Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

HEMAX Construction Services & Landscaping LLC

4.8

(205) Verified Reviews

Founded 1999 • With Angi since December 2008

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Licensed
Trade License Number
2705100095
Trade License Locale
Virginia
Trade License Authority
Virginia: Contractors
Trade License Expiration
03/31/2024
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Monday
8:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Phone Number

Address

201 Davis Drive Unit Q

Sterling, VA 20164

http://www.hemaxlandscaping.com

Description

Hemax Construction Services & Landscaping LLC is a landscaping company offering a wide range of home improvement services in Northern Virginia. We believe that each landscaping project is a reflection of our client’s personality and an extension of their home. This is why we always involve our clients in every decision we make by communicating with them throughout the construction process. For more than 15 years, we’ve been creating outdoor spaces tailored to the needs of clients. They love that we pay close attention to details, and provide prompt customer service, reasonable pricing, and personalized landscape services. **Please allow 24-48 business hours for a response to your inquiry.** Additional phone - (703) 481-0020. See website for additional services. Award wining. Additional email - sales@hemaxlandscaping.com....

Verified Reviews

4.8

(205) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

180

4

10

3

3

2

6

1

6

Rating Details

Price

4.7

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

lawn & landscaping (173)hardscaping (65)lawn care (48)drain pipe installation (38)excavating (31)mulch delivering (29)concrete repair (27)stone & gravel (25)masonry (21)Patios (19)tree service (18)irrigation system (13)
Showing 1-10 of 205 reviews
5.0

12/08/2021


Mel M.

Our HOA needed to replace a failed 60-foot long drainage pipe that ran across one our private roads leading into a cul de sac and also had to address a number of erosion issues that the HOA had been dealing with at the pipe entrance and exit for many years. The HOA solicited potential solutions and 4 bids for the job from local contractors. Full-time access for residents during the project and ensuring that all necessary materials were available in a timely manner was a huge consideration for the HOA - especially with winter approaching. HEMAX was selected because they provided a solid plan, assured material availability, a guaranteed project start date and submitted the most competitive quote. The project involved asphalt cutting, excavation and replacement of a 24-inch corrugated metal drainage pipe with a high density polyethylene pipe, installation and compaction of fill over the new pipe to specifications and the application of hot-patch asphalt to repair the road surface. The project also included: the creation of new culverts and catch basins, the establishment of a head wall at the new pipe entrance, repair of existing culverts, and providing additional fill and re-grading of both sides of the private road for safety and also to help ease future maintenance of the area. Afterward, all work was seeded, covered with erosion control matting and lined with rip rap. Throughout the whole project, the HEMAX team kept the HOA Board informed and did an outstanding job. The project started and completed on-time and was efficiently executed so that residents had full-time access to the area and were minimally affected. Each night, the work area was well cleaned and all equipment safely stowed. The HOA Board highly recommends HEMAX based on their cost and performance on this project and will definitely consider them for future work within the HOA.

Description of Work
HEMAX installed drainage and erosion control items to repair lingering drainage issue for our HOA. The work included excavation, grading, seeding, erosion control and installation of a new corrugated metal drainage pipe under a road in the HOA.

Category concrete repair,excavators,landscaping,drain pipe,hardscaping,patios

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/26/2021

Images

Review for HEMAX Construction Services & Landscaping LLC - 201 Davis Drive, Sterling, VA - 39566116
2.0

07/12/2021


Amber W.

It did not go well. They gave me 2 estimates and I decided to go with estimate B which was more expensive. Chip, the salesman, swore that he would be on site and make sure everything always went well which was a big reason I hired them. Well Chip told the workers to do estimate A instead. So it started off badly. Then every single thing Chip told me would get done did not get done and he took days to a week to show up to check. The project should have taken 4 days but it took more than a month. The disconnect between the workers and the sales team is horrible. I would not hire them again ever.

Description of Work
Fix a drainage issue by installing drain pipes and a dry creek bed, and landscaping

Category landscaping,drain pipe

Cost $152,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 06/02/2021

3.0

10/26/2020


Michael L.

Although referred to us, contractor does not do the requested service

Description of Work
Artificial grass installation

Category landscaping

5.0

09/25/2020


ryan D.

The project could not have gone any better. From the initial estimate to the final walkthrough, our experience with HEMAX was a VERY welcome change of pace compared to previous landscaping projects with other local vendors. Our project coordinator (Chris) was very responsive and was at the worksite often (sometimes several times a day). His estimates were detailed, accurate, and fair. The work crew was exceptional - quick, efficient, courteous, and respectful of our property. In lieu of COVID-19 distancing precautions, HEMAX even had a port-a-potty delivered to our project site. HEMAX has earned my referral - and I would encourage anyone in the Northern VA area looking for landscaping/drainage solutions to give them a call.

Description of Work
Comprehensive Backyard Drainage Solution

Category drain pipe

Cost $13,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/18/2020

Images

Review for HEMAX Construction Services & Landscaping LLC - 201 Davis Drive, Sterling, VA - 38901506
5.0

08/04/2020


Heather S.

Hemax is a wonderful company. Henry designed the project and monitored the work from start to finish. Every day the crew was on time and cleaned up after the work. I was amazed at the detail they took laying the flagstone and building the wall. Henry’s estimate of the cost and time to completion was accurate. I have already planned another project with them!! Great, professional company!!

