Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Skagit Roofing

Founded 1990 • With Angi since October 2008

Since 1990 we have installed hundreds of new roofs for our satisfied customers.Below are examples of quality work by Skagit Roofing installation professionals.

Verified Reviews

4.7

(28) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 28 reviews
Paul A.
5.0
10/08/2020
They were fantastic, did a great job, completed on time, and on bedget.
Description of Work
Brand new roof. They replaced the entire roof.
Category
roofing
Kirk B.
5.0
04/24/2017
They were fast, courteous & very skilled.. fixed some problems not apparent until the roofing was underway. I am a very suspicious guy.. but these were truly hidden issues which they solved quickly. I waited for a big added charge but it was negligible.. just for some wood needed to rebuilt one roof corner. I saw what they did & the quality of the fix. Outstanding!
Description of Work
We've had them roof two house plus a shop since we moved to Skagit VAlley a bit over 10 years ago. The first was our rental house with sphalt shingled gabels, the second was our main house which was a semi-flat torch down roof, the flast [so far] was a metal roof added to our shop building that had a very old shke roof.
Category
roofing
Ron M.
1.0
12/12/2016
They never responded to our inquiry.
Description of Work
Roof repairs.
Category
roofing
Steven D.
5.0
06/16/2016
unknown
Description of Work
Great Company. Very efficient, clean up was amazing. Workers were vey polite and professional. I would highly recommend this company if you are looking for a new roof.
Category
roofing
Clara H.
5.0
03/10/2016
unknown
Description of Work
Skagit Roofing gave us a bid that was so much lower than the other 2 we had that I thought they had made a mistake. They assured me there was no mistake. They did a two layer tear off and installed a new roof. They arrived on the date agreed upon, were very professional and cleaned up beautifully. They ran into some unexpected repair work that needed to be done and that was handled very well and at a reasonable price. We will definitely hire them again and will refer them to our friends and family.
Category
roofing
Charles M.
5.0
10/14/2015
unknown
Description of Work
Skagit Roofing replaced our tile roof with a top quality composition roof. Their crew was very friendly and hard working. They completed the job in 4 days with the exception of one small corner that required a special flashing around the kitchen skylight. They came back on a Saturday to finish that and while two guys worked on it the foreman installed 6 safety anchors at various peek locations. We had one bathroom fan that developed a noise we thought was from debris from the job. One guy came right back out and pulled the fan from the inside and cleaned all the debris that had fallen through. They also cleaned up at the end of every day. Overall a very positive experience.
Category
roofing
David W.
5.0
06/29/2015
Very friendly, crew did the job well and cleaned up after wards. He suggested enlarging the down spouts to deal with my annual clogged gutters. This worked well.
Description of Work
New roof, also replaced all guttters and downspouts
Category
roofing
Susan S.
3.0
05/28/2015
unknown
Description of Work
We called them for a quote on a new roof. After they called us back and confirmed our appointment they didn't show up for it. My husband had to call them again and leave a message. They had completely forgot about us. We were not impressed. Needless to say Skagit roofing did NOT get our business.
Category
roofing
Kathi N.
1.0
02/08/2015
I got absolutely no response from this company so I can only judge them on professionalism and responsiveness. Since they didn't bother to respond, I had to rate them poorly on both counts.
Description of Work
I contacted this company for an estimate on re-roofing my home, which was actively leaking. Approximate cost of service was based on a bid by another company since it seems to be required and I didn't get any response from this company.
Category
roofing
Donald W.
1.0
12/18/2014
unknown
Description of Work
They never called to set up an appointment. Not impressed with them.
Category
roofing
Don L J.
5.0
12/18/2014
unknown
Description of Work
Excellent, we are very pleased with the roof and the workmanship. The crew was very polite, respectful and efficient. We highly recommend Skagit Roofing to our neighbors and have received compliments on the appearance of the new roof.
Category
roofing
Pilar H.
3.0
10/16/2014
Both my husband and I are astounded that we received a proposal without anyone speaking to us about our preferences of roofing materials (shake, metal, composite, etc..) and also without knowing any specific concerns we have. They didn't even state how many squares they estimated our roof to be. What concerns us is that there is a caveat in the terms which states, (this is a cut and paste): "All materials guaranteed as specified. All work to be completed in a workmanlike manner according to standard practices. Alteration or deviation from above specifications involving extra costs will become an extra charge. Additional labor is billed at $72.50 per hour. Additional material is billed at cost + 15%. Additional work contracted on behalf of client is billed at cost + 15%." We would NEVER sign a contract which specifies they'll do the work, without stating exactly what the baseline amount of material they would be providing is AND then IF there is an overage of the (unspecified) materials we would be responsible for any extra labor costs, materials, PLUS 15%!!! Nor should you. We will not be using this company.
Description of Work
Sent a request for proposal through Angie's List. Provider promptly send proposal after a few awkward emails back and forth. Lowest cost was $16,329.00. Highest with all upgrades was $21,007.00 (All totals are without tax) This proposal was based on information acquired via Eagles View (or similar) -without any rep speaking with me personally or stepping on our property. I averaged the bids w/ options to put a number above approximate the cost of service.
Category
roofing

Service Provider Response

Wow. Take a look at the email I sent with the bid and try to make sense of this negative review: On Oct 10, 2014, at 10:59 AM, Skagit Roofing wrote: Hello XXXXX, Here is a copy of your bid. You may wish to compare the material choices here: http://www.pabcoroofing.com/products . Here is list of our competed jobs on XXXXXX St. since 2007 and you are welcome ask your neighbors for a review of our service. 202, 208, 320, 506, 624, 634, 635, 815, 833 and 905 XXXXX St. We have recently installed a Pabco Paramount at 1XXXXX Drive that shows very well. Please review the bid and let me know if you wish to schedule the work. Thank you! Jim Hjelt 360 428-1900 office 360 661-5221 cell www.skagitroofing.net I have left out the address and reply for privacy but they responded that they had chosen another company and that I could contact them if I wanted to know why. I will admit a failure to follow up and ask them why but I felt that they had made up their mind and have to respect their decision. It seem that their biggest problem was trust and I get that, but I provided a list of homes we did in their neighborhood and would provide every job we have done in 25 years as a reference. Aerial reports and the terms in our proposal are standards that one will find in most proposals. When parties agree to trade money for services I understand that things can go wrong and folk want to protect their interests. I really did not intend to write a lengthy response but I just cannot understand the negative expectations of this client based on the evidence. It seems that here on Angies list that the folks who take the time to write long winded negative reviews about Skagit Roofing have never used our services. Please keep that in mind while reading reviews of our company and any other company on Angies List.
Susan S.
5.0
05/29/2014
A previous roofer only wanted to talk about a complete roof replacement and was reluctant to even try to fix the leak. They gave us a bid and were only willing to try to fix the leak if we agreed to proceed with roof replacement when their repair attempt failed. Jason went right up on the roof at the initial visit and got to it. In contrast to the others, he didn't do any hard sell on a roof replacement. We will definitely use him in the future.
Description of Work
Fixed a roof leak. He thought it was related to a roof vent and first tried caulking. When that didn't work they replaced the vent and some roofing around the vent with success.
Category
roofing
Michael P.
3.0
05/23/2014
They actually recommended that I replace the entire roof but I had some other provider to fix the specific problem without replacing the entire roof. So there was a huge difference like a $1100 difference so I went with the other provider. I sort of freaked out when they recommended replacing the entire roof when the problem was easily fixable but they were friendly and professional otherwise. They were a local company. They were responsive as they came out the next day.
Description of Work
I received an estimate to replace the entire roof.
Category
roofing
Richard C.
5.0
05/12/2014
Referred to my family as we have used Skagit Roofing twice and very happy. My family said they were so impressed with Jim and his on site crew, clean up great and best bid. Passing the word out to their family/friends that they are a very good company.
Description of Work
Install new roof
Category
roofing
Richard G.
5.0
02/11/2014
The owner/contact, Jim, was prompt, courteous, and responsive in inspecting our roof and submitting a bid for our very large roof substantially below that of the other local bidders. The work was performed by his professional crew quickly and thoroughly, even though the weather was dreadful. The workmen admirably battled high winds and frigid temperatures, without cutting corners, to complete the roofing in time for us to welcome weekend guests. | |We would unhesitatingly recommend this company to our friends.
Description of Work
.
Category
roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad to deliver good service for a fair price.
Jeffrey R.
3.0
08/12/2013
Owner responded to my online request via e-mail and said they would do bid and call beforehand. No call, but saw that card was left in my door. I e-mailed to ask if they got all info they needed and ask why they didn't call. No response, but saw a second card a few days later. After a few days, two bids came in the mail on the same day. Bids were incorrect as they did not account for all the layers of the shingles that were present and that the plywood would need to be replaced. Would have been easy to get this info had they just responded to my e-mail/talked to me.
Description of Work
Provided a written estimate for a re-roof.
Category
roofing

