Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

COVID-19 Update
We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

Health & Safety Measures

Please call for more details.
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

Town & Country Pools, Inc.

Founded 1977 • With Angi since October 2008

4.5

(38) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

7540 Fullerton Court

Springfield, VA 22153

Description

Town & Country Pools, Inc. is a custom residential swimming pool builder serving the Maryland, Northern Virginia, and Washington DC area since 1977. Over the years, the company has built over 2,600 pools in the area. We now offer complete service to residential gunite swimming pools. Opening,

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

01/30/2017


Robert W.

Excellent.

Description of Work
Pool closing and installation of grommets for the winter pool cover after new concrete placed around the pool.

Category pool cleaners

Service Provider Response

We pride ourselves on doing a job well done and its great to hear. Thank you so much for taking the time to review us.
5.0

08/12/2016


Sam F.

T&C was awesome! They were very clear from the outset about timing for all the steps, and cost. They were prompt, communicative, and did excellent work. We couldn't have been happier.

Description of Work
They put in a pool and spa in our backyard.

Category swimming pools

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We are so happy that you are enjoying your pool.
3.0

12/23/2015


John G.

It was not great. There were constant problems. They wanted me to be here to meet with them or call them constantly. They were high maintenance. I've had this pool serviced before and it was very easy. They would come and take care of whatever needed to be taken care of. With Town and Country, they were twice as expensive, and there was constantly some issue. They didn't leave a message for what they needed. Instead of calling me, they would leave a written message in the bush or something else odd. It was unprofessional and I found them difficult to deal with. It was strange and there was a lot of personality involved all of the time. I was glad when the old company got someone who could do it. They did blow it off and make it look nice. I went back to my old people.

Description of Work
Town & Country Pools, Incorporated were doing a weekly service.

Category pool cleaners

5.0

09/27/2015


Louis F.

Town and Country Pools has provided excellent service on a variety of tasks in servicing my pool. In addition to pool opening and closing, this Spring they drained my pool and performed a complete cleaning. The pool hadn?t been opened for 5 years and was a complete mess. But their work restored it to near new condition. More recently, they found and fixed a leak that was causing significant water loss. Their service manager, Bill Mihos, has been particularly good with friendly service and good recommendations for dealing with a variety of pool issues. They?re not cheap, but the quality of their work makes it worth it.

Description of Work
Pool opening and closing. Pool restoration. Pool leak finding and fixing.

Category pool cleaners

5.0

09/11/2014


Gregory F.

If you want top quality work and top quality customer service, Town and Country is the way to go. This summer T&C renovated my pool. My experience began with the owner, Burton Gray, coming to my home, examining what needed to be done, listening carefully to me about some upgrades I was interested in, and then patiently walking me through the decision making process. I was beyond impressed with his friendliness, candor regarding what I needed and what still had very useful life left in it, and sharing with me what combinations of things other folks have been most happy with. Needless to say, this was not an inexpensive endeavor; however, I am 100% convinced I availed of their long history of providing the best quality service at a very reasonable cost. At each step of the way, their highly experienced staff meticulously maneuvered through a 20 business day process, involving multiple craftsman from stone masons to plaster experts, and kept my pool area clean, safe and ultimately restored it to full operation in a seamless manner. I have nothing but kudos for T&C and the highly professional people Burton has as part of his team. I have even hired them to take care of the general maintenance of the pool moving forward as business and personal life take up most of my time. Lastly, I evaluated several other companies. I was unimpressed with their lack of knowledge, their high pressure tactics, and ultimately their lack of consistent references. Most simply put, have Burton over and see for yourself! You won’t be disappointed.

Description of Work
Pool Renovation

Category pool cleaners

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your wonderful comments. Town and Country strives to be the top quality swimming pool builder and service company, from start to finish and beyond. We are looking forward to our continued professional service on your pool!
5.0

05/22/2014


Kristie L.

Burton and Michelle were great and it was wonderful of them to come out and assess the work my husband and I were considering as well as to give us an honest and reasonable expectation of the costs involved in essentially replacing our existing pool. Although we will not be giving them this job (because we will likely keep the pool we have and not replace it with a gunite one), it was a pleasure to meet them and speak with them. Their experience and knowledge is evident and their honesty over what budget we can expect and the permits needed, etc., was very informative. I only regret that the work we will likely have done now cannot be performed by them (not the type of pools they build). We will definitely keep them in mind for any maintenance or repair issues that arise, though!

