Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

The Gillen Company

Founded 2010 • With Angi since September 2012

4.2

(19) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

5998 Providence Road, Suite 103

Virginia Beach, VA 23464

Description

The Gillen Company is an all purpose general contractor company in the Kempsville Area of Virginia Beach. We offer financing, and accept all major credit cards.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

04/11/2017


Andrew W.

Great experience. Would hire again

Description of Work
Converted some office spaces -- new drywall, paint, lighting.

Category drywall, electrician, lighting, remodeling, interior painters

1.0

11/15/2016


Joan T.

He wasn't doing any work. When I would call, he said he would be here, but never came. He stole my money and I fired him.

Description of Work
Remodeling

Category remodeling

5.0

02/10/2016


Bruce L.

Description of Work
removed a jaccuzzi 2 person bath. Rebuilt floor, installed glass enclosed shower. Very nice work but took almost 4 months.

Category remodeling

5.0

02/17/2015


Kathryn C.

It looks very nice. It was done well.

Description of Work
Installed a fence line.

Category fencing, handyman service

5.0

02/17/2015


Jennifer K.

It turned out very nice.

Description of Work
I used The Gillen Company for re-modelling two bathroom, wood flooring in the master bedroom and redesigned two closet.

Category carpet installation, flooring contractor, home builders, home remodeling, interior painters

2.0

11/04/2014


Wayne D.

he following review is written by one of the two property owners. As a Veteran, I used my VA Eligibility to help purchase this home with my wife. I thought it was important to write this review to inform both Angie?s List as well as the consumer. We executed a contract for home renovations (new roof and removal of ?load bearing? interior walls) on 3 July 2014. Below is a summary of services that we initially contracted for: 1. Pulling required permits. 2. Remove all existing shingles, felt, vents and collars complete. Cut ridge 2" on each side of ridge. Patch holes for square vents. Supply and install new felt, drip edge, Certainteed Architect Shingles, Certainteed ridge cap, Certainteed ridge vent, new collars complete. Haul away all material and debris. 3. Cover kitchen cabinets; remove walls to kitchen, front room complete. Remove ceilings in dining room, front hallway, and hallway to bed, front room, and kitchen complete. Remove ridge board and rafters in this area of construction. Supply and install new double ridge header in open room, new rafters to accommodate insulation and airspace. Supply and install new ½ " OSB on roof sheathing. Frame up existing walls to meet new ceiling. Insulate and plaster. All material is guaranteed to be as specified, and the above work to be performed in accordance with the drawings and/or specifications submitted, along with this proposal, for the above work and completed in a substantial workmanlike manner for the sum of $xx,xxx.xx Key Concerns with the Contractor: The first item on the executed contract (above) was to register the appropriate permits with the City of Virginia Beach however this was not done. The demolition of the ?load bearing? walls were completed without a permit being registered with the city. After numerous inquiries and a verbal quote by Tim Gillen ?if it makes you feel better we?ll get the permit?. As such, the permit was finally registered with the city of Virginia Beach on July 14th. It should be noted that the permit in question was not registered by The Gillen Company but registered by a completely different company known as Ocean Shore Construction (Record 2014-BDRA-17220). As the owners, we were never informed about this switch and only found out when we conducted a permit search through the City of Virginia Beach database. ·Upon extensive research during the early July timeframe, it appeared that The Gillen Company did not have either a valid contractor?s license or the appropriate contractor?s license to perform the work for which they were contracted thus the reason why they engaged another company to register said permit. Which raises a big question, did/does The Gillen Company and Ocean Shore Construction have a contractual arrangement if so what is/was there agreement & relationship. The overall cost weighed against the craftsmanship was marginal which causes me concern from a safety perspective. We had an extensive (multi-page) punch-list whereby Tim Gillen had to call in another contractor to assist without both homeowner?s knowledge and consent. Specifically, a group of workers showed up at the house and did not even know who Tim Gillen was. Again, these types of scenarios introduce both professional and personal risk. Concerns with Angie?s List After speaking with an Angie?s List representative on November 4, 2014 regarding the license and permitting situation, it appears that Angie?s List verification process is based upon the contractor self-certification of their credentials (self-attestation). That?s alarming. This introduces numerous professional and personal risk scenarios especially not knowing who has access to your home. I would have expected Angie?s List to run the appropriate background checks on companies and its employees that are working inside a family residence that includes children. Overall Suggest potential buyers perform their own independent due diligence including a review of all the postings regarding this company as there are many similarities.

