Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

New Dominion Contractors Inc

Founded 2003 • With Angi since April 2010

4.7

(57) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

417 Philbate Ter

Virginia Beach, VA 23452

Description

New Dominion Contractors, Inc is a full service general contractor specializing in kitchen and bath remodels, additions, porches, new home construction and more. NDCI has full-service in-house design capabilities for additions, new homes and more utilizing the most powerful 3D software on the

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

11/24/2019


John Y.

Joe was great excellent at making suggestions to help make up my wife’s mind . Work went smooth and the attention to details far exceeded my expectations by far . Thanks Joe !

Description of Work
Joe was a pleasure to do work with he renovated my kitchen with new countertops, relocated my kitchen sink and quoted me on future work .

Category ceramic tile, remodeling, home builders, home remodeling, sunrooms

5.0

10/11/2017


Jennifer E.

We are very happy with our new kitchen that Joe created for us. He was easy to work with and was open to making various tweaks to the design along the way. He made sure the all the details were done to perfectionist standard. His vendors were also great to work with and gave us really good prices. We got amazing custom cabinets and beautiful quartz countertops! I appreciated how he designated these costs in the contract. His flooring subcontractor did great work! I recommend you call Joe for your remodel!

Description of Work
We had our kitchen completely remodeled, new hardwood floors put down and finished to match existing wood floors.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

06/26/2017


Ann P.

It went fabulous. No major hiccups and was done to perfection.

Description of Work
I had my outdated masterbath gutted and made into the PERFECT bathroom. I LOVE amy new bathroom.

Category custom cabinets, ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, glass repair, lighting, plastering, plumbing, remodeling, marble & granite, home remodeling, interior painters

5.0

05/13/2017


Amy B.

All the projects NDC worked on for me went very, very well. I wasn't exactly sure what I wanted or even what was possible for the renovations because the footprints of the rooms couldn't be significantly altered (this house is very old). Joe gave me great suggestions and helped me visualize the finished product. He gave me plenty of time to purchase the items that suited my taste and had excellent suggestions for vendors that were very accommodating. His subcontractors were very skilled and provided their services on a timely basis. Joe took steps to protect my floors and carpets from damage and dust. While work was underway, Joe never once let phone my calls roll over to voicemail. He answered every call I made, no matter the time. He also took care of some of the items that were on my checklist that I was unsure about or that confused me, and never once showed any impatience or attitude. I very much enjoyed working with NDC and will use him for the rest of our renovations and updates.

Description of Work
Complete renovation of kitchen and master bathroom, painting and modification of built-in cabinets and bookshelves.

Category custom cabinets, ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, electrician, glass repair, lighting, plastering, plumbing, remodeling, appliance sales, ceiling fans, marble & granite, architect, home remodeling, interior painters, doors

1.0

10/16/2016


Taylor N.

I called on Thursday, explained the scope of work and he said he would come by on Saturday to give us a quote. I made it clear that we would be working with our insurance company. My husband called him on Friday to confirm that he was coming. He then started saying that it wasn't worth his time to come out, that the insurance company wants an itemized quote and he had to show "how he made his money". He then asked my husband what he did for a living, who my husband said he was in the Navy, Joe became even more evasive and reluctant to come out. If he had told me on Thursday that he wasn't interested in working with an insurance claim I could have made other arrangements to get someone out here. Now I have to wait till Monday to make any calls. Very frustrating and unprofessional in my opinion.

Description of Work
Quote for storm damage.

Category custom cabinets

Service Provider Response

After speaking with this customer initially, I informed him upon finding out it was an insurance claim, that I would have to think about it as I am not set up to do insurance claim work. My company description states this. He called on Saturday at 7:00am and I explained that I felt it was in my companies best interest not to participate, and could tell he was not happy as the line went dead. I never spoke to him on Friday, and I'm not sure what his wife is saying here, as I never spoke to her, but Insurance companies do require a different format of billing and invoicing, and all the insurance jobs I have attempted to get in the past wound up being a waste of my time as the customer used my quote with the insurance company, but didn't give me the contract and used someone else, therefore it wound up being a waste of my time. This might be what she is referring to, I'm not sure, because again, I never spoke with her. But I apologize for any inconvenience this caused and wish them the best.
1.0

09/13/2016


Katherine H.

