Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Decked Out Builders

4.9

(59) Verified Reviews

Founded 1985 • With Angi since March 2012

Licensed
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Monday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 2:00 PM

Phone Number

Address

4825 Lake Bradford Ln

Virginia Beach, VA 23455

http://www.deckedoutbldrs.com
COVID-19 Update
We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

deck estimates

Health & Safety Measures

We complete exterior work only (No need to enter home)
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

Description

Decked Out Builders has been building decks since 1985. We have won 18 Gold awards from Tidewater Builders Association's Homearama and Home and Garden Shows. Also, Best of the Beach Awards for several years. Selected top ten deck building company in the country from Deck Builders Magazine. Servicing Virginia Beach, Virginia/...

Verified Reviews

4.9

(59) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

53

4

2

3

1

2

0

1

3

Rating Details

Price

4.8

Professionalism

5.0

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

decks & porches (59)patio enclosures (6)Patios (3)roofing (1)ceiling fan installation (2)skylight installation (2)concrete repair (2)drain pipe installation (1)
Showing 1-25 of 59 reviews
5.0

03/05/2022


Matthew W.

The workmanship was beautiful. The owner, project manager and crew were all professional, punctual, highly skilled and personable. As the plan needed to be modified, the adjustments maintained the integrity of the design, which required a good deal of creativity from the construction crew. I could not be happier with the final product.

Description of Work
Deck Replacement with a roof overhang.

Category concrete repair,decks,roofing,skylights

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/18/2022

Images

Review for Decked Out Builders - 4825 Lake Bradford Ln, Virginia Beach, VA - 39649282
5.0

11/03/2021


Charles W.

Outstanding, the team worked flawlessly from start to finish. Very happy with the space that was created. Job well done.

Description of Work
Roof over patio

Category decks

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/03/2021

5.0

03/02/2021


Rick B.

Over the past four years we have had several competent contractors with good reputations give us quotes on a new composite deck to replace our existing wood deck that follows the contours of the rear of our 75-year-old home. Each contractor basically gave us a bid to replace our existing deck, but only responded with different design features after some prompting from us. Glenn from Decked Out had an entirely different approach that we embraced right away. Once we told him we were tired of our existing design, he wandered around the back yard by himself for about 30 minutes and came back with a very creative design that made use of contrasting colors, different levels and entirely different design from the existing deck. He totally redesigned our existing outdoor shower, doubling the size and creating a separate private drying area, complete with shelving of a contrasting color. My 2 1/2-year-old granddaughter, who just started talking, is thrilled with the shower. Even though construction was just completed in the middle of winter, each time she comes over she runs outside to the shower and exclaims “this is MY shower” and pretends to wash her hair. The shower is really cool. The crew who did the work, headed up by Mike, were very professional and cleaned up each day despite having to work through, and around, many days of miserable sloppy wet weather. One day I asked Mike if he would prop up a couple pieces of scrap wood against my shed's door so it would be easier to roll my lawn mover in. Next day I saw he had used the scrap wood to construct a ramp that looks nicer than the shed. In the few instances things turned out a little different than we had envisioned, Glenn cheerfully listen to our comments and without objection, proceeded to make the change, and politely declined when I offered to pay any additional cost he incurred. For example, when I suggested that the deck bench seemed a little narrow, Glenn himself removed the bench, took it home, and rebuilt it with contrasting colors and even added an intricate inlay design into the seat, neither of which I had requested, or even dreamed of. When the color for the contrasting color decking material that was to be used to frame the outside edge of the deck turned out to be discontinued, Glenn gladly provided replacement material at no additional charge, even though the replacement material cost him twice as much. Glenn responded to every single email, text or call of mine within a few hours. When he said he would do something, he did it, and on time. And the price was very fair based on comparisons. If you select Decked Out for your new deck, I promise you will be pleased.

Description of Work
Replace existing 35 year old wood deck with composite deck

Category decks

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/02/2021

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], What a nice review! This is why we love our job. Knowing how happy you are when walking on your new deck! Thank you. Glenn
5.0

12/22/2020


Rina V.

