Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

AATEK INC

Founded 2008 • With Angi since March 2011

4.9

(41) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

63 Birch Ln

Milton, VT 05468

Description

Lifetime warranties on shingles and labor. No hidden cost, our quotes include flashings and plywood. Your one stop shop, David La Plant, owner of Aatek Inc., has over 30 years of construction experience. Specializing in roofing, siding, window and door installation. David's undying commitment to customer service and attention to detail has earned him praise from hundreds of customers in Vermont. We do it all, from Plowing to Roofing. We give High Quality work at fair prices.We are proud of the fact that all our customers are extremely happy and highly recommend us to by their friends and family. We take every job personally and offer the best warranty on labor. We are fully insured, Copies of Liability and Workers comp are sent to every customer. We offer a Lifetime warranty on shingles and labor because we stand by our workmanship and offer the best service to our customers....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

06/16/2022


Daniel B.

Dave and his crew were fantastic. They were all professional, clean not only when they worked, but also made sure to clean up at the end of every day to make sure our home looked good. Their pricing was spot on and the value for the price I paid exceeded my expectations. I can't say enough good things about this company and their people. I highly recommend them and will definitely being using them again if the need arises. Great job guys and Thank You for a job well done.

Description of Work
Roof Replacement

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank You [Member Name Removed]. We take Great pride In everything we do. We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. Thanks again, Dave.
5.0

03/23/2022


Carolyn K.

I discovered a ridge cap had blown off the house on a Thursday and by Monday morning the job was fixed and completed by Dave and his workers. Dave spent over an hour explaining why the ridge cap shingles that were new 9 months ago blew off (cheapest shingle and wrong nails). He also explained two other potential issues on the roof, that did not need fixing at this time. He was able to put the ridge cap back on, on Friday, so the weekend rain would not damage the crawl space and then put the new ridge cap on before strong winds again on Monday afternoon.

Description of Work
I needed the existing ridge caps removed and new shingle vent ridge installed with caps.

Category decks, roofing

5.0

04/13/2021


Nancy H.

Dave LaPlant and his crew did an excellent job replacing our roof late last year. Dave is personable, knowledgeable and answers any and all questions about every aspect of roof replacement, including why he only uses quality shingles. His crew—Ryan, Gary and Mark—are professional, hardworking and courteous. They did a great job! I would not hesitate in recommending Aatek to anyone looking for a roofer. In fact, in our development of about 70 houses, Aatek has replaced roofs on about 25... and counting I am sure! Get on Aatek’s calendar—they are busy for a reason!

Description of Work
Replaced roof

Category roofing

5.0

08/10/2020


Brad M.

Aatek did an excellent job replacing our roof. The crew was professional, courteous, and very attentive to our needs, even performing additional work that was outside the scope of the project. Their price was lower than all other quotes, but it was AATEK’s lifetime labor guarantee and the owner’s (Dave) commitment to explaining the process and answering all of our questions that was the deciding factor in selecting them for the job. We highly recommend Aatek and plan on using them for future projects.

Description of Work
Roof replacement

Category roofing

5.0

05/17/2018


Bonnie B.

Dave did a great job of explaining the entire process and how his methods and materials were of higher quality than most roofers around. There were some delays in getting started but once his crew started, all went very well. They were a great team of guys who did a solid job. We found a leak where a non-reroofed area met the flashing and he sent someone out that day to take a look and correct it. Once you get a bid and on the calendar, they will do a very good job for you.

Description of Work
Reroof entire house

Category roofing

5.0

03/21/2018


Carol G.