Description of Work
Extensive Interior and Exterior Renovation >$50,000

Category contractors, drywall, excavators, insulation, plastering, plumbing, remodeling, roofing, woodworking, home remodeling

1.0

10/28/2014


Virginia S.

i don't want to go into all the details because I don't have enough time and BAD energy left in my body to explain the whole job. I would just like people to know that Tim was not present for much of the job. Some of the people he expected me to leave alone in my house were completely Shady, he compromised the security of my home, left doors wide open when leaving the job. The job took over a year to completely finish because once you pay him you will never see him again. If you do have a problem like ceilings leaking. Good Luck trying to get him to come back! He will also act like some how it is your fault or the sub contractors fault that you are experiencing problems. I can't express enough DO NOT PAY HIM TILL EVERYTHING AND I MEAN-EVERYTHING IS DONE! He is only concerned about clients who he has not collected from.. I never received updated warranties, or the information I requested on things that I need cleaning info on etc I have no clue who to call if there are problems, and Yes BELIEVE ME I AM STILL HAVING PROBLEMS. Last but not least I feel he totally takes advantage of jobs that only involve women in the home!! Does not like to be told or shown he mistakes and does not want to except responsibility for them. He will treat you like you are asking too much to get what you paid for. Hires people that have no experience at their craft, there were no inspectors or Permits involved! Most frustrating thing of all is he will schedule Appts that you confirm and rearrange schedules for and then never show up! Because for some reason his time is always more important than yours!

Description of Work
bathroom remodeling

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

[member name removed] had us remodel two bathrooms starting 03/29/13 and completed in early July, 2013. Yes, as [member name removed] states in her complaint, there were some minor hiccups with our tradesman during this job. We were just as concerned as the homeowner with the one time the doors were left open and security compromised. Due to these hiccups and negligence, we no longer use these tradesman. Several times though-because the homeowner was often gone for the day but still wanted forward progress on the bathrooms- a member of the office staff did sit on the job site overseeing things. [member name removed] advises in her complaint to withhold payment until after the job is completed. A payment schedule is always listed in our contract with a final payment due when the job(s) is completed and the customer is satisfied. [member name removed] agreed to the contract terms, signed the contract and paid in full at the completion of the bathrooms. Tim first returned to the residence at the end of July, 2013, to address a concern [member name removed] called about because our company offers a two-year warranty that begins when the job is completed. Tim then personally returned several more times to address other concerns and met with [member name removed]. Each time our company repaired, resolved, or reassured the customer(s) and they were satisfied and content. (In fact, the last time Tim went out to the residence for a concern about a leak in the ceiling-again at no charge- [member name removed] observed the area with Tim and realized it was just a shadow.) Our company is very concerned about [member name removed] charge that Tim “takes advantage of jobs with just women in the home”. Our company’s practice is to prepare a written estimate which Tim reviews with the potential client. There isn’t any hidden fees or extras without the customer’s knowledge and approval. We, as a company, try to keep a professional rapport with our customers yet still be personable to create a positive working relationship. It is now October, 2014, and this is the first time our company is hearing there are additional problems and [member name removed] is unhappy? Tim personally reached out to [member name removed]- leaving her a voicemail- but haven’t heard back from her. [member name removed] warranty is still in effect until June, 2015, and we welcome her to call if there are currently any problems. Our address hasn’t changed from 5998 Providence Road, Suite 103, Virginia Beach, VA and our office number (757-353-0533) is still the same. Being a small company, we take pride in receiving referrals from our customers because this is what keeps us in business. We would never want to jeopardize their satisfaction or our reputation. [member name removed] has two beautiful, completed bathrooms and it’s upsetting and unfortunate she is dissatisfied.
5.0

04/15/2014


linda C.