Decked Out built our deck one and a half years ago. We are still thrilled with the result. Outstanding workmanship. Glenn simply asked us what we wanted and designed and built it. He didn't try to convince to do something we didn't want, which too many contractors did.

Description of Work
Building a new composite deck.

Category decks

Cost $12,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/01/2019

Images

Review for Decked Out Builders - 4825 Lake Bradford Ln, Virginia Beach, VA - 39101575
1.0

12/17/2020


C W.

Each piece of deck boards have splits some are deep and long. Looks like someone took a knife and dug over the deck. Spoke to Glenn Stagg about problem, his condescending attitude said that's what happens to pretreated wood. If he had shown me an example of what the wood would look like I would never agreed to it. Glenn said if he was in the area he would stop by. That's been five months ago. He didn't show up to see the deck when completed. Very Disappointed!!!!!!!

Description of Work
Re-deck existing deck.

Category decks

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 08/08/2020

Service Provider Response

Mrs. [Member Name Removed], We build decks and we build them very well. In your case, you only wanted a re-deck. Which means leaving the under structure and decking the surface. You had 2 sets of steps which we were to re-deck 1 set and I offered to re-build the 2nd set because of your difference between riser heights. I came out at the end of the job and saw that Eric my carpenter rebuilt the set that was only supposed to be re-decked. I than took the time to help him take down the set of steps that was to be re-built. So you got 2 new sets of steps instead of one. The decking we used to re-deck was a #1 grade pressure treated pine like specified in the contract. We re-capped your existing top railing. If I recall we installed new Lattice skirting which was not in the contract. I don't appreciate lies let alone a bad grade. You said " he didn't show up to see the deck when completed" I walked through the deck with you and even called you to set up the time to meet (which I have on record). You were completely satisfied and handed me the check for a whopping $3000. Which was the contract price. 2 or 3 months later you called me to tell me your deck boards are splitting. I replied that this is the nature of pressure treated wood. I also mention a sealer or stain can help the wood from drying out. You said If I knew this from the start I would never have had this deck re-decked. You refused to believe what I had to say about checking which pressure treated wood always does. Good luck to you Mam. Maybe next time you can save up for a PVC or composite decking material. Please do me a favor though. Don't call us when that time comes. Also I see you did not put in the other grades in each category. 3000 was way too low for what we did for you. Should be an A Professionalism no question an A. Take care.
5.0

12/03/2020


Don C.

Wonderful. Great Deck. Great Crew. They were always prompt to the job. The work site was always clean. The deck is more beautiful than I had imagined. The price was fair.

Description of Work
BUILD NEW DECK

Category decks,ceiling fans

Cost $11,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/03/2020

5.0

10/29/2020


John F.

After multiple interviews with porch contractors, we selected Decked Out to demolish our old deck and build our new 300+ sq ft screened porch with attached grilling deck. The end product is beyond our expectations! The workmanship was precise with daily cleanup, which we found most considerate. Communications with the owner, Glenn Stagg, as well as the on-site team, was incredibly professional, and regular. When we had an issue, Glenn personally created a solution that exceeded in delivery what the initial issue had presented as a potential problem. Subcontracting where needed, Glenn personally oversaw the project from start to finish and responded to all situations with customer- centered attention: "I just want you to be happy with your porch" was his standard response. We most emphatically recommend Decked Out!

Description of Work
demolish old deck, build screened porch with attached grilling deck

Category decks,sunrooms

Cost $50,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/31/2020

5.0

03/03/2020


RICHARD L & CHIU Y G.

5 stars and 2 thumbs up. Awesome workmanship with a lot of attention to detail. Glenn, the owner, kept me advised of all details of the build and ensured we were satisfied throughout the build. Minor tweaks to the design were accommodated easily. Actual construction quality was exceptional - way beyond what you encounter from most contractors. His building crew always cleaned up their work site daily and ensured their work did not impact our daily routine. Neighbors are very impressed with deck and sunroom commenting that the fit and finish is very noticeable. Recommend without reservation.

Description of Work
New large deck and screened in sun room

Category decks,sunrooms

Cost $22,176

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/16/2019

5.0

08/14/2019


Stephen G.

