Climatemakers Ltd

About

Founded 1953 • With Angi since May 2006

Since 1953, we’ve been providing our neighbors with reliable HVAC solutions and are here to do the same for you. From quick winter heating fixes to AC repair and replacement services, the Climatemakers team is ready to serve your family. http://www.climatemakers.com

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

24/7 Service Offered24/7 Service Offered
Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Eco FriendlyEco Friendly

Church Project

HVAC Companies

2022
Replace Package Unit
View project
Church Project project

Church Project

HVAC Companies

2022
View project

Verified Reviews

4.7

(99) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

86

4

4

3

3

2

3

1

3

Rating Details

Price

4.5

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.8

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

HVAC Companies (97)air duct cleaning (5)water heaters (3)plumbers (3)generator service (1)well & water pump repair (1)
Showing 1-25 of 99 reviews
1.0

07/19/2022


Marie M.

I paid $350 to have a tech come service my home for my AC not being able to cool my home properly, with differences in airflow from my vents. The tech stated she couldn’t find anything wrong with my unit and added freon to “maybe help it get cooler to cool the house.” Well that tech never checked my crawl space, which is very easily accessible! I have tears and some ducts not even connected. I spoke with a Linda this morning, whom very rudely spoke over me several times and became very defensive of the tech, stating,” well our techs only check ductwork when directed by the homeowner.” Although, the tech checked the ductwork for our upstairs AC unit in our attic and repairs small leaks, without us stating to.( seems as though that was part of the job🤔, without me having to tell the “expert”) I also spoke with a “Juan, and David,” at the company whom also questioned why the crawled space wasn’t checked. Needless to say, DONT waste your time or money with this company, call someone else!!!

Description of Work
Air conditioning inadequately cooling home

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $350

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 06/15/2022

5.0

09/21/2021


Peggy M.

It was great! The sales person came to our home and discussed with us what we needed. Our old system was over 20years old. Gave us a great price and installation was quick. We have had no problems since the system was installed and we have them come annually to just check things out. We highly recommend Climatemakers. They have honest and hardworking employees. They have been in business 65+ years which says a lot about the quality of their business.

Description of Work
HVAC - Replacement of my system a few years ago and they do our annual checkup.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/21/2021

5.0

09/20/2021


Anita S.

I absolutely will and have recommended Climatemakers to family and friends! We had been with another company since our house was built 27 years ago and not knowing any better stayed with the company our builder had used. From day one the master bedroom wouldn't get cool so when we needed a new unit we upgraded to a two stage with the assurance that would fix the problem but it didn't. A friend recommended Tim with Climatemakers and within minutes Tim discovered the second stage had never been properly installed. I am very happy to report that the master bedroom is now as comfortable as the rest of the house! Many thanks to Tim at Climatemakers as we also needed a compressor replaced and even though it was close to 5:00 he kept working until our entire house was cool. This is especially important to me as I have MS and staying cool is a must. Thank you Climatemakers from one extremely satisfied customer!

Description of Work
HVAC Repair

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/02/2021

5.0

09/16/2021


Marvin R.

My home had a 16 year old furnace and air conditioner which both were not working probably and my electric bill was sky high trying to cool the upstairs of my home. I had Climatemakers come and check out my unit as well as give me a price on a new system and installation. The price of a new 16 seer was the best out of the hundreds of HVAC companies in the Hampton roads area and I couldn’t be happier with the installation crew they were very Quiet and respectful do to the wife working from home. They even matched the thermostat backing with the wall color.The wife was Very happy with that, I was very happy with my electric bill dropping over half of what I was paying the summer before. ps. Thanks for the prompt service during the Covid outbreak.

Description of Work
HVAC

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/16/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the fantastic review!
5.0

07/16/2018


John C.

Scheduling was a breeze. Technician - Tim - on time and completed service in an efficient manner. Tim is knowledgeable of the workings of all systems and quick to point out things to keep an eye out for. He has worked on our systems for several years. Based on our experience with Climatemakers, they were the first one that my son called when his HVAC needed work and ultimately replacement,

Description of Work
Annual HVAC and Generator Service

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/22/2018

5.0

03/20/2018


Jerry W.

Super, as always. Have a 3-year service plan with them.

Description of Work
Semiannual service of upstairs and downstairs HVAC systems.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/19/2017

5.0

09/22/2017


Constance C.

They've maintained my furnace for 25 years. They are excellent on punctuality. If they are going to be late they will call.

Description of Work
They came to do winter check and maintenance.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $124

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/21/2017

5.0

09/22/2017


Constance C.

The price was high but you get what you pay for.

Description of Work
They installed the heating and cooling system

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $14,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/01/2014

5.0

06/02/2017


Jerry W.

They are super. I have used them for years.

Description of Work
I have an annual program with them. They come out 4 times a year.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/30/2017

5.0

03/14/2017


Eulogio S.

This was detected by another company that quoted me an unreasonable number to get it repaired. I realize R22 is going up in price due to the end of it's manufacturing. When I called the gentleman was straight up forward, honest, and he actually answered my questions with good guestimates. I didn't get that vague salesman conversation you get when your spidey sense kicks in. Sure enough they came out the same day, charged me less than half of the other quote and explained what he was doing and why. That is what I thought was interesting, the education portion. He even showed me on the scale how much R22 he used.

Description of Work
I had a R22 HVAC leak on a joint that was about pinhole sized causing about a 2 lbs loss per year.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $725

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/13/2017

5.0

03/06/2017


Harold L.