As Tim and his crew left the house after the kitchen update was complete, Tim said, "This is the way it's supposed to be". Truer words were never spoken. My experience over the years with a variety of contractors, "handy people" and self proclaimed experts have been pretty awful. They make for good stories but not a satisfied homeowner. Tim came for the original estimate on time and full of excellent ideas. His suggestions made my vision of what I wanted come to life. He built a beautiful cabinet beside my stove. The upper part is open with beadboard backing and the lower part has 3 big drawers. It's perfect and has made my kitchen so much easier to work in. He installed a beadboard wall and beautiful red counter tops. He also crowned all the existing cabinets to match the one he had built (his idea). Perfect. He also suggested putting in a new receptacle on the beadboard wall. Who could say "no" to that??? He fixed an existing cabinet that had never been installed correctly (see "handy people and self procalaimed experts above). It was the little things that also made a big difference to me: installing a pot rack correctly and securely, hanging a shelf right where I wanted it and making certain the drawers closed correctly. The list could go on. Tim and his crew came when they said they were coming, did what they set out to do, presented themselves in a very professional manner and cleaned up everything before they left. I was at home for a good deal of the work and the team consistently consulted with me about little details (where to put the shelves so my dishes fit perfectly, would I like ALL white receptacles installed throughout the kitchen...etc). As Tim said, "This is the way it's SUPPOSED to be". Pictures of my beautiful updated kitchen are on Tim's website. Take a look and see for yourself.

Description of Work
Kitchen update

Category custom cabinets, countertops, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling

3.0

11/27/2013


Suzanne T.

Our experience was not a good one. There were days when no one showed up to work, and we weren’t even called. The job took way longer than it should have. At the time, he had taken on too many jobs. He rushed the job at the end to finish. The worst part was that we had a leak, which caused a serious mold problem and ruined our kitchen floor. He was not at all cooperative in this matter; in fact,, he basically ignored our phone calls. We ended up paying for the damages ourselves. The plumber involved was contacted by Mr. Gillen, and was willing to meet with us to work out something in the form of compensation, but Mr. Gillen never returned his call to set up a meeting. I have a serious allergy to mold, and after several weeks, we just had to take care of it ourselves. It was a miserable experience.

Description of Work
New kitchen countertops, sink, garbage disposal, lighting, paint, microwave installed over stove.

Category countertops, lighting, interior painters

5.0

11/26/2013


Ronald S.

Very well. Very professional in all aspects of the job. I have recommended them to friends.

Description of Work
Replaced custom siding and facia.

Category remodeling, roofing, siding

5.0

11/22/2013


Randy W.

They did an outstanding job. I worked primarily with Tim, he and his crew were excellent. They had a crew of 5-6 people working on the the project and it took them about 3 weeks to complete the remodel. The crew was clean while working on the remodel and after they finished.

Description of Work
They did a bathroom remodel for us, including installing a new shower, sink, grouting the tile in the shower, flooring and painting.

Category ceramic tile, flooring contractor, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters

5.0

11/22/2013


James J.

Description of Work
I rehabbed a historic residence. They provided a quote, it was for about $100 k in work. I do like them but they did not do work for me.

Category remodeling

4.0

11/22/2013


Lu Ann B.

.

Description of Work
They helped in the remodeling of our bathroom. They did a good job.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

11/14/2013


JOHN W.

Tim Gillen owns the company and is physically present for almost all the work that goes on during the project. This ensures that the quality stays high on the work performed. He directly oversees the job and the final walk through was easy as there were only a few items to finish off. These were completed in a few hours with no issues. His crew cleaned up after every work day, including picking up all drop cloths, vacuuming and wiping down where any construction dust had settled. The employees we met were all personable, friendly and competent. All requests were completed with a good attitude and willingness to accommodate our needs. Vendors employed by The Gillen Co to provide service such as electric and plaster repair were likewise helpful and friendly. Change orders or additional work was negotiated in a friendly and easy manner. Upgrades were handled the same way. The Gillen Co provides a vendor list for common suppliers such as tile, granite, lighting etc and this is a good place to start if you are unfamiliar with local vendors. After doing our own research we ended up using a mix of recommended suppliers and our own sources for items purchased during this project. The project turned out very well and we are pleased with the end result.

