Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Andrewz Homes & Renovation

Founded 1992 • With Angi since October 2005

4.8

(45) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

PO Box 1199

Warrenton, VA 20188

Description

Established in 1992 & a 3x Super Service winner, we focus on high-end remodeling projects & building custom homes, both residential & commercial, in the Northern Virginia Area. We offer top quality work and personalized services for all of your remodeling needs. AndrewZ Homes & Renovations is a

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

07/07/2018


Tangerine M.

Went very well. John Andrews and his crew are very professional and do a great job. I will most likely be requesting Andrewz services for additional projects.

Description of Work
2 bathrooms got an update

Category ceramic tile, countertops, flooring contractor, glass repair, interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thank you Tangy! It is always a pleasure working with you.
5.0

03/12/2018


David C.

I had the company remove the bathtub and replaced it with a walk-in shower. Completely tiled shower and bathroom floor, replace toilet and vanity. Replaced door with a pocket door and had a medicine cabinet built into the wall. Painted bathroom and bedroom wall where the work was done. Great job by the entire crew, cleaned up every day and finished the job a day early. We are very happy.

Description of Work
Complete Bathroom Remodel

Category contractors, ceramic tile, drywall, glass repair, remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review!
5.0

10/16/2017


Noah C.

Great! Much faster than I anticipated and on budget.

Description of Work
Full house remodel. Kitchen, 3 bathrooms, all new flooring, roof, windows and doors

Category ceramic tile, countertops, decks, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, replacement windows, pressure washing, home builders, woodworking, marble & granite, home remodeling, house painters, interior painters, doors, epoxy flooring, basement remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind review!
5.0

05/16/2017


Alan F.

Excellent! Quick note that this is a late review; work was done at the end of 2015 (I just never joined Angie's list until now). So first experience was the quote, John came over and was very friendly and helpful; he shot out some good ideas and was very agreeable to everything I was hoping to accomplish. We had bad experiences with other contractors that came over to quote us, mostly way over my target price (I had done my homework on price expectations), others just not helpful in terms of ideas. John's was super helpful and the price came in right around my expectations. The quality of work was great, everything was completed on time (there was a little delay with the scheduling of the inspector, but wasn't their fault; the actual work was done on time). John was very helpful and was willing to make reasonable changes without charge. Note that other contractors who quoted us said they would charge us for any change to the scope even if the work hadn't started yet; made us pretty uncomfortable... John however stated he wouldn't charge us for any changes that don't affect materials or cause extra time, and he stuck by it! We were very happy! He even fixed the location of some speaker wire for me after the drywall was up; I can admit that was an unreasonable request on my part.... but he was cool about it and fixed it for me even though it meant he had to re-do some dry wall work; A+ for customer service! Overall it's been over a year now, and we're incredibly happy with our basement. We've had no issues since the work was done and we'd definitely hire them again.

Description of Work
Finished an entire ~1200 sq. ft. basement; including: framing, drywall, stair modifications, a small bathroom + shower, mud room, wet bar, flooring (carpet/hardwood).

Category contractors, ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, hardwood floor, plumbing, remodeling, ceiling fans, marble & granite, home remodeling, interior painters, doors, basement remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the review! We are so thrilled that you love your basement!
5.0

11/02/2016


Tangerine M.

Top Notch. Will definitely use Andrewz again

Description of Work
replacement of kitchen cabinets, appliances, counter tops and backsplash. Also replaced roof.

Category ceramic tile, countertops, remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review! It was a pleasure working with you.
5.0

04/02/2016


Lisa F.

We did not have the work done because we felt the price was too high.

Description of Work
John came out and gave us an estimate for rescreening, cleaning, and staining our deck. He was very professional and seemed thorough and well informed. We did not have the work done because the estimate seemed very high.

Category remodeling, screen repair, deck cleaning

5.0

02/15/2016


Nicole G.

