Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Axis Custom Builders

Founded 2005 • With Angi since February 2011

3.5

(69) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

19318 29th Ave SE

Bothell, WA 98012

Description

General contractor and free estimates. Contractor license account number: axisccb882d Additional Services: Framing. Garage Doors. Hardwood Flooring Sales, Installation, Refinishing. Home Inspection. Interior Design & Decorating. Lead Testing & Removal. Painting - Exterior. Painting -

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Susan B.
1.0
07/28/2020
This was a horrible experience. A guy who worked for him replaced our existing wood deck and did a good job. When it was time to stain it, the guy no longer worked there so the owner said he would do it. Big mistake! He ruined our deck. The stain he used never cured and everything stuck to it. After repeated attempts to contact him to fix it, I finally gave up. There's no way to fix what he did. My husband ended up sanding the surface so we could at least use the deck. Most likely it will need to be completely replaced to fix his screwup.
Description of Work
Stained Deck
Category
decks, architect
Lynne M. C.
3.0
10/13/2015
He showed up, I explained that I was hoping to get a small deck design, he wouldn't do it - saying that he wouldn't sketch anything out. I guess I misunderstood the coupon. I asked how high the deck would be and how far out it would come and asked if he could put this down on paper. He said he couldn't do that. It was very uncomfortable. He finally wrote down the measurement for the height and left. He was surly and irritated. A negative experience over all.
Description of Work
I purchased a 'deal' that promised a custom deck design + $100 credit towards a deck.
Category
remodeling
Paul B.
5.0
05/25/2015
The design was rough but provided good ideas.
Description of Work
Provided design for bathroom.
Category
remodeling, home remodeling
Loren J.
3.0
10/11/2014
I purchased an Angie's List deal for design services for a master bathroom. The deal supposedly included a 3d rendering of the final design. For context of this review, here is the exact text around the big deal: Axis Custom Builders, an and quot;Aand quot; rated service provider on Angie's List, is offering custom kitchen or bath design services complete with measurements, floor plan design, cabinet design, tile design, lighting design and 3-D renderings for only $75! There is absolutely no obligation to use Axis Custom Builders for construction! This package is normally valued at $1,000, saving members $925. Visit Axis Custom Builder's website to see some of their beautiful work! The gentleman who showed up was courteous and professional. He seemed knowledgeable for contract services, but I had purchased the deal for a design consultation. He didn't seem to even be ready for me to ask him for his opinion on the design of the bathroom. He did give his input on possible layouts of where we could put the toilet, shower, etc. But nothing more than that. Rather than a 3D rendering, he gave me a hand drawn layout with dimensions on graph paper. There was no discussion of flooring options, cabinet design, tile design, lighting design, or any of the other thigns listed in the deal that I purchased. Overall, the gentleman from Axis was friendly and seemed like a decent contractor. I would consider using him for those type of services. But I was upset that I purchased designed services and didn't get what I was promised. The deal certainly wasn't worth the $1000 price tag they claimed. Had I been out more than $75, I would have been even more unhappy.
Description of Work
Designing of a master bathroom remodel
Category
ceramic tile, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling
PATRICK P.
2.0
06/02/2014
I wasn't very impressed. All I got was a fifteen minute estimate on my bathroom. When I asked for drawing, the Big Deal doesn't mention it and he drew something on the napkin for me. He did it and I asked what about the drawing and then he literally grab the drawing and drew a wrap sketch. I paid seventy-five dollar and I couldn't get a good estimate. He was nice enough but I don't feel of paying seventy-five dollars for that.
Description of Work
I used the Big Deal and interior design & decorating service of Axis Custom Builders.
Category
interior designers
Leonard H.
3.0
01/30/2014
We talked about things, my wife was here and we talked about things, and then when he talked about the price, it was much too much for us. He seemed very professional and it would have been good if we had the money. I thought $75 was expensive just for him to come out and give us some ideas. He showed up on time. I wouldn't have him come back out because he charges just to come and talk to you.
Description of Work
I had Axis Custom Builders give me an estimate.
Category
basement remodeling
Rich P.
1.0
01/23/2014