Call Joe, and it was difficult to understand him, he seemed distracted during our conversation, and we made a tentative time to meet. He showed up at my house at that time, but due to a family emergency I was not there and I was not able to give him a heads up. I did however, come out of a funeral to a nasty voicemail from Joe. I would have recheduled and I understand it was my fault for not calling him, but sometimes people need kindness on rough days and I did not get that from Joe.

Description of Work
I was looking for a contractor to create a master suite.

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

I am so sorry for your loss. Obviously, this was bad timing. But I was there on time. It was rush hour traffic in downtown Norfolk. I may have expressed my disappointment on the voicemail I left. I like most people do not like traffic, nor time lost without an explanation. I apologize for my lack of understanding and for your loss.
5.0

07/13/2016


Mary Lou F.

I had used Joe Henry over 5 years ago to knock the wall out between the master bedroom and the small bedroom that was next to it to make my small master bedroom much larger. He did a great job and had mentioned now that my master bedroom was so large, I should use the space to expand and remodel the master bathroom. It took 5 years for me to save up and was finally able to remodel the master bathroom. It turned out wonderfully. It was a large job, changing the entire plumbing footprint, creating a new wall, adding a tub and expanding to double the original bathroom size. It was an original bathroom from 1971, very small vanity, small shower with dropped ceiling, no tub, and avocado green tile throughout. Joe guided me through the selection process and helped me from making some selection mistakes that I would have regretted. He came up with the design for the new bathroom space and where everything should go. He was very responsive and answered all my questions. The job turned out beautifully, it is a true master suite now. He was the most reasonably priced of the three contractors that had given me a price on the job. I can't say enough nice things about working with Joe and would highly recommend his work.

Description of Work
Total remodel of a very small 1971 original master bathroom.

Category custom cabinets, ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, electrician, plastering, plumbing, woodworking, marble & granite, architect, home remodeling, interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind review! I must say that I absolutely love their new bathroom. By increasing the size of their bathroom, the first thing we had to do was come up with a new floor plan. By moving all fixtures including vanity, toilet and shower location, we were able to add a tub, increase the size of the shower, and now this bathroom absolutely just flows. Their material selections will be ageless and I'm sure they will be proud of their master bath for many years to come. This bathroom truly looks as if this was the design when originally built, which is what its all about. It was a pleasure to work with this customer.
5.0

03/16/2016


Angela D.

They did a great job, were prompt and up front about time and cost.

Description of Work
New Dominion tore down an old free standing garage on the property that was almost falling in on itself

Category home remodeling

5.0

03/12/2016


Angelique K.

Joe Henry came out and discussed our desires for renovating a hall bathroom. He listened to what we envisioned, asked questions, and made suggestions as needed. After meeting with us, we were provided a timely quote accompanied by a detailed scope of work description. Joe Henry responded to our questions and any concerns we had before and during the renovation. The job was started on time and completed on time. The subcontractors selected by NDCI for the vanity and tile work were excellent. Joe Henry was most helpful in providing us with suggestions on where best to go to obtain items we purchased directly.

Description of Work
Renovated our '70s avocado green bathroom. Involved removing vanity, toilet, tub, tile and replacing all with new fixtures, tile floor, glass tile above tub, new vanity with granite countertop, new lighting, new mirror, and new fan. Scheduled and coordinated subcontractors for various aspects of the job. The end result is our beautiful modernized traditional-style hall bathroom.

Category ceramic tile, countertops, electrician, flooring contractor, glass repair, lighting, remodeling, ceiling fans, marble & granite, home remodeling

5.0

07/01/2015


Amy B.

I found New Dominion Contractors through Angie?s List, I was looking for estimates for a complete kitchen renovation. I chose Joe because I liked the reviews, and I could see through his website that he does great work. I emailed him and he promptly returned my call the following morning. He came out to take a look very soon thereafter and we went through the business of gathering the data for the estimate. We discussed the problems I had with the current kitchen and some of the changes I wanted (meaning I showed him a bunch of pictures on Pinterest). I was anxious to hear Joe?s advice because I had ideas, but no vision of how I wanted the final product to look. His input and that of the cabinet guy were superb. After we talked, Joe prepared the estimate and had it back to me promptly. It was incredibly detailed and he went through it with me line by line, and was careful to point out that the numbers included were ?middle of the road? and would perhaps go up or down depending on my selections (cabinets, sink, faucet, etc.). I ended up spending more than the contract price because I selected a more expensive appliances. I was a bit uncomfortable proceeding from that point (signing the contract, paying the deposit, etc.) without yet having any drawings, I felt like the details weren?t very firmed up. However things came together without a hitch.. Next step was meeting up with Joe's cabinet subcontractor about, that?s right, the cabinets. He knew exactly how to configure the new space based on my needs and he had a complete set of drawings to me within a couple of days. Construction started on time, and I was given a 5-6 week window for completion of the work. If I had a complaint, it would be that it was difficult to get the subcontractors arranged so the work ran smoothly and without interruption. I was partially to blame. Rather late in the game, I ordered a floor medallion and when the delivery date got buggered up, it threw the entire work schedule off by a week or so. On the other hand, crossed lines were inevitable (I anticipated that) and there were days when workers just didn?t show up. Another shout out goes to Joe's hardwood flooring contractors. They laid the medallion seamlessly, it looks like it was manufactured that way. They also had to blend a custom stain for me so the kitchen floor would match the existing floor. Joe supervised the entire job, and he had no other client while my kitchen was underway. There were various problems with the appliances I purchased, and he handled them entirely and with grace?even fielding some of the issues I could have dealt with myself. I can?t TELL you how much that soothed my stress level. Joe discussed with me any questions that popped up along the way, including those regarding the tiniest details. His workmanship and attention to the small things really made the experience as painless as something of this magnitude can be. Any phone calls and text messages were returned immediately and he kept all the plates spinning, sometimes after hours. I sincerely felt that Joe put this job and any issues I had FIRST. I found him quite charming and saw none of the issues about which some reviewers were braying. I would highly recommend New Dominion Contractors. I felt the price I paid was fair, especially as I received a fabulous new kitchen (well, let?s face it?none of us want to be parted from hard earned dollars). Things worked out so well that we?re headed into Project No. 2 immediately. I could go on, but I?m tired of typing. Do it. You?ll be glad you did.

Description of Work
Full demolition and renovation of kitchen. Price above includes my cost for appliances and amenities, all of which exceeded the contractor's estimate. Because I really like nice stuff.

Category custom cabinets, flooring contractor, hardwood floor, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Without a doubt these were excellent customers to work with. Renovations can be quite stressful at times, and they were troopers. They listened and used my advice when needed and were able to make the important material selections in a timely manner. It was a pleasure to work with them and I look forward to being a part of the renovations they have planned in the future.
5.0

12/07/2014


Kyle R.

We had New Dominion Contractors completely revamp our master bathroom, install a dishwasher and install a new showerhead in the spare bathroom. Joe Henry (the owner) did a fantastic job of keeping us up to date on progress and the final product was phenomenal! Joe is a great, honest, hardworking, and trustworthy guy (he was in and out of our home without us there and I trust him entirely). Joe gave us so many extras at no cost such as patching a hole in the wall we didn’t even ask for. Joe is not the guy to use substandard people or products on your home, so be sure when you talk to him you really do want a great end product that will last. He is definitely the best I have encountered for the cost. We were lucky to find him and will definitely use him in the future once we get a little more in our renovation budget. I cannot recommend him highly enough. My wife and I were blessed to have found him. Keep up the great work Joe, we'll be in touch!!!

Description of Work
Complete demo and remodel of master bathroom, install a dishwasher and installation of a new shower head in spare bathroom.

Category drywall, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

It was a pleasure working with this customer. They were able to make decisions quickly. Open lines of communication is a crucial element to the success of any project, as most Contractors bid jobs based upon a certain duration and make every effort to stick to it. On this project, we were attempting to have this job completed prior to their move in date, but ran into a couple unforeseen conditions which always affect the project schedule. Thanks for your kind words. Reviews mean a lot to most of us Contractors. I look forward to hearing from you and your wife in the future!
5.0

07/24/2014


Linda D.

