Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Guy Smith Heating & Cooling

Founded 1968 • With Angi since May 2006

4.5

(500) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

221 Pennsylvania Ave

Virginia Beach, VA 23462

Description

Churchland Area - 313-2292 Pughsville Area - 313-2293 Deep Creek Area - 313-2294 Portsmouth - Downtown Area - 313-2295 Great Bridge Area - 313-2296 Mt. Pleasant Area - 313-2297 South Norfolk Area - 313-2298 Norfolk - Downtown Area - 313-2299 Newtown Road Area - 313-2300 Ocean View Area - 313-2301

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

08/29/2020


Sterling C.

As new customers, we were very impressed with the quick, professional and friendly service provided by this company. Within 2 hrs of our initial call, we were texted a picture of our technician & his name along with an estimate of his arrival time. Our technician, Phil McIntosh, was very professional and thorough in explaining what was wrong & how he could repair it. Payment was quick & easy and a detailed invoice was emailed to us the same day for our records. My 86 year old mom was very thankful to have a cool house again on a 90 degree day & to have a fast turnaround time for repair handled by a professional & friendly technician. We give this company an A grade without hesitation.

Description of Work
A/C repair

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

02/29/2020


Metro S.

I am very impressed with Guy Smith Heating and Cooling. My AC wasn't producing much hot air and there were some pretty cold nights in January and February. Due to my job, I was gone a lot, but when I finally called, their customer service was easy to work with and they were able to send a technician out later that day. I received an automated text with the technicians name and an alert when when he was on his way. Jon Shaffer was a professional through and through. As a hands-on guy with minimal HVAC knowledge, I had tons of questions. He didn't mind me tagging along up in the crawl space and asking him everything I was curious about. He walked me through everything he was checking out. After inspecting both the air handler and the heat pump, we discovered a refrigerant leak and a worn out heating element. Jon took all the time I needed to talk through everything. From how long I plan to live at this house, the expansion plans with an extra room, to family needs and lifestyle. And we discussed all the options, from leak detection, refrigerant filling and equipment repair costs in relation to my foreseen time in this house and taking into consideration the future sale of the property and how old the system would be at the time; as well as total system replacement. We crawled around the other crawl space access and talked out relocating the air handler to get it out of the cramped location it was currently in. We walked around the house discussing the ideal relocation of the heat pump for my house expansion plans. I think we walked through every possible option in preceding forward. All in all, he was here for over 3 hours when the inspection only took him 1/2 hour. The rest was all answering my questions. I ended up deciding to replace the system and am happy with the decisions we settled on. Thomas Britton and his crew showed up two days later to install the new system. They were polite and went right to work. They laid drop clothes to protect my hardwood floors. They successfully removed the old system and installed the new system in one day and I was enjoying my warm house by nightfall. The installation looks very clean and neat. Nobody is happy about dropping a lot of money for an unplanned home repair. But having a good experience with a company's customer service and the field technicians makes a world of difference. I am glad I chose Guy Smith Heating and Cooling and will definitely call them in the future when I begin to add the extra room.

Description of Work
HVAC system replacement

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

01/20/2020


Tom R.

Complimentary service and check following up to Apr-May 2019 new system install. Review posted separately {dated 1 Apr 2019} and copied below. Highest rating for Mr, Jon Schaffer & his team from Guy Smith HVAC. I work with Marine HVAC systems & was looking for a new residential installer/service rep to handle our home needs. I researched replacing our existing heat pump with 4 local companies early in 2019. Jon surveyed our system, evaluated our particular installation and addressed our needs. I appreciated the time he took to address our questions & provide a range of options. His knowledge and experience as a hands on tech rather than simply a sales rep was evident and very much appreciated. Being a dealer for American Standard {Trane} & offering highly rated equipment was a key factor in the decision making process. As such we contracted with Guy Smith to complete the install/upgrade. We has a zoned air handler, condensing unit (heat pump) installed. Additionally we had old flex ducting replaced, new zone valves installed, UV in duct lighting & aero-seal applied to the system. Sip lead the equipment install & Jon performed the final set-up. Significant improvement was noted during the summer months with greatly improved humidity control realized as a result of the set-up implemented by Jon. We currently received a courtesy annual service at no charge & had Jon adjust the air handler speed in the heat pump mode to match that set in the cooling mode. Jon has provided excellent service and support & I would not hesitate to call on him for any future needs.