Very professional operation. This is who you want to call when you need a job done quickly, the right way the first time, and you don't want to mess around with cut-rate unreliable contractors. These guys are the real-deal, like something you would see on HGTV! They made sure our permits were in place, requested drawings and plans in advance, performed a walk-through, a few days prior to the day the work was to be done to match the plans, and he came-by the day before to make sure all of the fixtures at arrived. On the day of the job, they arrived on time with the plans in-hand. Like a true project manager, John brought in a team of skilled workers. He quickly instructed them on each of their jobs, and they jumped to work. John performed oversight of each group of workers as they went along, and he checked each of their jobs when they were finished. This massive job was completed in only about 4 hours. The building inspectors came in the next day, and everything passed inspection. Since we had several contractors there simultaneously, they made sure to keep their work spaces to a minimum, and never had tools and materials strewn about. They cleaned everything before they left. Watching them, compared to the other contractors onsite that day, was like night and day. If I had to do this again, I would only hire Andrewz, and I would not have hired any of the other contractors.

Description of Work
Andrewz performed the renovations for my restaurant. For the cost above, they reworked the plumbing so we would have larger drains and pipes, installed 5 sinks, set the countertops that I had purchased, and installed the sinks in the countertops, as well as ran the waterlines and drains for our commercial equipment. Not included in that price (landlord paid for this), Andrewz also installed 2 complete ADA compliant bathrooms.

Category countertops, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling, real estate agents

Service Provider Response

Wow! Thank you for the kind review. I hope nothing but the best for you and your family; and much success for the café.
5.0

06/01/2015


Melinda J B.

It went very well and very quickly. We were extremely pleased with the results. John was considerate and very easy to work with, brought in expert crews, and got the job done quickly. Even though this was a repair job, the work that was done looks beautiful and improved the quality of our house.

Description of Work
Repaired water damaged, deteriorating floor and water damaged ceiling; replaced flooring and painted.

Category flooring contractor, remodeling, water damage restoration, interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review!
5.0

05/02/2015


Barbara E.

was great. Took 2 days. Used good materials. Great outcome. Very pleased

Description of Work
insulated walls of my walk in cooler

Category remodeling

5.0

04/06/2015


carol H.

He came promptly and was most pleasant. He gave me a quote on enclosing a deck and it was higher than I could afford. After twice redoing the quote, I was disappointed that I could not have the job done at this time. The quote was quite reasonable. After my very brief dealings, I will certainly use his services when I am in a better position.

Description of Work
I was unable to use his services.

Category decks

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review! We hope to work with you soon.
5.0

09/29/2014


Linda W.

I have used Andrewz for a number of years now. He is the most reliable contractor I have used. He estimates may not be the lowest, however, you get what you pay for. I found that out the hard way. He arrives when he is supposed to and barring any unforseen circumstances, finishes the project when he says he will. His crew cleans up every day before leaving and once the project is completed. I have full confidence in his skills and abilities. He and his team are trustworthy, show up when they are supposed to, and complete the project as agreed upon. I would highly recommend John Andrews and his team

Description of Work
I had substantial settling in my house due to a defect in the installation of floor joists from the original construction. John and his team had to completely remove the ceiling and restructure the joists. This included gutting and redoing the bathroom above the downstairs room as the floor joists caused the floors to settle.

Category contractors, remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review!
5.0

09/10/2014


Michael C.

Outstanding. John made a most competitive bid and provided an outstanding product for us. He was prompt, professional, and most thorough. I'd use him again in a heartbeat. Thanks for the great service and I'm looking forward to seeing him on my next project.

Description of Work
Deck.

Category decks, remodeling

5.0

08/04/2014


Lenna S.

Me and my husband can't recommend John Andrews and AndrewZ Home Improvement highly enough. They are timely, professional, detail-oriented, and easy (and fun!) to interact with. John was there on site almost every day, and it is reflected in the quality of the work. Our feedback (while very sparse) was always acted on quickly, or explained very thoroughly. John is polite, respectful, and funny. His style is quite relaxed and yet attentive at the same time. He had great suggestions for improving the design as submitted by our architect, and was very flexible if and when we made changes to the scope of the project. His prices were very fair (not cheapest but not the most expensive). Honestly, with all the shady contractors out there these days (and we have experienced several ourselves) John made the whole process tolerable and indeed enjoyable at times! Again, we can't recommend him enough for his professionalism and easy going manner. We have lots of photos but I can't figure out how to attach them. :) You can see the photos on facebook by searching for AndrewZ Home Improvement.

Description of Work
AndrewZ Home Improvement did a comprehensive exterior renovation to our 1890 farmhouse, and some interior tiling and trim work, in addition to adding a small entry porch. Siding was James Hardie Light Mist cedar plank, staggered edge shingle, and board and batten. Roof was standing seam Englert Charcoal color. Decking and trim used was Azek. Foundation was painted to match siding. Electric was run to the new porch lights and plug. Three windows were changed out from octagon to square. Sun porch and mud room were tiled in herringbone pattern.

Category ceramic tile, decks, electrician, lighting, remodeling, siding, replacement windows, woodworking, house painters

5.0

06/17/2014


Deborah V.

We built a house about fifteen years ago and he is my go to person. He’s done a little bit of everything in my house. He did the deck for us when we first moved in. He's just very reliable and very trustworthy. I've got to have him come back and do some other stuff.

Description of Work
We used Andrewz Home Improvement for some interior painting and plumbing. He also did some drywall work.

Category drywall, plumbing, interior painters

5.0

03/01/2014


Dianne J.

Everything went with no problems. John Andrewz was very courteous and professional. He arrived on time and completed all required work as specified in the contract in a timely basis. His workmanship and outcome of this project was beyond expectations. His quote for work performed was very reasonable and he is honest and easy to work with. I would definitely recommend him to anyone wishing to have work performed in their home.

Description of Work
remodel master bedroom, add a second master walk-in closet and in-ceiling lighting.

Category remodeling

5.0

12/28/2013


harold W.

Installed a walk in tub and tiled a bathroom. Remodeled the main bathroom with tile and vanity. Installed porch roof. The kitchen floor was replaced with tile. The work was very neat and the cleanup was done every day. The owner personally was here and done most of the work in a very professional manner. His helper was very friendly and very accommodating on special request. I'm thinking of having more work done by this very good company.

Description of Work
remodeled Bathrooms and Kitchen and front porch celling.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

11/14/2013


Virginia C.

They did a great job. John Andrews is really easy to work with. He has great ideas too. Their pricing was right in line with the other bids. I chose them because John was very friendly and outgoing and seemed to care. He really spent time with me during the estimate to listen to what I want to have done, whereas other companies came out, looked at the job, gave me a price and went on their way. The crew was on time, clean and very professional. They consulted with me on all of the work they were doing. Their follow up was great too. They made sure I was satisfied with their work. We had to order the door and flooring and they kept me up to do date on the shipping process. Overall, this was a great experience. I would consider them for future work

Description of Work
I had them replace my porch floor, railings and posts with PVC. They remodeled my laundry room. Tore down some walls, replaced a door, installed a cat door, and framed up another door.

Category remodeling, sunrooms

5.0

11/09/2013


Peter M.

Screened in porch, partial kitchen remodel, new garage to accommodate car lift. Very professional. John and his team are excellent and highly recommended.

Description of Work
I used Andrewz Home Improvement.

Category remodeling, garage builders, home remodeling, sunrooms

5.0

09/03/2013


Marilyn O.

They started on time, finished on time, for estimated cost, John handled any items that came up during construction promptly, all workers were polite and helpful

Description of Work
Removed old decking, installed new, new stairs to deck, created pergola canopy

Category contractors, decks, remodeling, outdoor kitchens

5.0

08/27/2013


Peggy T.

It's very excellent. We should have gone online and rated him because we were very happy with him. The price was comparable. I haven't found him to be way overpriced. Right now we're trying to consider with the basement but he sounds very fair. It was pretty good because we've been getting some higher quotes from a lot of other people. We did not do it strictly based on price only but he had what we wanted and it was also a fair price. We're in a holding pattern right now because we have some other stuff we have to do and we're not going to do the work until October but he came out and gave us a quote. In regard to John Andrews, we like him a lot.