From start to finish it was a disaster. First off Gottfried lied to us on the very first day he started the job. We had asked him to donate our old cabinets to Habit for Humanity and we found out via Craigs List that he sold them instead. He did the same with all of our appliances we found out. That was the first red flag The first day he took a picture of the cabinets and posted it to sell. We found out because of our neighbor was looking for cabinets and saw them on Craig's List. We asked him days later if he donated them and he said yes when in fact he had sold them. We thought okay, he must need the money? First red flag. Next was our agreement was he would do all the work and bring in 1 worker for a few days to help with the tear out and that is how he keeps cost down. Gottfried did a batch in switch, ended up we had 2 workers and not him who we had agreed would do the work. Gottfried ended up doing some of the electrical work but we had to have it redone as he blew our circuit breakers and blamed it on the light bulbs he installed. He also blew the attic fan switch and said it was defective. We should have fired him at this point, but the job was a mess, not sinks and what could we do. He used sub par materials, ruined our new wood floor, damaged walls, used 3 different types of light bulbs in fixtures and when we commented about that, he said he didn't think we would notice?? Do you think we are stupid we said! We bought the correct light bulbs and he took the old ones back in the new packaging to the store for full credit to his account. Another bait and switch but to the store. Plumbing nightmare. Installed 2 new sinks that leaked in our brand new cabinets, that ruined the bottoms, faucets not the right ones. Job was never completed by Gottfried and his crew because every time they came to fix a something they made a bigger mess. Labor costs were padded (good thing we were home the whole remodel and kept a log) and when we called him on this, he said it was a mistake on our part. When it was all said and done, a simple remodel of 3 weeks took 10+ weeks. He refused to pay for the plumber who had to come and finish their mess, or the attic switch, light bulbs that we bought. Last word to him was when we sent him and email asking for the money that was due to us, he instead sent us a nasty email using some swear words. The remodel was finally completed by another company. Gottfried Talbot - Axis Custom Builders are a very unethical company.
Description of Work
Kitchen remodel - electrical for new lights
Category
remodeling
Diana O.
4.0
11/28/2013
Gottfried was super helpful in the remodel of our house from the design, execution, and completion. The house now has a beautiful kitchen/ dining area and designer bathrooms on par with luxury hotels. When we need help, even for small things, Gottfried has been flexible enough to swing by at a moments notice.
Description of Work
Major remodel of house
Category
remodeling, home remodeling
Kathleen H.
5.0
11/21/2013
The remodel went well and the result is a new shower space for two of us. Gottfried generally let me know the days he was coming to work and was punctual. The work was done efficiently and was always cleaned up at the end of the day. The bathtub was removed and the space used for a two person shower with plumbing on two separate walls. I chose large ceramic tiles for the walls and glass accent tiles. I wanted the lower portion laid straight and the top on the diagonal. Gottfried had great ideas how to lay it all out, including a decorative band separating the two tiled sections,a niche for bottles, etc. He definitely created a showpiece of a shower which was exactly what I wanted. The new granite countertop was cut and installed by the specialist he recommended. I choose to have a light installed on each side of the mirror. Gottfried good-naturedly did this, although he was expecting to put in a strip light above. On the occasions when he was working another job, while waiting for material to arrive for our job, he would try to let me know when he was able to return to our job. He was always able to answer any questions I had during the process. The results are very definitely worth all the work put into this space.
Description of Work
Gottfried met with us and listened to our list of needs and wants for our bathroom remodel, and gave us ideas based on his experience. He provided me with a list of recommended suppliers he had worked with previously. I chose the materials, i.e., plumbing fixtures, tiles, flooring, lighting and countertop . Gottfried estimated the quantity needed for the job. Gottfried did demolition, installation of shower, plumbing, toilet, flooring and lighting.
Category
remodeling, home remodeling
Catey H.
5.0
11/20/2013
Gottfried and his son set up scaffolding that he owned. They came out when they were expected and finished the work over a couple of days. It was not an easy job due to some of the elevations but they found a way to reach everything. There were also some tricky work on the eaves. They protected our many plants around the house and cleaned up pretty thoroughly. We are extremely happy with the results. The house looks beautiful. The job was carefully done and did not require any editing when it was finished. We plan to use Gottfried to remodel out kitchen and after this job we are completely confident that he will do a great job on that project as well. Would highly recommend him, with no reservations, which is not something I have been able to say about many workmen over the years.
Description of Work
Replaced extensive trim on the South side of our brick and Stucco 3 story house and re-stained all of the existing trim of the rest of the house.
Category
remodeling
John P.
4.0
09/16/2013
The contractor came out and made some recommendations on how to remodel our deck. He did mail us a basic plan of what we discussed. He had some good ideas, but I was hoping for some blow-me-away great ideas to handle the unique topography of our lot.
Description of Work
Came to the house for a deck consultation and drew up a basic plan
Category
decks, remodeling
Ellen F.
3.0
07/29/2013
Vendor was prompt, and had good input on design considerations for a small planned second-story deck that I want to tie in to the existing main-level deck. However, the coupon, as stated, was for design with measurements and plans-- all I got, even after a second request, was a basic line drawing with no dimensions at all.. and no plans at all. I had assumed that the vendor would use standard deck design software and generate a plan that included a material list and dimensioned drawing-- especially at that low price point. In the end, all I got was a consultation, which I paid for, (and normally those kind of half hour consults are at no cost) but certainly not the plans I expected. I do not even recall getting a bid price- it could be I just do not remember, but I looked at my emails and do not see a bid price. So, I have mixed feelings-- I did get what I believe was really good verbal advice, and that is worth a lot to me, but I am disappointed in the lack of a plan. Of course, if he does not use design software, then I would not expect a design plan for fifty bucks, but then the coupon should have not been worded the way it was.
Description of Work
Angies list coupon for deck consultation, 'offering a custom deck/patio design with measurements and plans for only $49!'
Category
remodeling
joseph M.
4.0
07/26/2013
It was a great visit but no follow-up. There were no more charges beyond the big deal amount. He was there, he was prompt but I didn't sense any follow-through which I was a little surprised! I just didn't have enough time to really develop a relationship and get a good sense. I think he was straightforward. I had a brother who was an architect, who owned his firm and he had to always get new customers and so you're always meeting people and you're always trying to generate business. I thought he was a little weak on following up. If I was him, I would have called me back and said, "Hey, what do you think, Joey? You're interested in moving forward with your bathroom remodel?" because that can mean a lot of money to him or at least another job. That didn't happen. And yet I thought we hit it off very well. So he is a very personable individual. I don't question the competency. I don't have any questions to say, "Oh! He would be very expensive." There is no sense of that. My sense is he would do a great job. It's just, I was kind of surprised that there was no follow-up and maybe he just went off and got a job from somebody else. Again, you don't want to leave a customer dangling or a potential customer dangling. I've had other people and I'm now moving forward with my project and it's an expensive project. I mean, it's 30,000 plus. The ones who really got the job are the ones who were persistent and followed up and did a quality job on that front.
Description of Work
I purchased a big deal for Axis Custom Builders. They did the complete custom kitchen or bathroom design.
Category
interior designers, remodeling, architect, home remodeling
Kevin D.
2.0
07/25/2013
It wasn't a good experience. You know for $75 bucks they came out and talked about some ideas and things like that and then brought out another design person that we could have used if we wanted to go forward. It wasn't much of a consultation to be honest. We were kind of hoping that I mean it sounded like I think in the original ad on that it was like it was kind of crazy it was like $1000 they had listed $1000 worth of services for $75 bucks or 100 bucks and 3D and signs of everything and I thought wow it is quite a big deal and it wasn't any of that. This was probably the worst experience I have had with an Angie's list person. I would not use them again. I would probably pass on recommending them.
Description of Work
We used Axis Custom Builders in March of last year for bathroom design services. He did just some hand drawings and things and that was it.
Category
architect, home remodeling
Roland L.
5.0
07/12/2013
The deck is solid and of good quality. In retrospect, some minor details could have been changed. There was a bench installed on the east side of the deck which could have been a little bit longer on each side to ensure safety. As it is there is a small gap on either side which could allow small children to fall off.
Description of Work
Built a backyard deck
Category
remodeling
MICHELLE M.
1.0
06/21/2013
They came out and gave us a drawing but the quality was very poor. It was just a hand drawing that really didn't give us any details of what we should expect.There was no follow up. The gentleman was supposed to follow up on some other issues and we never heard another word from him. The drawing wasn't worth the $50.
Description of Work
We used a big deal purchase for Axis Custom Builders. We were asking for recommendations on replacing a deck. He came out and measured.
Category
decks
Elizabeth B.
3.0
06/20/2013
Axis Custom Builders' big deal ended up being misleading. It indicated that he was willing to provide a single service and we wanted to get some dimensions of our floor drawn out but when he got there he was more interested in doing bigger projects. We didn't end up hiring him to do anything. He did in the end agree to do a floor plan for us, just draw up the measurements that we have but he is kind of critical of the work we had already done. It didn't end up being a good visit. The price of the bid deal was fine.