When we purchased our first home almost 6 years ago, we walked in knowing that we’d need a new roof within 5-7 years. At first we thought about doing it ourselves but we decided to get some quotes to compare the cost. I contacted David from AATEK on a Wednesday evening and by Friday he had been to the house and gave me a quote. We met with him the following week and had a very good and informative conversation about his background, his company, the products they use and why. When David left we knew that he was very passionate about his company and doing right for the customer. He gave us a great quote that we knew we couldn’t pass up. We gave him our deposit on a Monday and they started work that Saturday. David’s crew did great work and in 3 short days the roof was completed and there were no signs they were even there! David made the process quick (3 weeks from the time of when I contacted him to the time of completion) and painless. As first time homeowners we were very worried about making this large purchase. The great conversation made the process so much easier. I would HIGHLY recommend David and the AATEK folks if you are looking to get your roof done anytime soon.

Description of Work
Roof replacement

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed]. It was our pleasure doing your Roof. Thanks again for taking the time to leave a review, we really appreciate it. Anytime we can do anything for you, give us a call. Dave
2.0

02/19/2018


John H.

Hired AATEK in 2017 to replace our house roof. After the new roof was installed, it began leaking between the drip edge and the rain gutters. Contacted company October 27, 2017 with our issue. No response until 3 months later. The owner's solution is to blame everything except, the work his company performed. Would not hire this company again

Description of Work
Roof replacement

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed] this is getting old. WE DID NOT DO YOUR GUTTERS !!!! You need new gutters. We installed a new ROOF, It looks great and it doesn't leak. The gutters are old and need replacing. Changing the ROOF has nothing to do with the gutters. HIRE a GUTTER Company. I offered to come out to show you that one has nothing to do with the other. I have offered that on BBB where YOU also tried to bash me. I will OFFER it again here for you. Dear [Member Name Removed], I would love to come to your Dads house and show you that one has nothing to do with the other. Here is my number Again, 802-316-2364..... Funny how you wait almost a year later, But my number is still the same. THANK YOU Ohh yeah, lets not forget all the sheetrock and carpets and all the other crap I let you throw in my Dump Trailer (FOR FREE) As well as Dumped it... yeah, theres that.. Your rating is a lie. The work was great. Your mad about something I had nothing to do with.
5.0

11/02/2017


James J.

The morning of the storm, I called half a dozen contractors from Angie's list, but nobody returned my calls. I kept trying the 2nd day and I only received one return call and that was from AATek who explained that they probably wouldn't be able to make it that day. The 3rd day I heard from AATek and they said they would be able to make it that afternoon. They were good on their word and made it late that afternoon and repaired the missing shingles within the hour. In the 3 days of calls to other contractors in the area, only one other contractor even returned my calls, and that was after the repair had already been done. Of course I found the whole process frustrating, but there was major damage to many homes across the whole area, so of course all of the contractors in the area were overwhelmed. The road to my house wasn't even passable during the first day due to downed trees and power lines. But my interactions with AAtek were great (the best of any of the contractors I managed to contact) and they were very quick, friendly and efficient making the actual repair. I am looking forward to having them replace my roof or doing any other work on my house when the time comes.

Description of Work
More than 20 shingles were lost from my roof from several areas during a major windstorm. I had a number of shingles left over from the house construction, so I only needed several more shingles, which AATek supplied. Rain was expected later in the week.

Category roofing

1.0

08/26/2017


Doug S.

Not well, being that twice, they didn't have the professional courtesy to return my calls. Even if they were that busy, they should have at least, returned my calls

Description of Work
Called and left messages twice, regarding an estimate. They never replied

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

I did return your calls, and yes we are VERY busy. I think it's a little silly people want to run to Angieslist because a CONTRACTOR wasn't there when they want them there. You might want to check your phone. Thank you and have a Wonderful day.
5.0

08/21/2017


Kristen H.

I did some research and had three estimates all from local companies, AATEK was the only one I found through Angie's List and from the start they were the best. They gave me the most reasonable and detailed estimate, while the other two companies told me double and triple the amount. I also had to contact the other companies multiple times to get details of what they would be doing exactly. David at AATEK was very straight forward and answered all of my questions. The work was done just as he said it would be and in a neatly fashion. Aside from looking up, one would never know work was being done and I never saw one piece of debris on the property. I was given regular updates on the progress of the job without having to ask. AATEK was a breeze to work with and I highly recommend them to anyone looking for any job big or small.