Glenn was very accommodating in designing our new deck- worked the design around existing landscaping to maximize size and functionality. His crew lead Eric is a real craftsman. Their attention to detail is remarkable. No corners were cut and we’d definitely refer and rehire again. The finished deck and rebuild of our upstairs Master Bedroom balcony is beautiful. Decked Out Builders exceeded our expectations!

Description of Work
Remove old deck and design and rebuild a new deck

Category decks

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/07/2019

5.0

07/22/2019


Leonard Y.

We could not be more pleased with the process and end result of our custom designed screened-in porch built by Decked Out. We interviewed a number of builders for the project and Mr. Glenn Stagg stood out above the rest. Rather than trying to sell us on a cookie cutter design that would look like a box tied into our home, he listened to our vision and custom designed a room that blends perfectly with our home. It looks like part of the original structure of the house. From start to finish he personally managed every step of the process on a daily basis. He kept us informed on the progress and made sure he thoroughly addressed any questions or concerns we may have had. His team was prompt on the job and cleaned up fully at the end of each day. Mr. Stagg personally dealt with all material suppliers and sub-contractors so we never had to worry about anything. In one particular instance where there was a cost overrun for the unexpected cost of materials he explained the situation to us and covered the cost out of his own pocket. He explained that we had a contract for a fixed price and he would honor that contract price. The workmanship and attention to detail was meticulous. Our confidence in the project was bolstered when the city building inspector come by to do the rough-in inspection. He asked me who was doing the work and when I told him it was Decked Out he commented “I know their work, perfect as usual”. I have the greatest confidence in Mr. Stagg and his company “Decked Out”. I would use them personally for any other work I needed done and would highly recommend them to anyone else.

Description of Work
Build screened-in porch

Category decks,sunrooms

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/22/2019

Images

Review for Decked Out Builders - 4825 Lake Bradford Ln, Virginia Beach, VA - 37998929

+1 More

5.0

06/29/2019


Julie S.

From the start this was a spectacular experience. We enthusiastically recommend Glenn Stagg and Decked Out for any deck project. His technicians, Mike and Eric, are two of the most professional and pleasant individuals we have ever had the pleasure to work with. Glenn first came for an estimate. He was very professional. He didn’t simply ask what we wanted, but made recommendations as well. Some suggestions were different than what we’d wanted. He didn’t simply agree if he felt strongly, but had an open-minded discussion with us to make decisions. This process continued throughout the project, including Mike and Eric, who asked questions and made recommendations throughout, to be sure we not only had what we wanted, but also what they thought was best. After Glenn made an estimate, he was able to get the project started more quickly, and at a similar or better price, than several competing estimates. He got a permit from the city, which was delayed a bit as we had not previously gotten neighborhood HOA approval. The demolition had already started, which was great in the interest of time, but concerned us that we would have no deck at all for a longer time (to let our dogs out, etc). That was only a minor delay, that we could’ve avoided by requesting HOA approval before starting. They demolished and removed our old deck and replaced it with a 500 sq ft Azek deck including benches, planters and steps, as well as lighting. Glenn, Eric and Mike had recommendations along the way regarding trim, lights, steps, and posts that led to a beautiful result, the details of which we would not have designed on our own. They were incredibly personable and professional, and left every day having cleaned up, leaving our place looking better than when they arrived. The project took 4 weeks, which was longer than I’d guessed, with some delays from weather and the HOA issue. We also slowed them down a few times, asking them to re-work a few things which weren’t exactly what we wanted (not knowing what to ask until seeing it done sometimes). Despite all this, they finished before the deadline I had asked them to meet. The final price was exactly the same as the estimate ($19000). We’d agreed that any lighting would be above the total, and the lighting prices were exactly as Glenn predicted (13 lights with transformer, timer and installation for about $1300). We have lived in many homes in our 30 years together, and have worked with many excellent contractors. This is comfortably the best experience we’ve ever had.

Description of Work
Remove old wood deck and build new 500 sq ft Azek deck

Category decks

Cost $20,300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/12/2019

Images

Review for Decked Out Builders - 4825 Lake Bradford Ln, Virginia Beach, VA - 37957813

+7 More

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed] and [Member Name Removed] for your kind words. It was nice working with you! Glenn
5.0

03/26/2019


Dave E.

