Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Chimney Doctors

Founded 2003 • With Angi since May 2006

3.0

(11) Verified Reviews

Description

For over 10, Southeast Virginia and the surrounding area has recognized the Chimney Doctors as the company for quality chimney cleaning, repair and restoration. Our expert staff and reasonable prices have helped Chimney Doctors earn a reputation for speedy service, quality and value. At the Chimney Doctors we provide the knowledge and experience to help you make the best decisions regarding your property. If you have any questions or comments, please contact us. We're glad you're here and hope to hear from you soon....

Other local Pros in your area

Family owned and operated business specializing in Masonry and construction. We provide superior customer service and top notch work. Give us a call directly at 757-620-8032.  

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2020

A Step in Time Chimney Sweeps performs chimney cleaning and repair throughout Virginia. We have very nice, professional chimney technicians who can provide outstanding service at competitive prices. Our corporate training and excellent customer service stands us apart from our competition. We offer chimney cleaning, repair, dryer vent cleaning, gutter cleaning and even roofing services. All our technicians are employees and we offer different levels of service. Our basic service is a level 1 chimney inspection and more detailed video inspections are available.  

Specializing in weekly or bi-weekly cut, edge and blow as well as all yard clean-ups and mulch! We also offer outdoor maintenance including gutter cleaning, leaf clean-ups, roof cleaning, pressure washing and more! We always guarantee your satisfaction and won’t leave until the job is done right. We take pride in ourselves and on the quality work we provide, while always delivering great customer service! Check out our services offered, then call --or-- click to schedule a free estimate today!  

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

10/07/2020

pleasant, professional, will use again.

Description of Work
They cleaned and inspected our chimney.

Category chimney sweep

1.0

04/19/2017

Terrible- a nightmare

Description of Work
We gave this company a $1000 deposit on a job, but decided the next day to go with a different company who was 1/3 the cost. We asked for a refund of our deposit the day after it was given to him. It has been two weeks and we can not get our money back. He will not return our calls or respond to our messages. This is stealing! No work was performed by Chimney Doctors and we need our money back. I would never use this company- he is more expensive than everybody else and keeps saying he will "throw that in for free". Go somewhere else- its a sham.

Category chimney repair

5.0

02/17/2017

I called and they were out there within a day or less. We set a date for them to come back. They came back on the date that we discussed. They threw in the free chimney cleaning in addition to the work that we were having done. It took them about four hours and we had no issues with the workers. The cleaned up after themselves.

Description of Work
Chimney repair and chimney cleaning.

Category chimney sweep,chimney repair

1.0

07/01/2013

Contractors cost was 4 times that of his competitors. In addition, he recommended that I replace things that did not need to be replaced. Finally, after receiving the quote, the contractor was very pushy to get the contract. This continued even after I informed him that I wanted a second quote before making up my mind.

Description of Work
Inspected 2 fireplaces and provided quote for repair.

Category chimney repair

1.0

03/14/2013

Please see the attached documentation regarding our critique: February 24, 2013 Attn: Steven F. Skloff, President Chimney Doctor Corp. of Virginia As on February 13, 2013, we contacted Batchelder & Collins, Inc. to secure assistance with locating a chimney contractor to adequately provide repair services for reparation of water leaks in our chimney. They referred us to your company, Chimney Doctor...

Description of Work
Please see the attached invoice, dated 14 February 2013, indicating the services provided by Chimney Doctor Corp of Virginia. We would like to have you review our statement of what was actually accomplished during this Maintenance & Service Report. Also, it would be appreciated if you would look for pictures taken of the existing chimney. It should be noted that our residence originally was constructed during 1939. Subsequently in 2008 the house was renovated, to meet the City of Virginia Beach Code. The renovation of the house, the roof was raised 10 feet to meet the new design. A new portion of the chimney was added at that time. Mr. Steven Skloff, President, Chimney Doctor Corp of Virginia stated in his Maintenance Letter report “that the exterior brick was porous and had the beginning stages of efflorescence - bleeding of the brick on it.” “The mortar crown on top of the chimney had cracks thus allowing water intrusion.” All of this information is provided to reveal the fact that just taking a person’s word over a written contract is not practical. When we hired Chimney Doctor Corp of Virginia, it was our intention that mortar work would be done as he assured us that they had a brick mason who could do the work. As you will see in the photos the work was never done. The bricks were not only porous, but they had cracks between the enjoining bricks. All of this was to have been taken care of by the contractor. Unfortunately this was only a verbal statement and was not included in the contract. The connection between the old and new chimney was to have been ground out and replaced properly. Because of this, we are hiring a brick mortar contractor to actually remedy this situation. Mr. Skloff stated, the water intrusion on top of the chimney was caused by an open cap allowing water to enter. After the chimney cap was removed and replaced by a new Stainless Steel Cap remedying this situation. We were also informed that the flashing had not been done properly and would have to be replaced. After meeting with our roofing contractors, they informed us the flashing had been done properly and would not need to be replaced. All of this adjusting our repair estimate. Unfortunately, after what we thought was going to be done, was not discovered until our roofing contractors arrived on the scene. Tragically this has been a costly lesson, which we will not repeat again. And we would hope that others would not be taken in by this company. We would appreciate your review of these findings.

Category chimney repair

    Services Offered

    Accessory Installation, Blockage Removal, Brick & Block Work, Brick & Stone Pointing, Brick Repair, Caulking, Chimney Cleaning, Chimney Covers, Tops & Caps, Chimney Repairs, Code Violation Repairs, Crown Repair, Damper Installation & Repair (Lock Top Damper Caps), Dryer Vent Installation, Fire Safety Inspections, Flue Spillage, Inspections, Installation, Leak Repair, Rain & Animal Guards Installation, Restoration Tops & Caps, Tuckpointing, Warranties & Guarantees, Waterproofing

    Services Not Offered

    Please see for details

    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for Details
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes