Sixpenny Chimney Sweeps

About

Founded 1980 • With Angi since January 2005

Sixpenny Chimney & Air Duct Cleaning specializes in chimney cleaning and repair, air duct/dryer vent cleaning, gutter cleaning, house cleaning, masonry work, and pressure washing. With over 31 years of experience, you can be sure you are receiving a quality service for a fair price. Call our office

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Minority Owned & OperatedMinority Owned & Operated
Women Owned & OperatedWomen Owned & Operated
Se Habla EspañolSe Habla Español
Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Eco FriendlyEco Friendly
Wears MaskWears Mask

Images

A Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile image

Verified Reviews

4.7

(781) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

606

4

93

3

25

2

25

1

32

Rating Details

Price

4.6

Professionalism

4.7

Punctuality

4.7

Quality

4.7

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

chimney sweep (574)chimney repair (192)dryer vent cleaning (106)chimney cap repair (103)air duct cleaning (93)masonry (88)gutter cleaning (80)fireplace services (72)house cleaning (18)roofing (12)gutter repair (11)HVAC Companies (9)
Showing 1-25 of 781 reviews
5.0

03/01/2022


JAIME C.

excellent! i left a previous review expressing disappointment with their receptionist, but i got a call back from Caryl and this company was really good. super professionals - they came and gave me an estimate and also help us with gas fireplace issue highly recommended

Description of Work
Inspection of Chimney and protect against moist

Category chimney sweep, chimney caps, chimney repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/01/2022

5.0

12/30/2021


Otto T.

Excellent communication and service. Technician explained what he was doing and answered all of our questions. Pricing was communicated before the appointment

Description of Work
Gas Fireplace serviced and restarted after not using for several years

Category appliance repair, fireplaces

Cost $249

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/30/2021

5.0

02/20/2021


Elizabeth W.

great! quick, easy, on-time, professional job

Description of Work
cleaning the chimney

Category chimney sweep

Cost $125

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/13/2021

5.0

02/17/2021


Brian P.

The guys showed up and were able to tackle the dryer vent cleaning. Glad I called because dryer lint had accumulated 13yrs! They did a great job. Would def call back.

Description of Work
Dryer vent cleaning

Category dryer vent cleaning

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/17/2021

5.0

01/28/2021


Sunil B.

Thought we had a gas leak. After the technicians came. They explained everything and now the fire place works again.

Description of Work
Gas fireplace repair

Category appliance repair, fireplaces

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/27/2021

4.0

12/29/2020


joy V.

There are two different teams that do these services, so the dryer was scheduled first, and that guy also did the on-site estimate for the gutter cleaning dryer vent- cleaned the vent, but did not clean the dryer itself, $150 gutter cleaning-for 2-story single family home, cleaned gutters, performed water check to look for leaks, but did not find any leaks, $400 Pros- easy to reach, were able to schedule gutter cleaning within one week, while most other companies were scheduling 3 to 4 weeks out Cons- on phone, was told starting price for gutter cleaning was $150. Once the estimator came out it went up to $400- quite an increase! I was not home, so called back to ask for an explanation on the price increase, the woman I intially spoke with became very defensive when questioned, and finally stated the $150 was the starting price for a townhouse, but... I had told her on the initial phone call that the house was a 2-story single family home with walkout basement, so the back gutters were 30 feet high...so I felt that they were misleading on the inital pricing. The company I have used before gave me a quote of $250, but could not get me on their schedule for 3 weeks. In the end, I was willing to pay a higher price to just get it done within the week.

Description of Work
dryer vent cleaning; gutter cleaning

Category gutter cleaning, dryer vent cleaning

Cost $550

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 12/22/2020

3.0

11/30/2020


Rob M.

We contacted them. They called us twice to set up an appointment which we did. My husand made the appointment when they called a second time. I called them after to go over the pandemic precautions they would take when they came to our house. The day of appointment came. They never showed up or contacted us to let us know that. Unreliable service. Would not recommend.

Description of Work
Needed someone to take a look at damper that wasn't closing properly.

Category air duct cleaning, chimney repair

Work Completed On 11/30/2020

5.0

11/05/2020


Jan B.

All work was done in a professional and timely manner.

Description of Work
Replacement of cracked panels in the fireplace. Replacement of rusted chase top

Category chimney caps, fireplaces

Cost $1,800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/15/2020

1.0

11/02/2020


Kamal A.

The cleaning guy came and started cleaning using his Wire chimney brush by hand. Initially I asked him how come he was not covering the fireplace opening to prevent the dusts from coming inside the room. He assured me that his vacuum and drop cloths would be enough. Later I found out that the reason he didn't feel the need to cover the fireplace opening was because, he wasn't using any power tools to remove creosote collected in the walls although I mentioned to him that my chimney was not cleaned professionally for last 6 years since we bought the house but we did use the fireplace every winter. His simple answer was he doesn't like to use power tools and other techs in his company uses them and that is how he cleans the chimneys. So, I told him I watched at least 8-10 YouTube videos before I called his company and the said I shouldn't argue with him just looking at the YouTube videos because we hired him and he is the professional. He was rude and didn't have any sense of customer service. I just felt that he saw this job as another $ amount instead of a job he needs to perform well. I need to get some repair work done on my chimney as well. I do not feel comfortable hiring them to perform the service as I feel they will try to find short cut route from my today's experience. Update: Six Penny called me later after they saw my initial review and asked me very unprofessionally and offensively why I wrote the review.

Description of Work
Chimney Cleaning and Inspection

Category chimney sweep, air duct cleaning

Cost $159

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 11/02/2020

Service Provider Response

Hello Mr [Member Name Removed] - While we appreciate feedback we need to also mention so that readers know the whole story. My technician arrived at this property and the customer wanted to tell us how to do this cleaning. In other words he thought my technician needed a different type of system to clean his chimney. Our technician cleaned this chimney and is a thorough and well liked technician. Since this customer was being difficult we went out of our way to try to please him by offering a supervisor to come out and re-do the cleaning the next day just to please the customer, even thought the chimney is perfectly clean. On the contrary we went over and above to give you the best service possible. You informed us you were not available the next day and would have to call us back. We never heard from you until this review appeared. Our service is good enough for countless realtors property managers and even the US military but for you it was inadequate. People remember this customer has already had a chimney service without paying and he is giving us an F. Thanks for you response Mr. [Member Name Removed]
5.0

10/25/2020


Edmund L.

From start to finish, Six penny Inc. was very professional and courteous. Customer service was top notch. The technician spent time going over the pictures of the interior and exterior of the chimney. The job was thorough and not rushed.

Description of Work
Chimney cleaning and dryer vent cleaning

Category chimney sweep, dryer vent cleaning

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/23/2020

5.0

09/09/2020


Laura L.

They were quick and got the work done.

Description of Work
Gutters & Downspouts - Clean

Category chimney sweep

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/31/2020

3.0

09/06/2020


Stephen B.

I requested an estimate. They didn't respond for 5 days. By then I had already heard from others and hired someone.

Description of Work
Chimney needed repointed

Category chimney repair

Work Completed On 08/31/2020

4.0

08/20/2020


Jerry F.

The repointing work was generally done well. Old mortar and bricks were removed and new bricks were installed. The craftsmanship was excellent. However, the color of the mortar used differed from that in the rest of the brickwork, so at present it stands out. Sixpenny said to wait a period and then re-evaluate whether any change should be made. I would rate this as an "A" but for the color difference in the mortar that was not expected. The chimney cap work was done well.

Description of Work
Repoint brickwork at entrance to home. Remove old chimney cap and install new chimney cap.

Category masonry, chimney caps

Cost $1,300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/04/2020

4.0

05/11/2020


Becky S.

They were very late and did not clean up very well where all the stuff fell from the gutters. I was quoted 150 then the got here and wanted to charge more. Had to talk to the office to get my quoted price.

Description of Work
Gutter cleaning

Category gutter cleaning, air duct cleaning

Cost $150

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 05/02/2020

5.0

04/28/2020


Scott C.