He spent a lot of his time finding out what I was hoping to do and educating me on what it would entail. Ultimately, I realized that I am not ready for this project and will spend some more time further deciding what I would like to have built before setting it up with him in the future. He also generously gave me his glass contractor to install a shower door, which was invaluable.

Description of Work
I called to discuss and get an estimate for transforming my deck to a screened in porch. He returned my call immediately and was extremely helpful. He shared lots of information regarding the scope of the work and additional resources to educate myself further on what the job would entail.

Category home remodeling, sunrooms

5.0

04/28/2014


Andrew J.

Without guarantee of purchasing services or even that I would buy the property, Joe spent 30 minutes and talked me through some pitfall items to look for, rough cost estimates,and other resources I should consider. I contacted him based on the reviews I read about him and he did not disappoint. I look forward to working with him in the future.

Description of Work
I contacted Joe about a property I am interested in purchasing to get his perspective on renovation prior to pulling the trigger.

Category home builders

5.0

03/11/2014


WILLIAM T.

We used New Dominion Buliders to do a complete kitchen renovation. We completely gutted the kitchen and Joe prepared us for the surprises that come with pulling down soffits in a forty year old home. Joe Henry did a great job in all facets of the renovation. He spent hours with us getting the design just right. He was upfront about how some of our ideas would work and at what cost. He took us to one of his kitchen renovation customers to see the workmanship and help with ideas. He showed a good eye for detail and was only interested in us being happy in the end result. Joe managed the entire project and kept all the trades and us on track as best as possible considering some of the sinks and lighting we ordered were slow to deliver. He provided great contacts for every phase of the kitchen including, cabinets, countertops, backsplash, electrical, plumbing, and painting. We ended up with a fantastic final product. I would certainly use him again for any renovation we do. He wasn't the lowest bid we received but we wanted quality and someone we could work with and trust. It was well worth the money.

Description of Work
Full kitchen renovation.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

1.0

09/30/2013


Margaret H.

Joe Henry came to my house on Aug. 9th to gather information in order to provide an estimate for remodeling 2 bathrooms. He stated he was going on vacation and I gave him 2 weeks to get back to me. He never has never contacted me with an estimate.

Description of Work
Joe Henry came to my house on Aug. 9th to gather information in order to provide an estimate for remodeling 2 bathrooms. He stated he was going on vacation and I gave him 2 weeks to get back to me. He never has never contacted me with an estimate.

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Got back from my family reunion and was up to my elbows in alligators trying to get caught back up. A second call is considered appropriate.so if you don't hear from me, do not take it personal, it usually means I have not completed the estimate. Please consider that every estimate I do takes time, is project specific, and quite thorough. Thanks for reading and understanding.
5.0

09/14/2013


Kristi E.

Joe and New Dominion did a great job. I was impressed with Joe's willingness to help me coordinate the job over a distance of over 200 miles. He was in continuous contact with me and handled my appliance delivery for me. His cabinet supplier is superb! When I needed an extra outlet after the job was complete Joe was right there to coordinate with his electrician.

Description of Work
Joe and his team redid my kitchen and laid a new floor on my entire first floor and replaced all my doors.

Category home remodeling

5.0

08/28/2013


Lisa Marie P.