Description of Work
The Gillen Co was hired to upgrade our kitchen and change it to allow for installation of new and different appliances. They completed the following: - Rearranged our cabinets to accommodate a new wall oven and cabinet. - Replaced the existing island with a larger one. - Tiled a new back splash - Installed a new cabinet for a beverage cooler. - Rewired and installed new lighting in the den and kitchen. Rewired the kitchen for the island and new appliances. - Repaired and plastered the ceiling where work had impacted the area, and repainted all 1st floor rooms except the dining room. - Installed the new wall oven, fridge, cook top and beverage cooler and all connections were completed (electric and plumbing). - The existing counter was reworked and a new sink installed. - Finished all cabinet ends and joints, including trim pieces. - Installed new granite on center island, butler's pantry and bar top pass through.

Category custom cabinets, ceramic tile, drywall, electrician, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, marble & granite, home remodeling, interior painters

5.0

10/28/2013


Christine D.

We cannot say enough great things about the Gillen Company. We hired them to make various repairs and renovations to our rental property in order to get it ready to sale. We live 3 hours away and was a little apprehensive about going through the process long distance. We met with Tim Gillen the owner, and was very pleased with his professionalism and courtesy. He understood our need to make the renovations in a timely matter so that we could put the house on the market as soon as possible. He suggested and then started the outside renovations first before the tenants moved out in order to get a jump on the project .He was slated to start the indoor renovations on Oct 1st, the day after the tenants moved out. We got word that the tenants were leaving a week early. I called Tim to see if he could start earlier then Oct 1st and he was in to start the renovations the very afternoon the tenants vacated. We are so pleased with all the work he has completed. He even fixed small things that he found without charging us extra. He stayed in constant contact with us sending pictures and updates as things were finished. When we needed services preformed that was beyond his scope of work, he recommended companies to us that provided outstanding services also. We spoke with Courtny his secretary on several occasions and she was very courteous and helpful. The house was finished within two weeks, we put it on the market Oct 4th and we had a contract on it within a week and a half. When the inspection report came in with a few things the prospective buyers wanted done, our realtor called Tim and he was in the next day completing the task. We cannot convey how very pleased we are. We know without a doubt Tim was instrumental in getting our house on the market and sold so fast. We absolutely recommend him!!

Description of Work
Installed new kitchen cabinets and counter tops. Installed linoleum in kitchen, 3 bathrooms and entry way. Replaced all light fixtures and ceiling fans. Replaced all outlets and switch plates. Painted all interior doors and installed new hinges and door knobs. Smoothed walls in kitchen in preparation for painting. Performed drywall repairs. Removed wallpaper from dining room and powder room. Painted entire interior walls and trim. Installed new faucets and sinks in kitchen and 3 bathrooms. Installed new vanities, mirrors and towel fixtures in all bathrooms. Replaced one exterior door. Painted 3 exterior doors and shutters. Painted garage. Replaced 4 outside lights. Power washed house, driveway and walkways. Pruned overgrown trees and shrubs. Repaired fencing. Replaced wooden boards on walkway. Repaired siding.

Category carpet installation, countertops, drywall, electrician, fencing, glass repair, lighting, plastering, plumbing, remodeling, roofing, siding, tree service, wallpaper removal, pressure washing, ceiling fans, home remodeling, interior painters, doors, roof cleaning

1.0

09/16/2013


Rahsheda B.

