Sunshine Contracting Corporation

About

Founded 1993 • With Angi since March 2007

Sunshine Contracting is a family owned and operated business and has more than 27 years of experience as a Virginia area leader in home remodeling and improvement. Since 1993, the members of Sunshine Contracting Corporation have served homeowners all over Northern Virginia with fairness, honesty,

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Images

SidingTrimHardiPlank

Verified Reviews

4.7

(301) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

261

4

12

3

6

2

6

1

16

Rating Details

Price

4.7

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.8

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.7

Read reviews by category

window replacement (152)roofing (104)siding companies (73)gutter repair (61)door installation (60)skylight installation (4)gutter cleaning (3)decks & porches (25)woodworking (11)handyman (8)tile installation (8)patio enclosures (6)
Showing 1-25 of 301 reviews
5.0

01/23/2023


Mark J.

I have used Sunshine Contracting several times with outstanding results. They are thorough, professional and responsive. That goes for their crews in the field as well as the people in the office. Their pricing is competitive but their service pits them over the top. I will continue to call on them for my household maintenance in the future…

Description of Work
They installed 26 windows and two doors. Previously they have replaced my siding, roof and gutters.

Category replacement windows

Cost $21,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us and for trusting us time and time again with your home! We appreciate your business and are glad to have you be a part of the Sunshine Family!
5.0

01/03/2023


R S.

This is the fourth project that Sunshine Contracting Has done for me. Outstanding finished product, everyone from the office to the installers was very easy to work with, great attention to detail. Highly recommend using Sunshine for your home.

Description of Work
Windows and doors

Category remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us and for trusting us time and time again to work on your home, we appreciate you!
5.0

08/12/2022


brian G.

Sunshine windows and siding did a great job. Workers were prompt efficient and friendly. They did a great job and left everything clean and put back in order. I had the two side windows done a few years ago the quality was ok but now comparing the workmanship to Sunshines its not even close. Everything Sunshine did was top quality. Finish and details are excellent, calking and overall trim finish is nearly perfect.

Description of Work
Had 8 new windows installed on end unit townhouse.

Category replacement windows

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/12/2022

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the kind words and taking the time to share your experience with us! We appreciate your business and are glad to have you be a part of the Sunshine Family!
1.0

07/17/2022


Aung W.

An estimator came but no price quote nor subsequent communication was provided. Not sure what happened. So, no go with them.

Description of Work
Roofing, siding entry and patio doors.

Category roofing, siding

Work Completed On 07/01/2022

Service Provider Response

The appointment was on July 1 and the proposals were emailed to the homeowner on July 7. We have already spoken with the homeowner and let him know this.
5.0

06/23/2022


Barry C.

Excellent in every way. Sunshine assigned a team of three installers who started on a Tuesday, also worked on Saturday, and completed all aspects of the installation by the following Wednesday. The quality of the work, including installation, responding to any questions we had along the way, and cleaning up the work areas at the end of each day helped make for an efficient and well -done project. The lead installer also replaced a front screen door on the final day of the project. In addition, the estimating process for the project was clear and easy to understand.

Description of Work
We needed our home's siding replaced; part of the siding had been installed in 1974 and part had been added in 1986/1987.

Category siding, doors

Cost $21,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/09/2022

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for trusting us to work on your home! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and are happy to have you be a part of the Sunshine Family!
5.0

06/07/2022


Ray T.

Quoting - Julie was great to work with: arrived on time, no sales pitch, straight-forward quoting. Coordination - Communication, scheduling and close-out with AJ was excellent. Work - Manny's crew arrived on time, diligent install, friendly, and thoroughly cleaned up the work site.

Description of Work
Roof Replacement

Category roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/01/2022

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. It was a pleasure working with you and we are glad to have you be a part of the Sunshine Family!
5.0

06/03/2022


Debora L.