Joe Henry is by far the best contractor I have ever hired. When the job was done, I actually felt a little sad that I wouldn't be seeing him around the house anymore! Joe is both a true professional and a genuinely nice person. We started looking for a contractor because of a serious leak from the water heater in our attic and were interested in doing some bathroom remodeling and other repairs which we had put off and dreaded dealing with because of bad experiences we had had with other contractors in the past. Those feelings of dread disappeared almost immediately after we began talking to Joe. From the beginning, I was impressed by how quickly Joe responded to my calls and emails and how much time he was willing to spend talking to me about the project, both so that I could understand what he was doing and so that I could make good choices when picking materials (tile, cabinets, paint, granite, bathroom fixtures, etc.) I am the sort of person who sometimes asks way too many questions, so I really appreciate the fact that Joe was so generous with his time and never seemed to get impatient with me. He also wrote a very clear contract which served as a roadmap for us throughout the project. There were never any surprises and his cost estimate turned out to be more accurate than I thought possible for a job of this size. Joe also seems to be a good judge of character in choosing workers for the job - all of the plumbers, tilers, cabinet makers, painters, and installers that he brought onto the job were friendly, professional, and generally the sort of people that I'm happy to have in my home. Joe and his workers were very good about letting us know when they were coming, arriving on time, cleaning up after themselves, and making our house seem comfortable and livable even while some fairly major work was happening in several parts of the house. Another thing that really impressed me was that Joe completed the work well before the date we had originally agreed on. After we started the project, my husband and I discovered that the work would have to be done earlier than we had planned to meet an upcoming mortgage closing date. When we told Joe that we needed the work finished earlier than planned, we got no complaints and he really put himself out to get the job done in time to meet our closing date. Before Joe's work, our master bathroom was by far the most depressing and embarrassing room in our house, and I was glad that very few people would see it. Now, I feel disappointed that few people will see it unless we want to give a tour to show off Joe's work. Everyone who has seen it so far has been very impressed and we have already recommended Joe to several people. The idea of tackling a home improvement and hiring a contractor used to be something I genuinely feared, but now I actually feel excited when I think about improvements that we might do in the future. I just hope that Joe will be available the next time we want to start a new job... At this point, it's hard to imagine that we would ever hire anyone else!

Description of Work
Remodel Bathroom Repair Water Damage from Water Heater Leak New Storm Door and Garage Door Install Roof Vents and Upgrade Attic Insulation Painting

Category remodeling, water damage restoration, home remodeling, interior painters

Service Provider Response

This job had its difficulties like most do, but with great customers that were able to make decisions and material selections in a timely manner, it really made this job much easier and an enjoyable experience. I look forward to returning and taking pictures!
2.0

07/28/2013


glenn B.

I initially called them on 8 june and left a message, i called back again on 12 june and got in touch with Mr Henry, he gave me his email address to send him an email describing the work I wanted done. I sent the email on the 12'th and waited for a few days for a reply. I finally called again and we then scheduled to meet on the 17'th of June. This appnt. was cancelled and rescheduled for another date. When Mr Henry finally showed up he did measure and take notes and promised to email an estimate. We finnally called him back on 23 July after recieving a couple estimates from other contractors, to ask him if he was going to send us an estimate. His reply was that he currently had work scheduled to keep him busy up through september and forgot to call us back. We had been waiting for his estimate to make a final decision on a contractor and now we are a month behind in proceeding to get the repairs started.

Description of Work
give estimate to remodel kitchen and bath after tear out.

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

I reserve the right to turn down any project I do not feel is a good fit for me, and this was one of them.This customer was unable to give me their budget after repeatedly asking him and confirming that this was ESSENTIAL in preparing a bid. To say that this house was a fixer upper would be an understatement. Not sure if this was a flip home or not, but it was obvious that this customer wanted to do everything on the cheap, and like it or not, I do not do cheap. I take great pride in my work. Thanks for reading.
1.0

07/03/2013


Samantha B.

I originally contacted provider by phone on July 1. He asked me to send an email with my request. I sent an email outlining my kitchen remodel project on July 2. I did not hear anything from he company, so I called him again as a follow-up to my email. Based on the conversation, I could tell he had not read my email. So I began to tell him about the job and that I already purchased the replacement cabinets and counter tops. He abruptly informed me that he was not interested in the job because he is a general contractor. He gave me the name of someone who does install work and could probably help. Unfortunately, he did not know the real name of this person. I got the feeling that I was more of an interruption than a prospective customer when speaking with the owner. I also think the preference is for large scale jobs vice smaller ones.

Description of Work
Schedule an estimate for kitchen remodel.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Wow. I have a few things to say. I have the right to quote a job or not to based upon several criteria, mainly what the project consists of, the time frame, and how the job meshes with my resources, i.e. labor and time.. When a customer has already bought their cabinets, I question why they would not use the installers of whomever the customer bought the cabinets from. I have been burned on cabinet installs purchased by the customer prior to a consultation b/c the customer didn't measure correctly, didn't have all the pieces, etc. These type jobs can be a nightmare. Additionally, when I give a customer the name of my installer (his nick name) so she can save money I would expect a thank you, especially if he is one of the best cabinet installers and finish carpenters I personally know. I really should have sent him over to look at the job and simply added markup to what ever he came back with. You try to do a good deed and this is what you get. Happy Independence day Samantha. I really hope everything works out for you.
2.0

05/29/2013


Paul C.

We were looking forward to getting a pretty extensive covered patio with fireplace, bathroom and potentially screened in porch integrated with our existing landscape/pool. Joe seemed like a nice man but he did not appear to be interested in providing this service. I told him we were flexible on the starting date but that the fall (post pool season) would work out best. I wanted to get the initial design going but he felt it would be a waste of time. He used phrases like "estimates aren't free", "this takes a lot of my time", "you would be wasting my time if you get it done now", "call me back in mid-August". Not exactly what your looking for when you're prepared to spend $100K+. I can't speak for his quality of work but the other reviews were very positive, which is why I contacted him. This was simply a case of bad initial impression. I could already hear the excuses and complaints once the project got started.

Description of Work
Initial phone call did not go well.

Category architect, sunrooms

Service Provider Response

It’s always troubling when a phone call with a customer doesn’t go well, and even more troubling to receive a negative review here on AL because of a difference of opinion.. We started out with his design questions. I offered to enter into a design agreement to come up with the design and drawings vs. going to an architect so that he would have something for contractors to bid on. Then we discussed schedule. Although he initially stated they were flexible in schedule, he then stated that the construction wouldn’t begin until after pool season, mid-September/October. The issue here is that my quotations (like most) are only good for 30 days due to constantly rising material costs. He maintained that he wanted contractors to quote the job now rather than in September. I continued to explain that a quotation today wouldn’t be any good in September and that while the estimate service is provided at no cost to the customer, it’s most definitely time consuming and would be a waste of my time as well as other contractors if he did not want to start within the next 30 days. Not sure what happened, but the line went dead… I called him back and offered to schedule a time to provide a no obligation in-home design meeting as well as to provide a preliminary budget, but that having contractors bid on something that far out would be a waste of people’s time when he stated he would find someone else and hung up on me again. I wish him the best of luck.
5.0

05/20/2013


KARIN A.

We absolutely love everything that was done. All of the clutter on the counters now has a place in the new cabinets and our bath rooms are sparkling clean with no more mold issues! Joe did a lot of research on mold issues to make sure he did everything necessary to ensure the problem was solved.

Description of Work
We had mold problems in two bathrooms which required new fans, mold treatment and repainting. We also had a built in desk in our kitchen ripped out and replaced with a floor to ceiling custom pantry. And lastly we stacked our washer and dryer which required a new dryer vent and install floor to ceiling shelving.

Category custom cabinets, home remodeling, interior painters, mold removal

Service Provider Response

Many problems with mold in bathrooms occur due to inadequate "builder grade" exhaust fans and using the wrong paint, (flat). I upgraded both fans with humidity sensing fans capable of moving more CFM's, cleaned and treated the mold areas, and plaster coated where needed. After priming, an anti-microbial paint was utilized. It was a pleasure to work with this Customer!
4.0

05/20/2013


Timothy S.

He arrived on time, performed his work to install a header to support a wall we had removed. Good quality materials and a solid header was installed to support the ceiling. Thanks, and "thanks" for the calls.

Description of Work
The contractor provided a quote and performed construction services.

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

I enjoyed working with this Customer. The project consisted of opening up a wall where a 30" cased opening existed off the kitchen and creating a half wall with pass-thru above base cabinets . The wall was opened up 11'-0" and what a difference it made!
4.0

03/13/2013


Tom C.

The gentleman was very helpful in the process. We determined that my concept would not be cost effective--upwards from $30,000

Description of Work
The owner and his electrician came to my house to give me an estimate to convert an exixting bathroom to a handicap bathroom

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

I wish I could have helped. This was a downstairs half bath that was needing expansion into his garage. The problem was the electrical panel and an exterior door from garage to outside would require relocation and encroachment into part of his room over the garage (for head room). Additionally, the doors leading into both the laundry room as well as the bath were not 36" doors and there was electrical everywhere. I suggested they install a motorized stair lift as an alternative to spending all that money to put in a full bath downstairs where there was no bedroom. My heart goes out to the member and his wife and wish them the best of luck!
5.0

02/10/2013


Susan G.

