answers all questions, he has a great sense of humor, and talks frankly and directly so he is understood and he understands the customer. Thomas stands by his work. Thomas is the greatest find ever!!! I will not hesitate calling him to help with any construction around my house. He offers his opinions and suggestions, provides his experiences, and let's you make the decisions, and follows the choices you make. And he does it for a reasonable price. You're an ace, Thomas!!!

Description of Work
New Drywall put in on my ceiling to repair and bathroom flooring to repair damage from a couple of water leaks. He also installed a new shower and sink. Texturing of the drywall and painting. And advocated for me with Home Depot and their contractor.

Category drywall, flooring contractor, remodeling, water damage restoration, home remodeling, interior painters

Cost $5,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/11/2016

Service Provider Response

We absolutely enjoyed our time with [Member Name Removed], her her mother made our jobs so pleasurable and we look forward to the next project thanks again [Member Name Removed], for choosing Cascade Valley Construction
3.0

01/24/2016


Sabrina R.

Consultation was thorough and very complete. Just didn't receive a bid or follow up. Ultimately I didn't pursue it and went with another service to get the work done. Hesitate to rate down because I really do feel the work would have been done well and he would stand behind it.

Description of Work
Came out did a great consultation but never received a quote which was disappointing. The project was a reframing of a window and replacing section of compromised siding to stop a water leak

Category contractors, masonry, siding, water damage restoration

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/18/2016

Service Provider Response

I'm sorry the client feels that we were unresponsive to her needs but I have always let potential clients know if they are out of our service area
5.0

06/16/2015


Jennifer W.

Mr. Yoney was so nice and friendly, but also very professional. He came out to see our house quickly and gave us a quote by the next day. He is a hard worker and got our job done right away. (Unlike me who has taken six months to finally write this overdue review.) We had one miscommunication about which way a door should open but it was fixed immediately and without any fuss. There was never any mess left behind at the end of the day. We have been extremely pleased with Cascade Valley Construction and plan on using them again for our next big project.

Description of Work
We had three doors/doorways installed in our newly-bought house. Two were installed in existing openings to enclose a room and a third was put in a wall with no previous opening. So this included lots of drywall work for all three doors and prepping the wall surfaces for painting.

Category drywall, remodeling, interior painters

Cost $2,575

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/24/2014

5.0

03/31/2015


Veronica E.

Although the work was done sometime ago, I didn't want to miss writing a review for Mr. Thomas Yoney. Overall, it was great service - timeliness, professional, very considerate and reasonable. He had 2 very efficient employees working for him. Mr. Yoney went above and beyond his service in all aspects of the job. He even worked on getting the permit to start the work. He always gave me an update at the end of each day. He was easy to contact and always returned my calls as well. Looking forward to working with them for my next home project!

Description of Work
Reconstructed front side of our house,

Category remodeling

Cost $8,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/01/2013

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed] so much for the report as usual it is always a pleasure working with you and your family and we look forward to the next project as we have done so many for you
5.0

02/23/2015


Christine W.

My house is only 2 years old and I was concerned that I wanted the door to look as if it came with the house and not an add on. Thomas Yoney drove to Lakewood, because I knew were the contractor of the house got his supplies for his homes. He got the same door to match my back door and up graded to a handy capped ( per phone call). This was great, the door goes out to the side yard were I drive in my van and in the future if my husband or I have to use the van for a wheel chair we can get into the house because the door will be large enough to get through. He did such a wonderful job I put him on to another job, Putting up glass and mosaic tile up under my kitchen cabinets. He does a very good job, protects the rest of the area from dust, dirt and damage and cleans up that you didn't even know he was there. I have other projects that I want done and he will get the call. I can't believe how well all of this has gone.

Description of Work
Took out a window and installed a door.

Category ceramic tile, flooring contractor, remodeling, replacement windows, home remodeling, doors

Cost $2,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/02/2015

5.0

11/15/2014


Robert C.

Cascade Valley Construction performed the work on time and in budget. After removing the siding and rim joist more dry rot was discovered on a adjacent mud-seal which required extra time and material to repair. Thomas and Matt made the repairs but didn't raise the price and they added a shield to prevent water from getting onto the new mud-seal. Thomas and Matt were a pleasure to work with. They kept me informed on all aspects of the repair and made sure I was satisfied with the completed project. I give them two thumbs up! Thanks Bob, Puyallup

Description of Work
Remove dry rot on floor joist's mud-seal and rim joist. Install jack supports and new support beam where floor joist were cut off. Install new floor joist, mud-seal and rim joist.

Category contractors, flooring contractor, remodeling, siding

Cost $1,100

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/11/2014

5.0

10/29/2014


Sharon F.