Description of Work
Andrewz Home Improvement did a porch thing for us last fall. We had to replace the pillars and all the railings. John Andrews is the contact person.

Category decks, basement remodeling

5.0

07/22/2013


Countess M.

This company is the only one that had returned an estimate so I have nothing to compare with yet

Description of Work
Gave me an estimate. He came on a Friday and by Sunday I had an estimate

Category remodeling

4.0

03/24/2013


Jim G.

John's quote was in the middle of the pack for price but was the second most detailed outlining all of the expected work and providing clear options for materials. He was also one of only 2 of the contractors that agreed to install a relatively new Royal Zuri composite decking product. Most of the other vendors were pushing Trex and indicated they would not work with anything else. From what I saw John sub'd out the majority of the work seemingly to groups he's worked with before. The concrete and flagstone patio work to one sub, the decking and railing to another. He did his best to keep on eye on progress and support as the subs completed their work. He also reviewed and corrected workmanship problems that arose quickly and without complaint. Overall John did what he promised, went above and beyond in a few cases to do the job right, and was responsive to issues my wife and I brought up during review stages.

Description of Work
Andrewz was one of 5 local companies called out for an estimate on a porch and patio replacement. The job involved replacing a wood deck in the rear of the house with a new larger flagstone patio and replacing the decking, posts, railing, and lattice work on our front wrap-around porch.

Category remodeling

5.0

11/27/2012


patrick S.

We are very happy with the whole experience. John was very quick to return our first phone call to even get a quote. John and his team showed a high level of professionalism and craftsmanship. His crew was very easy to work with, always on time and kept us in the loop as to each and every step of the process. Having to go without your kitchen for a month is not easy but the end result was definitely worth it. They did a wonderful job! Would recommend them and use them again.

Description of Work
Complete renovation of kitchen. New tile floor, new drywall, cabinets, counters, lighting, electrical, plumbing. Plus we had a beam in our kitchen that had to be removed and replaced outside underneath our bumpout of our kitchen. At that point a structural engineer was consulted to confirm that the beam could be removed. It has all worked out beautifully!!

Category electrician, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure working with you and we hope you are enjoying your new kitchen.
5.0

11/27/2012


patrick S.

These guys were very professional with a high level of craftsmanship. Things went so well we had them completely renovate our kitchen.

Description of Work
We had a fireplace that is wood burning and full brick from floor to ceiling. We wanted drywall over the brick with an inset for the TV over a small mantel with new tile around the opening of the fireplace and new fireplace doors. We called many contractors and John was the only one who sounded like he knew what he was doing and he did! It came out fantastic!

Category ceramic tile, drywall, remodeling, fireplaces, home remodeling

5.0

09/24/2012


Alison J.

The kitchen is in the portion of the house that dates to 1920's. There was a 2" slope from a recent renovation to the original floor. AndrewZ dismantled the base kitchen cabinets, moved all appliances and tore up the floor down to the beams to ready for the house being "jacked -- different company did this stabilization -- AndrewZ came back in and made a perfectly level floor, put in the new floor, reinstalled all the cabinets and appliances. The crew was very timely, courteous, cleaned up all debris. Their workmanship is outstanding. We now have a beautiful (and level!!!) kitchen. We will definitely use AndrewZ again!!

Description of Work
Kitchen floor and cabinets.

Category flooring contractor, remodeling, home remodeling

    Other local Pros in your area

    Value Dry Waterproofing

    Value Dry transforms wet basements & musty crawl spaces into dry, livable or storage space through basement waterproofing & crawl space encapsulation. We have 20+ years of basement waterproofing experience with the best lifetime warranty in the DC/Baltimore area & 10+ years experience in crawl space encapsulation and conditioning. Our services include sump pumps, back up sump pumps, foundation waterproofing, vapor barriers, humidity/ventilation control, outside stairwell drains, window well drains, egress windows, insulation, and foundation repair. We are conveniently located between the Baltimore and Washington, D.C. beltways and our service range covers Maryland, Virginia, Washington, D.C., and southern Delaware. Our entire team–from our phone room staff to our inspectors and installers–is fully committed to maintaining the highest standards of customer service and providing the fix that best fits the needs of you and your home. Our work is backed by a lifetime transferable warranty and a 24/7 service team. We are very proud of the reputation that we have built through online reviews, within our industry, and among our customers. Give us a call at (888) 768-2583 to schedule a free consultation or if you have any questions.  