I will be using them again soon for the spring.

Description of Work
We mainly interact with Climatemakers. They installed my system several years ago and they come in and do the annual maintenance on it. They came by and did the fall check before the winter came.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $85

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/15/2016

5.0

02/16/2017


Ed E.

I have maintenance agreement. I think it was $297 for 2 years. I've used them for a long time. They are honest, trustworthy and professional. The workers I interact with are an "A".

Description of Work
Winter maintenance

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/12/2016

5.0

01/12/2017


Gary F.

They come and check in the attic and in the different spots for the different units as far as making sure seals and stuff like that. I don't think they're expensive. They help do preventative stuff so that we get the longest use of our heat pumps. So therefore we've been very satisfied with what they've done and any suggestions they've made to make sure that the systems keep working.

Description of Work
They come in and test different parts.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/15/2016

5.0

08/25/2016


Donald B.

They come out in the winter to check the furnace and in the spring to check the air conditioning unit.

Description of Work
Climate Makers Ltd checked the furnace and made sure that it was working properly.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/25/2015

5.0

08/25/2016


Donald B.

We've had them since 1977. We have a contract with them, so they come every six months. We've recommended them to some of our friends. They are reliable, courteous, do the job that they've come to do, timely, neat, and very helpful. I am very satisfied with them.

Description of Work
Climate Makers Ltd checked the air conditioning unit.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/25/2016

5.0

08/02/2016


Ashley G.

Work was well communicated and they invested additional time to correct an issue (without being asked). Overall you can see the quality control culture of the company. That is a differentiator. They are not the least expensive option.

Description of Work
Trane XV20i install

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $15,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/01/2016

5.0

04/12/2016


Martin L.

We were extremely pleased with all phases of this project. Although they were a little more expensive than other estimates we received, we were impressed with the quality assurance process associated with the installation, warranties that came with the equipment and labor, and the follow-on maintenance program. From sales to installation, we received prompt responses to all of our communications. The salesman, Mark, met with us twice to answer all our questions and provide an accurate estimate of all the work and costs. Jimmy and his installation team were very professional, arriving on time every morning and providing an overview of what would be accomplished each day. Jimmy addressed all of our concerns as the installation progressed and made sure we were satisfied with all aspects of the job. By the time they left each evening, our house, garage, and yard were clean and put back in order. The job ran a little longer than estimated, but that was mostly due to duct work repairs that were a little more extensive than originally thought. Much to my appreciation, they were focused on doing the job right, rather than doing it fast.

Description of Work
Replaced upstairs and downstairs heat pumps and air handlers. Ran new refrigerant lines and installed new electrical connection boxes. Repaired, sealed, and replaced where necessary, all duct work in crawl space, attic, and eaves.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, air duct cleaning

Cost $18,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/12/2016

5.0

05/16/2015


Holly P.

I made an appointment request online, which they give you a discount for. The process was easy. Yvonne Samuel was our service technician. She was prompt and efficient. She was very knowledgeable and taught me a lot about care of my unit. She found a tiny hole that was causing a leak during the tuneup inspection and fixed it right there free of charge. Many other companies I have dealt with would nickel and dime you or make you schedule an entire different visit to address that. She got the job done and gave me paperwork for a rebate. Overall, I had an outstanding experience. I have a contract at another property with another HVAC company, and every time they come, they try to sell me something. My experience with Climatemakers was simple, no hassels, no waiting. It is how all companies should operate.

Description of Work
Tuneup for the Spring. Also repaired a leak.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $115

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/13/2015

5.0

04/27/2015


THERESA S.

They were very efficient. It took me a while to adjust to the new system; energy efficient units are just different from the previous I had. When I called them, they were very happy to come and actually once I have adjusted to the system it was sad that the company did not have a better manual because I think all of my concerns were addressed if I have a manual to check it out. For example for this new system I don?t have to use my ceiling fans because of the way the air circulates in the house. There are rooms in my house that are only used when I have guests and with this new unit that I have I can close the air conditioning in those rooms. I assumed that this new system will increase my heating bill but that was not the case. My bill is much less than what I was paying in the past. I thought the price was reasonable considering what they did.

Description of Work
Last year I actually used Climatemakers. They were doing my annual Spring and Winter check up. They also installed my new system.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $10,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/18/2014

5.0

02/24/2015


Tracy S.

I have been using them for almost 20 years now. They are the number one when it comes to H Back system. I got a heat pump from them back in 1993. I actually got estimates from three different companies and checked the reviews online. I like their quality of work and everything about them.

Description of Work
I used Climatemakers for my AC system. They installed a new H-Back.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $8,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/17/2015

5.0

02/10/2015


Jerry W.

As always, went excellently. Extremely knowledgeable and dedicated tech cleans systems, checks them out, makes any necessary adjustments. I have a 3-year contract, which covers six semiannual service visits, timed to prepare the systems for winter and summer systems. Super outfit. Great service. Have used them for years. Also gave the best deal/price for a new replacement system installation when one of my sons bought a townhouse in Virginia Beach a year or so ago. Installed my new replacement systems as well several years ago. Great job.

Description of Work
Semiannual system check/tuneup for two cooling/heating heat pump systems, upstairs and downstairs, inside and outside units.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $180

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/01/2014

5.0

02/10/2015


Douglas M.

Very thorough and professional. Showed up on time and provided all forms for Dominion Power rebate.

Description of Work
Check up of heat pumps

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac