Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Custom Home Improvement & Repairs LLC

Founded 2004 • With Angi since March 2011

4.6

(118) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

2000 General Booth Blvd Ste 204

Virginia Beach, VA 23454

Description

Beginning in 2004, Custom Home Improvements has been providing the finest window, trim, siding and roof installation services throughout Hampton Roads, including Virginia Beach, Chesapeake, Newport News, Suffolk and Hampton. As one of the leading Virginia Beach roofing companies, our professionals

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

09/12/2018


Pat H.

Tina and Don were extremely responsive to an short notice repair. Don was fantastic to work with and completed the work very quickly. I look forward to doing business with them again.

Description of Work
Repair of leaking roof

Category roofing

5.0

09/11/2017


George W.

Team came in, removed my old windows and replaced all 6 with new windows within 2 hours. Very professional, very courteous.

Description of Work
I had 6 Jalousie windows replaced with Super Windows

Category replacement windows

2.0

08/24/2017


Kelly D.

The initial replacement was reschedule several times due to weather and unavailability. The roof was replaced in all seen well. However there is a leak in the roof. The company has sent two different roof technicians to my property which took over a month for them to come out, but they are unable to tell us where the leak is coming from. I've attempted to contact the company but doc refuses to return my calls. So much for all the positive reviews and research I did before hiring this company.

Description of Work
Roof Replacement

Category roofing

2.0

08/22/2017


HARRY S.

Came out satisfactory, but did not start out so great. The work was great but we didn't get along so well with management. They promised rebates for being a veteran and that has not come through yet, and the work was done in March. The price was much too expensive. I had other cheaper estimates, but I had already signed but I was locked in. I called 6-7 times in regards to the rebate from the roofing manufacturer before I got a response. I got a response from the manufacturer, but I did not get a response from the contractor. They were on time, and the job was done in time. I would not use them again. I think they did a hard sell on us, and got us to sign ahead for something we didn't really need at the time.

Description of Work
Roofing

Category roofing

5.0

08/21/2017


Joe H.

We get a lot of compliments on the new roof. They did a great job and clean up.

Description of Work
Replaced roof.

Category roofing

4.0

08/14/2017


alyce L.

Well except it took a long time to get the pillars completed due to a myriad of contractor/supply availability reasons - whole project took almost 8 weeks to complete

Description of Work
Window trim replaced and pillars replaced.

Category decks, siding, replacement windows

5.0

07/25/2017


Robert D.

The team was fast and professional. Couldn't be more happy. My only regret was I didn't get the technicians' names. Also, whatever you are paying them, it's not enough.

Description of Work
Front porch columns, whole house wrapped, new soffits.

Category siding

5.0

07/04/2017


Cy E.

They arrived at 6:45, started work at 7:00 am and finished the job and cleaned up by 4:00 pm. They were fast and efficient and the roof looks great. Their work and my roof looks so good that 2 of my neighbors across the street hired them to do their roofs. I would hire them again.

Description of Work
New Roof Installed

Category roofing

5.0

05/09/2017


Paul D.

Custom provided me a quote on a GAF Silver pledge roof(10 year labor, 50 year shingle) and seamless gutters. Kieth was very professional and provided me information about the roof and gutters with the quote. His quote was exactly what i expected to pay. I chose to go with someone else because they gave me an awesome quote with the GAF Gold pledge roof(25 year labor, 50 year shingle).

Description of Work
Roof and gutter replacement

Category gutter repair, roofing

4.0

04/06/2017


chris D.

It looks really good. We were warned about some nails being missed by the rolling magnet, but I can't figure out why so many nails, with giant, brightly colored, plastic rings around them, were missed. There was also quite a bit of trash that blew around the neighborhood, that I had to clean up.

Description of Work
Removed and replaced my roof.

Category roofing

5.0

08/10/2016


Dan B.

