Arts Home Improvement

About

Founded 1987 • With Angi since July 2006

3 employees. Uses subs for electrical and plumbing work. Cost is determined by the job. No travel charges. No service fee. May contact through email....

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Images

A Service Provider's profile image

+35 more images

Verified Reviews

5.0

(86) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

84

4

2

3

0

2

0

1

0

Rating Details

Price

5.0

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

5.0

Responsiveness

5.0

Read reviews by category

home remodeling (74)tile installation (37)plumbers (36)lighting (27)drywall (27)interior painting (26)electrician (25)flooring (22)woodworking (21)countertop installation (14)marble & granite (11)handyman (10)
Showing 1-25 of 86 reviews
5.0

11/06/2019


Nate S.

It was awesome. We completely moved our kitchen from the front of the house to the back of the house. This involved tearing down 2 walls, one of which was a load-bearing wall, and running all new plumbing and electric. We also had to remove a huge window and install a smaller one to make room for cabinets and counter space. In addition, we removed a wall separating our dining room and living room to make one larger space and we installed new flooring throughout the entire first floor of our house. This was a huge project and we knew it was going to be expensive, but Art and his team made us feel comfortable and truly made us feel like we were getting our money's worth. I cannot recommend Art enough. You will not be disappointed.

Description of Work
MAJOR Kitchen renovation and living room/dining room blow-out

Category ceramic tile, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, hardwood floor, heating & air conditioning/hvac, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, replacement windows, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/06/2019

Images

Review for Arts Home Improvement - 13012 Taverner Loop, Woodbridge, VA - 38218368

+1 More

5.0

05/25/2019


Allen L.

Reasonable priced, professional, flexible and absolute craftsmanship.

Description of Work
Bathroom vanity, toilet and floor replacement to include painting.

Category countertops, electrician, flooring contractor, glass repair, lighting, plumbing, interior painters

Cost $2,119

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

5.0

06/10/2018


Christine A.

It was a total success. I love the finished result. Art really knows his stuff. His plumber ,Richard is a delight and a master of his craft . His helper, Julio is as sweet as they come and is an expert painter. I simply called Art for an estimate. He came the same week and on time. Gave me an estimate that worked for me. We discussed a start and finish date that fit with both his and my schedule. I told him I needed the job done as quickly as possible as it is my only bathroom in the house. The three of them started on the scheduled date and completed the job one day earlier than planned. They had the bathroom ready for me to use when I got home from work that day. Art had his own vision of how it should look so I let him go with what he thought was best but he was also very accepting of my requests and ideas. I couldn't be happier with my new,beautiful bathroom which is a combination of Arts experience of remodeling small bathrooms with Richard's and Julio's expert skills . Plus, Art uses only quality materials and fixtures so that the finished project looks great and lasts a long time. Art's Home Improvement is the only one I will consider calling for future home improvement work.

Description of Work
Total bathroom demolish and rebuild

Category ceramic tile, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, glass repair, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters, doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/02/2018

5.0

06/06/2018


Carlyn R.

They were professional and did a wonderful job. They were also neat during all of the work and cleaned up when they were done.

Description of Work
We had to have our entire 2,600 sq ft house repiped. The plumbers made WAY TOO many holes in our walls and ceilings. Art’s guys came out and did such a good job putting up new drywall that you can’t even tell there were holes.

Category drywall

Cost $3,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

5.0

04/16/2018


Michael S.

The entire process and all services from start to finish were on budget, on schedule and high quality. Art and Richard and Julio worked as a cohesive team to ensure that we were happy with each step of the bathroom remodeling and also provided both functional and creative input along the way. Art always kept us informed and included, and we felt that we could trust their decisions and guidance. This is a team with an impressive work ethic, and people who you want to bring back again and again to help with any home improvements needed. Our bathroom is gorgeous--what a difference! We are just thrilled with the results. They replaced our water heater and kitchen faucet - not to mention they replaced all the brass doorknobs in our house with beautiful rubbed bronze door handles. We now have made a new list of improvements for Art and his team, and we look forward to having this warm, friendly and dependable team back in our home. We highly recommend Arts Home Improvement!

Description of Work
Bathroom remodeling, water heater replacement, kitchen faucet replacement, other misc. home improvements

Category drywall, handyman service, plumbing, remodeling, water heater repair, marble & granite, home remodeling, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/05/2018

5.0

08/04/2017


Richard S.

Excellent quality and service. He fit my job in between others because I did not yet have furniture in place and I had some flexibility.

Description of Work
Art finished my basement and did some repairs for me when I moved into a new home.

Category closet systems, drywall, electrician, handyman service, lighting, interior painters, doors, basement remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/01/2016

5.0

12/07/2016


Rick B.

From coming into a complete kitchen remodel cold turkey, I am glad we were recommended to Art. After getting several estimates we chose Arts for the price and the high recommendation a friend made to us. His price came in over half off from other "top end" contractors that neighbors and a realtor recommended. We wanted a major remodel with taking down walls. Other contractors said we could not take down a wall because it was load barring and even a structural engineer stated it looked load barring. After Art analyzed the layout of the house for 10 minutes he confirmed it was indeed NOT load barring. The structural engineer later confirmed that it wasn't from the pictures I had taken. There is no second to 30+ years of hands on experience and pragmatic and logical thinking. Art knew every professional contact in the field to get the result we desired and to cut costs at any corner we could. Art was always honest, straight forward, clean, punctual and METICULOUS! Art fixed problems before we ever saw them. He has a good crew with him including one human talk radio. If you use Art, you will see what I am talking about. I don't care for writing reviews and I signed up for Angies list purely to give Art a good review. Art gave us more than what we expected for less than we were expecting to pay. It seems the least we could do.

Description of Work
Complete kitchen remodel. Taking out walls, installing all new major appliance in completely new areas, new cabinet layout (including a new island and hood range) new bar area, adding lights, plumbing, drywall repair, painting and backsplash.

Category appliance repair, ceramic tile, drywall, electrician, handyman service, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters

Cost $11,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/15/2016

5.0

08/29/2016


Ginger B.

Excellent! Art, Richard and Julio arrived when they said they would, completed the job in the time they said they would and for the price that was quoted to me. I was kept informed of any changes and loved the recommendations they offered me. I plan to you use them for a kitchen and future bathroom remodel. It was a job well-done.

Description of Work
Bathroom remodel with floor repair.

Category ceramic tile, plumbing, home remodeling, interior painters

Cost $5,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/18/2016

5.0

08/16/2016


Fatema K.

Art and his team were exceptional! Professional, kept the area clean and great to work with. They were experienced, trustworthy and honest. I am so grateful for all that they did to make my kitchen look like a showroom. Just LOVE it, everything I dreamed of.

Description of Work
We had our kitchen completely remodeled - new cabinets, lighting, counters, appliances, modified floor plan, patched wood flooring, paint, backsplash install, demo of existing structure and removing partial walls and framing.

Category countertops, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, handyman service, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/05/2016

5.0

12/13/2015


Jason L.

I've worked with a lot of contractors over the years and Art's Home Improvement has become our new go-to for our properties. We told Art what we needed and he took it from there. The final product was better than anticipated and the process was easy.

Description of Work
Remodeled a small, full bathroom

Category remodeling, home remodeling

Cost $4,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/24/2015

5.0

10/26/2015


Jeffrey K.

First job was to take hallway tub/shower down to the studs and replace with subway tile, job was done quickly and professionally including clean-up. Looks great. After seeing the excellent work in first bathroom I made arrangements to have a total remodel of my master bath and could not be happier with Art and his guys ,he was very helpful with choosing materials and fixtures and was very respectful of my house since a good deal of the work was done while I was at work. They even let my dog out on multiple occasions (nice touch). Next it was time for a total kitchen make over including removing a wall between the kitchen and dining room and installing a peninsula . Once again Art and his crew did a great job of demo and installing new cabinets,appliances,recessed lighting,drywall work,moving electrical outlets,phone jack,and the oversight of the granite installation. One thing I liked was that Art was present for the entire project and was always open to my questions and changes.I have received multiple compliments on all three projects. Thanks again Art,Richard,Doug and Will.

Description of Work
Two bathrooms and kitchen

Category ceramic tile, drywall, electrician, lighting, remodeling, woodworking, marble & granite, home remodeling

Cost $25,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/02/2015

5.0

09/21/2015


Kevin F.

Arts Home Improvement are absolutely the best at what they do. From the initial survey at my home until the final walk through Art was outstanding. Art is honest, trustworthy, and his team are expert craftsmen. He and his team were always on time and walked me through the entire project. The kitchen backsplash turned out magnificently and the bathrooms better then we could imagine. Three bathrooms had their vanity's replaced, granite tops installed, new faucets integrated, lighting moved/installed, and in one bath an accent wall of backsplash tile installed also. It all turned out better then we could of imagined. Communication during the project was excellent and Art's on-site lead, Richard, was personable and expert in his own right. Their attention to detail and flexibility were key in ensuring my satisfaction with the project. At a time when many contractors outsource their labor ... Art runs a business with a consistent core of personnel who respected my home, the schedule, and my needs. Art was a visible presence throughout the project; and having lived in this area for the last 12 years I have not found any other home improvement business that possesses his honesty, integrity, and craftsmanship. I would definitely recommend them for others to use.

Description of Work
Provided services and expertise in conducting three bathroom "face-lifts/upgrades" and installing a backsplash for our kitchen area.

Category ceramic tile, countertops, electrician, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, marble & granite, home remodeling

Cost $7,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/26/2014

5.0

04/27/2015


Mark C.

Art and his team just completed a kitchen renovation for us and we could not have been more pleased. He was very thorough and detail oriented, does excellent work, and aims to satisfy. They all take great pride in their work, as if working on their own homes. They do quality work at a reasonable price. Art is ?right on? with start dates and completion dates, stays focused on one project at a time, easily identifies potential problems, and develops solutions immediately when there is a problem. They were excellent in helping us make last minute decisions, very accommodating, and resourceful when another professional is needed for a special job. He always answered our calls and was available to answer questions. He is honest and reasonable, and we are glad to have met him and used him for our lovely new kitchen.

Description of Work
The contractor renovated our kitchen that involved removing our existing cabinets and installing new cabinets and hardware. They removed part of the dry wall to install new recessed ceiling lighting, under the cabinet lighting, outlets and plugs and the associated wiring . They put up new drywall and painted it . They also installed a backsplash along selected walls. They also did miscellaneous work outside of the kitchen remodeling that involved installing new door locks, electrical outlets, bath faucets, recessed LED lighting in family room, and new lights in our foyer, and dining room. The price includes the materials used for renovating the kitchen (excluding cabinets and backsplash)

Category ceramic tile, drywall, electrician, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters, doors

Cost $13,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/27/2015

5.0

12/23/2014


JEFF C.

Rare no-contract job completed on time, within budget, and with outstanding results. Looking forward to using them for a kitchen remodel. I would not use another provider...these guys are good!

Description of Work
Bathroom Remodel (5' x 9').

Category remodeling, home remodeling

Cost $8,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/19/2014

5.0

11/10/2014


Stacie J.

Art and his crew arrived when they said they would, and cleaned up the space (as best as they could) before leaving each day. They asked questions the first day so they had a basic understanding of the job. They didn't just put things back where they initially were, (as the new vanity and mirror were different sizes than the original pieces); they understood we wanted these items to be centered on the wall. They noticed a problem when the paint on the walls began to dry and immediately redid them. Art was on the site each day and he answered all my questions; explained what could, and could not, be done (& why) - which I appreciated. He also added in a small tile backsplash which was not part of the initial plan. I liked his attention to detail and was very pleased with the work of his company.

Description of Work
Removed tile floor, bidet, toilet, vanity, light, medicine cabinet & heat lamp/ fan unit. Retiled floor after reinforcing it; capped line to bidet; installed new toilet, a wall mounted vanity; larger medicine cabinet, wall mounted closet & new heater/fan unit. Painted bathroom.

Category ceramic tile, closet systems, countertops, electrician, flooring contractor, glass repair, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters

Cost $4,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/20/2014

5.0

06/23/2014


Damon C.

Art was tremendous. He supported us with honesty and hard work through the whole job. Total remodel of kitchen and bathrooms. It has made our home feel brand new. He was always on time and completed exactly what he said he would do. Made excellent recommendations to keep me within my budget. I actually was sorry to see them go. I am definitely going to use them when I decide to remodel my 3rd bathroom. Damon Cerrone

Description of Work
Remodeled kitchen and two bathrooms

Category home remodeling

Cost $32,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/16/2014

5.0

04/11/2014


Jeannie M.