We were so happy with the experience we had with Joe when he renovated our bathrooms this summer that we didn't even bother to get estimates from other contractors. We wanted Joe to do the job. Joe's not the cheapest guy in town and he'll be the first to tell you that, but we felt our money was well spent. My husband had inherited his parents house and we had been renovating it for a while. Joe knew that we wanted to have Thanksgiving in our new kitchen and he made sure that we made that deadline in spite of changes we made and Hurricane Sandy. Joe does quality work with quality products and he makes sure it gets done right. We've always had good communication and follow up with him. He still checks in with us to make sure that everything is all right. He does meticulous estimates to make sure that you're aware of the total costs of the project. We found that the vendors he deals with have the best quality products at good prices and they have great service. Joe also knows great people. He introduced us to Rick, who not only painted the kitchen, but gave us a great price to repaint the whole house including the great room. Joe found a mason who took care of some very tricky brick problems we had on the chimney which is in the great room. One of the biggest changes we made was to put hardwood flooring in. We were originally just going to replace the linoleum in the kitchen and mudroom with an updated version and put carpeting in the family room. Joe told us that if it was his house, he would have hardwood flooring. We were skeptical because we thought it would be too expensive, but Joe knew a company locally that made the flooring from Virginia oak and the price quoted for installing hardwood from the mudroom through the kitchen and family room was quite reasonable. It turned out that the same company had installed the original hardwood floor in the front of the house 40 years ago. They did a fantastic job, buffed out dog urine stains we never thought they'd get out and stained the new and original floors to match, all within the time frame needed. It looks FANTASTIC!! Joe was absolutely right. We would never have been happy with our original plan. We love our new kitchen, mudroom and laundry room.

Description of Work
This was a total demolition and renovation of the laundry room, mudroom and kitchen. There was a new opening created into family room from kitchen with a combination walk/pass though. New drywall, plaster, paint, electrical, plumbing was done. Custom cabinets with roll out, soft close drawers, sliders, trash pull out, spice rack pull out, granite countertops, tile backsplash and stainless steel double sink with new faucet were installed in the kitchen along with recessed lighting, under cabinet lighting and pendent lights over the bar in the pass through. All new appliances were installed including fridge, dishwasher, microwave, induction cooktop, range, disposal. Fridge was relocated and a new microwave/ range stack was created. Tile floor was laid in the laundry room to match the back bathroom. Existing cabinets were demoed and replaced with custom cabinets and a counter. New washer and dryer were installed. Existing cabinets in mudroom were demoed and replaced with an additional pantry with roll out drawers and a special cut out at the bottom where we could feed our 3 cats. Coat hooks and a bench seat with cubbies for shoes were also added. Hardwood flooring was laid in mudroom, kitchen and family room and existing hardwood flooring in front of house was rebuffed and restained. A hole in our great room where an air conditioner had been was repaired, replastered and rebricked on the outside along with repairs to another hole and cracks in the chimney and brick around the house. Total cost I put down includes the new appliances.

Category custom cabinets, ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, hardwood floor, lighting, masonry, plastering, plumbing, remodeling, marble & granite, home remodeling, interior painters

Service Provider Response

I very much enjoyed working with this client and assisting them in making design and material decisions that turned this project into a truly beautiful end product. Thanks guys!
5.0

12/18/2012


Jessica O.

I cannot say enough how pleased I am with the work and quality of New Dominion Contractors and Joe Henry. I have waited a week and a half to post my thoughts on the kitchen remodel work so we could move everything back in and live in our new kitchen for at least a few days and really notice the difference - and what a difference! I chose New Dominion to do an estimate (one of three companies to bid and one big-box store) based largely on the reviews given on Angie's List. New Dominion's pricing fell in the middle of the group but I liked Joe Henry (the owner) personally from our first meeting and felt he intuitively understood things which were important to me, over and above quality workmanship: 1. Knowing who would be at the house and when they would be there. 2. Knowing who would be doing the work (any subcontractors, additional workers, etc). 3. The need to be as clean as possible during the entire process (which has decidedly not been my experience with other local contractors). 4. A full-faith estimate that didn't have hidden costs. I was particularly pleased and impressed that Mr. Henry demonstrated both enough professional competence and humility to know when he was comfortable doing quality work and where he needed to use a Master Electrician or Plumber, instead of just winging the job and not getting it right as a few other contractors I've worked with have done. Mr. Henry both budgeted and alerted me of these sub-contractors before they were used and involved me all along in the process. I also added a few things in during the job that were outside of the scope of our initial contract because I liked the work Mr. Henry was performing. These additional items he gave me a quote and stuck to schedule and price and really did a beautiful job. I read a quite negative review which someone recently posted just before writing this one to see what other people included. I was very surprised with the review and do not feel that it captures the quality of work performed by New Dominion and Joe Henry at all. That said, I am happy enough that that reviewer will not be using New Dominion in the future as I have a couple of other projects (bathroom remodel and sunroom renovation) which I am very much looking forward to working with Mr. Henry on again. I strongly recommend New Dominion and advocate that you at least keep them in mind when looking for quality contractor services.