Sunshine Contracting replaced my 1985 vinyl siding with beautiful, durable Hardie Plank My home looks brand new! From the beginning of the project working with Crawford, to the final touches working with Nate and Gabino, the process was smooth, efficient, on time and without any issues! I was thoroughly impressed with the skill of the crew working. Sunshine ensures their installers are certified to install this beautiful siding and it shows in their craftsmanship. Thank you Ryan, Crawford, Nate and AJ for an exceptional job!

Description of Work
Siding Replacement

Category ceramic tile, gutter repair, siding, replacement windows

Cost $60,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/03/2022

Images

Review for Sunshine Contracting Corporation - 12958 Harbor Dr, Woodbridge, VA - 39754970

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for trusting us to work on your home again! We appreciate your business and love to have you be a part of our Sunshine Family!
5.0

02/19/2022


GARY D.

After receiving bids from several companies, we selected Sunshine Contracting to replace all of the windows in our house with Sunrise windows, do a complete removal and replacement of all of the siding on our “Tudor style” house with James Hardi fiber cement siding, and replace all existing gutters and downspouts. This job was particularly complex due to the style of the house and the multitude of “Tudor style” architectural designs that needed to be maintained and replicated with the James Hardi fiber cement boards. This was also a challenge because the previous trim boards were all rough sawn cedar and the stucco panels and lap siding were vintage 1979 Masonite. The quality of the work performed by Sunshine Contracting was outstanding, and yes, we would contract with them again if we had to do it all over again. Their professional siding craftsmen had experience in re-siding Tudor Style homes and were able to replicate all of the intricate carpentry previously done in the rough sawn cedar with the James Hardi fiber cement board. Any concerns or issues that we raised, were immediately addressed by the team and corrected. The Project Manager and Team Leads were always there and available to us, and answered all of our questions. The whole crew was very professional and friendly, and they did a great job cleaning up after every working day. Sunshine Contracting has now taken us from a home that required outside maintenance on a regular basis, to one that is essentially maintenance free! I highly recommend Sunshine Contracting for any home siding, gutter, or window installation project that you may have.

Description of Work
Fiber Cement siding, windows, gutters

Category gutter repair, siding, replacement windows

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/20/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your kind words and taking the time to share your experience with us. We appreciate the trust you placed in us to work on your home and are so glad to have you be a part of the Sunshine Family!
5.0

10/11/2021


Stephen L.

I was able to make a deposit online, the project manager called me and scheduled my appointment, the materials arrived the day before and were placed on my roof. The day of there was a delay in the crew arrival, but the company called me to tell me ahead of time. The crew worked 1.5 days, everything was done as previously discussed. All removed items were neatly replaced, and the yard was 100% clean when they left.

Description of Work
Replace roofing, sheeting, edging and waterproofing.

Category ceramic tile, roofing

Cost $10,590

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/11/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us! We appreciate your business!
5.0

08/31/2021


Mark M.

The whole process could not have been easier or more pleasant. Scott clearly explained the estimate and options. They did the work quickly and cleaned up thoroughly. Communication was excellent. I highly recommend!

Description of Work
Replaced gutters and added gutter guards.

Category ceramic tile, gutter repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/23/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us and your kind words! We appreciate your business and are glad to have you be a part of the Sunshine Family!
1.0

08/30/2021


John T.

Still waiting for windows....ordered since March and ZERO communication. I have spent over 20K cash with Sunshine throughout the years and the mismanagement this past year is atrocious. They'll blame COVID of course, but COVID does not stop communications between contractor and client. Unless you want to pay for services not rendered for 6 months and growing - stay away.

Description of Work
Window replacement

Category replacement windows

Cost $5,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 08/30/2021

Service Provider Response

We're sorry for the delay in the arrival of your windows. You are correct, COVID has produced significant delays in manufacturing and shipping. Each day is an evolving situation with constantly changing timelines from manufacturers - this is happening across the industry and not just at Sunshine Contracting. We will reach out to you today with an update.
5.0

08/02/2021


Carl W.