Custom Home Improvements provided the best price, the highest quality products, and the best service for the trim/gutter project on my home. Theirs was not the lowest bid for the job; however, they matched the lowest bid, and I selected them because of their overall sales presentation. They exceeded my expectations. Each member of Custom Home Improvements’ trim and gutter crews displayed the highest proficiency, attention-to-detail, and pride in their work which was evident throughout the project. For example, while installing the trim, one of the trim panels became smudged. The installer stopped what he was doing, retrieved a rag and some cleaner, and wiped the smudge off the panel. That wasn’t necessary since the smudge was barely visible from the ground; and at any rate, the trim is exposed to the elements, and will likely become stained over time. Nevertheless, wiping the smudge away was just one of many examples of the pride, professionalism and attention-to-detail exhibited by the crew. I highly recommend Custom Home Improvements.

Description of Work
trim and gutters

Category gutter repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you member for your review, we sincerely appreciate the excellent feedback! We will be sure to share your outstanding comments with our installers and our entire team at our weekly training meeting! Your home looks terrific and as always, we appreciate your business and trust in Custom Home Improvements!
5.0

06/25/2016


Andrew G.

The crew had arrived on time and ready to work. Work had been conducted in a very efficient and quick manner. Existing widows to the home had been removed and new windows had been installed. The new windows look great and are of excellent quality. Crew were very professional and courteous. I would highly recommend the services of this company to those that seek quality craftsmanship.

Description of Work
Removal of existing windows and installation of new single hung windows.

Category replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Thank you member for sharing your wonderful experience with our company with fellow Angie's List members! Your windows not only look terrific, but they certainly will save you money on your energy bills versus those old builder grade windows!! Thank you for your business and helping us maintain our Super Service Award for windows!
5.0

05/30/2016


Peter F.

Superb job. Price was fair. Crew arrived precisely on time and went to work. Abundant use of drop cloths around the house. Roofing materials used were the highest quality GAF products. Workmanship was outstanding. Crew was manned appropriately and did not waste any time. Even though it was a large house, the job was completed the same day. Clean up was thorough. I could not be more pleased. GAF company verified the work and issued the warranty 4 days later. If you are looking for high quality and not have to be concerned about your roof ever again, these folks are for you. You will not be sorry.

Description of Work
Removed old roofing, collected and cleaned out old roofing and debris and installed new roofing.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review and taking the time to share your wonderful experience with us with fellow Angie's List members! We take pride in your review, especially your compliments on the crew! We will be sure to share your review with our entire team at our training meeting! Your new GAF replacement roof looks terrific and will provide you with a lifetime worry free protection for your family! Thank you for your business and trust in our company!
4.0

04/26/2016


Yvonne H.

There were no additional fees to the $669 Big Deal. The only thing is that when I purchased it, I wish I had done my homework and I would not have gone with that company. The thing that I sort of did not like was the fact that I had the Angie’s List little booklet that comes out every month or so. I was going through it and I saw that Angie’s List members got a discount. When I was talking to the rep that came out, he asked me if I was an Angie’s List member and we talked about it and I said yes. Because he had such an outgoing personality, I failed to zero in on the discount and neither did he. I just felt that he could have. So, I paid a little more because I did not get my discount. I did not feel that that was an oversight. I felt that was purposely done. When I had them called about my house, the square-footage of my house and I have an extension for sunroom, I ended up paying additional for the roofing on the sunroom because he asked me if I was going to include that and I said yes. He said that it was going to cost this amount. After I signed the paper, I went back and look and that should have been included in the square-footage because that did not exceed the square-footage of my house. So, I just felt all-the-way-around that I was deceived. The job was okay, but I would not use that company again. From the time we spoke to the time they said they would have the job done, they were here on-time.

