Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Skagit Roofing

Founded 1990 • With Angi since October 2008

4.7

(28) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

9672 Farm To Market Rd

Bow, WA 98232

Description

Since 1990 we have installed hundreds of new roofs for our satisfied customers.Below are examples of quality work by Skagit Roofing installation professionals....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

10/08/2020


Paul A.

They were fantastic, did a great job, completed on time, and on bedget.

Description of Work
Brand new roof. They replaced the entire roof.

Category roofing

5.0

04/24/2017


Kirk B.

They were fast, courteous & very skilled.. fixed some problems not apparent until the roofing was underway. I am a very suspicious guy.. but these were truly hidden issues which they solved quickly. I waited for a big added charge but it was negligible.. just for some wood needed to rebuilt one roof corner. I saw what they did & the quality of the fix. Outstanding!

Description of Work
We've had them roof two house plus a shop since we moved to Skagit VAlley a bit over 10 years ago. The first was our rental house with sphalt shingled gabels, the second was our main house which was a semi-flat torch down roof, the flast [so far] was a metal roof added to our shop building that had a very old shke roof.

Category roofing

1.0

12/12/2016


Ron M.

They never responded to our inquiry.

Description of Work
Roof repairs.

Category roofing

5.0

06/29/2015


David W.

Very friendly, crew did the job well and cleaned up after wards. He suggested enlarging the down spouts to deal with my annual clogged gutters. This worked well.

Description of Work
New roof, also replaced all guttters and downspouts

Category roofing

1.0

02/08/2015


Kathi N.

I got absolutely no response from this company so I can only judge them on professionalism and responsiveness. Since they didn't bother to respond, I had to rate them poorly on both counts.

Description of Work
I contacted this company for an estimate on re-roofing my home, which was actively leaking. Approximate cost of service was based on a bid by another company since it seems to be required and I didn't get any response from this company.

Category roofing

3.0

10/16/2014


Pilar H.

Both my husband and I are astounded that we received a proposal without anyone speaking to us about our preferences of roofing materials (shake, metal, composite, etc..) and also without knowing any specific concerns we have. They didn't even state how many squares they estimated our roof to be. What concerns us is that there is a caveat in the terms which states, (this is a cut and paste): "All materials guaranteed as specified. All work to be completed in a workmanlike manner according to standard practices. Alteration or deviation from above specifications involving extra costs will become an extra charge. Additional labor is billed at $72.50 per hour. Additional material is billed at cost + 15%. Additional work contracted on behalf of client is billed at cost + 15%." We would NEVER sign a contract which specifies they'll do the work, without stating exactly what the baseline amount of material they would be providing is AND then IF there is an overage of the (unspecified) materials we would be responsible for any extra labor costs, materials, PLUS 15%!!! Nor should you. We will not be using this company.

Description of Work
Sent a request for proposal through Angie's List. Provider promptly send proposal after a few awkward emails back and forth. Lowest cost was $16,329.00. Highest with all upgrades was $21,007.00 (All totals are without tax) This proposal was based on information acquired via Eagles View (or similar) -without any rep speaking with me personally or stepping on our property. I averaged the bids w/ options to put a number above approximate the cost of service.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Wow. Take a look at the email I sent with the bid and try to make sense of this negative review: On Oct 10, 2014, at 10:59 AM, Skagit Roofing wrote: Hello XXXXX, Here is a copy of your bid. You may wish to compare the material choices here: http://www.pabcoroofing.com/products . Here is list of our competed jobs on XXXXXX St. since 2007 and you are welcome ask your neighbors for a review of our service. 202, 208, 320, 506, 624, 634, 635, 815, 833 and 905 XXXXX St. We have recently installed a Pabco Paramount at 1XXXXX Drive that shows very well. Please review the bid and let me know if you wish to schedule the work. Thank you! Jim Hjelt 360 428-1900 office 360 661-5221 cell www.skagitroofing.net I have left out the address and reply for privacy but they responded that they had chosen another company and that I could contact them if I wanted to know why. I will admit a failure to follow up and ask them why but I felt that they had made up their mind and have to respect their decision. It seem that their biggest problem was trust and I get that, but I provided a list of homes we did in their neighborhood and would provide every job we have done in 25 years as a reference. Aerial reports and the terms in our proposal are standards that one will find in most proposals. When parties agree to trade money for services I understand that things can go wrong and folk want to protect their interests. I really did not intend to write a lengthy response but I just cannot understand the negative expectations of this client based on the evidence. It seems that here on Angies list that the folks who take the time to write long winded negative reviews about Skagit Roofing have never used our services. Please keep that in mind while reading reviews of our company and any other company on Angies List.
5.0

05/29/2014


Susan S.