Great! Guys showed up the week after we signed the contract and had the job done quickly.

Description of Work
Siding and Trim

Category siding

Cost $5,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/26/2021

Images

Review for Sunshine Contracting Corporation - 12958 Harbor Dr, Woodbridge, VA - 39425112

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us and for trusting us to work on your home! We appreciate your business.
5.0

06/15/2021


Matthew C.

They were very responsive, they're pricing was competitive and they are responsive and professional. We had unusual problems and they helped us come up for a solution.

Description of Work
They did an exterior trim repair after some tree damage and they also did some siding replacement on April.

Category woodworking

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/15/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! We appreciate your business and are glad to have you be a part of the Sunshine Family!
5.0

06/11/2021


Harald H.

Sunshine Contracting was truly exceptional on all aspects of this major project from providing ideas, an accurate detailed estimate, status updates to quality installation craftmanship and delivering as promised at a reasonable price. Their in house install team were truly wizards of Hardee siding installation. Installation was completed well within stated expected timeframe, all while resolving intricacies, and attending to final details. Many in the neighborhood have already commented on how well the house turned out - as we are. They were a hats off pleasure to work with and I would highly recommend them for any exterior residential work.

Description of Work
Add Neopore insulation and and new James Hardie siding over old siding.

Category insulation, siding

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/02/2021

Images

Review for Sunshine Contracting Corporation - 12958 Harbor Dr, Woodbridge, VA - 39366889

+2 More

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for that wonderful review! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and for trusting us to work on your home. Welcome to the Sunshine Family!
5.0

06/02/2021


Rajashri R.

No sales pitch. Responded same day to all my questions during the sales process. Coordinated well after I signed the contract. Smooth transaction. The crew did a good job and cleaned the place well. The very next day after roof replacement, there was a storm and the roof held well. I selected them because they could offer Golden Pledge Warranty, which means GAF warranties both material and workmanship. This was good value for the price as it came with some upgrades as well. They sent the warranty after a few days.

Description of Work
Roof replacement

Category roofing

Cost $5,300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/20/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us and for choosing us to work on your home! We are so glad that you are enjoying that new GAF roof :) Welcome to the Sunshine Family!
5.0

05/29/2021


Kathy P.

Great. Good team who did quality work. No problems.

Description of Work
Replace Siding

Category siding

Cost $6,400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/18/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us! We appreciate your business and welcome to the Sunshine Family!
5.0

05/26/2021


Gary J.

Sunshine Contracting’s commitment to excellence was evident on all of the projects they performed for us. The workmanship was excellent, the pricing superb, the products they offer are excellent and the work was aways completed on schedule. The staff is friendly, responsive and always willing to help out. I highly recommend Sunshine Contracting for the services they provide. Should the need arise for another project for our home, Sunshine Contracting will be our first stop!

Description of Work
We have used Sunshine Contracting to install two new sliding doors, a new 50 year roof, and replace gutter covers. And we turned to them to fix the damage caused when a tree branch penetrated the new roof, to repair/replace older gutter covers they installed but lost functionality over the years and to do a minor repair to one of the sliding doors.

Category gutter repair, roofing, doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/01/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us and trusting us to work on your home! We appreciate your repeat business over the years and are glad to have you be a part of the Sunshine Family!
5.0

05/26/2021


Jeff M.

Great job by the entire team from sales to execution. Material availability during covid was challenging. However, team was transparent and in constant communication. Work was completed timely and with good attention to detail.

Description of Work
Siding replacement and front door replacement

Category ceramic tile, siding, doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/18/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us and bearing with us during these difficult manufacturing times during COVID! We appreciate your business and are glad to have you be a part of the Sunshine Family!
5.0

05/26/2021


Rachel V.

Fantastic- they were friendly, responsive, efficient, very affordable, and installation went super smooth. Would hire and recommend them again in a heartbeat!