The Gillen Company DBA A G development using license 2705037578 and2705017845, claiming to be. Lead licensed contractor with A and B. This information was used by the contractor defrauding myself and other consumers with false information. I am asking to be refunded the 22,000.00 that was paid out for services not rendered And a devices that were not completed and misrepresentation of license.Buyer beware of this company. My address is below with telephone number. 1439 Monarch Reach Chesapeake, VA 23320 17576630895 For one the invoice was paid in full, as I payed prior to the completion S I thought the company was trustworthy. That is far from the truck. I told you a cazillion times the screen porch is incomplete. The doors don't hardly open without scraping the wood, the doors are flimsy and hard to close. The screen in the doors is concaving in and my 1 year old twin fell thought the door. The very thing I was trying to avoid you put her at risk and she could of drowned if my daughter didn't pick her up after falling through it. He never pulled a building permit, his license states expired since 1998 for one license and expired 1999 license, he misrepresented himself. Two years of warranty was stated, but in fact he has not, nor has he ever honored this. The dimensions of the porch and deck are inaccurate. The porch caused the back side of my home to rotten Mr Gillen has been brazen, insultive, and barbaric in his response to this matter so I wish to arise any and all communication. Nor do I want him back on my property, with the comments about my children, and how he caused the damage to my home. I do not feel safe with him on my property and he will be escorted by the sheriff if he shows up, as he had many chances to complete his work which he didn't. The would was supposed to be treated, which it is not. The deck dimensions need rechecked for accuracy. The gates are inoperable, very easily shaken, and handrails are flimsy and easily shakable. No support around the entire railings and gate. All the floors have splinters, No repaired metal wraps, wood rottening throughout. Walls on porch are flimsy. Clean out not extended, condensate line not extended, no replaced screws induct with stainless steel. You defrauded or shall I say lied to me, as your not licensed, you emailed my bills and tried to change it on the paper you presented. All lies. The home not power washed, nor painted. Floors do not have pressure treated wood and in no way treated which caused my babies to get flint era in the bottom of their feet. The back door and trimming not replaced as contracted. The home was never painted, and the roofing flashing collars were replaced, however over charged and you took advantage of me. Being female and my husband being on deployment I trusted you to be honest and fair and that was not what happened. Last but definitely not less, there was no sleeper system installed under deck which you upcharged and over charged and did not install. Grass is growing through the deck and the lawn company states that the deck would be on a hard flat surface that is build which is definitely not down. I want all monies paid back as you did not hold up to your end up the bargain. You also tried to charge me for the door going into the porch, which came with installation with the porch. If you continue to harass me I will file charges against you and your company along with your secretary do not contact my husband as he is deployed and the command will file harassment charges as well. R. Sheila Baker From: Tim Gillen ; To: Sheila Baker ; Subject: Re: Invoice from The Gillen Company Sent: Sat, Sep 7, 2013 1:29:06 PM What exactly do you feel is incomplete on the job? Thank you, The Gillen Company, 757-353-0533 On Sep 6, 2013 11:32 PM, "Sheila Baker" wrote: Everything on this invoice was incomplete and not done. I am filing this with DPOR, Angie's list, Better Business Bureau, and your insurance calendar. Copies of my checks will also accompany this as well as submitted to my attorney. Kindest regards, R. Sheila Baker DNPc FNP-BC MSN MHA HIC On Jul 2, 2013, at 11:33 AM, THE GILLEN COMPANY wrote: Dear Rahsheda Baker, Your invoice is attached. Please remit payment at your earliest convenience. Thank you for your business - we appreciate it very much. Sincerely, The Gillen Company ---------------------------------- Invoice --------------------------------- The Gillen Company 5998 Providence Road, Suite 103 Virginia Beach, VA 23464 (757)353-0533 thegillencompany.llc@gmail.com http://thegillencompany.com Invoice #: Kr-2078 Date: 06/12/2013 Due Date: 06/12/2013 Balance Due: $7,276.67 ---------------------------------------------------------------------------- Bill To: Rahsheda Baker 1439 Monarch Reach Chesapeake, VA Ship Date: 06/12/2013 ---------------------------------------------------------------------------- Service Activity Amount Exterior TExterior Trim & Decks-13'4"x20'9" screened in 15,700.00 porch Exterior TExterior Trim & Decks-17'6"x16'x12'6"x8'x24'8" 5,382.00 deck, with handrail, no steps, two gates, pressure treated wood, raise deck with sleeper system Exterior TExterior Trim & Decks-repair metal wrap in 3 0.00 spots, replace rotten wood by back door; extend, clean out, extend condensate line; replace screws on duct with stainless Specialty Specialties- Powerwash home 0.00 Doors & TrDoors & Trim- replace 32" back door 0.00 Painting Painting- Prime & Paint home complete 0.00 Roof Roofing, Flashing- replace Pipe collars 750.00 ____________________________________________________________________________ Total: $21,832.00 Payment: $14,555.33 -------------------------------------- Balance Due: $7,276.67 Kindest regards, R. Sheila Baker DNPc FNP-BC MSN MHA HIC

Description of Work
Our agreement included several items, such as: deck with treated wood, screened in porch with entrance door from home and 2 side doors. A bar in the screened porch, condensation line cleaned and extended, sleeper system under deck, sprayed and treated wood. A bar was to be installed in the porch for my husband. There were also some other items to be done. What I got was no where near this and it was overpriced and not completed. Tim Gillen advised a 2 year warranty that he never held up to, so civil litigations will proceed. Buyer beware!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Category decks, remodeling, roofing, screen repair, siding, woodworking, doors, sunrooms

