Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Nova Renovation Group

Founded 2004 • With Angi since August 2011

4.9

(29) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

8425 Forrester Blvd

Springfield, VA 22152

Description

Nova Renovation Group is dedicated to providing the very best in residential and commercial building services. Offering a complete pallet of services for your renovation, alteration, repair or addition, NRG will surpass your expectations on every level. Nova Renovation Group will competently handle

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

11/01/2018


William G.

My wife and I are incredibly satisfied with our renovated home. From the design work done by Dave at NRG to very efficiently use our limited space, to the on-schedule completion of the work to facilitate our tight move-out/move-in schedule, to the outstanding punch list finishing work the NRG team did to make the minor repairs involved in every home project, to NRG's doggedness and determination to make sure we are satisfied all the way to the finish line--we really couldn't ask for a better home renovation experience. Even after unexpected but essential change orders like a new roof and sistered first floor joists, and the inclusion of the unanticipated desires like the purchase and installation of the basement Murphy bed, NRG's original price estimate was within a couple percent of the final total, which really says something about the effort and quality Dave and the NRG team put into their work, their professionalism, and their determination to get it right. My wife and I got everything we wanted at the price NRG quoted, which was right smack in the middle of the five bids we received and was quite fair and reasonable. NRG's commitment to stand by their work has given me great peace of mind. We have had minor hiccups since moving back in, each of which has been successfully and quickly resolved, and whenever something unexpected occurs, I remember and rest on Dave's assurance: "If there's an issue, we'll fix it. We stand by our work." That's exactly what Dave and NRG have done. Dave is not just a general contractor, he also serves as a counselor and mentor throughout the renovation process whom you can trust.

Description of Work
Whole-house renovation

Category custom cabinets, ceramic tile, closet systems, concrete repair, countertops, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, picture framing, glass repair, hardwood floor, heating & air conditioning/hvac, insulation, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, roofing, replacement windows, marble & granite, architect, home remodeling, interior painters, doors, basement remodeling

5.0

10/18/2018


James H.

It went excellent, they came on time and were always on time and do good work.

Description of Work
Put siding on my house

Category siding

5.0

03/08/2018


Mary D.

We contacted six design/build companies and two architects in the summer of 2016. One architect and four of the design/build companies responded, and we met with all of them. After talking with David Gordon from NRG (Nova Renovation Group), my husband and I both immediately knew we would like to work with him. He followed through with plans and a quote that was acceptable to us, and we signed a contract on August 2. Our project consisted of a large addition with a two-car garage that has some work space and some storage area. The garage is connected to the back of our original house by a 12 x 12 entry room with a new basement that connects to our original basement. Above the garage and entry is a very large master bedroom suite. A screened porch was built off the entry. The original stairs to the basement, which were next to our tiny kitchen, were removed, and that space was added to the kitchen to make it more practical. On October 20, the excavator broke ground and the project began in earnest. We lived in our house during the entire construction project, and NRG adjusted the work schedule a bit to accommodate us. My husband and I took thousands of photos and hundreds of hours of video to document the construction process. (You can read about and see our project here: [*** Link removed ***] ) The NRG crew was a pleasure to work with, always willing to lend a hand if we needed it. David visited the site almost every day and kept us informed on the work schedule. He offered suggestions for useful changes and additions, but never pressured us to do expensive upgrades. He worked with us to get things done the way we wanted them. During the course of the project, numerous sub-contractors and vendors offered unsolicited praise for David. His employees seem to be comfortable around him and to respect him. As expected on a large project, there were some problems, and David was always there with a level head to get the issues resolved. After much noise and mess, we were able to spend the first night in our new bedroom on March 23, 2017. There were still some punch list items to be completed, but most of the project was complete. We have since hired NRG for two smaller projects and would not hesitate to have them do additional work for us.

Description of Work
Garage and master bedroom suite addition and kitchen renovation

Category contractors, ceramic tile, closet systems, concrete repair, decks, drywall, electrician, excavators, picture framing, handyman service, hardwood floor, heating & air conditioning/hvac, insulation, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, roofing, siding, replacement windows, garage builders, skylights, architect, home remodeling, interior painters, doors

4.0

07/05/2017


Robert K.