A previous roofer only wanted to talk about a complete roof replacement and was reluctant to even try to fix the leak. They gave us a bid and were only willing to try to fix the leak if we agreed to proceed with roof replacement when their repair attempt failed. Jason went right up on the roof at the initial visit and got to it. In contrast to the others, he didn't do any hard sell on a roof replacement. We will definitely use him in the future.

Description of Work
Fixed a roof leak. He thought it was related to a roof vent and first tried caulking. When that didn't work they replaced the vent and some roofing around the vent with success.

Category roofing

3.0

05/23/2014


Michael P.

They actually recommended that I replace the entire roof but I had some other provider to fix the specific problem without replacing the entire roof. So there was a huge difference like a $1100 difference so I went with the other provider. I sort of freaked out when they recommended replacing the entire roof when the problem was easily fixable but they were friendly and professional otherwise. They were a local company. They were responsive as they came out the next day.

Description of Work
I received an estimate to replace the entire roof.

Category roofing

5.0

05/12/2014


Richard C.

Referred to my family as we have used Skagit Roofing twice and very happy. My family said they were so impressed with Jim and his on site crew, clean up great and best bid. Passing the word out to their family/friends that they are a very good company.

Description of Work
Install new roof

Category roofing

5.0

02/11/2014


Richard G.

The owner/contact, Jim, was prompt, courteous, and responsive in inspecting our roof and submitting a bid for our very large roof substantially below that of the other local bidders. The work was performed by his professional crew quickly and thoroughly, even though the weather was dreadful. The workmen admirably battled high winds and frigid temperatures, without cutting corners, to complete the roofing in time for us to welcome weekend guests. | |We would unhesitatingly recommend this company to our friends.

Description of Work
.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad to deliver good service for a fair price.

    Other local Pros in your area

    Peaks Northwest Roofing

    Licensed - Bonded - Insured - Certified. We are Skagit County's EXCLUSIVE resident GAF Master Elite Roofing Contractor. Over 25 years of experience serving Skagit, Whatcom, Island, San Juan and Snohomish counties with pride. Free estimates and financing available! Lifetime Warranty Roof systems. Roof / skylight repairs, inspections and more. Asphalt composition and metal roofing experts. Pabco Preferred Contractor. Proud members of SICBA, RCAW, and WSRCA. Learn more and see our work at www.PeaksNW.com !  

    Polar Bear Exterior Solutions, Inc

    We are a local family-owned business serving our neighbors with cost-effective solutions to improving the look, comfort and efficiency of their homes. We pride ourselves on providing the highest quality products and best service at an affordable price. If you have questions, we offer free evaluations and no-obligation estimates on lifetime solutions. Financing available from several local banks and credit unions.  

    Offers by Polar Bear Exterior Solutions, Inc on Angi
    Miguel general contractor

    With over 25 years of professional roofing and siding experience. Miguel General Contractor's is a family owned company that was founded because we know there is a need for superior workmanship and care in today's market. The roof of a home provides comfort, security, and safety from the elements it's the heart of the home. We guarantee quality, integrity and customer service marked by honesty. Our goal is to ensure a job well done and exceed your expectations of superior service. Contact us today, for a free roofing inspection! We look forward to servicing you!  

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Complete roof replacement and major roof repairs. Residential and light commercial. Pitched and flat roofs. Limited minor roof repairs.

    Services Not Offered

    Roof cleaning. Roof certifications. Spray-on roof coating. Asbestos abatement.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Skagit Roofing

    How is Skagit Roofing overall rated?

    Skagit Roofing is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are Skagit Roofing open?

    Skagit Roofing is open:

    Sunday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Skagit Roofing provide

    Skagit Roofing accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover

    Does Skagit Roofing offer free estimates?

    Yes, Skagit Roofing offers free project estimates.

    Does Skagit Roofing offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Skagit Roofing does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Skagit Roofing offer a senior discount?

    No, Skagit Roofing does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Skagit Roofing?

    No, Skagit Roofing does not offer warranties.

    What services does Skagit Roofing offer?

    Skagit Roofing offers the following services: Complete roof replacement and major roof repairs. Residential and light commercial. Pitched and flat roofs. Limited minor roof repairs.

    Are there any services Skagit Roofing does not offer?

    Roof cleaning. Roof certifications. Spray-on roof coating. Asbestos abatement.