Art and his coworker were extremely nice and professional. He responded quickly to my estimate request, gave me a breakdown of costs, and was able to give me a timeline of when things could be done. The work turned out great - I would recommend him to anyone!

Description of Work
Finished the bathroom in our basement

Category home remodeling

Cost $6,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/07/2014

5.0

03/10/2014


christopher O.

Art first came over and gave me a layout of what he could do with the space he had in our basement for a full bath. Upon that he worked within my budget and quoted me a reasonable price. On each construction day he would always walk me through before he left letting me know what was done and what would happen the next few days. His plumber he has is top-notch. The guys in his crew take pride in their work which is sometimes hard to find and it does show in the work. If I have any more work in the future I need done to my house Art will be the first person I call.

Description of Work
Basement Bathroom

Category remodeling, home remodeling

Cost $9,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/09/2013

5.0

03/02/2014


Michele P.

I am very pleased that I selected Arts Home Improvement for this project. His price was very competitive to slightly lower than other contractors. He started the job when he said he would and it was completed very quickly. Him and his team did a great job on the bathroom and I was very happy with the outcome. As soon as you meet Art you will feel like he is a stand up guy who will do what he says when he says he will, and you will be right.

Description of Work
Installed garden tub, floor, and shower tile in large master bathroom.

Category ceramic tile, flooring contractor, remodeling, home remodeling

Cost $4,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/26/2014

5.0

02/25/2014


Barbara .

It went good overall. I was pleased with the work done and what he said he would do and he gave me few good suggestions in the bathroom and I used them. No complaints at all. He was the only one I called and I was satisfied with his price and I am hoping that it was a good price as I was expecting little bit more. The quality of work was very good. I would use them again in the future.

Description of Work
I used Arts Home Improvement. They just finished last week. Also my kitchen faucet was leaking and he called the company and got a new part and put it on for me, which was extra.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

Cost $2,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/20/2014

5.0

12/24/2013


Narayanan R.

He was fabulous. His workmanship was top notch. His only issue was that he had one worker who was a little annoying - Billy was his name. Art is very detail oriented. He doesn't just supervise - he's personally involved with working with the guys.

Description of Work
He helped to remodel my basement. He added a full bathroom to the basement, added a full, huge closet in the basement, fixed the electrical connections in my basement, fixed my doors and remodeled my kitchen. Everything took only a month and a half. He also doesn't take on multiple projects - when he's doing a project, he's 100% focused on that project.

Category handyman service, remodeling, home remodeling, basement remodeling

Cost $60,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/01/2011

5.0

12/17/2013


Douglas D.

After discovering a leak due to a rusted out bathtub, I called three contractors from Angie's List. We selected Art's Home Improvement, not only because of the price, but because he seemed to be one heck of a great guy. You can't help but like the guy. As one other patron acknowledged, 10 minutes with the guy, you would swear he was your brother-in-law! Art and his crew work without many business formalities; i.e., a handshake is as good as a formal contract. I was a bit disturbed by this initially, then realized that there are some people in this world, who are good as gold with their word. Art is one of these people. Art explained in exact detail what he and his crew would do. Both my wife and I were impressed with his friendliness and his skills. Demolition went exactly as he explained, repairs were made to the plumbing (a source of our rusted bathtub), and his daily clean up was excellent. Each day, I was able to see progress, and he was always receptive to any of our questions. We had a bit of sheet rock problem, and Art fixed it. The bath tiling went well, but we noticed one mosaic tile that stuck out slightly. We mentioned it to Art, and he had his tile man, Billy, replace it the next day. We had a crated mirror that was delivered by Lowe's that had a minor scratch in it, and Art took it back and replaced it. A pipe needed to be moved because of our choice of vanity--no problem. It was moved. Everything Art said he would do, he did, with exacting detail. Nine days after the initial start, Art finished up. When we settled the bill, he had every receipt with him. We shook hands and parted company, with the understanding that I would call him again.

Description of Work
Bathroom refurbishment/renovation.

Category ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, glass repair, lighting, home remodeling, interior painters

Cost $9,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/16/2013

Images

Review for Arts Home Improvement - 13012 Taverner Loop, Woodbridge, VA - 7365875

+3 More