Description of Work
Badly in need of a new roof ! The old one was literally shedding pieces and there was some wood rot.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed], It was a Pleasure working for you.
2.0

08/16/2017


Linda R.

Made initial contact July 5, and was told he would to try to come out that week; I called at least 2 more times and was always promised he'd be out, finally came out on July 19, took close to two pages of notes. On Aug 4, I called to see if he had an estimate, he said it was at the office and he'd call back that afternoon. He never called, we have since hired someone else and work is being completed. I only made all the repeated attempts because the company's reputation and reviews on Angie's List made it sound like it was worth the effort. It wasn't.

Description of Work
Repair roof, replace garage siding, replace garage window, replace 5 exterior doors, replace front deck & steps, add roof overhang, repair garage trim.

Category decks, roofing, siding, replacement windows, doors

Service Provider Response

I am sorry you felt the need to post this post. I told you we are Extremely busy. You also said you where in no hurry. I am glad you have someone making the repairs at your house, I did leave messages. Thank you and have a great day.
5.0

07/19/2017


H O.

David LaPlant came out and spent the better part of an hour with me, explaining in detail everything that was wrong with the existing shingles and everything that he would replace and what their process would be. When he left me with the quote there were no questions left unanswered and every eventuality had been covered. I was impressed by the amount of detail David went into and how thorough his explanation was. He was not in the least bit vague about any part of the job. David and his crew arrived on the day and at the time he said they would and we found the entire crew extremely polite and professional. I would add patient as well, seeing as they answered my questions about how and why things are done a certain way. Their ultimate goal was customer satisfaction and a job well done which showed in every detail of their work. They removed and re-installed our skylight and went the extra step by installing a new flashing which was missing from it. Our furnace flashing had been something we had wanted to replace for years but had never been able to find. David sourced a new one and his crew installed it at no extra cost to us. It is very seldom that you get something for nothing these days. It just went on to prove to me that here is a business owner more concerned with quality of service than how much they can financially gain from customers. At the end of each work day you could not tell a roof was being ripped off. I have yet to find a single nail or staple anywhere on the lawn, the gutters are spotless and not a scratch or mark on the siding. A big factor in our decision to use David LaPlant and AATEKINC for our roof replacement was his quality of product and LIFETIME work guarantee. You get what you pay for and we are thrilled with our new roof. The project was completed at the quoted price and there we no "extras" that needed to be covered. A big thanks to the AATEK team: David LaPlant, Shawn, Jeremiah and Cody.

Description of Work
Roof replacement and all it entails. Our old shingles had started to curl up and lift. We had also lost a few due to high winds. We also wanted a ridge vent installed on the garage.

Category roofing, skylights

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the review [Member Name Removed]. It was a pleasure working for you. Dave
5.0

10/17/2016


Cletus F.

Dave and his team did professional roof removal and installation using high quality materials. I had six estimates and AA TECH was actually the highest. The difference was AA TECH listed all the materials he uses in the estimate. On top of that, he guarantees the labor for life in writing on his proposal. The Architectural shingles he uses have a lifetime warranty, but AA TECH includes labor. As far as promptness. We agreed on the price and color of shingles, AA TECH had the material loaded and ready that day. Two days later, job completed. The AA TECH team cleans up everything. I haven't even found a single nail yet. That's quality. Now, I could of went went Mutt and Jeff roofing, like my neighbor did and save $1,500, but if you want the job done right call AA TECH and be done with it. Not to mention the roof looks incredible.

Description of Work
Complete roof replacement.

Category roofing

5.0

02/02/2016


Cathy Y.