Description of Work
New Dominion Contractors worked on my kitchen remodel during a period of about two and a half weeks, Mr. Henry, the owner, performed most of the day to day work himself. The remodel included: 1. Cutting down a kitchen bar to the standard countertop height; 2. Pulling off a large mirrored wall and mudding/drywalling the damaged areas behind the mirror; 3. Removing old countertops and replacing with granite counters. 4. Adding new under-mount sink and faucet. 5. Installing new under-hang cabinets and installing below cabinet lighting; 6. Removing and replacing a microwave and wiring; 7. Moving outlet receptacles and fixing a GFI unit; 8. Painting all affected walls.

Category custom cabinets, countertops, drywall, electrician, lighting, marble & granite, home remodeling, interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the great review. It was such a pleasure working with you both and IMHO, the project turned out beautifully! Keep me posted on when you want me to look at your master bath remodel!

    Other local Pros in your area

    CAVALIER ENTERPRISES

    In business since 1997, Cavalier Enterprises is a Class A Licensed State Contractor and perform both interior and exterior work throughout Virginia. We offer FREE estimates for remodeling projects and 30% - 50% discount for Angie's list customers and guarantee lowest pricing. We will do commercial & residential projects, have many references, and pride ourselves on professionalism in the industry.  

    Angi Certified

    Dominguez Painting

    Thank you for choosing Dominguez Painting, serving the 757 since 1991. WE PAINT YEAR ROUND!! Allow us to make your dream project a reality! Contact us us today for a free estimate.  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    The Painter, Inc.

    We are a family-owned painting company established in 2006 to fill a void in excellent customer service in the painting industry. Our unique approach to customer service, high quality paints, and a 100% money back guarantee are the reason why we are the fastest-growing painting company in our area for the last four years. We do all types of interior and exterior painting, deck and fence staining, Garage floor Coatings, Cabinet refinishing and much more.  

    Angi Certified

    Licensed
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Kitchen & Bath Remodeling, Porches, Decks, Additions, Remodeling & Renovation, Custom Home Builder, Exterior Door Replacement, Closet Build-Outs & Redesign, Interior Trim, Chair Rail Crown Molding, Interior Doors, Cabinetry, Drywall, Roofing, Skylights & Conditioned Crawl Spaces.

    Services Not Offered

    Insurance Work.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about New Dominion Contractors Inc

    How is New Dominion Contractors Inc overall rated?

    New Dominion Contractors Inc is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are New Dominion Contractors Inc open?

    New Dominion Contractors Inc is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 1:00 PM

    What payment options does New Dominion Contractors Inc provide

    New Dominion Contractors Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does New Dominion Contractors Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, New Dominion Contractors Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does New Dominion Contractors Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, New Dominion Contractors Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by New Dominion Contractors Inc?

    Yes, New Dominion Contractors Inc offers warranties.

    What services does New Dominion Contractors Inc offer?

    New Dominion Contractors Inc offers the following services: Kitchen & Bath Remodeling, Porches, Decks, Additions, Remodeling & Renovation, Custom Home Builder, Exterior Door Replacement, Closet Build-Outs & Redesign, Interior Trim, Chair Rail Crown Molding, Interior Doors, Cabinetry, Drywall, Roofing, Skylights & Conditioned Crawl Spaces.

    Are there any services New Dominion Contractors Inc does not offer?

    Insurance Work.