I always wait about a year to put in a Angies List review, this gives the job a chance to stand the test of time. This job was very stressful for us as several things did not go right but they were NOT Marks (Cascade Valley Constructions) fault. He was to tear down a dining room wall and replace doors, moulding thru out the entire house, but it was complicated by the fact that Home Depot was doing the entire house in new laminate flooring during Mark's job. After all doors etc removed, Home Depot was to come in put in floor then Mark could return and replace doors and do the finishing work. The experience I had with Home Depot was not a good one (they replaced what I had ordered with another companies product) and it complicated greatly the house remodel. I either had to wait for Home Depot to take away pallets of product, wait weeks for new to arrive or just go ahead and put in the stuff I did not order?this would mean that I would spend all the Winter Holidays (with visitors) in a home with no doors (including bathroom). Mark was the recipient of all this stress and he handled it very patiently. I would use Mark again but with some knowledge that he is a small company (when his main worker became ill and was in the hospital most of the work came to a halt). Again, not Mark's fault, but for longer projects it could be problematic . Knowing this was very stressful for me he brought in non- staff workers to finish the project. Not ideal but they completed the project and ultimately I am very happy with the work his company provided. One situation came up when I asked for painting that needed to be done on the doors that was not part of the original bid. When presented with the bill for that part it was more than I expected but still very fair. We should have agreed on a written estimatation before hand and he agreed. This was my learning curve, with project changes, asked for a bid on the change?that way, no surprises. The ultimate question is 'are you happy with the work' and the answer is "yes". I would hire Mark again. He was very helpful with ideas with the construction project and it turned out better than I had imagined it.

Description of Work
Inside remodel of dining room (wall tear down), replacement of all inside doors and moulding (doors and windows), stair rail.

Category flooring contractor, hauling services, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling

Cost $12,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/10/2013

5.0

10/20/2014


Sarah J.

Mark has done several projects for us, is always quick to respond and is honest and forthcoming. He spends as much time as he needs and answers any questions I have. He makes it seem that I am his top priority. He videoed the sewage line and cleaned it out in both directions. Investigated all other causes and ordered parts to fix a pipe clean out. Let me know the cause (improper maintenance of the garbage disposal) and how to prevent this from happening again. I love that he is concerned with doing a job right, and preventing issues from occurring in the future. We originally brought him in to redo our basement after a flood, but have come across several issues that he has had to fix first. Looks like we will be keeping him in business for a while :)

Description of Work
Fixed an overflow issues in a basement drain, caused by our lack of appropriate maintenance.

Category plumbing, remodeling, water damage restoration

Cost $660.1

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/17/2014

5.0

10/19/2014


Tim B.

Mark and his crew did a very professional job. No complaints.

Description of Work
Mark and his crew repaired a large ceiling crack caused by settling of the house. They also repaired some foundation cracks. Repair included new dry wall in the ceiling, texturing the ceiling, and painting the ceiling and wall.

Category drywall, remodeling, interior painters

Cost $3,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/12/2014

5.0

05/08/2014


Benjamin B.

Thomas and his crew were friendly, professional, efficient, and informative. They were flexible with scheduling, meeting our difficult work schedules with no problem. They took their time to do the job properly, and did not spend unnecessary time on any part of the project. In addition, when confronted with an unexpected difficulty in the process, Thomas went to the trouble of filming and taking pictures to show me later, and then fixed the problem after checking in with me by phone. The sagging corner is once again level, and the new door, frame, threshhold, and associated components look great and work perfectly. Overall, an extremely competent, capable outfit, and one with which I would be happy to work again in the future!

Description of Work
Complete replacement of an existing, badly damaged doorframe, threshold, etc., including sourcing and installing a custom-sized door. Leveling of sunken house corner to ensure squareness of door and frame.

Category remodeling

Cost $1,600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/30/2014

5.0

11/20/2013


Melissa P.

We had a very expensive remodel that went very badly and we had to search for a new general contractor to repair the many problems that were left behind by the original contractor. Thomas and Mark spent four hours reviewing the job and suggesting remediation of the many serious problems. They were professional and very considerate. Their observations about the interior and exterior of our house were excellent. I did not use them for the interior remodel simply because I was in the process of obtaining a full bid from another excellent contractor who was further down the road in the process. Knowing this, I asked Thomas and Mark to hold off putting additional work in to the bid process until we'd made a decision regarding the first proposal. I would certainly use Thomas and Mark without hesitation. In fact, we may need to rebuild the envelope of our house and will use Thomas and Mark for that phase of our remodel if they are interested in tackling that project.

Description of Work
This very professiona contractor father and son team spent four hours providing a preliminary evaluating our remodel project.

Category remodeling

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/15/2013

5.0

10/25/2013


Catherine F.

The install of the removed door and glass was a pretty shabby job. The previous owners installed a door that would not close properly, and a magnetic screen that you could not close unless you went outside. (? DUH!). They put it in a larger opening that the door so they filled up the sides with all sorts of foam and spray foam, which was a mess to clean out. Mark and his crew had to go through the vinyl siding and foam, take out all the wood and other mess they had stuffed in the crevices. They created a beautiful sliding door space, full of light, out of a dark ugly wall/door. The doggie door turned out to be too large for the distance between the studs, so they had to re-create that space to allow for the large expansion of a door. It was a lot more complicated than any of us could have imagined, but the men persevered to get it finished in one day (all of it?slider and doggie door!). It was an amazing feat! They also built a quick little stair for the dogs until they can come back and install the deck in a couple of weeks. They cleaned up the site, were polite, efficient, and very hard working. It was a pleasure to have them there doing the work, and when they left it was as if they had never been there except to see the beautiful doors!