Description of Work
Patio remodel and pergola installation

Category concrete repair,decks,excavators,landscaping,masonry,mulch,tree service,drain pipe,hardscaping,patios

Cost $300,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/04/2020

5.0

06/16/2020


Allison G.

The project went smoothly from start to finish. The design and solutions for the drainage are working beautifully and are well designed and executed for hard rains, which were causing problems on our property and now, for the first time in years, are not! The landscape designer provided thoughtful and creative planting solutions that really enhance our existing gardens and filled some spaces with particular growing conditions that I had found tricky before. The team delivered even more in terms of executing the plan, service, and customer care than we had anticipated - and we expected a lot, based on previous experience with HEMAX and the high standards they set for themselves.. This is our third experience with HEMAX and we will continue to call them first for any project. We highly recommend HEMAX.

Description of Work
Drainage control work, creation of new planting bed, and planting shrubs.

Category concrete repair,landscaping,pavers, gravel,drain pipe,hardscaping

Cost $11,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/08/2020

5.0

10/31/2019


Thomas H.

I was very happy with all parts of the process. The estimator was on time for the appointment. He was knowledgeable and answered all my questions. The estimate was clear and complete. The payment process clear and easy. The actual installation began on time, was well done, and looks very good. The follow up for quality checks and payment was quick and efficient. I was very happy.

Description of Work
I had approximately 700 sq ft of sod installed in my front yard.

Category landscaping

Cost $1,800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/21/2019

5.0

10/11/2019


Phillip L.

Hemax performed a drainage improvement project in conjunction with a complete driveway replacement. The project turned out excellent. On time, professional and knowledgeable crews. Henry Cruz is an excellent project manager. He provides extra value to the job with his insightful ideas. Price was fair and there was no pressure to increase it; only truly valuable recommendations. I poured about 50 gallons of water down the driveway and was very pleased with the improved grading of the driveway and the functionality of the catch basin. The drainage improvement and driveway both look great and I look forward to many years of enjoying the added functionality they provide. Money well spent on a job well done.

Description of Work
Exterior drainage (catch basin) and Driveway removal and replacement.

Category landscaping,drain pipe

Cost $12,425

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/13/2019

5.0

09/12/2019


kathleen A.

It went great! I spent a lot of time researching who to hire for this big job, and I couldn't be happier with my choice. They always showed up on time, were very thorough and detailed, and were extremely friendly. I would highly recommend them

Description of Work
Removed my concrete driveway and poured a new driveway

Category concrete driveways

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/12/2019

5.0

08/18/2019


Jane J.

Hemax exceeded our expectations by delivering top quality products and services. We are thrilled with our screened porch and our backyard has truly been transformed. We used to have a serious drainage issue that left us with standing water after a heavy rain. Now the water flows right out of our yard. The tree work, fence and new patio complement the screened porch and are beautiful. We are now able to enjoy our backyard! Everyone from Hemax was very hard-working and professional. It was a pleasure to have them work this project for us and I would highly recommend them!

Description of Work
Screened in porch, patio, drainage, grading and tree removal.

Category decks,fencing,landscaping,lawn service,mulch,pavers, gravel,tree service,drain pipe,hardscaping,patios

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/22/2019

Services Offered

Patios & Walkways, Retaining Walls, Underground Irrigation Systems, Outdoor Low Voltage Lighting, Mulching, Aeration & Overseeding, Hydroseeding, Lawn Maintenance, Tree Care, Minor Land Clearing, Concrete Driveways, Areaways, Erosion Control, Light Excavation, Grading, Silt & Super Silt Fence

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Payment Options
Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, PayPal
Emergency Service
Yes
Warranties
Yes

Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about HEMAX Construction Services & Landscaping LLC

How is HEMAX Construction Services & Landscaping LLC overall rated?

HEMAX Construction Services & Landscaping LLC is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

What days are HEMAX Construction Services & Landscaping LLC open?

HEMAX Construction Services & Landscaping LLC is open:

Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

What payment options does HEMAX Construction Services & Landscaping LLC provide

HEMAX Construction Services & Landscaping LLC accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, PayPal

Does HEMAX Construction Services & Landscaping LLC offer free estimates?

Yes, HEMAX Construction Services & Landscaping LLC offers free project estimates.

Does HEMAX Construction Services & Landscaping LLC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

No, HEMAX Construction Services & Landscaping LLC does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

Does HEMAX Construction Services & Landscaping LLC offer emergency services?

Yes, HEMAX Construction Services & Landscaping LLC offers emergency services.

Are warranties offered by HEMAX Construction Services & Landscaping LLC?

Yes, HEMAX Construction Services & Landscaping LLC offers warranties.

What services does HEMAX Construction Services & Landscaping LLC offer?

HEMAX Construction Services & Landscaping LLC offers the following services: Patios & Walkways, Retaining Walls, Underground Irrigation Systems, Outdoor Low Voltage Lighting, Mulching, Aeration & Overseeding, Hydroseeding, Lawn Maintenance, Tree Care, Minor Land Clearing, Concrete Driveways, Areaways, Erosion Control, Light Excavation, Grading, Silt & Super Silt Fence