I wrote a review in 2014 when Dave and AAtek put on my new roof. The roof looks great, the team was professional. I wanted to update my review. The roof still looks great. I noticed after that big windy rainstorm we had in January there was water damage in my son's bedroom. This bedroom is right under a plumbing vent. I called Dave, he came as soon as the snow was off the roof, couldn't find and issue. Came today to look at the roof from inside the attic. No sign of water entry. No wet or previously went insulation The water damage was under the plumbing vent PVC pipe. As near as we can determine, the plumbing vent must have got water in it and leaked. This is not Dave's work and not his responsibility right? But Dave went out, got some sealer, and sealed up those pipe joints Then he went to the hardware store, got a hat for the vent pipe and installed that. So now if water gets in the pipe it won't leak. And he took action against water coming in the pipe. I can't tell you how professional Dave was. Came when he said he would, finished quickly, neatly, and very thorough. I recommend wholeheartedly using AAteck whenever you have roofing needs (or any construction needs for that matter). I'm extremely happy with my roof and recommend AATek and Dave Laplante highly

Description of Work
installed new roof in June 2014. Covered my trim in coil. Fixed a problem with my plumbing vents this winter

Category roofing

5.0

10/13/2015


Matthew W.

I couldn't have asked for a better experience and outcome. Dave responded to my request for an estimate within 24 hours and we set up a time for the following day. He arrived on time and got down to business measuring, examining and taking pictures of the roof. 15 minutes later he educated me as to what he would do. I say educated because he went into a lot of detail about the products he uses, the techniques he applies and the hidden issues that might arise. He emphasized that his approach was to do things the right way - and I believed him! His estimate was not the lowest, but it was in line with two other estimates. I had so much more confidence that Dave was going to do the job right and he did! As promised, the worksite was clean throughout the day and everything was picked up and out of the way at the end of the day. His crew was great. They answered my questions and kept me informed as to the progress they were making and issues that came up. The finished product looks great! They did exactly what he promised and then some! He found a major issue with how the venting was previously done and fixed it the right way. There was an issue with my chimney leaning away from my house and he offered several options to handle the situation and when I elected to remove it he went ahead and matched the fascia and installed it so that I just need to put up some siding. He and his crew paid attention to details that I don't believe the other companies would have. Dave is honest and fair, his crew was courteous and hardworking, the job was done right and - as I said in the first sentence - I couldn't have asked for a better experience and outcome. I wholeheartedly and unconditionally recommend AATEK. Have Dave come give you an estimate - I promise you will be impressed.

Description of Work
Replaced Asphalt Shingled Roof - 2200 sqft

Category roofing

5.0

03/31/2015


Joel G.

Dave thoroughly explained his proposal and described the quality of the shingles he would use. He came to do the work when he said he would and did a wonderful job. It was not an easy roofing job; there are six skylights which he carefully replaced the flashing and sealed all around. We are very pleased.

Description of Work
Replaced the roof on our sunroom.

Category roofing, skylights

5.0

09/17/2014


Laura T.

I called to get an estiment on how much it would cost to do my roof as it really needed to be replaced. He came out gave me an estitment of 5500.00. I called him when I had the funds he came out with in a week- did my roof in two days. he did a fabulous job

Description of Work
Came out and replaced my roof

Category roofing

5.0

08/18/2014


Terrence M.

David replaced the roof on our ranch home. At this point, we are very pleased with the result. The price quoted was more than others we received. However, higher quality shingles, total roof coverage with membrane, total re-nailing of plywood, superior flashing work, etc. is worth the extra, in my opinion. The crew was efficient, hard working, professional in their approach and very tidy. David worked on the roof with them. We put on charcoal black shingles and they have really improved our property while adding significantly to curb appeal. I believe that when you get some quotes, you should consider including David. He and his crew did a great job for us.

Description of Work
replaced roof

Category roofing

5.0

07/31/2014


Thomas Y.

I was very impressed with Dave and his approach to doing work because they aligned with mine. His concern was that the job be done properly using excellent materials and techniques. He was more concerned with solving my problem than just slapping up shinges, geting his money, and moving on to the next roof. He identified specific issues with the roof that I was unaware of but had suspecions about. Dave was excellent about communicating with me about when the work would start which was within a week of when we first met. His crew started work on the day specified, but got driven off the roof by rain; however they made sure the exposed roof was secured against water. They completed most of the work on the next day and the crew worked diligently; they certainly didn't waste time, and the job was finished on the the morning of the third day. They were meticulous about cleaning up at the end of the day. Dave and his team also took the time to do the little things that showed they cared - they replaced a broken window shutter on the house for me and they even took the time to clean the exterior of the roof windows (because of their position the window exteriors had never been washed since they were installed 18 years ago).