Description of Work
He did a floor plan for us.
Category
home remodeling
Herb N.
1.0
06/13/2013
The plan was completed, but it was the worst deck plan ever. It was completed within a week after I purchased it. He came over and asked what I had in mind. I just wanted a simple deck either with rock or wood, maybe a couple of benches. And basically what he did, he returned the house plans to me with a rectangle added to the back for the deck. It wasn't worth anything. I let it go; I gave it a double shoulder shrug and said: "That was stupid!"
Description of Work
I have been using a Big Deal from Axis Custom Builders. I had the guy come over and gave me the plan.
Category
decks
Andrew M.
2.0
06/05/2013
I purchased a Custom Deck Design and Measurements offer from AL. Axis was very prompt in heading over to look at my home and begin the design. Unfortunately, I did not hear back from them for over a month. Several emails went unanswered, and when I finally got a hold of him on the phone, he took down my email address and said he'd send the plans over. I did not receive anything.
Description of Work
I purchased a Custom Deck Design and Measurements package, but did not receive them.
Category
remodeling
leonard S.
2.0
05/20/2013
They didn't listen to what i wanted, there were no plans
Description of Work
I didn't use them
Category
remodeling, home remodeling
Alex G.
5.0
03/25/2013
Very professional service. Gottfried gave me also a lot of useful advices in different topics about improving our house, landscaping and so on. I recommended this company Axis Custom Builders to my friends.
Description of Work
replaced 3 windows in the house
Category
remodeling, replacement windows
Brad K.
1.0
03/03/2013
Contacted Godfreid and he came out took pictures and measurements. He said he would send a design via email. Being that the Holidays we're upon us I forgot about the design. I called Godfried the end of January and he said he thought he had sent the design and said he remembered my location and he would send it again. To date nothing has been received. Stay away from this contractor. If a contractor cannot keep their word what comfort would you have in them completing your project?
Description of Work
Purchased the Custom Deck Design and Measurements offered though Angie's List Big Deal for a Spring 2013 deck remodel.
Category
remodeling
Sylvia W.
1.0
02/26/2013
He had a employee and his helper start the work and thur out the whole project these were the only ones to do all that needed to be done. He on many occassions pulled his main employee to work on other jobs which delayed ours being completed. When it was done 2 months later,we were happy with the outcome and than around Oct we decided to have a Heat Pump installed and after it was completed there was need of inspection. When the inspector came out being so pleased with our new kitchen we showed it to him and he wondered way there was nothing on the breaker box showing that all electrical was inspected. Our answer to him was that we never thought of it and left in the hands of our contractor,so he checked him out and found that he and his employee that did all the work were not licensed or bonded to do the work. So I contacted our contractor and requested that he pay for all the work that would need to be done to pass inspection and he did pay for plumbing and electric that was not up to code per our bids. When the plumber came in he could not believe how the work was done(nothing up to code) everything just done by jerryrigging just to get it done and as far as the electrical that was a worst nightmare. All the outlets did not have the right gauge wire and the wiring done in the attic was not put in junction boxes and the outlet for our range was done moving over old wiring and not installing a 4 prong. And we also found that when they did the painting all our new cabinets have paint on the top of every door that is now going to be very hard to remove. This whole ordeal has been nothing short of criminal.
Description of Work
He tore out old cabinets and installed new ones and did can lights and under-cabinet lights. He also removed popcorn ceiling and painted the kitchen and installed five new outlets and two puck lights.
Category
remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters
KATHLEEN S.
5.0
02/21/2013
Gottfried returned my call promptly and came out the next day to look at the bathroon and give an estimate. We had only given him 3 weeks notice to complete the job because we were expecting company. It was a busy time before the Thanksgiving holiday but he got the job done as promised. It took 2 days to remove things and 1 day to install. He gave us advice on where to look for things and also where to get the flooring. We never had a problem contacting him or with him getting back to us.
Description of Work
This was a remodel of a small bathroom. The bathroom fixtures (except for the tub and shower) were removed and replaced with ones we purchased.
Category
remodeling, home remodeling
MARILYN E.
2.0
02/18/2013
I did not use this company because of the unprofessional way they communicated with me on the phone.
Description of Work
No services were performed.
Category
remodeling

