Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

1st Choice Fence & Home Improvement LLC

With Angi since September 2012

4.6

(7) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

14639 Earlham Ct

Woodbridge, VA 22193

Description

Fences, Decks, Interior and Exterior painting and power washing.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

08/21/2015


Doris H.

Tyrone had performed some work for us in the past. We needed to have a small section of chain link fence repaired when a tree came down on it. Tyrone came out promptly and fixed it. It looks great!

Description of Work
Fixed small section of chain link fence damaged by tree that had fallen on it.

Category fencing

5.0

07/06/2015


Doris H.

Tyrone showed up on time to do the estimate. He was not the lowest estimate we had but he was not the highest either. We did not go with the company with the lowest estimate because he cancelled four times before he came out and Tyrone did not. Originally Tyrone was going to install a new 50 foot section of chain link fence with a gate and fix three sections of broken chain link fence plus some repairs to our soffits. He was going to charge $1900 for this. However, before the day he was to start work, a tree came down in our yard and crushed a large section of our front fence. He also fixed this fence for an additional $1250. The fence and repairs were well done and Tyrone even did a couple of extra things for no charge. He was very pleasant and left the site clean. I would hire him again.

Description of Work
Installed a section of chain link fence with gate, fixed several sections of broken chain link fence.

Category decks

5.0

03/30/2015


Casey B.

Excellent customer service. Tyrone came out for a same day estimate, sat with us, and mapped out exactly what we wanted. The turn around time from contract to installation was only a week. The entire crew was friendly, and a pleasure to work with. They cleaned up impeccably, if it wasn't for a the fence, you'd never know we had a yard full of contractors! I would absolutely recommend them to friends and neighbors. The fence is beautiful, the workmanship is top notch, and they completed everything in a timely and professional manner.

Description of Work
Installled approximately 144' of 6' custom wood fence around property

Category decks, fencing

5.0

02/14/2014


Allen J.

It was great. They were referred by someone that I met. They were professional.

Description of Work
I used the services of 1st Choice Fence & Home Improvement. They put up my fence.

Category fencing

2.0

08/06/2013


Chase F.

I will preface all of my comments and frustrations with this--His company built a good deck. I have no problem with the quality of the deck, minus the few details that I will outline. I have no doubt that he has a good ability to build fences and decks. With that being said, let me explain our situation. We recently bought a house. One of our contingencies in the contract was the owner to put on a fence. He used Tyrone and 1st Choice to build the fence. We were not involved in that process, and we were only going off of the final product when we contacted 1st Choice to do our deck. We contacted a few other companies, but 1st Choice was the lowest and presented a unique design. Going off of his previous work, we were excited for him to start the deck! After a quick HOA approval and 1st Choice handling all the permits and such, they gave us a Wednesday start date, with a 4 day timeline for completion. Wednesday turned into Friday, and then I was told by Tyrone that they were working on another project and would have to start on Saturday. They finished the 12x12 upper level platform fairly quickly. Around day two, after the platform of the deck had been just about finished, they informed that they were not going to be able to build it the way that we both had designed it. The stairs were supposed to run down the side of the house, as to not take up a bunch of our yard. It was decided after about half the project was complete that this would not be possible and we had to now run the stairs into the middle of the yard. They had already built half the deck, so what were we supposed to do? We had hired Tyrone and his company partially due to they were the only ones to present us with a design like this, so we were excited at the prospect of being able to have all the functional space in our yard. Since the 12x12 deck was already finished, we had no choice but to accept the changes and have them build the deck with the new design. Unfortunately, this was only the beginning of a very long and disappointing process. I understood that it rained one day, which delayed the build by one day. I told Tyrone that I needed to be done by Tuesday (day 6) because I had a refrigerator being delivered and they needed to use the deck to bring it up. He assured me several times that it would be completed, and that they were supposed to have the first inspection Monday afternoon. Monday afternoon came, and so did the inspection. Unfortunately, Tyrone did not have the proper paperwork ready, so the inspector was unable to inspect our property. It was supposedly rescheduled for that afternoon, which never happened. Tyrone never contacted me and it wasn't until I approached him that I had figured out what happened. Tuesday came and the deck wasn't completed. I had to contact Tyrone several times--He never once through the whole process contacted me first--to see what was going on. By this time, the deck was mostly completed, with temp footing until the inspector gave the ok. The inspector approved the deck, but a few changes were needed to be perfect for the final inspection. We were supposed to have stair lights installed on the deck stairs to light the stairs. Tyrone decided that since the design had changed, that he would make the decision, without consulting us at all, that he would put a flood light on our house and not install the deck lights. He then removed our light fixture that was currently there and installed the flood light. At the end of the day, this was Wednesday (a week after he was supposed to start) he asked for the other half of the payment, because he needed to make payroll for his guys. I hesitated, since the work wasn't completely done, but we ended up writing him a check that day, since he told us all that had to be done was the final inspection and promised us that he would complete the work. Once we realized the following day that the new light was installed, we asked him where the old fixture was, as we wanted to keep it as a replacement to another fixture we had. He informed us that he had THROWN IT OUT! He never told us he was changing out our light fixture, never asked us if we wanted the light fixture and never told us that he threw it out, until we approached him about the change. When we asked him (through email) if he had a plan to refund us for the light fixture, his exact response was and quot;A refund for the light? Lol.and quot; As minuscule as he may have thought this was, he still took our personal property off of our house, without consulting us of the change from the stair lights, and then threw it out without ever blinking an eye. Saturday rolled around and his full team is back. They were cutting wood and screwing in another board into each of the rails leading down to the landing. These boards were on top of the already existing railing. My wife and I were concerned why the whole team was back, because we paid him in assurance that all that had to be done was the inspection. When these boards were put on, it really looked like someone had just taken two boards and pounded them on. It did not make sense and it made the railing look very bad. I went out to talk to Tyrone, since he told me that all was left to do was to get the inspection and was told that they now have to install the extra support and such, which I did not question, assuming that it is what happens after the inspection. He never mentioned anything about the additional boards on the railings. Once they were finished, I went out to look at the deck and asked Tyrone about the boards. He said--and I am not quoting--something about them being a quarter inch off and that was the reason that the boards were put on (sorry, I am not sure of the exact verbiage). He also admitted that he did not like the boards being their and agreed that they looked silly. He said that since the first inspector said they were a quarter inch off that they installed these boards in order to pass the inspection, but told me he would take them off after they passed the inspection, per my request. He didn't volunteer to replace the railing afterwords, but assured us that it would only have nails holes in it from the board on top of it and he would fill them with wood putty and make them look nice. I am not a deck builder, but the fact that he was just doing stuff to pass the inspection and then would and quot;fix itand quot; for me afterwords was a bother because obviously we would not be compliant anymore, as well as the fact that he was not offering to replace the railings that had nails pounded into them, but would instead just fill the holes. Why wouldn't you just build the rails to the right specifications in the first place? It is now Tuesday, almost two weeks after 1st Choice said they would start. The final inspection passed, but the boards still remain on the railings. My wife and I have decided to find someone else to take the boards off and fix the rail, since over the last couple days, Tyrone has sent us a series of emails telling me how I am and quot;knit pickingand quot;and and quot;looking for reasons to complain.and quot; WIth as much money as we were spending on the deck, we did not feel our comments and complaints were unwarranted. The final product, minus the two railings, turned out very nice. The biggest problem we had with Tyrone and his company is that they did not communicate with us AT ALL about problems, potential changes, delays or anything else. All the communication that was done was after we had inquired about things. He decided on things for us (stair light vs. flood light, throwing out our fixture, etc.) and to be honest, it got to the point where we didn't trust anything he said in regards to why things were being done and why things were delayed and when it would be finished. Also, a minor note, through the whole process, his team left all of their trash, including water and gatorade bottles and cigarette butts in our yard, and didn't clean up their trash until the last couple of days. I cannot recommend Tyrone on the fact that he was very cavalier about his lack of customer service, and never once made an attempt to make things better, even after I told him I wanted to be kept in the loop.