Description of Work
Came to look at existing pool and talk about options for replacing it with a gunite pool, including necessary permits, approximate costs, etc.

Category pool cleaners

5.0

02/02/2014


Leslie M.

They had to replace the main motor and filter assembly.

Description of Work
.

Category pool cleaners

2.0

09/06/2013


Gina M.

Mr. Burton Gray came at the scheduled time but I was 3 minutes late. He briefly looked at my yard, gave his company's brochure to my teenage son, and left without even bothering to call me. I called his phone, left a message, apologizing for being late and asking for the work estimate. He didn't return my call. A week later, I called the company and explained the situation to the receptionist. She promised to relate my message to Mr. Grey. We've never heard from them again. I guess they did not need the business.

Description of Work
Building Site Evaluation

Category swimming pools

5.0

08/15/2013


George P.

I've been satisfied with their service. They are very patient. One guy comes here with a ten year old boy who is the son of the owner.

Description of Work
I used the pool service of Town & Country Pools Inc. They come to clean the pool and check the chemicals.

Category pool cleaners

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review! We are so happy to hear you are pleased with your swimming pool service. We are also very proud of Freddie Welther, Jr. who joined us for his very first summer job this past year after obtaining his work permit when he turned 15. Freddie's father, Fred Welther, has been with T&C Pools for 12 years and heads our service division.
1.0

05/16/2013


elizabeth C.

This company did nothing to do a competent job. I was given a bunch of excuse as to why my job was not done timely and correctly l They have jeopardize the plaster work that cost me 20k +

Description of Work
I hired town and country to replaster and tile a pool they built for me 11 years ago. Nothing related to this process went smoothly and a week and a half after filling the pool with water,my system is still not working. Because my pool is not operational, I may have damage to the plaster. I have been given a bunch of excuses as to why they have not gotten the job done and this may cost me thousands of dollars to fix. Do not hire this company.

Category pool cleaners

Service Provider Response

We are saddened to hear this feedback, and we strive to have only satisfied cutomers. Due to the nature of the product selected, the pool system cannot be started right away. The finish must undergo an acid treatment for three to four days after the pool is filled. During this process, the pool was brushed and water chemistry adjusted as necessary. Once the acid was nuetralized, we started the system within two days to begin filtering. Two days after this date, the homeowner called to express concern about the system running at a high pressure. A Town & Country employee responded that same afternoon. Our employee discovered a leak in the bulkhead of the 11 year pool filter. Although our company does not maintain the pool and had no knowledge of any issues with the pool equipment prior to commencing work, we tried our best to have the system up and running again in a timely manner. We did keep the homeowner informed as best we could and regret their dissatisfaction. At no time did we feel the product was in jeopardy and if any issues do arise we will be more than happy to address them.
5.0

05/01/2013


Judy M.

I was able to tell Mr. Gray that my call was based on excellent references from Angie's List. He thanked me for the call. He said that he would be glad to honor his quote, but he did refer me to someone in my area who might be able to help locally. I will call them per his referral. Based on Mr. Gray's response/referral, I would recommend him and Town & Country Pool.

Description of Work
I called to get a quote for in-ground pool repair. As luck would have it, I spoke with the owner , Burton Gray. He was very helpful and professional. He is located in Springfield, and I am in Fredericksburg. He gave me a general quote within the ballpark I was expecting.

Category pool cleaners

5.0

03/28/2013


Janet S.

They did a wonderful job. They were on time and did quality work. We were very pleased with their work.

Description of Work
They put in a whole new swimming pool for us.

Category swimming pools

5.0

11/19/2011


Steven H.

Went very well. Competent and professional work easy to call on the phone, and address any problems.

Description of Work
Renovated pool. New skimmers, new pebbled plaster, new looploc cover. Opened and closed pool for the season.

Category pool cleaners, swimming pools

5.0

11/18/2011


Lucinda G.

I appreciated the knowledge and expertise of everyone I worked with at Town & Country. We had some problems with the swim jet and it took quite a while to resolve it; however, Town & Country was always responsive

Description of Work
Installed in-ground swimming pool with swim jet and 2 waterfalls, including plumbing, electrical, pumps, etc.

Category pool cleaners, swimming pools

5.0

11/12/2011


Robert R.

T & C installed my pool and they are the best because they deliver the best product and provide the best customer service.

Description of Work
Swimming pool closure for winter.

Category pool cleaners, swimming pools

5.0

11/11/2011


DIANA W.

This is an outstanding company whose staff from top down is highly dedicated to superb diagnostic and design approaches to all pool issues.

Description of Work
Complete renovation and restoration of our residential pool. In addition, installation of salt chlorinator and automatic pool cleaner.

Category pool cleaners, swimming pools

4.0

11/07/2011


Eloise M.

We got several estimates to remodel our pool. They were all pretty similar so we went with Town and Country since they built our pool originally. We worked with several different people at Town and Country based on the questions that we had. We used some newly available materials and asked the lady in the office for design advice. She was always willing to help me make sure that everything matched and that I was making good choices. We worked with Fred for the technical and scheduling end of the remodel. We were a little disappointed that the unusually wet spring caused weather delays in the construction but, Fred did extra things to make sure we had an overall good experience. We've had the pool for several years now and it still looks great. The glass tile ahas held up better than the ceramic tile we had on the first pool. The dark PebbleTech makes the pool blend in with the woods surrounding the back yard. It looks much more natural than the 1st pool that we built. We love it and get lots of compliments on it.

Description of Work
In 1998 Town and Country Pools built a new pool at the home we were constructing. In 2008, we had the pool refurbished using newly available materials. I forget the initial cost of the pool construction since it was done during our home construction. The refurbish cost approximately $50,000

Category pool cleaners, swimming pools

5.0

11/07/2011


Leslie H.

I give them an A; not for timing but for doing a good job; & being responsible to come back & take care of anything that needed adjustment or "tweeking". I now use them for pool service & maintenance & I am very happy with that division as well!

Description of Work
They tore out my old pool & replaced it & all the equipemnt.

Category pool cleaners, swimming pools

5.0

11/04/2011


Kevin C.

Very good company. I will hire them again next year.

Description of Work
Pool opening, weekly pool maintenance, pool closing. We pay a weekly fee.

Category pool cleaners

5.0

11/03/2011


Valerie B.

Wonderful experience, the product is beautiful and I've referred the company to my neighbors

Description of Work
I have used this company for pool service.

Category pool cleaners

5.0

11/03/2011


Michael K.

We are very satisfied with the work. It’s a great pool and they did a wonderful job. We had a couple of warranty issues, which they always respected and took care of.

Description of Work
They installed our pool.

Category pool cleaners, swimming pools

4.0

01/27/2011


Michael K.

We generally think quite highly of their work. Their design service was superb, and the construction took place mostly on time. There was an underground leak after the pool was filled, and this took some time to find and repair, but find it and repair it Town & Country did. They also had great subs for everything (except the fencing -- I would avoid Long Fence). My only real complaint is that at times it takes a week or so for them to get back to us when there is a problem. In general though we are quite satisfied. We have an excellent quality pool, beautifully designed. Ric Wugalter, our point man at T&C, is a very good guy.

Description of Work
Town & Country planned and supervised the construction of our swimming pool and spa.

Category pool cleaners, swimming pools

1.0

08/20/2010


Matt J.

Be very careful about hiring Town & Country for pool design or construction. They built a pool for us in 1999 and we had issues with it within 2 years (heater they recommended needed to be replaced, broken skimmers, leaks, etc.), some caused by design issues and/or product selection on their part, and some caused by workmanship. They do not stand behind their supposed guarantee. I will say they do listen to you, but they have an excuse for everything and that excuse is "normal maintenance". The interesting part is that we know many people with pools much older than ours who have never had anywhere near the problems we have had.

Description of Work
For the 4th time in 11 years, we had a serious leak in a concrete encased skimmer. We called them up and asked them to stand behind their guarantee on workmanship (the first leak was less than 2 years after it was built). They came out and looked at it and said not their issue. They even implied that it was a maintenance issue BUT we have used the company they recommended we use for EVERY service need. I now understand they are in the maintenance business... We had to pay the maintenance company to tear out both skimmers and replace them and all the gunite and concrete around them.

