Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Shreve-McGonegal

4.6

(394) Verified Reviews

Founded 1915 • With Angi since October 2005

Business Highlights

Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Water Coolers
Licensed
Trade License Number
2701011246
Trade License Locale
Virginia
Trade License Authority
VA
Trade License Expiration
02/28/2019
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Sunday
Open All Day
Monday
Open All Day
Tuesday
Open All Day
Wednesday
Open All Day
Thursday
Open All Day
Friday
Open All Day
Saturday
Open All Day

Phone Number

Address

11 Hope Rd

Stafford, VA 22554

http://www.1800smworks.com

Description

$50 off for all Angie's List members. If you need maintenance, replacements, or upgrades on your plumbing, heating, A/C, or electric, you need Shreve McGonegal! Family owned and operated since 1915, we are the oldest service company in Northern Virginia. We are licensed, bonded, and insured, and include a one year warranty on all service work, parts and labor. We offer service appointments Monday through Saturday, as well as 24-hour emergency service....

Verified Reviews

4.6

(394) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

299

4

44

3

20

2

10

1

20

Rating Details

Price

4.1

Professionalism

4.7

Punctuality

4.8

Quality

4.7

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

plumbers (356)water heaters (12)handyman (6)drain cleaning (55)HVAC Companies (12)home remodeling (10)electrician (10)appliance repair (9)tile installation (6)drywall (5)gas leak repair (3)well & water pump repair (3)
Showing 1-10 of 394 reviews
2.0

08/04/2021


Sharyn H.

Ultimately the repair was completed, but it took quite a while because the person they sent to do the work spent a lot of time complaining about how hard the job was. He also scratched the fixture. I needed more work done (which we didn't trust this person to do) so I scheduled another visit with them, and specifically asked them not to send the same guy. They did.

Description of Work
Leaky Bath Faucet

Category appliance repair,plumbing

Cost $250

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 06/28/2021

5.0

11/13/2020


Jerry T.

The technician diagnosed the problem immediately – mold inside the faucet and proceeded to clean them. He was in and out of the house in 30 minutes.

Description of Work
My kitchen and one bathroom faucet had significantly lost water pressure and were down to trickles.

Category drain cleaning

Cost $110

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/04/2020

5.0

08/29/2020


DAVID H.

Replace kitchen faucet and under sink filter watered system

Description of Work
First time using Shreve as my usual plumber was not available. Good experience. Called and got an appointment that fit my schedule. The technician called before he came out and was within the window quoted. He was very polite, professional, and showed great attention to detail.

Category plumbing

Cost $360

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/08/1970

1.0

08/19/2020


Tamara D.

I've called on this company twice. The first time the plumber didn't even give me an estimate on a clogged shower drain. He just repaired it, and then negotiated the cost. He also repaired a half-bath sink. I was unhappy with the way he went about business (fixing and then provided an estimate without my approval); however, he did complete the job. Fast forward to the Covid-19 **** we're all in right now. I called because we had a master toilet leaking to the level below. The plumber said it would be $150 for the emergency call. He then charged another $150 to tell us that we had a leaking toilet that caused flooding. Duh, we knew that. The plumber had us to call in the next morning to pay the bill and get an estimate. We waited all day - still no estimate. So, we called again. We received an estimate for $1700 to make the repairs. Uh, no. We called another plumber who fixed the toilet and charged $250 - end or story. AVOID THIS COMPANY IF YOU CAN. THEY ARE A RIP-OFF.

Description of Work
Toilet Leaking

Category appliance repair

Cost $300

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 08/17/2020

5.0

02/05/2020


Jerry T.

Replaced water valves and flappers on two toilets. Service technician showed up on time. Quickly and efficiently performed both repairs. Second repair was done for approximately half price of the first as I had agreed with the office personnel.

Description of Work
Two toilets needed repair - tanks were not refilling

Category plumbing

Cost $395

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/05/2020

5.0

12/09/2019


Sheria W.

When I called the Service Desk was friendly and willing to come out. They even came on a Saturday with no extra charge. The Service Technician was friendly, professional, and determined to resolve the issue. He even made a fast trip to the Lowe's to get the necessary part. He worked late on a Saturday to fix. The cost was reasonable and the $50 off from Angie's List was a blessing. I now have a plumbing service. Thanks Angie's List.

Description of Work
In our shower the knob to turn on the water was leaking. It was the drip that could drive sane folks crazy.

Category plumbing

Cost $330

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/07/2019

5.0

08/11/2019


Matthew B.

Great - I called them at 5pm on a Saturday and they were able to come out that night. There was an extra cost for Saturday work but I was glad to pay it to have them show up on short notice. They were punctual, did a great job and were very polite. I will definitely call them for future plumbing jobs.

Description of Work
Repair of leaky sink shutoff valve

Category plumbing

Cost $376

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/10/2019

1.0

02/19/2019


MARION J.

Very disappointing service. Would never recommend. Shreve McGonegal Customer Service scheduled me for a Saturday, 8-12 arrival and assured me after checking inventory that it had the specified laundry tub I wanted. After waiting all morning, the plumber finally arrived-- I was his last call. He showed up with no knowledge that he had a 3-4 hour laundry tub install to do. He was not told. He did not have a laundry tub on the truck. After I showed him a picture of the tub I had requested, he went to the storage center and found that his key did not work, called me and said that another Shreve plumber had a key and would meet him at the storage center. Finally about 40 mins after he left my house, now after 12 noon, the plumber comes with the wrong laundry tub, not at all the one I had prearranged with Customer Service. I flagged this discrepancy to his attention but he still wanted to install it. It was a cheaper tub yet for the price for the job quoted by the Customer Service manager. At this point, I told him to leave. Of course, I did not pay him because he did no work but he did take half my day. For years, I have seen Shreve McGonegal trucks and thought to give the company a try. Never again. Apparently a super service award on Angie's List does not mean much.

Description of Work
Contacted Shreve McGonegal to remove and install laundry tub

Category plumbing

Work Completed On 02/09/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We do appreciate hearing from customers, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our service. This incident has been brought to the attention of our service manager and while the lack of service you experienced is unusual and not the standard of our company, there is no excuse for your disappointing experience. We are sorry for the inconvenience and annoyance this incident caused. Thank you again for your comments.
5.0

12/03/2018


Nora F.

I called in the morning requesting someone come after 3pm. The plumber arrived, fixed the sink. Explained what caused the problem and cleaned up. We have always been pleased with their service and will call for all of our plumbing needs.

Description of Work
Kitchen sink was stopped up.

Category plumbing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/03/2018

5.0

05/26/2018


Nora F.

We called in the morning and made an appt for the afternoon. The person came to the house on time (called 10 minutes out) and assessed the situation; explained the source of the leak and the cause. He fixed the pipes and ensured the problem would not happen again. He was thorough and professional. Before he left, we made an appt to have other work done that we had been planning to do. We will call again 257for all our plumbing needs.

Description of Work
Metal Water Pipe had a hole in it. We needed it repaired

Category plumbing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/26/2018

Services Offered

We are your 24hr experts on anything related to plumbing, heating/ac, and electrical.

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

General Information
Free Estimates
No
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Payment Options
Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check
Emergency Service
Yes
Warranties
Yes

Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Shreve-McGonegal

How is Shreve-McGonegal overall rated?

Shreve-McGonegal is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

What days are Shreve-McGonegal open?

Shreve-McGonegal is open:

Sunday: Open All Day

Monday: Open All Day

Tuesday: Open All Day

Wednesday: Open All Day

Thursday: Open All Day

Friday: Open All Day

Saturday: Open All Day

What payment options does Shreve-McGonegal provide

Shreve-McGonegal accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check

Does Shreve-McGonegal offer free estimates?

No, Shreve-McGonegal does not offer free project estimates.

Does Shreve-McGonegal offer eco-friendly accreditations?

No, Shreve-McGonegal does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

Does Shreve-McGonegal offer emergency services?

Yes, Shreve-McGonegal offers emergency services.

Are warranties offered by Shreve-McGonegal?

Yes, Shreve-McGonegal offers warranties.

What services does Shreve-McGonegal offer?

Shreve-McGonegal offers the following services: We are your 24hr experts on anything related to plumbing, heating/ac, and electrical.