Description of Work
Complimentary Annual service & heat mode fan speed adjustment.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

2.0

01/08/2020


Darryl P.

Set an appointment for an estimate, representative briefly inspected home and left saying an estimate would follow......no response was ever received.

Description of Work
New HVAC system

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

11/23/2019


Quinton C.

The issue was diagnosed and taken care of swiftly.

Description of Work
HVAC servicing

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

08/18/2019


Ronald B.

The team from Guy Smith Heating and Cooling did a great job from start to finish. Lost system while I was on vacation but it was old and they were able to get to our new system in much quicker than any other of the companies that gave a bid.

Description of Work
Replaced entire HVAC system to include furnace

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

4.0

07/31/2019


Rhonda W.

Very good! They were professional and friendly.

Description of Work
They did some check up on my units.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

06/26/2019


David B.

Excellent. Repairs were completed in a very short period of time

Description of Work
AC unit stopped working

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

03/19/2019


Doris B.

The 2 technicians, Jared and Antwon, were wonderful to work with and did a terrific job in 3-1/2 days. The house is definitely comfortable now with no drafts. It is so difficult to determine whether I am receiving lower energy bills because our weather this winter is freezing and hot all in the same week. I must send out a warning about something I learned the hard way. This website lists "crawlspace encapsulation" under "Services Offered" and that could not be further from the truth. I signed a contract based on the crawlspace encapsulation as an offered service, specifically wanting a new vapor barrier installed. Unfortunately, after the technicians arrived, I was informed that there was no order for a vapor barrier after I had been assured by sales that it does not have to be in the contract and the installation would get done. A couple of days later, the office told me that they have never offered crawlspace encapsulation. I let one of the staff members know that one of the main reasons I hired this company was because crawlspace encapsulation was listed as a service. My main concern continues to be more dust on surfaces in the master bedroom than any other room, so I will need to hire someone to investigate this. I did not get the photos I had requested which was written into the contract, so I actually do not know if the crawlspace is completely covered.

Description of Work
Replacement of original ducts.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

02/21/2019


Arthur G.

Excellent diagnosis, service, and repair. Prompt and professional.

Description of Work
Heating unite service

Category electrician, heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

01/18/2019


Richard F G.

Guy Smith does a fantastic job of keeping my heating and cooling system in great shape. My heat went out on Wednesday night, Jan 16, 2019, and I called them. They had a technician out immediately and Shaffer the technician did a terrific job in getting my heat on again, as soon as he got the cover off the unit, he knew what the problem was and took care of it. It is a great feeling to know that being a senior citizen that my troubles will be handled in an efficient manner no matter what time of day it is. Thank you Guy Smith and the great technicians that you send to my house for any concern that I may have!!!!!!!!

Description of Work
HeaterAC Unit

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

10/22/2018


Norma W.

They were wonderful, on time, helpful, took out the old system and install the new one, answer all my questions and very courteous.The 2 young men are Jared and Antwon.

Description of Work
They put in a brand new heating and cooling system for me.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

09/28/2018


Della J.

The work was excellent, they are all excellent and I will recommend them to everybody in United States.

Description of Work
They put in a hot water boiler for me.

Category water heater repair

5.0

09/09/2018


Sara W.

The tech was friendly, helpful and prompt. They called me the night before and told me to turn off my AC to help with the diagnostic. It went so smooth and easy and I was expecting a heavy ballpark range of a price. It was affordable, they honored an Angie’s list discount on top of my military discount and the tech was easy to talk to. Will definitely be returning to them when needed.

Description of Work
Diagnostic, fluid fill, and quote for future issues that may occur.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

08/21/2018


VICTORIA C.

Great. John and the company were patient when I wasn't at the house on time and were relaxed about it and waited for me. John inspected everything and found the unit was quite low on freon. After filling it up it worked great. Price and responsiveness were excellent. Lowest charge for coming out that I have found and liked better than some other companies.

Description of Work
A/c unit not cooling properly

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

08/12/2018


Rose R.

Jon Shaffer came to my house to look at the A/C unit and give me an estimate. He was prompt and professional. He explained various options to me, for example I could just replace my failing upstairs A/C Unit, or I could replace the unit and the furnace which is 25 years old, or I could replace the whole shebang--the upstairs and downstairs units. I decided to just replace the upstairs unit, operating under someone's sage advice, "If it ain't broke, don't fix it. I paid half the estimate up front and the other half on completion of the work. Jon was great, and obviously knew his trade. He scheduled an appointment for me for the install, which happened a little over a week later. Jared O'Brien did the install; he was prompt and professional as well. It took about 5 hours, and he stuck around for awhile to make sure everything was working properly. Based on my experience, I would highly recommend this company.