Description of Work
I needed to replace the roof over a finished room over the garage - part with a shallow pitch and part with a steep pitch - that had at least one leak.

Category roofing, replacement windows

5.0

07/09/2014


Donna S.

I was very happy (and was momentarily shocked) that David answered his phone that morning. He was in my area and was able to come over and complete the repair that very day. He was very professional and made sure we understood what had cause the problem and how he was fixing it to keep it from happening again. I'm very happy with my experience working with David La Plant.

Description of Work
I had developed a leak in flashing around the vent stack on my standing seam roof, which ended up making it rain in my kitchen. David LaPlant came out assessed the problem and did the repair that day.

Category roofing

5.0

06/09/2014


Cathy Y.

The crew did a great job, cleaned the yard each day. The roof looks fantastic. A ridge vent was added, they used rain and ice shield along the bottom 3 feet and valleys of the roof. They used top guard 2 as the underlayment, Certainteed landmark shingles. I have a recessed window over the garage roof, Dave and crew put a membrane in there versus the original shingles, the slope was too shallow for shingles, looks great. The aluminum coil is covering all the peaks and most difficult to reach places, it improved the look of my house. I won't have to paint up there ever. Dave and I had a slight misunderstanding about the trim work, but Dave went above and beyond to get it all done to above my satisfaction level. It was an honest misunderstanding and Dave was professional, logical, and we reached agreement in less than 5 minutes. Then he went even beyond that. I can't say enough. When Dave came and gave me the estimate, I was somewhat taken aback. He is so enthusiastic and obviously loves what he does. I thought it was a sales pitch, but he honestly wants to make the customer happy, he uses good material and his price is reasonable. He goes beyond just finishing the job and moving on. My whole family was home most of the days the crew worked there and they reported no issues. The old roofing was dumped right into the truck, so my gardens along the edges of the house were not damaged at all. I have experience with three other roofers and this was by far the best. I will hire AATEK and Dave Laplant again if I ever need another roof, but I think I am set for life with this one. I am recommending Dave to all my neighbors, and my co workers also.

Description of Work
Put a new roof on my house, and covered trim with Aluminum coil Put up new soffit vents (white)

Category roofing

4.0

06/03/2014


Eric H.

It went okay. They were able to get started in a reasonable time to do the job.

Description of Work
I used the services of AATEK. They did roofing for me.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

I am not sure who you are. We have never done any work in NY. I think you have us mistaken for someone else.
5.0

05/19/2014


Megan S.

AATEK repaired the ridge vent that someone else laid only three years ago. David LaPlant was very informative. He went above and beyond, not only repairing the section where the shingles blew off the ridge vent; he repaired the entire ridge vent using the proper materials. He noticed the rest of the roof needed some attention too so he covered the exposed roofing nails, hammered in the nails that were coming up, and even took pictures to show me. I was so pleased not only with his service, but also his depth of understanding. He took the time to explain to me the errors of our previous roofer. I am so happy to find an honest and knowledgeable roofer; AATEK will be our company of choice for any roofing issues. In fact, we were so pleased with his repairs, we have hired him to complete all of the aluminum wrapping of the fascia boards.

Description of Work
Our ridge vent shingles had blown off. My attempt to reach "our roofer" who laid the roof only three years ago went unanswered so my neighbor recommended AATEK roofing. I called on a Sunday expecting to leave a message and David answered, he came to repair the damage on Monday.

Category roofing

5.0

05/18/2014


Jeff B.