Description of Work
Installed second level deck (12x12) with stairs going to the ground

Category decks

5.0

06/05/2013


Jennifer R.

Tyrone was wonderful to work with. The project was completed without any issues and completed early! The fence looks amazing! I highly recommend using this company. The prices were very competitive and the finished product is amazing. Stop searching and call 1st Choice today!

Description of Work
Fenced entire back yard of my SFH with 6 foot board by board wood fence.

Category decks

5.0

09/08/2012


Clay R.

Tyrone arrived on time. He provided us an estimate that was very fair and competitive. We chose to use him since he was a single source provider, and not associated with a big company. He arrived to do the install. He installed all of the posts with concrete. He came back and then installed the fencing itself. Our expectations were highly exceeded, and we were very happy. We were so happy with Tyrone, that we have asked him to do some more work for us. We would highly recommend 1st Choice Fence and Home Improvement LLC.

Description of Work
We enclosed our backyard with a green vinyl covered chain link fence

Category decks, fencing, handyman service

    Other local Pros in your area

    TruBlue of South Fairfax

    We are TruBlue of South Fairfax, a total house care provider to take care of all your home maintenance and repair needs. We pride ourselves on professionalism and care for our customers. Just tell us what you need done whether it's carpentry, drywall work, door installations, minor renovation of kitchens and baths, repairs or a helping hand - we are here to take the to do list off your hands so you can get back to doing the things you enjoy.  

    MC Fence of Fredericksburg

    Call today for fencing services!  

    HD Exteriors LLC

    From our initial meeting to the completion of your project, our number one goal is to exceed your expectations. We install economical projects with great resell value along with large outdoor living staycations. When you choose to work with us, you get a project manager to communicate important information and oversee the installation of your project. Before we can begin construction, there are many tasks that must be completed. We do this efficiently by using project, customer service and communication tools and technologies along with a great staff that all share the same vision of excellence. Below are the steps we take to ensure you are 100% satisfied with your choice.  

    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No

    Services Offered

    Fences, Decks, Interior and Exterior painting and power washing.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about 1st Choice Fence & Home Improvement LLC

    How is 1st Choice Fence & Home Improvement LLC overall rated?

    1st Choice Fence & Home Improvement LLC is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    Does 1st Choice Fence & Home Improvement LLC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, 1st Choice Fence & Home Improvement LLC does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    What services does 1st Choice Fence & Home Improvement LLC offer?

    1st Choice Fence & Home Improvement LLC offers the following services: Fences, Decks, Interior and Exterior painting and power washing.