Service Provider Response

How do I even start to reply to the ridiculous allegations from this deadbeat client? Have you ever met someone and got this bad karma feeling that you are gonna get screwed? Well, everything was fine until it was time to sign the agreement and she unexpectedly changed the payment schedule. She got up from the table and said she was going upstairs to get her checkbook. I sat there for 10 minutes until I started looking around and discovered she was standing behind me eating Chinese takeout. She looked at me and said "I will be right back". I was freaked out by the behavior but I know it takes all kinds to make this world. We keep our numbers tight so we can be competitive, but we also keep our schedule tight as we don't like to do too many projects at once. She also insisted that she get the permit for the work so the tax assessment wouldn't go up but it didn't happen. During the course of construction, we had questions that needed to be answered and could not get a response. We knocked on the door several times, every time, called the numbers we had for her but to no avail. On one Saturday in particular, we noticed the sunroof was open on their Suburban. We knocked and knocked and called and called as it had rained the night before, and rained 3 times during the day. We saw them thru the blinds sitting 10' away from the door, watching tv and ignoring our attempts. Finally, somebody came out at the end of the day to take out some trash and I asked this person, "why didn't you all answer the door?". I didn't get a response. Ms. [member name removed] claims we didn't use pressure treated wood. In fact, we DID use pressure treated lumber, we DID seal the deck with Thompson's Water Seal, and we DID extend the condensate line. We made the drain clean-out accessible by using stainless screws on the deck boards where it was located. We used Anderson storm doors on the porch. Anderson window company is a very reputable company. We built her a screen porch and deck with rails and gates. We did not supply a babysitter or lifeguard to watch her children. When you have an in-ground pool or if your young children are outside, you need to be there and also stay close. I would even recommend to be within arms length of your children. I had met with this client only a few times which my secretary was in attendance. The client started to discuss why we didn't install a door where her double window looked onto the screen porch. I said to her, "I asked that to your husband and he said 'we can just use the door next to the window'." Then the wood floor guy, working in her home, mentioned the door idea to her and that's when she said she needed one. Also, the bar she mentioned for her husband to surprise him came later after the project was started. The door, the bar, the power wash, the paint, and the metal repair was not in the original contract. I gave her a separate price for the power wash, paint, and metal repairs which she replied we would do it later when her husband got his hazardous duty pay for being overseas. After repeatedly trying to get paid for completed work, our office finally tried to email her husband hoping he could get his wife to respond. She started talking through her adult daughter because she would not respond. Only her daughter would speak to us. The deck was built with a sleeper system (a framing technique) under the porch and over the grassy area. We built it with a post and beam system. There is no other way to build a deck on a concrete slab. It was bolted down from concrete slab to the roof top. She accused us of not having a business license. We have since pulled a permit as we have DO have a Contractor's license in the name of OTB, Inc. (Lic. #2705071095) We have sent her a certified letter with her account balance which she did not accept. She and her children are always home but never answer the door and has cameras all around the house. That should have been another warning sign. She complains the screen door rubs the deck because it is called a door sweep to keep mosquitos out. Ms. [member name removed] isn't knowledgable about construction. She's making things up to avoid paying the balance of her account. She still owes us $2458. We had kindly agreed to accept half of the invoice ($2458/2=$1229) with Ms. [member name removed]; splitting the cost of the patio door. But after the trouble she is trying to cause we are requiring the full amount; which we are pursuing legally. Our company is located at 5998 Providence Road in Virginia Beach. We still give a 2 year warranty on all work- big or small. We had great reviews before this client and continue to have great reviews after. It's a shame that anyone can go online and say anything they want whether it's true or not and hurt our business. People work here. They have families. We give back to the community. Anyone can look on our website under Exterior projects/[member name removed] project at www.thegillencompany.com. The picture with the Red headed lady standing to the side is the original picture Ms. [member name removed] sent us stating this is what she wanted. The picture on the right is what we actually built. Tell us what you think. Thank you, Tim Gillen-Owner www.thegillencompany.com.
5.0

07/18/2013


Kathryn C.