Description of Work
I purchased a Big Deal for Custom Home Improvement & Repairs LLC for roofing.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for sharing your review, we appreciate all feedback. Rest assured, with the Angie's List Big Deal of the Day you purchased, you got an outstanding deal! The pricing for these deals are cooperatively reached with Angie's List. As far as the booklet you received of which we advertise in, unfortunately you cannot combine discounts. It stands true in home improvement that you get what you pay for and yes, replacement roofs are a sizable investment, but one that over time with the quality of roof you received and the warranty, was a very smart investment. We appreciate your business.
5.0

03/19/2016


William M.

Had Custom Home Improvement out to wrap entire house with vinyl trim and replace gutters. Great experience from first contact arranging for initial estimate meeting to job completion. The trim guys knocked out the work in approx. 3 days (professionals that made difficult work look easy) quickly followed by new gutter install. Everything looks great! Would definitely use again!

Description of Work
Installed vinyl trim and replaced gutters

Category gutter repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you member for your review, we always appreciate when homeowners take the time to post their experience with our company on Angie's List! Your new trim looks terrific and we appreciate the accolades you gave our hard working installers! We [Member Name Removed] be sure to pass on your review to our entire team! We appreciate your business and trust in Custom Home Improvements!
5.0

02/26/2016


Teresa N.

From the first contact with Custom Home Improvement to the very last day they were very prompt and courteous. Keith met me at the property and gave me a great estimate with no pressure to upgrade or add anything on. I was the one that added the gutters and downspouts. The team arrived the day they said they would, did everything they said they would. I was a little concerned about car ruts in the yard, I wasn't sure why they pulled up into my yard but I called Doc and he had it all fixed immediately. Thanks for an awesome job! BTW, they give military discounts also!

Description of Work
Custom Home Improvement removed existing roof and installed a new one and also installed new gutters and downspouts.

Category gutter repair, roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the outstanding review and for mentioning about our military discounts, rebates, and incentives! We greatly appreciate our Military and make every attempt to make home improvements affordable! Your new roof and gutters look outstanding and we appreciate your business and trust in our company!
5.0

02/23/2016


Donna L.

I messaged for an estimate late during the snow. I was messaged back promptly and was scheduled fast. I purchased a roof for my townhouse and they were able to work with my short time constraints due to insurance I was able to get scheduled within a week. Everyone was helpful and polite. My roof was installed fast and saw no debris when I returned from work. I have had no problems as of yet it with the roof it has been almost a month. I would use them again.

Description of Work
Remove old roof and install a new one

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review, we appreciate that you took time to share your experience with Custom Home Improvements. Your roof looks great and will provide a lifetime of worry free protection. Being a townhome, fire retardant wood was necessary by city code which does affect the price but in the event of a fire it will be money well spent. Your home looks great and as always, we appreciate your business!
4.0

11/16/2015


Frank T.

UPDATE: Job completed today, Tuesday. Looked at what I could--seems to be good work and appropriate for the price paid. The Good 1. No-pressure sales pitch. Came in much higher than the Angie's List deal based on square footage, but even so the price was still lowest of our three estimates and the sales manager was professional, patient, and punctual. 2. Pre-work coordination. Financing and scheduling an install date was a no-hassle affair. 3. Cleanup. They did a good job and only snapped a branch off one shrub, especially considering it was dark when they were finishing up. The Not-So-Good 1. Install into the darkness. Scheduled install day was slipped due to equipment problems. We agreed to a Saturday install and crew started working ~ 08:30-9:00. Unfortunately, they were still on the roof well after dark, and ran out of material. The next day, Sunday, they returned in the early afternoon with material, but forgot caulking/sealant to finish off two sections of ridge vent. Apologetically, a young crew member said they would return later on Sunday. They never did. 2. No call back on Monday after install. We called twice and left messages Monday with the production supervisor regarding the last piece to finish. No call back received. 3. No Supervisor Presence at Job Site on first Install Day (Saturday). When the crew arrived, they went straight to work. That is--straight onto the roof. However, no one came to the door to introduce themselves or the crew, nor did any of the gentlemen show they were in charge of the crew. In fact, the only interaction we had, even after I went outside multiple times, was one of the crew asking to use the bathroom, twice. Not a problem--he was a polite young man who spoke clear English, but the point is that was the only interaction until the end of the day when they said they needed to return. He seemed to be the youngest of the crew and should be commended. However, it would be much more professional to at least have a crew foreman introduce himself, if nothing else as a point of contact for any issues but also to lend some workmanship oversight. It is tough to oversee a roof install as a homeowner unless you choose to be on the roof most of the day. Overall Time will tell on the quality of the install once we have some rain and wind, and I'll be happy to update either way, but the roof looks good and they added an additional touch apparently by painting the vent pipes with enamel.