Description of Work
Replace upstairs A/C unit

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

07/09/2018


Allen S.

OUTSTANDING! I have never had a better interaction with a service professional than I did today! Mr. Shaffer should be doubly commended for his professionalism and demeanor. He was quick to diagnose what was needed, was attentive to the problem and very interactive. I highly recommend this company and technician and will definitely call them first if I ever have need for their services again. The price was very reasonable and the speed of completion was appreciated.

Description of Work
AC Repair - No Cold Air

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

1.0

06/26/2018


Robert S.

On June 18, 2018 a Guy Smith sales associates visited my home to provide a quote for the replacement of my current 4-ton Bosch geothermal unit. The interaction was pleasant, the representative answered me and my wife’s questions and explained the various HVAC options available. On June 19th I received an email from sales rep with two options for replacement and their associated costs. The following excerpt is provided, “Options for American Standard 100K BTU 96% gas furnace, coil, 4 ton outdoor unit, extending gas line, refrigerant lines, new return in the den/family room, PVC venting $1000.00 allowance for electrical and all other goodies for installation. Any electrical expense above the allowance is your responsibility and less will be credited. Also attaching consumer brochures. This would be a 4 day install.” While the email described (in general terms) the materiel portion of the quote I was interested in having a clearer understanding of what exactly my $15,738 to $17,217 (depending on the unit selected) was actually paying for, so I replied to sales reps email asking for additional information and how he determined total costs. In less than 12 hours, I received a response stating that “We just lost an install crew and a technician and are overwhelmed with service and installation. We typically provide a cost breakdown after the job is complete but based on our current situation we will respectfully withdraw from further consideration.” How can I make an informed decision without being afforded the information before I accept the job, rather than after the fact? I was astonished that Guy Smith coincidentally withdrew their proposal immediately after I asked for a cost breakdown and justified it with the loss of an install crew and technician. There is no way of knowing whether the loss of your personnel was going to impact an HVAC installation at my home since there was never a discussion on when my wife and I would have wanted to have it performed. Of course maybe all the other proposals for new work are also being withdrawn due to HVAC personnel shortages. I provided feedback to Guy Smith via their website about my withdrawal concerns and received a phone call and email apologizing for the unprofessional service and that the owner would contact me when she returned from a trip. The owner was due home four days ago and I have yet to be contacted by anyone from Guy Smith. On a brighter note we interviewed 4 other HVAC companies, and have hired on to do the install next week; they, and the other companies did offer price a breakdown of their total cost. I settled for a company that came in for the same equipment, but $4K less.

Description of Work
My wife and I were researching HVAC company's with the intent of hiring in the next 7 days to replace our existing 4 ton HVAC unit.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

06/08/2018


Tracie M.

The conversation to schedule a visit set the tone for a company focused on customer satisfaction. Our technician, Troy, was very polite and professional. He diagnosed and resolved the issue and provided us tips for efficient operation. Based on our discussions we opted for an annual maintenance contract and some additional services. I would definitely recommend the company.

Description of Work
A/C Service

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

05/22/2018


Andrew B.

Great experience. Made accurate assessment of current problem and probable life expectancy of equipment. Allowed us to make a decision without pressure to repair it now or replace it now after considering the cost of both. Helped to identify a good replacement unit and installed it within three days of quoting the job. Very professional, finished job is outstanding and the unit works great.

Description of Work
Replace Gas Pac and Air Conditoner

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

05/17/2018


Ashley F.

Jon Shaffer showed up on time and his customer service was excellent. He explained all of my units to me and gave me options for repairing/replacing our oldest one (14 years old). He was up front about cost vs benefit of possible repairs. He also installed two NEST thermostats for us. For once, I felt like I had someone being completely honest with me about where to spend or not spend my money. I can't really speak to the pricing of the services because I have never had this done before but they did honor the coupon that is posted here on Angie's List. Will definitely be requesting Jon again for future services. I had maintenance on all 3 AC units, 2 thermostats installed and 4 gallons of freon put into one unit.

Description of Work
Routine maintenance on AC units. Freon refill on one unit. Thermostat installation.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

05/14/2018


Andrea M.