Very good experience, The price was reasonable and the technicians were polite and professional.

Description of Work
Clean gutters and repair

Category gutter repair

Cost $250

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/28/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you Mr [Member Name Removed], we appreciate your review. We want to let you know we also do Heating and Air Conditioning, as well as Air duct and dryer vent cleaning, chimney cleaning and repair! Let us know if we can help with anything else!
5.0

03/31/2020


Greg F.

All work was performed quickly and professionally

Description of Work
Gutters Cleaned

Category gutter cleaning

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/31/2020

5.0

03/03/2020


Sally K.

Very well. Technician arrived exactly on time. He was personable, knowledgeable, very informative, and I was confident that he was experienced and did a good job.

Description of Work
chimney inspection and dryer vent cleaning

Category chimney sweep, dryer vent cleaning

Cost $270

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/03/2020

5.0

01/29/2020


Andrea R.

They were timely, the technician was pleasant, very through and very clean with service.

Description of Work
The flue needs to be repaired/replaced and chimney cleaned.

Category chimney sweep

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/28/2019

5.0

11/20/2019


Suzanne H.

We had a bit of trouble making contact with the company (since it's their busy season), but once we did they found us in their system and sent a crew out right away. They used a hose to clean and check the gutters and were very professional and thorough, as always.

Description of Work
We needed a routine autumn gutter cleaning.

Category gutter cleaning

Cost $165

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/20/2019

3.0

11/19/2019


Michael T.

The work was fine. But, they never sent me an estimate for the follow up repairs that they said were needed.

Description of Work
I needed them to clean and inspect the chimney

Category chimney sweep

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 11/14/2019

5.0

07/16/2019


Kathy S.

Excellent. Very fast response, arrived promptly, cleaned up the area completely. Nice person. Will be having this company again and have already recommended Sixpenny Chimney Sweeps to someone else.

Description of Work
Cleaned gutters

Category chimney sweep, gutter cleaning

Cost $150

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/16/2019

2.0

06/28/2019


H Enrique G.

The mason's work appears to be solid. Only time will tell since the work was finished only a few months ago. I interviewed three chimney companies rated A and recommended by Angie's list. Each one submitted an estimate and recommendations that to a certain level differed from the others. The cost was relatively about the same. However, my decision to hire Sixpenny was based on the assurances by all levels of this company that my concerns would be satisfied. My main concern was that the color, hue and type of bricks used for the rebuild; and that the craftsmanship be of such quality to minimize the difference between the remaining original portion of the chimney and the new masonry work. I expressed this concern to the estimator, and subsequently to company staff, before hiring them and placing an initial down payment. Following, these calls and down payment, Sixpenney send employees on a Saturday with two sets of brick samples. I selected the set that was the closest. Unfortunately, to my dismay, during the initial rebuild of the first three rows I detected that the color of the bricks being installed were substantially different from the original. I immediately ask them to stop and told them that the bricks being installed were not the same as the ones I had selected. I was informed that each batch could differ in hue, color etc. I requested to talk to a supervisor and the owner of the company came and was shown the work being done and was requested to bring the correct bricks and correct the work. Some bricks that were substantially different were removed from the uninstalled pile and new bricks were brought. However, to my amazement I found myself once again telling them that the bricks being installed were severely different from the originals. This company's inability to meet my concerns continued until the work was finished. I also had difficulty in getting this company to mail or email me an invoice with the 3-5 year warranty indicated in the estimate. I had to personally go to their office to obtain the correct invoice. Based on the above, I would not rehire this company again. However, I hold them to their warranty commitment for the work they did and I paid for. To demonstrate my fairness to Sixpenny, I authorize Angie's List to provide my address to any potential Angie's List member who may be considering hiring this company and may want to review the work done at my residence. The work and workmanship is readily observable to anyone driving past.

Description of Work
Rebuild the top half of the chimney, as per Sixpenny Chimney Sweeps' recommendation.

Category chimney caps, chimney repair

Cost $5,300

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 08/02/2019