The work turned out excellent! They are very polite, conscientious workers. They are easy to get a hold of with good office staff.

Description of Work
They’ve done projects all around the house including putting a brick and aluminum fence up for us.

Category fencing, remodeling

5.0

07/18/2013


LETITIA Y.

The work was very good and the cost is reasonable! They operate with integrity. That is very important to me because I have had other contractors since moving to Virginia Beach and it has been like a nightmare. The only reason I tried others was only because the cost was less. The owner/operator is very professional and pretty meticulous. His staff is very attentive to the customers needs. Anytime I called or sent an email, they responded right away. His secretary had even given me her cell phone number that way if I had questions after hours, I was able to contact her. The remodel was the selling point and it is absolutely fabulous. Some of my neighbors have seen the kitchen and have asked me the contact information for the company for over a year. They are very respectful and a good listened to the customer’s wants and desires. I relocated from California to Virginia Beach and the owner has been very helpful. He had worked with the previous owners and was able to provide me with the code to get into the home as I had forgotten it. He also held a bathtub for me after purchasing it while it was awaiting installation. He definitely goes the extra mile. I would highly recommend them and I am going to hire them to do a bathroom for me as well.

Description of Work
They remodeled the kitchen before I purchased the home. They also converted a bedroom into an eating area.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

06/11/2013


faYe H.

This job started out small, but when a significant problem was discovered, it turned into a major job. Rotten, moldy wood was discovered, and due to health concerns, it was necessary for the job to be done quickly. Mr. Gillen was very responsive and started the work on a Saturday of a holiday weekend. He did a great job. We have used this company in the past, and they always do a quality job.

Description of Work
New roof. Soffits. Gutters. Doors. Deck. Miscellaneous odds & ends.

Category gutter repair, remodeling, roofing, siding, deck cleaning, doors

    Other local Pros in your area

    JO'S IRRIGATION

    COMMERCIAL & RESIDENTIAL IN-GROUND SPRINKLER SYSTEMS, DRILL & INSTALL WELLS, PROVIDE SUBMERSIBLE PUMP INSTALLATION & REPAIR, INSTALL FILTER SYSTEMS FOR DRINKING WATER, TRENCH PLOW & BORE FOR A VARIETY OF UNDERGROUND NEEDS, DESIGN & INSTALL DRAINAGE SYSTEMS & ANNUAL MAINTENANCE INCLUDING WINTERIZING & SPRING START UP.  

    Angi Certified

    GUARANTEED GREENER GRASS & SECOND NATURE LANDSCAPE

    Providing the Hampton Roads area with the finest In landscaping, and turf management needs. Whether you live in Chesapeake or Virginia Beach we can Beautify your lawn, landscape and home. Whether you need lawn mowing, landscape design, fescue, bermuda, zoysia or st. augustine sod, we can help. Whether you have drainage problems, standing water in the yard, more weeds than grass or a paver walkway, driveway, patio or pool deck, we can help. Annual turf management, core aeration, slit seeding, landscape renovation and more..  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Soft Wash Mafia

    Established in December of 2020, we specialize in various types of extetior cleanings for both residential and commercial projects. There's no job too big or too small we won't do. Estimates are always at no charge, and are custom built to meet the need. Call us today, we aim to please. "Bada Boom, Bada Bing! look, it's clean! Forget about it!" The Boss  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    General Remodeling
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    2 YEAR WARRANTY ON OUR SERVICES (NOT TO INCLUDE MA

    Services Offered

    All home related repairs, remodels, additions, new construction. All business related repairs, remodels, additions, new construction.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about The Gillen Company

    How is The Gillen Company overall rated?

    The Gillen Company is currently rated 4.2 overall out of 5.

    What days are The Gillen Company open?

    The Gillen Company is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does The Gillen Company provide

    The Gillen Company accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does The Gillen Company offer free estimates?

    Yes, The Gillen Company offers free project estimates.

    Does The Gillen Company offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, The Gillen Company does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does The Gillen Company offer a senior discount?

    No, The Gillen Company does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by The Gillen Company?

    No, The Gillen Company does not offer warranties.

    What services does The Gillen Company offer?

    The Gillen Company offers the following services: All home related repairs, remodels, additions, new construction. All business related repairs, remodels, additions, new construction.