Description of Work
Removed existing roof and installed new roof. Angie's list deal.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you member for your review, we certainly appreciate the feedback to compliment our crews for a job well done while also recognizing areas to constantly strive to improve upon. It is vital feedback such as yours that allows us to provide continual training and improvement. Please be assured that we stand behind our roofing systems as a GAF Master Elite Roofing Contractor and in the rare case you have any issues with your roof we stand committed to ensuring top service and warranty. Your home looks terrific with your new roofing system and we sincerely appreciate your business.
5.0

09/16/2015


Guy P.

My first experience and impression of Custom Home Improvements were awful. I am changing my initial review to reflect the outstanding response by the company to my initial complaints. The original problem was caused by an employee having an apparently wretched week, and not telling anyone about it. After my original review, he was spoken to and helped through the issue. One of the company owners then called me to thank me for the review even though it was bad because it allowed him to help his employee. He apologized for the problems and asked if I would consider giving them a second chance. We did and he met with my wife earlier today to give us the quote for service. My wife was impressed by him, and the company, and we may be going with them for our new roof. Everyone can have a bad day, and this company handled theirs very well, better than many other places i've dealt with, and that deserves the change in rating.

Description of Work
Custom Home Improvement came out to give me a quote on a new roof and gutters.

Category gutter repair, roofing

Service Provider Response

We cannot thank this member enough for the review, it is sincerely appreciated especially considering his experience with our company started out less than desirable but ended with us earning straight "A's"!!! No company is perfect nor should any company claim to be. However, we stand committed to "listen" to homeowners when an issue arises and we will take every reasonable measure to not only satisfy that customer but also hopefully to IMPRESS them in the end and prove that not every "first impression" is an accurate one. This home had extensive damage to a porch beam which had to be totally replaced as well as a new Systems Plus Roofing System with GAF materials. Your home now looks superb, is structurally sound, and will provide many many years of maintenance free enjoyment and beauty! We realize there are many "roofers" out there and do not take lightly the trust this homeowner had in Custom Home Improvements to fix the problems on his home. Thank you for your business, your trust in our company, and also for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate it!
5.0

08/06/2015


DENNIS W.

understanding I was taking my time to evaluate all offers/ At last resort after one to many pushy salesman who agreed with me on everything but didn't understand the word no I at last resort call Custom Home Improvement off General Booth Blvd. I explain I knew they were closing in a half hour so could I make an appointment for next week. They said they could come by today on their way home. Bill Pyle who isn't even a salesman came over and I explained how these other salesmen had been pretty much pressuring me to buy buy buy and he understood, said this is what we got, explained the window installment completely and said gave a speel about the company and the boss and employees I was sold.on the company.(now granted Bill is retired military like me so that always helps.) You know when you meet a person and you can tell by intuition their word is gold. That was the feelings I got. I did sign to get them to do the windows and had to wait a few weeks for the condo association to OK the windows. When they did I called Doc who is in charge of installation and he sent a man to do the final measurements to send to the factory. When the windows were in, Doc called, we set a date to install, but because they had a snag with a current job he called about noon and asked if they could install the next day, which was fine and they an did an excellent job of installing and complete clean up. I highly recomrnend this company. they also do siding and roofs. Call them at (757) 689-2734.

Description of Work
REMOVE and REPLACE 4 WINDOWS. I had called 5 or 6 contractors for window replacement on my condo. The windows had to conform to the Condo Associations specification. All contractors came in thinking their windows were superior to all the other companies. They all gave a hard pitch and the well if you sign now we'll do this or that or promise this and that, not

Category roofing, replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Thank you Angie's List Member for the outstanding review, we greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with our company with other fellow members! We particularly appreciate the detailed experience you listed in your review we our company took the approach of "helping you with your home improvement project", not just some high pressured sales pitch that other home improvement companies attempted with you! We take pride in helping homeowners with their exterior home improvement needs and letting our products, service, and warranties speak for themselves! Your home looks terrific and again thank you for your business and trust in Custom Home Improvements!
4.0

08/03/2015


Diana B.

They took longer than was anticipated. However, the crew members were very nice and did a very good job cleaning up after such a large project. It was a complete re-do. The roof looks very good and I hope I have many years before I have to do anything more with my roof.

Description of Work
Replaced roof

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback and are happy you are pleased with the final product. 98% of the time we finish roofs in one day. However, the day of your install, the heat index was 108 degrees (on the ground) and probably in excess of 120 degrees on the roof. For the safety of our installers it was necessary to keep them very hydrated and take breaks often if for nothing else simply just to get out of the sun and drink fluids. The roof was completed the next day. Thank you for your business, we appreciate it.
5.0

07/22/2015


Krista S.

They have an awesome staff that was tremendously helpful, from picking the right roof, to financing, customer service, and the men that did the job I am HIGHLY SATISFIED! Everyone was great! The roof looks great!! We notice the house stays a lot cooler on hot days, and we can't hear the wind like we used to. I'm so glad we did this project, but even more glad we chose Custom Home Improvements to do the job for us! We will be hiring them in the future for more projects!

Description of Work
Roof

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for your outstanding review and for your trust in our company. We pride ourselves on being a complete one stop company for exterior home improvements and appreciate that you took the time to recognize our marketing, sales, finance, and production departments! We will share your review with each department! We are glad you have noticed your house staying cooler on these "hot" days we've been having as well as saving money on your energy bills and preventing excess wear and tear on your air conditioning unit! Thanks again for your business, your home looks terrific!
5.0

06/15/2015


Russ S.

The entire process with Custom Home Improvements was outstanding. From the time of the folks did the initial inquiry right thru to the final installation...and the best thing is that thanks to the LIFETIME ROOFING SYSTEM that is offered...I will never have to worry about my roof again. KEITH OXLEY, the salesman that they sent out to see me, did an OUTSTANDING job explaining all the options and really gave me the feeling that he had my best interests in mind...and not just pushing the sale! It's nice to see some integrity in the this business for a change. BEST SALESMAN I HAVE EVER WORKED WITH...NO QUESTION! I had the Timberline Cool Series Shingles installed and can't wait to start reaping the benefits during the increasingly warmer temperatures in the area!~ And that's just the beginning...These things look AMAZING! I have always loved the look of architectural shingles...but these are exceedingly rich looking. LOVE THEM! I am the type of person that is relentless when it comes to comparison shopping, and I'm here to tell you that CUSTOM HOME IMPROVEMENTS is the best bang for the buck if you are looking to do some work to your home. Their installers really do it right! Nice job guys... Can't wait till it's time to have the siding replaced! Ha! Seriously...thanks for treating it like it was your own! Russ

Description of Work
Re-roofed my house.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much member for taking the time to write a review about our company, we appreciate it! Your home looks terrific and we appreciate your business!
5.0

06/14/2015


Theresa S.

The new gutters are great, they were easy to talk to, had multiple options for finance and they scheduled and came out in a timely fashion. The sliding door took a little longer due to having to order it, but they kept in communication with me so I didn't feel like they forgot me. They even installed a storm door that I had purchased from Home Depot for free. Great bunch of guys.