Service Provider Response

I regret not getting this job and make no excuses. If I had communicated better and met face to face I think this would have been another opportunity for an A rating. I must find a way to maintain good communication in our most busy months (this happened in July) as not to miss a chance to make the sale and finish the job to the customers expectations.
Mark H.
5.0
01/28/2013
Owner, Jim Hjelt, quote in May of 2012 ,reroof which consisted of removal of old shake roof, new 1/2 " cdx plywood under layment and Pabco Premier laminated composition shingles. extended ducting for three exhaust fans and connected to new vent caps. New flashing, continuous ridge vent and cut for 12 new soffit vents. The work crew came out on a preassigned day as promised. All work and total cleanup completed in three days. The crew all knew what to do and answered all questions as asked. I could not have been pleased more,
Description of Work
One of the best companies I ever contracted with
Category
roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review!
LARRY H.
1.0
12/29/2012
Called and left message on answering machine around Dec. 1st. based on the positive reviews on Angies List. Today is Dec. 29th. STILL, NO RESPONSE. Found another company to service my problem
Description of Work
Roof Leak
Category
roofing

Service Provider Response

I would like to inform all members that Skagit Roofing is a small local business and I personally work with all of our clients. Unfortunately, I was on an extended vacation in December and fell behind in communication. I appreciate your review, though critical, and will make efforts to kick my communication up a notch.
Wil H.
5.0
11/19/2012
We purchased an older home that needed roof repairs to make sure there would be no leaks during upcoming rainy season. We left a detailed messaged on their answering service. They came out to inspect and gave us an estimate, and then arranged to come back to do the work, which was completed quickly. We were very pleased with the repairs they made and felt the price was fair. PS - no leaks during recent very rainy weather. Thank you Skagit Roofing.
Description of Work
Made repairs to roof, including valleys and replacing shingles and wooden shakes.
Category
roofing

Service Provider Response

Thanks and we hope your roof troubles will remain a memory!
Gayle O.
5.0
08/02/2012
Great, from estimate to completion!
Description of Work
Jim and all of his crew were outstanding! They were professional in every sense of the word - from the estimate to completion, which all took place within a few weeks. We are thrilled with the end product and our house looks bigger, newer and even more expensive!
Category
roofing

Service Provider Response

This job really turned out great and we are just as proud of the roof. Thank you for your comments!
Dennis M.
5.0
09/18/2011
Spencer Roofing was recommended by a roofing materials supplier. Rick Spencer submitted the lowest of 3 bids. The project started on time, was completed in four days, and the cleanup was outstanding. I highly recommend Spencer Roofing, based upon my experience.
Description of Work
Replaced a composition roof with metal.
Category
roofing
James R.
2.0
04/06/2011
I contacted Skagit Roofing on March 21st to schedule an estimate. I talked to Jim and mentioned that my husband and I would prefer to be home when he did the estimate so we could ask questions and discuss our concerns. Jim told me that he usually does estimates when the homeowner is not there and then calls back later to set up a meeting to discuss the estimate. I wasn't totally OK with that, but wanted to get another estimate so I agreed. I gave him my number and asked that he call me as soon as he had the estimate written up so we could talk about it. He said he would do the estimate sometime that week, since he had to install a skylight in our area sometime that week already and wanted to do it the same day as that. I described to him what we were looking for: new skylights, get rid of existing ridge vents and replace with square vents, replace some sheets of plywood in certain areas. He told me that he was sure the ridge vents weren't an issue and that ridge vents are just fine to use in this area. He did not call me back that week. By the following week, we'd gotten other estimates and chosen a roofer, so I didn't think much of it. I checked the mail on April 1st and discovered he'd mailed us the estimate after not calling us back. To be fair, the phone number on the estimate was wrong, but he did read it back to me when I gave it to him, so I'm not totally sure what happened. I felt that Jim was a little rough and didn't really listen to what I told him about our concerns and wants for the roof. In the end, his estimate didn't include the skylights even though I asked him about replacing them. He also gave us an estimate that included keeping the original ridge vents, but I had several other roofers tell me that the ridge was too small to vent an attic the size of ours. He struck me as the type of guy who has been doing this for a lot of years, has decided he knows what he is doing and doesn't really listen to anyone else. I don't think we would have gone with him anyway - the estimate was only a few hundred less than the roofer we chose, and I don't think we would have gotten better service. I do wish that he had let us know somehow that he'd been by to do the estimate, maybe by leaving a note on the door or something.
Description of Work
No service - called to schedule estimate
Category
roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your comment even though negative. In 21 years I have had almost exclusively positive feedback but I am still accountable to those who are not satisfied with my service. I make no excuse for the poor communication and resulting delay in sending the bid.
Susan H.
5.0
01/07/2011
We haven?t yet had them do any work for us. They quoted about $250. They were very prompt in coming to look things over. They were very conscientious while they were up there. There was one area that was not weatherproof. They took up some putty and made sure that it was filled rather than leaving it for a day or two or just hiring them. They showed us that we were safe and it was dry. However, the bid was to come out and actually get the flashing replaced when time permitted. So I felt that it was above and beyond. I think we would probably follow through with that. It?s just that we are busy with other things. They were prompt and provided efficient response. They were courteous and were willing to look after the customer?s needs. I would definitely put them on our list to get a bid again. I wouldn?t be able to comment on how competitive they are since I haven?t got any competitive bids.
Description of Work
I received an estimate from Skagit Roofing towards the end of November for replacing some flashing that has blown off and torn off.
Category
roofing