    Other local Pros in your area

    Kyle Contracting LLC

    We have the experience and the dedication to bring your dreams to reality! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t finish until the job is done right. Call or click to schedule an estimate!  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Renovate Construction, LLC

    Renovate Design/Build is a woman-owned family business servicing the Greater Seattle Area. Each person on our team is an integral part of our company's success, providing excellent service and beautifully finished remodel projects for our clients. As a small business, every job is important to our team at Renovate - you are never just a number. Please call us today for a free consultation!  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Legacy Painting Co

    We transform dozens of homes every week with high quality paints. Our customers say that we make the process easier than any other company with a clear, transparent bid/proposal and excellent communication. Our work is also backed up by a warranty.  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Architects & Building Design. Asbestos Removal. Basement Waterproofing. Builders - Garages, Barns, Sheds. Builders - Homes. Cabinet Making. Cabinet Refacing, Restoration. Carpentry - Unfinished. Carpentry - Woodworking. Carpet Sales, Installation, Repair. Ceramic Tile. Closets. Concrete - Pouring & Repair. Countertops. Decks & Porches. Doors. Drywall. Flooring Sales, Installation, Repair.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Axis Custom Builders

    How is Axis Custom Builders overall rated?

    Axis Custom Builders is currently rated 3.6 overall out of 5.

    What payment options does Axis Custom Builders provide

    Axis Custom Builders accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Axis Custom Builders offer free estimates?

    Yes, Axis Custom Builders offers free project estimates.

    Does Axis Custom Builders offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Axis Custom Builders does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Axis Custom Builders offer a senior discount?

    No, Axis Custom Builders does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Axis Custom Builders offer emergency services?

    Yes, Axis Custom Builders offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Axis Custom Builders?

    Yes, Axis Custom Builders offers warranties.

    What services does Axis Custom Builders offer?

    Axis Custom Builders offers the following services: Architects & Building Design. Asbestos Removal. Basement Waterproofing. Builders - Garages, Barns, Sheds. Builders - Homes. Cabinet Making. Cabinet Refacing, Restoration. Carpentry - Unfinished. Carpentry - Woodworking. Carpet Sales, Installation, Repair. Ceramic Tile. Closets. Concrete - Pouring & Repair. Countertops. Decks & Porches. Doors. Drywall. Flooring Sales, Installation, Repair.