Great. Wasn't the cheapest quote, but I could tell they would do the best work. They did. The system works great now. They didn't cut any corners, and were very transparent throughout the process. I was assured there wouldn't be any cost overruns l, and they delivered. Customer for life!

Description of Work
Remove and replace all ductwork

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

05/01/2018


Dorothy M.

Brian was the technician who came out. His personality was great. He worked until it was fixed and never gave up. He was a hardworker and I would recommend the company to anyone.

Description of Work
My Heating & A/C was out for a few days. They came to get it working again.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

04/04/2018


Patricia M.

The service was good. They are good people and are easy to work with. They are very punctual too. The young man is very knowledgeable and explained everything to me. Even went over the receipt.

Description of Work
They installed a new A/C unit for us.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

04/04/2018


Patricia M.

It is still the same good service. The good people are as always, easy to work with. They are very punctual too.

Description of Work
They are doing a maintenance for our system that they installed some years ago every spring and fall season.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

    Other local Pros in your area

    C & G Well Drilling Inc

    In 1993, our owner, Charles Menefee, started C & G Well Drilling due to his need of a well, but no one to install it. He contacted his father-in-law, who has an extensive amount of well drilling experience, and they got started. Since its inception, C & G Well Drilling has installed more than 16,000 wells in the Hampton Roads area. We know the area so well that we know exactly how deep we need to go, if the water is good, and what exactly needs to be done. In addition, we also keep maps of every well we have drilled so we know exactly what each neighborhood needs. Providing pump service for residential, commercial and government customers, C & G Well Drilling drills wells in Virginia Beach, Virginia, and throughout the Tidewater area. We are dedicated to offering fast, efficient, and exceptional customer service.  

    Angi Certified

    Bert's Well and Pump Service

    We have the experience and dedication to bring your dreams to reality! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. Call or click to connect with us today!  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Stanley Steemer

    Founded on American ingenuity, Stanley Steemer began as a one-man carpet cleaning business by Jack A. Bates in 1947. Flash forward today, we remain a family-owned business led by the third generation. We’ve proudly expanded across 49 states into a network of nearly 300 locally owned and operated franchises and company-owned locations. Powered by our U.S.-manufactured equipment and technicians trained in-house, we continue to grow through constant innovation and dedication. Discover how our iconic yellow van, catchy jingle, and story grew to be over the last 70 years and counting.  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    2705098405
    Trade License Locale
    Virginia
    Trade License Authority
    Virginia: Contractors
    Trade License Expiration
    08/31/2021
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Financing
    Senior Discount
    15%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Repairing, Maintaining & Replacing - Heating, Boiler Systems, Air Conditioning, & Hot Water Systems. Duct Cleaning, Replacement & Repair. Generator Installation. Insulation. Crawlspace Encapsulation. Energy Efficiency Audits. Dryer Vent Cleaning. Air Balancing.

    Services Not Offered

    Electrical.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Guy Smith Heating & Cooling

    How is Guy Smith Heating & Cooling overall rated?

    Guy Smith Heating & Cooling is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Guy Smith Heating & Cooling open?

    Guy Smith Heating & Cooling is open:

    Sunday: Open All Day

    Monday: Open All Day

    Tuesday: Open All Day

    Wednesday: Open All Day

    Thursday: Open All Day

    Friday: Open All Day

    Saturday: Open All Day

    What payment options does Guy Smith Heating & Cooling provide

    Guy Smith Heating & Cooling accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Financing

    Does Guy Smith Heating & Cooling offer free estimates?

    Yes, Guy Smith Heating & Cooling offers free project estimates.

    Does Guy Smith Heating & Cooling offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Guy Smith Heating & Cooling offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Guy Smith Heating & Cooling offer a senior discount?

    Yes, Guy Smith Heating & Cooling offers a 15% senior discount.

    Does Guy Smith Heating & Cooling offer emergency services?

    Yes, Guy Smith Heating & Cooling offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Guy Smith Heating & Cooling?

    Yes, Guy Smith Heating & Cooling offers warranties.

    What services does Guy Smith Heating & Cooling offer?

    Guy Smith Heating & Cooling offers the following services: Repairing, Maintaining & Replacing - Heating, Boiler Systems, Air Conditioning, & Hot Water Systems. Duct Cleaning, Replacement & Repair. Generator Installation. Insulation. Crawlspace Encapsulation. Energy Efficiency Audits. Dryer Vent Cleaning. Air Balancing.

    Are there any services Guy Smith Heating & Cooling does not offer?

    Electrical.