We initially chose this company based on the reviews and they definitely EXCEEDED our expectations. From our initial consultation, we were very happy with the ideas Glenn had to improve the functionality and design of our deck. He also gave us options in order to design the deck of our dreams within our budget. Unlike most contractors, they did what they said they were going to do, when they said they would do it. They started and completed the project on time and within the agreed upon price. The two guys Glenn had working for him were extremely nice and hardworking, often working long days (and Saturdays) in the cold to complete our project on time. My husband and I are both very picky customers, and we are both EXTREMELY happy with the work Decked Out Builders did. I was most impressed with the care they put into the details (i.e., framing out the sides of the staircases, detail work on the footings of the benches, sanding every edge and corner) to really make the project first-class. I evaluate services in terms of value and they were worth every dollar we spent. So many of our neighbors have asked about/complimented the work and I'm happy to recommend them to everyone I know! Thank you, Glenn & Decked Out Team!

Description of Work
Tear Down & Rebuild of 16 x 19 Deck

Category decks

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/11/2019

5.0

03/22/2019


JoAnna P.

Glenn Stagg and his excellent team (Michael, Eric, Scott and Billy) did a wonderful job in organizing, implementing and completing this project. We were impressed by Glenn's attention to our needs to ensure our satisfaction with the work process and the end result. Great experience resulting in a beautiful addition to our home which we will enjoy for many years!

Description of Work
Removal of old deck and replacement deck with 3 season porch

Category decks,sunrooms,patios

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/18/2019

5.0

08/20/2018


Sharon H.

On time; professional; better than expected.

Description of Work
They rebuilt two patios.

Category decks

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/20/2018

5.0

08/14/2018


Shaun M.

Glenn Stagg and his team at Decked Out Builders are the best in the area for many reasons. Glenn has a down to earth personality (always professional) which really puts your mind at ease especially when you’re making a large purchase like a deck or better yet a place that is being created for family/friends enjoyment and memories. Glenn over at Decked Out is passionate about what he does and cares truly about the customer not only to please their needs for the architecture but truly cares and creates/supports a vision for what the customer is about to embark on, an exciting yet anticipating journey of creating this custom space. I was worry free and always trusting/hopeful for his visions of our back yard getaway. Needless to say the work was nothing short of perfect and I do believe that if the work wasn’t wasn’t perfect his crew would stay there until it was done. Glenn’s team over at decked out always arrived on time and worked continuously each day until the job was perfect. This company treats you like you were the only customer they had. They even went out of their way to fix potential issues that weren’t originally apart of the plan. For example, We had a gutter drain that went in the way of the new deck plans and Glenn’s team purchased new materials to reroute the drain which made the deck look more appealing. Also, we wanted a deck to support a new SPA tub — the SPA location and including the architect sure to support it was envisioned and trusted by Glenn’s Cleaver design. Glenn not Only considered the landscape but also designed for privacy and positioning of the view. Glenn designed a privacy wall to appeal to the nice custom curved bench built into the deck and elongated 8 ft step with rail to side. I have a few words of advice to say is simply call them and get on their calendar early so that way you can get your deck before the summer comes 2019, that is. A personal thank you from my family to yours at Decked Out Builders, Thanks Glenn! P.S. Wrote this review in my new SPA

Description of Work
Build new 16x35 Single level deck with custom benches and engineered for spa

Category decks

Cost $14,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/01/2018

Images

Review for Decked Out Builders - 4825 Lake Bradford Ln, Virginia Beach, VA - 37322130

+3 More

3.0

07/10/2018


Marilynne B.

This company called me and said they are not accepting new clients for deck repair at this time.

Description of Work
Deck Repair

Category decks

Work Completed On 07/10/2018

Service Provider Response

Due to our work load with new construction and scheduling for upcoming jobs we cannot pull our crews off for deck repairs at this time. We had the courtesy to call you and tell you this. Our A Rating supersedes your unnecessary review and we will continue to please all our customers that we do business with. Glenn Stagg, Owner
5.0

06/16/2018


Zachary B.