Description of Work
Removed existing door, two side glass wall panels, and the magnetic screen. Opened up the space to it's original large door area and installed a new vinyl low-E very large slider; Put in an extra large all-weather dog door and built some temporary steps for the dogs going in and out the door (beside the slider).

Category remodeling, woodworking, doors

Cost $2,398.31

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/23/2013

5.0

10/20/2013


TERESA M.

We had a 1970's glass sunroom on the front of our home that was too hot in the summer, too cold in the winter, leaked and was an eyesore to boot. We wanted to turn it into a space that we could really use and at the same time, retain our great view without breaking the bank. This was a big decision for my husband and I so we solicited five bids in total. Mark and Thomas Yoney were the only ones to suggest we tie in an existing set of living room windows to carry the line across the front of the house. Up to that point, we were having trouble conceptualizing the completed project but that recommendation really enabled us visualize the end result in our mind's eye. They seemed to know exactly what we wanted to achieve. Mark was at our home every morning and again most every afternoon, checking on the day's progress and examining the work. Mark obviously has very high standards which he also demanded of his crew. The job site was cleaned up every day before the crew left and great care was taken to respect our home and furnishings which we really appreciated. The crew was great and Terry, one of the guys on the crew, was truly a delight. Members of the crew had years of experience in the field of home building and remodeling and this shows in their work. Our only real surprise was finding some dry rot, which was repaired during the course of the project. We are absolutely thrilled with our new room and look forward to next Spring when they will be back to replace our exterior front stairs and porch and do some exterior painting for us. Mark and his crew were experienced, skilled, thoughtful, considerate and absolutely a pleasure to do business with. We can honestly say that Cascade Valley Construction exceeded our every expectation!

Description of Work
Tear down existing sunroom and replace with a new interior sitting room

Category remodeling, sunrooms

Cost $17,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/05/2013

Images

Review for Cascade Valley Construction - 12447 Military Rd, Rainier, WA - 7089427

+1 More

5.0

10/16/2013


Catherine F.

Vanity: I purchased a vanity from IKEA and they said I could 'easily' put it together myself and have someone set it up. It was not possible for me to even get it out of the back of the car, let along put it together and install. With a friends visit fast approaching I was in a panic and tried to find someone to no avail. I finally got smart and called Mark and by the end of the day he had a man ready to come out by the end of the week, working me into his schedule. He did an excellent job (no way I could have put that thing together EVER) and installed it (except IKEA left out the most important piece and I had to drive to pick it up). He had to leave to get to his own job, so the next day Mark came over and finished putting in the last little drain piece and caulked. Could not have been happier!!! Fence: I have a cat that is considered fair game by my dogs, so he needs his own space. Luckily the yard lends itself to having a small piece of yard for him, and his own little house, too, since he can't come into this one. I had a make-do set up that I put up to keep in over there but in order for me to access it I had to go through the house to the garage and go around, then back again. A real pain. Mark designed a lattice fence/gate for me at 6' tall so that the cat could not have anything to jump on to get to the top. It lets me see what is on the other side, lets the breeze make it to my neighbors and doesn't shut out the light. A real asset to the landscape and very sturdy. I will be setting some sort of solar caps on the posts so that there is just a little bit more light in that area, but it is otherwise quite beautiful!

Description of Work
$280: Build the kit from IKEA of a vanity and install in bathroom $1755.00: Take down a do-it-yourself install of a wire and lattice fencing material, build and hand large gate; hang 2" cedar lattice for gate and as fencing; set four posts in concrete.

Category fencing, home remodeling

Cost $2,035

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/10/2013

3.0

10/14/2013


Susan B.

We were in a hurry to choose a few contractors to bid on a house we were in the process of purchasing. A contractor had to be chosen and on board prior to closing the purchase, so that payment could be made accordingly as part of the deal. Mark at Cascade Valley was one of only two contractors that could meet within the week. Mark was able to accommodate a Saturday afternoon appointment to walk through the house and review our list of projects. He arrived on time and spent nearly 2 hours looking at everything we needed done - asking questions and answering our questions. He seemed very knowledgeable in all aspects of the work. The following Friday, 6 days later, we received an email from Mark that he wouldn't be able to bid on our project. When I inquired about why, he said that due to a miscommunication within their office, Cascade was now overbooked. I informed him that without his bid we would have no comparison for the other contractor bid we received. He committed to providing numbers for at least one item on my list (the most extensive project), but 3 days later, after another weekend, he said he wasn't able to squeeze that in after all.

Description of Work
We requested a bid for several projects on a house we are purchasing -- paint, carpet, patio repair, window screen replacement, etc.

Category remodeling

Work Completed On 09/23/2013