Description of Work
Replace large bay windows

Category replacement windows

Cost $4,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/01/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your kind words and sharing your experience with us! We truly hope to work with you again in the future and thank you for your business!
5.0

05/25/2021


Catherine D.

Sunshine replaced 7 windows and an entry door, and installed a storm door. They were professional and excellent communicators, start to finish. No surprise costs. Efficient, friendly, and tidy. I plan to hire again.

Description of Work
Windows and door

Category replacement windows, doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/25/2021

Service Provider Response

We appreciate the trust you placed in us to work on your home and look forward to working with you again in the future! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us.
5.0

05/25/2021


Tim M.

I can't say enough good things about our experience with Sunshine contracting. From the quality of their products to the professionalism and competence of their crews, it was a pleasure to work with them.

Description of Work
Sunshine did three projects for us. They replaced every window in our house. They replaced two sets of french doors and three exterior doors. The last project covered all exposed wood (rake boards, soffit etc.) with aluminum coil.

Category ceramic tile, replacement windows, doors

Cost $36,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/03/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us and all of your repeat business throughout the years! We have enjoyed working with you and appreciate your business.
5.0

05/19/2021


Jackie B.

Scott came to the house and measured the door/windows, provided a rendering of the door/windows and the cost. I had to get HOA approval and once that was done, an order was placed. As soon as the order came in, a date was scheduled for installation. The crew showed up as scheduled and installed the door/windows. They are beautiful!

Description of Work
French door/windows replaced

Category ceramic tile, replacement windows, doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Images

Review for Sunshine Contracting Corporation - 12958 Harbor Dr, Woodbridge, VA - 39337283

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us! We appreciate you trusting us to work on your home and are glad to have you be a part of the Sunshine Family!
1.0

05/13/2021


Chris W.

Sunshine Contracting Corp @SunshineConCorp, specifically Matt Knez and Chris Posselh were personally responsible for a significant portion of our house being destroyed. Sunshine Contracting Corp's roofing replacement was grossly negligent and their inability to handle the weather event was project management incompetence. We haven't had any communication from Sunshine other than to collect for their fraudulent roofing project. They added $4000 worth of additional services on to our initial contract that we did not approve and that should not have been necessary. On June 19, 2018, a crew from Sunshine Contracting arrived at our house at approximately 7:30am to replace our roof. A heavy thunderstorm was predicted for that afternoon. At approximately 3pm, the thunderstorm occurred, but the crew failed to take adequate precautions to protect our home. A substantial amount of rain poured into our home and caused extensive house and property damage (approximately 30% of the house was damaged). Soon after the new roof was installed, we experienced water leaks. Sunshine Contracting last worked on the water leaks in the roof at our home in August 2018. These repairs failed and the leaks continued. We then had to hire a different roofing company to correct Sunshine's installation mistakes and properly flash the roof around the skylights and the sunroom addition. These repairs cost us an additional $4,500. It took 23 months to repair the damage and rebuild our home. The reconstruction costs were $110,000, of which $20,000 was not covered by insurance so we had to pay this out of pocket. In addition, $44,000 in furniture was destroyed. This process was extremely disruptive to our lives and jobs. We lost more than 60 days of work to be present to deal with contractors, and significantly more time was spent managing the reconstruction and insurance company issues. At one point, we had to be relocated for four nights. We have not attempted to estimate a dollar amount for the stress we endured from all of this, but we could try to do so if that would be useful. We are now gathering other homeowners in our neighborhood and other communities in Northern Virginia to file law suits against Sunshine Contracting Corp. for gross negligence and failure to install new roofing to meet industry standards. If you are considering doing business with this company, we would strongly recommend that you would find anyone else to do the work.

Description of Work
Roof replacement

Category ceramic tile, roofing

Cost $20,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 06/19/2018

Images

Review for Sunshine Contracting Corporation - 12958 Harbor Dr, Woodbridge, VA - 39329691

+2 More