Category pool cleaners

Service Provider Response

In response to this post from a 1999 customer ( we just became membes this year to post a response) this opens up a perfect opportunity to send out a reminder to all homeowners AND pools owners. We would like to point out the importance of maintaining proper drainage around your pool. Make sure your flower beds have not been overmulched and/or that the drainage on your decks have not become clogged with debris. This can cause pooling of water around -and possibly under- your deck. When moisture builds up and does not dry out, it will freeze during cold spells and cause your deck to heave. So PLEASE after this very wet Fall, when you are cleaning out your gutters on your roof, take the same precautions around your pool and deck. Stagnant water is not good for bug control in the summer and can wreck havoc on homes and property when it freezes in the winter.
5.0

06/16/2009


JAMES & Robin S.

They were extremely professional in their presentation. They were punctual with their estimate and getting the estimate back also. They were punctual when they came to look at the job too. When they came to look at the job they expedited every process from scratch to the final process. They built a $150,000 pool within nine days. They did a pretty good job.

Description of Work
Town & Country Pools Inc installed a pool in our backyard.

Category pool cleaners, swimming pools

5.0

10/31/2008


Joana G.

We were planning to purchase a home and wanted a home that had a yard that would accommodate a swimming pool. Burton Gray met me at 4 potential homes and looked at their plats and determined whether the yards would accommodate a pool. We made our final purchase decision with his input in mind.

Description of Work
Town and Country Pools looked at potential property for ease of installation of a pool.

Category pool cleaners

    Other local Pros in your area

    Watermark Swimming Pool Services Inc

    Watermark Swimming Pool Services, Inc. has over 35 years of professional swimming pool renovation, restoration, and repair experience. We serve residential and commercial pool customers throughout the Maryland, Washington DC, and Northern Virginia areas and are conveniently located in Laurel, Maryland. We travel to your location to discuss your pool renovation and repair needs. We provide free estimates on all renovation work, including stone and brick coping, mosaic tile, new pool interiors, the exciting new luxurious Hydrazzo, leak detection, and much more.  

    Angi Certified

    Anthony & Sylvan Pools

    FREE 3D Design Consultation for Angie's List Members, Call Now! Serving pool owners for over 70 years, Anthony & Sylvan brings experience, service and creativity to designing your backyard oasis. We understand how different our terrain can be, even within a fairly short distance. From your very first free, no-obligation consultation to closing your pool in the fall, our design consultants and pool experts work with you every step of the way. We also offer renovations and maintain your pool throughout the season with regular pool service and all of the pool chemicals, equipment and toys at our retail store. Contact an Anthony & Sylvan Design Consultant today, or visit us at our retail store for all of your pool supply needs. Also services the District of Columbia, Baltimore City and portions of Prince George's, Chesterfield, Jefferson, Anne Arundel, Baltimore, Carroll, and Harford Counties.  

    Angi Certified

    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    Maryland #: MHIC 3226 Virginia #: 2701018376, DC
    Trade License Locale
    Virginia, Maryland, and DC
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Residential design and build swimming pool construction, pool renovations, pool and equipment repair service and weekly or bi-weekly maintenance service.

    Services Not Offered

    Vinyl or fiberglass pool install or service.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Town & Country Pools, Inc.

    How is Town & Country Pools, Inc. overall rated?

    Town & Country Pools, Inc. is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Town & Country Pools, Inc. open?

    Town & Country Pools, Inc. is open:

    Monday: 8:30 AM - 4:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:30 AM - 4:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:30 AM - 4:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:30 AM - 4:00 PM

    Friday: 8:30 AM - 4:00 PM

    What payment options does Town & Country Pools, Inc. provide

    Town & Country Pools, Inc. accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard

    Does Town & Country Pools, Inc. offer free estimates?

    Yes, Town & Country Pools, Inc. offers free project estimates.

    Does Town & Country Pools, Inc. offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Town & Country Pools, Inc. does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Town & Country Pools, Inc.?

    Yes, Town & Country Pools, Inc. offers warranties.

    What services does Town & Country Pools, Inc. offer?

    Town & Country Pools, Inc. offers the following services: Residential design and build swimming pool construction, pool renovations, pool and equipment repair service and weekly or bi-weekly maintenance service.

    Are there any services Town & Country Pools, Inc. does not offer?

    Vinyl or fiberglass pool install or service.