I couldn't be happier with AATEK. The entire job went very well. David and his crew started on time and finished on time as well even with a couple rain out days. They cleaned up very well each day and usually checked with me before heading out for the day to make sure everything was ok for the night. It's been three days since they completed, haven't found a single nail. The new roof looks fantastic. David is the kind of contractor you want working on your house because he treats every project with the care he would have working on his own property. The cost wasn't the lowest, but the quality is worth the extra money.

Description of Work
Remove old corrugated metal roofing, install plywood sheathing, install ice shield and shingle roof.

Category roofing

5.0

04/14/2014


Dianna M.

So far, our experience with AATEK has been wonderful. We had a roof put on our house a few years ago, and the roofer was awful. We have had leaks and tons of other problems. Our original roofer would not respond to our efforts to contact him. AATEK came out and took lots of pictures of the problems on our roof. They spent over an hour getting all of the information and even did some basic silicone work for free for us. It is such a breath of fresh air to have someone who is responsive and explains what is going on to me. I regret that we didn't do our original roof with AATEK. I will update this review once we have the actual repair work done, but so far, this is fantastic work. Really great job.

Description of Work
We had AATEK come out to look at a leak in our roof.

Category roofing

    Other local Pros in your area

    Big Als roofing

    During COVID-19 we are taking steps to ensure the health and safety of all customers. This includes using smaller crews, limiting contact and taking more phone calls or texts instead of face-to-face. We do have a 24-hour emergency service veteran and senior citizen discounts available. FREE estimates. Call us directly at (802) 324-8077 and mention Angie's List! Big Als Roofing specializes in all types of roofing, siding, decks, additions, remodeling, and snow plowing. We do it all! We pride ourselves on our professionalism, honesty, cleanliness, and quality of work. We are always aiming for happy customers!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Big Als roofing on Angi
    Sheridan Renovations

    We are a growing company and If we can't fix it, it shouldn't be fixed! We do things the correct way, taking pride in our work. We have over 30 years of experience, so we have seen just about everything! Our services range from fixing your Sink, to remodeling your entire home! We specialize in both commercial and residential. For faster service please call or text 802-324-7467  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Roofing, Custom Carpentry Projects, Windows and Doors Installation/Repair, Wood and Composite Decks, Deck Maintenance, Snow Removal, Roof Snow Removal, Interior Painting, General, Kitchen, Bath & Basement Remodeling, Drywall, Carpentry - Woodworking, Cabinet Making, Hardwood Floors. We do much more than just Roofing. We do it all from Framing to Roofing, we take Great Pride in what we do. We DO carry Workers Comp as well as Liability. EVERY Home owner should ask to see proof of both. Better to a

    Services Not Offered

    We do not install Bi-Rib roofing. It is almost impossible to flash and warranty not to leak.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about AATEK INC

    How is AATEK INC overall rated?

    AATEK INC is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are AATEK INC open?

    AATEK INC is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does AATEK INC provide

    AATEK INC accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does AATEK INC offer free estimates?

    Yes, AATEK INC offers free project estimates.

    Does AATEK INC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, AATEK INC does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does AATEK INC offer a senior discount?

    Yes, AATEK INC offers a 10% senior discount.

    Does AATEK INC offer emergency services?

    Yes, AATEK INC offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by AATEK INC?

    Yes, AATEK INC offers warranties.

    What services does AATEK INC offer?

    AATEK INC offers the following services: Roofing, Custom Carpentry Projects, Windows and Doors Installation/Repair, Wood and Composite Decks, Deck Maintenance, Snow Removal, Roof Snow Removal, Interior Painting, General, Kitchen, Bath & Basement Remodeling, Drywall, Carpentry - Woodworking, Cabinet Making, Hardwood Floors. We do much more than just Roofing. We do it all from Framing to Roofing, we take Great Pride in what we do. We DO carry Workers Comp as well as Liability. EVERY Home owner should ask to see proof of both. Better to a

    Are there any services AATEK INC does not offer?

    We do not install Bi-Rib roofing. It is almost impossible to flash and warranty not to leak.