Service Provider Response

Let us know if you need any more help on your roof and thank you for the comment.
Patricia O.
5.0
07/05/2010
The roof was about 20 years old and starting to deteriorate. Tiles were curlling up and I was afraid it would start to leak, especially during our windy, rainy winters. I had several bids and they were all in the same ballpark but I went with Skagit Roofing. The owner was courteous and polite and explained everything to me. The job was done on time and the clean up was great. I did find a few roofing nails and some of the old roofing material in the flowere beds as time went on, but none of my plants were damaged. The roof looks great and I'm very happy with it. I would be glad to recommend Skagit Roofing to anyone who needs a new roof or repairs.
Description of Work
Tore off old roof and replaced with new, 30 year roof.
Category
roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for giving us the work. We know you have many choices and put your trust in us. We appreciate your comments and will work even harder to get all the nails and scraps.

Other local Pros in your area

Miguel General Contractor

With over 25 years of professional Roofing and Siding experience, Miguel General Contractor's is a family owned company that was founded because we know there is a need for superior workmanship and care in today's market. The roof of a home provides comfort, security, and safety from the elements; it's the heart of the home. We guarantee quality, integrity and customer service marked by honesty. Our goal is to ensure a job well done and exceed your expectations of superior service. Contact us today, for a free roofing inspection! We look forward to servicing you!  

Angi Certified

Amor Roofing

We are a local roofing contractor with heart. We are proud to be a locally-owned and operated business and deeply committed to supporting our community. Our success comes from our relationships with our customers, and we strive to build long-term partnerships with each of them. At Amor Roofing, we are passionate about what we do and dedicated to providing the best possible service to our customers.  

Angi Certified

Polar Bear Exterior Solutions, Inc

We are a local family-owned business serving our neighbors with cost-effective solutions to improving the look, comfort and efficiency of their homes. We pride ourselves on providing the highest quality products and best service at an affordable price. If you have questions, we offer free evaluations and no-obligation estimates on lifetime solutions. Financing available from several local banks and credit unions.  

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

Phone

Address

9672 Farm To Market Rd

Bow, WA 98232

Other Information

Services Offered

Services Not Offered

Roof cleaning. Roof certifications. Spray-on roof coating. Asbestos abatement.

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard
Discover
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

FAQ

Skagit Roofing is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

Skagit Roofing is open:

Sunday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Skagit Roofing accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover

Yes, Skagit Roofing offers free project estimates.

No, Skagit Roofing does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Skagit Roofing does not offer a senior discount.

No, Skagit Roofing does not offer warranties.

Skagit Roofing offers the following services: Complete roof replacement and major roof repairs. Residential and light commercial. Pitched and flat roofs. Limited minor roof repairs.

Roof cleaning. Roof certifications. Spray-on roof coating. Asbestos abatement.