Glenn Stagg and his team at Decked Out Builders were top notch and extremely professional. To begin with, Glenn came to us for a timely estimate that was the best price we received from multiple estimates. Glenn listened to our concerns, needs and provided suggestions. He patiently gave us time to make decisions including our considering the many material and color options. The team always arrived on time and even were able to start our deck earlier than originally promised. The crew was polite, and cleaned up each day. We selected a Timbertech composite deck in Antigua Gold and couldn't be more pleased with the material, color and workmanship. The builders with Decked Out Builders, led by Glenn Stagg are excellent, seasoned craftsmen. All permits were obtained and the workmanship passed with flying colors. Decked Out Builders has my highest recommendation as they are honest, communicative and hard working and we couldn't be more happy with their product and service. Thanks Glenn and Decked Out Builders!!

Description of Work
Tear out old and replace back yard deck, size 364 square feet

Category decks

Cost $12,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/16/2018

5.0

11/04/2017


Cheryl J.

Decked Out Builders is a professional, top quality, knowledgeable and trustworthy company. We secured Decked Out for removal and replacement of 18 X 23 deck. Glen, the owner was extremely informative of the decking options – i.e. design layout and material options. He provided various material samples that aided us in making our final selection. Extremely noteworthy was his prompt response, willingness to make numerous visits and his communication throughout the project – i.e. scheduled delivery and inspections, etc. . He started the project when agreed and made minor change at our request. Their team was timely, friendly and professional. We have received many compliments from our neighbors about the appearance and the quality of our new deck. We were so impressed with the quality and timeliness of their work that we are now securing their service for another project. We highly recommend their service to anyone.

Description of Work
Removal of an existing deck and installation of a new deck (18 X 23).

Category decks

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/02/2017

5.0

11/02/2017


William C.

Hands down Glen is the most professional and reliable contractor I've used. We spoke with several contractors, including one we have used and loved, to get ideas on what we could do with our deck as well as quotes. Glen clearly has experience and a good sense of what people are currently looking for. He had a quote with a blue print back to us within 48 hours of our initial meeting. Before seeing some of Glen's work we were leaning toward a paver patio but so glad we did not. Glen is a professional and a perfectionist, no surprises. Was surprised to see a negative review about Glen not getting back to them. Cannot stress enough how dependable Glen and his crews were and how happy we are with our deck. I'll post some pictures in the near future, still do not have our patio furniture but it's still our new hangout spot.

Description of Work
Replace and remodel old deck and build screen porch.

Category decks

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/02/2017

1.0

10/11/2017


Gilbert C.

have not gotten an answer from them, to be able to tell how it went!!!

Description of Work
I want to replace the existing deck in my backyard, this company came in, took measurements, promised they'll get back to me in two days, it has been more than 3 weeks since measurements were taking, no even a phone call from them, I don't see how this company is on your best of list, I don't think they deserve that!!!!!!

Category decks

Work Completed On 10/06/2017

Service Provider Response

I am sorry that you had a negative experience with Decked Out Builders. I take great pride in providing excellent service and an excellent product. Unfortunately, at the time of your quote my father passed away unexpectedly. Your paperwork was misplaced otherwise I would've reached out to you to explain the delay. My intent is not to make excuses but rather shed light on the circumstances. As you can see from our reviews and awards from multiple groups and websites, this is not the standard we hold ourselves to. If you are still interested in a quote, please let me know and we will get one to you ASAP. If not I understand. Glenn Stagg, Owner
5.0

10/07/2017


Mary B.

We spoke to several companies when we decided to replace our two story deck and we are very please with our choice of Decked Out Builders for our project. Glenn sent us a diagram of the proposed project and when I requested some changes be made, he was very prompt in getting an updated diagram to me. He kept in contact with us via phone, text and email through the entire project and he came by several times to inspect the progress. His crew showed up everyday on time (what a pleasant surprise) and were very neat and orderly through the whole project. I would definitely use this company for any future projects and highly recommend them to anyone looking for a dependable contractor.

Description of Work
We had a two story deck removed and replaced with a one story covered deck.

Category decks

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/20/2017

5.0

08/17/2017


M A.

Great. Beautiful. A little pricey but excellent workmanship.

Description of Work
Rebuilt deck

Category decks

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/17/2017