Description of Work
Bought new gutters with guards for my new house, replaced french doors for a sliding door and installed new storm door.

Category gutter repair, roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for sharing your review, we appreciate it! We appreciate your attention to detail regarding your gutters and particularly appreciate you mentioned multiple finance options, something we strive for to get all homeowners the best option to fit their financial needs! Your new gutters look amazing and as always, we appreciate your business and trust in our company!
5.0

05/22/2015


Yesenia P.

The people were very socialble and worked non stop. They had the roof on by the afternoon and I was so happy. My home looks wonderful with it's new roof

Description of Work
They Fixed my roof

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the excellent review, we greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with other Angie's List members! Your roof looks super and it was a pleasure making your home improvement project become a reality!

    Other local Pros in your area

    Better View Windows & More, LLC

    Unparalleled craftsmanship and experience in window replacement/installation. We have the largest window & door showroom in Hampton Roads.  

    Angi Certified

    Precision Garage Door

    Sales, service and installation of garage doors, and garage door openers. Same day and 24-hour emergency service available. With the highest quality garage door parts available in the door industry, Precision Door is your right choice. Our garage door technicians are trained to diagnose and fix all kinds of garage door and garage door opener issues. We realize that your time is valuable and we want to make getting your door fixed as easy as possible for you. We know your doors are an important visual and useful aspect of your home. In many cases, the garage door is used more than the front door so we understand the inconvenience caused when it's not working. Precision Door Service of Hampton Roads offers same day, 24/7 emergency service. Our fully stocked trucks and certified technicians are ready to help. We believe in our products so much, we offer a limited lifetime warranty on many of our parts and services. Ask us for details. We take pride in hiring technicians that are professional, courteous, and on-time. Precision Door Service of Hampton Roads is locally owned and operated. Specializing in garage door repair and garage door replacement. Like most service companies, we charge a service call fee but also offer coupons. We do not charge extra for evening, weekend and emergency calls. Award winning.  

    Angi Certified

    Wallen Garage Door Service

    Wallen Garage Door Service provides residential service to homeowners throughout the Hampton Roads area. We specialize in new garage door installation and replacement, garage door repairs, and garage door opener repair, replacement and installation. We pride ourselves on getting the job done right the first time so that you can have piece of mind that your garage door system is running both safely and efficiently for the long term. We would love the opportunity to help you with all of your garage door needs today.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Visa, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    15%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Vinyl trim, Siding, Windows, Roofing, Gutters, Doors, Shutters & Vinyl Railing

    Services Not Offered

    Interior Renovations

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Custom Home Improvement & Repairs LLC

    How is Custom Home Improvement & Repairs LLC overall rated?

    Custom Home Improvement & Repairs LLC is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are Custom Home Improvement & Repairs LLC open?

    Custom Home Improvement & Repairs LLC is open:

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 1:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:30 AM - 1:00 PM

    What payment options does Custom Home Improvement & Repairs LLC provide

    Custom Home Improvement & Repairs LLC accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Visa, Financing Available

    Does Custom Home Improvement & Repairs LLC offer free estimates?

    Yes, Custom Home Improvement & Repairs LLC offers free project estimates.

    Does Custom Home Improvement & Repairs LLC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Custom Home Improvement & Repairs LLC offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Custom Home Improvement & Repairs LLC offer a senior discount?

    No, Custom Home Improvement & Repairs LLC does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Custom Home Improvement & Repairs LLC?

    Yes, Custom Home Improvement & Repairs LLC offers warranties.

    What services does Custom Home Improvement & Repairs LLC offer?

    Custom Home Improvement & Repairs LLC offers the following services: Vinyl trim, Siding, Windows, Roofing, Gutters, Doors, Shutters & Vinyl Railing

    Are there any services Custom Home Improvement & Repairs LLC does not offer?

    Interior Renovations