    Angi Certified

    Dianne Hansen

    Consistent Super Service Award winner. Local Real Estate Expertise. Specializing in Fairfax County. Professional Assistance for all your Buying and Selling Real Estate needs. Free Comparative Market Analysis (CMA), insight to the current market and best strategies for a smooth transaction. See article published by Angie's List: http://www.angieslist.com/articles/5-tips-easy-home-closing.htm. If you're looking to move out of state, let us help you find an experienced agent to make your transition a good one! Please call or email if you are interested in buying or selling a home in the Northern Virginia area. Honest, ethical and responsive service to help you buy or sell a home. Whether you're a first time buyer or experienced homeowner, we would be happy to guide you through the newest housing requirements as smoothly as possible. I have more than 15 years experience in Northern VA real estate and look forward to working with you to meet your goals. I don't just sell houses, I help you get where you want to be - Start to finish management of Trusts/Estates. Hand us the keys and tell us your budget, we will take care of all the details and sell your home for the maximum price. Trustworthy representation for out of state families. - New home buyers expertise, learn how to negotiate with the builders - How to market your home with the best pictures, presentation and timing - Buy your next home with a strategy that will make your move as smooth as possible 703-819-7779 Dianne.Hansen@penfedrealty.com  

    Angi Certified

    Looking Sharpe Landscapes LLC

    Looking Sharpe Landscapes is a local company in Oakton, Virginia. The company is licensed and insured and the owner, Danny Sharpe, has a degree in Landscape Design with a specialization in Horticulture. Danny is personally involved in each individual job in order to ensure the highest possible level of customer satisfaction. The Looking Sharpe staff has the knowledge to take on any size job, large or small. All employees have been with the company for three or more years. Our staff is customer oriented and personable, they receive many compliments from our customers.  

    Angi Certified

    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Our focus is on high-end remodeling services, custom home building, home additions, outdoor living, and garages. Remodel services range from general remodeling, to basements, kitchen, and bathroom remodels. We can design and build homes from the ground up, including garages. We also can create outdoor living spaces with our custom patios and porches.

    Services Not Offered

    We do not do “handyman” type jobs or small repairs. We specialize in larger, high- end home creations through remodeling, additions, and home building.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Andrewz Homes & Renovation

    How is Andrewz Homes & Renovation overall rated?

    Andrewz Homes & Renovation is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Andrewz Homes & Renovation open?

    Andrewz Homes & Renovation is open:

    Monday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Andrewz Homes & Renovation provide

    Andrewz Homes & Renovation accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard

    Does Andrewz Homes & Renovation offer free estimates?

    No, Andrewz Homes & Renovation does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Andrewz Homes & Renovation offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Andrewz Homes & Renovation offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Andrewz Homes & Renovation offer a senior discount?

    No, Andrewz Homes & Renovation does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Andrewz Homes & Renovation offer emergency services?

    Yes, Andrewz Homes & Renovation offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Andrewz Homes & Renovation?

    Yes, Andrewz Homes & Renovation offers warranties.

    What services does Andrewz Homes & Renovation offer?

    Andrewz Homes & Renovation offers the following services: Our focus is on high-end remodeling services, custom home building, home additions, outdoor living, and garages. Remodel services range from general remodeling, to basements, kitchen, and bathroom remodels. We can design and build homes from the ground up, including garages. We also can create outdoor living spaces with our custom patios and porches.

    Are there any services Andrewz Homes & Renovation does not offer?

    We do not do “handyman” type jobs or small repairs. We specialize in larger, high- end home creations through remodeling, additions, and home building.