Quote was too high and work would have taken too long to complete

Description of Work
Kitchen design and quote

Category remodeling

5.0

12/29/2016


sherry N.

Dave and his crew were exceptional to work with. This was a huge undertaking, and Dave made everything seamless. Would definitely recommend NRG, and will most definitely use this company again.

Description of Work
Opened a two-story masonry wall in our home to incorporate six large windows. The job involved engineering expertise, which included installation of several massive steel support beams.

Category remodeling

5.0

06/29/2016


Lowell P.

Nova Renovation Group (NRG) was brought in to help design and build a Master Bathroom in our Master Bedroom; there was not currently a bathroom in our Master, however, due to the size we were able to add a Master Bathroom to the room as well as incorporate a closet. Dave at NRG worked with my wife and I to come up with a design that worked well with the space; this included moving a wall and door entry as well as moving our attic access from the Master Bedroom to another bedroom. Overall the process was seamless, Dave was very easy to work with, provided us with multiple designs/options, worked with us to re-design plans on several occasions and delivered a superb product at a great price. The workers at NRG were great to work with and we felt very comfortable leaving them in our house during the day, even with our dog who is a bit of a flight risk. Overall we couldn't be happier with the final product and working with NRG - it was a superb experience and would highly recommend them to anyone.

Description of Work
Added a Master Bathroom to our Master Bedroom.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

02/28/2016


victor O.

Dave Gordon is a highly effective project manager. He kept us informed throughout the process and was responsive to questions. The process of designing and picking materials was collaborative. Dave offered advice and was patient as we made our decisions. He respected the fact that we were spending a lot of money and did not push us into more expensive options. We were very impressed with their attention to doing the work to code. The crew was respectful and professional throughout the process. The shower tile that was leaking had not been installed correctly by a previous company. NRG did a great job redoing the shower. We now have a better looking shower that we know will not leak. The kitchen looks great - we have an open flow from the dining room and a unique pantry cabinet that provides functionality and a great look. When we identified a few punch list items a few months after completion, such as calking that had separated and an electrical outlet that was loose, they responded immediately and took care of the issues.

Description of Work
Remodeled kitchen - Removed wall to dining room, new tile floor, new cabinets and configuration, counters, plumbing, electrical including new panel, drywall, appliances, etc. Replaced half bath tile floor and exhaust fan, rebuilt shower that another contractor installed incorrectly.

Category appliance repair, custom cabinets, ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, handyman service, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling

5.0

02/05/2016


Elizabeth D.

We have been incredibly happy with the work completed by NRG. From start to finish, David Gordon and his crew were wonderful to work with. We found them to be trustworthy and reliable. This was our first experience with any sort of major renovation, which meant we did not really know what to expect. We met with several contractors to discuss the project. We immediately liked David and felt that we would like to work with him. The estimate he gave was on par with the other estimates we received. It was also much more detailed, as David worked with us to complete a preliminary floor plan before providing the estimate. His initial design exceeded our expectations. It was clear that David had been listening and was in tune with exactly what we wanted to do with our home. In the end, we finished the project close to the original budget. Any additional costs were our choice, and David provided advice but never pushed us in one direction or the other. We elected to remain in our home during the renovation. With two young children, we knew that this would be difficult. However, we found David and his crew very accomodating. David went out of his way to make sure we were comfortable during the renovation. We were very happy with the small crew that NRG employs. The same few guys were at the house every day and were all very pleasant, experienced, and hardworking. David was also on site everyday, multiple times, including any weekends that we had people working at the house. He kept us very well informed of their progress as well as what we could expect next. In the end, the project was completed within a couple of weeks of the original timeline. This is remarkable considering that the scope of work was expanded when we elected to rebuild the majority of our sunroom (a previous addition that was poorly constructed) and replace our existing deck with a new patio. We were also happy with the subcontractors that were hired throughout the project. Every one was helpful, personable, and completed the work well and on time. David appeared to have a good working relationship with them all. Throughout the project, David and his crew were very responsive to any issues that came up or changes that we wanted to make. It is clear that they take pride in their work and wanted everyone to be happy with the finished product. We are incredibly happy with our new space. The work that they did is not only beautiful, but it functions beautifully as well. We will not hesitate to call on NRG for an future projects at our home and we have already been referring friends and neighbors to NRG for their renovations.

Description of Work
David Gordon and NRG completed a single story addition on the back of my home. The addition included a master bedroom and bathroom, the expansion and renovation of our kitchen, and the renovation of a sunroom. We are very happy to have worked with NRG on this renovation and would absolutely hire them again in the future.

Category decks, remodeling, home remodeling, sunrooms

5.0

08/03/2015


Alice K.

It was a great experience. Very professional and respectful of our budget concerns. He listened to our ideas and vision. The difference between the price of our estimate and final price was very close. Any additions in cost were due to us expanding the cost such as replacing the vanity in the guest bath, adding a marble face to the soaking tub in the master bath and adding additional tile detail to the master bath shower. Dave and his team were also very helpful in finding better cost alternatives for our goals, but also giving us the more expensive options as well. It allowed us to make the best decision for us. Dave and his wife Michelle came out to look at both baths. The guest bath was straight forward. It need to be updated, but the footprint did not need to change. Our master bath was a little different. It is a very large room and it had a crazy step up into the shower. To keep costs lower we agreed not to change the footprint ,but Dave & Michelle suggested we investigate eliminating the step up to the shower to extend the length. Luckily there was no structural reason to keep the step up and we now have the extended luxury spa shower you see in magazines:-) We had a great experience with all of the vendors that Dave used which is not always the case when you do a large job. They were all professional, cleaned up at the end of install and took pride in their work. The shower door in the guest bath was not completely level. Dave had the vendor out and a new door was put on. The granite company Dave worked with was fantastic. They installed the threshold for the master bath shower, trim on top of the shower half wall and top deck for the soaking tub. We discussed painting the front of soaking tub and I really wanted another piece of the marble installed on the front. Dave called the company, got an estimate that was more reasonable than expected and got them back to install the front piece. It was a bear to move and install due to the weight, but Dave made it happen:-) I also need to mention Dave's team. They were so professional and cleaned up after every days work. It was a pleasure having them work at our house and both our dog Harley and I miss them. As with all projects you have minor issues that need to be followed up on. One text to Dave and he or his team were back promptly to handle the details. I would be happy to use them again for a project.

Description of Work
They did two bathrooms for us, our master bath and the guest bath.

Category home remodeling

5.0

07/13/2015


Doris & Jerry W.

I was pleased and they did a nice job. They worked well, They were tidying and they were on time.

Description of Work
They took apart the master bathroom. They tiled the floor (4 1/2 ft X 5 1/2 ft), put in a new sink with vanity and medicine cabinet with hardware and lighting, trim molding and added a door mirror. They also added shower doors.

Category custom cabinets, ceramic tile, countertops, flooring contractor, glass repair, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling

5.0

05/03/2015


Katharine W.

David Gordon and his team at NRG completely blew us away with their professionalism, honesty, phenomenal execution of our project from start to finish, and there is no one else in Northern Virginia that we would hire in the future except for NRG. We interviewed 6 firms before deciding on who we would hire and as soon as we met David Gordon from NRG we knew that he was a step above the rest. We were immediately struck by his professionalism, expansive knowledge of all aspects of design and construction, and his dedication to the project. NRG only executes one large project at a time, so literally we knew our project was their priority from start to finish, and this remained true throughout the 5 month actual construction project. David was present on-site every single day, rain or shine, even on weekends when work was being done. His team of workers seriously became like family and we felt incredibly comfortable having them in our house on a daily basis for over 5 months. They were so respectful of the fact that we were living in our house during the massive construction project with a small child and our dog, and were incredibly accommodating to that fact. When my husband was out of town and we had a ton of rain one week, David and his team came out to check on me over the weekend to make sure I was feeling comfortable and secure during a critical time in the construction process when we basically had no back wall to our house! Several of the subs pulled me aside and told me that they had been working in the business for in some cases 20+ years and they stated there is nobody in the business with as much integrity as David, and we can agree wholeheartedly. David made suggestions throughout the project based on his experience that turned out to be some of our favorite parts of the addition. Whenever we wanted to change something or upgrade a previous selection, David was understanding and always delivered exactly what we wanted. I know it is hard to convey emotion on a written review and I sincerely hope the reader understands that we are probably some of the pickiest, most discerning clients that any contractor can encounter, and not only were our expectations met as promised, but they were exceeded. Our selections as far as construction design (large vaulted ceiling with ridge beam, ceiling that needed to transition between two different heights at the intersection of two adjoining spaces), materials we wanted used, and finish work were anything but cookie-cutter. Our demands on David and his team would have very challenging for most other contractors, but David and NRG took it in stride and made our dreams a reality. They delivered a phenomenal expansion to our home on time and on budget. We are planning a major renovation of our basement and our upstairs master bath in the near future and will absolutely use NRG for these and all other future projects without hesitation.

Description of Work
NRG expanded the back of our house with a large addition with vaulted ceiling thereby expanding our family room and kitchen as well as adding a breakfast area. They added an additional bedroom upstairs by closing in a previously open great room. They also expanded the basement providing a walk-out to the backyard. NRG provided all aspects of this project, from planning, design, construction to high-end finish work. In the kitchen they provided a completely custom kitchen with very high-end finishes. They installed over 50 complex Tech lighting lights within the new space. NRG replaced our existing aluminum siding with hardie plank and replaced all of our shutters. They installed new limestone tile within the kitchen and breakfast area and wide hardwood floors not only in the new family room but throughout the entire main level of the house as well. They installed a new linear gas fireplace within the addition. NRG also installed a secondary HVAC system to accommodate the new addition. They installed a solar tube in the upstairs hallway. NRG painted not only the new space but other areas of our house as we had requested. Please see below for description of the absolutely superb job that NRG performed.

Category ceramic tile, electrician, flooring contractor, hardwood floor, heating & air conditioning/hvac, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, siding, fireplaces, skylights, woodworking, marble & granite, architect, home remodeling, interior painters

5.0

04/05/2015


ADRIANNE W.

Dave and NRG were extremely diligent in executing the plan we laid out. The NRG crew and subcontractors worked continuously from May through August, completing the project in approximately 4.5 months. Dave managed the project well, ensuring that his crew completed their work in time to allow subcontractors to do theirs, and finished within 2 weeks of the projected end date. We very much enjoyed working with Dave and his crew. They were accommodating, listening to our needs and wants, remaining sensitive to our budget, and giving us good advice on quality/price trade-offs. They addressed any issues that came up promptly and without argument, and talked us through some of the more stressful aspects of the project. Dave and NRG have also followed up quickly and thoroughly to minor issues that have come up after the project's completion. Dave also worked with us on change orders to the project, which expanded its scope and cost. The change orders were our choice - we did not receive any change orders from NRG during the course of the construction. In addition to NRG, we especially liked Dave's electrical and HVAC subs (Rocks Electric and Furman HVAC). We have contacted them for additional work after the project, and have recommended them to friends. We did have a few issues, which I suspect is common with a project like this. -Dave's interior paint contractors are not high-end painters. They do a thorough and quick job, but the precision left much to be desired. -Dave's sub for counters (Counter Intelligence in Alexandria) caused several issues, including a mis-measured order and a lost sink. This is not Dave's fault, just something to be aware of. We were not impressed with Counter Intelligence's performance.

Description of Work
Dave Gordon and NRG built a two-story addition on our 1948 brick colonial and renovated parts of the existing house. We worked with Dave to design the addition, and he managed the project, including all subcontractors. The addition included a new kitchen, screened porch, laundry, and pantry on the first floor, and a master suite on the second floor. Renovations to the existing space included installation of a half-bath and wet bar, roof replacement, re-siding and insulating a part of the house, painting the interior and exterior, widening two entryways, and refinishing floors.

Category contractors, decks, drywall, flooring contractor, insulation, remodeling, roofing, siding, architect, home remodeling, house painters, interior painters

Service Provider Response

(member name), thank you for sharing your experience in working with NRG. You and your family were a pleasure to work with. We understand and appreciate your comments about the two vendors that did not perform to our standards. Occasionally the companies we work with will go through transitions. If they've performed well repeatedly for us in the past, we try to work through those transitions with them. Unfortunately in this case, neither was able to re-group to our expectation, and we no longer work with either entity. I appreciate your patience as worked through those challenges on the project. Overall, we were very pleased with finished project, and want to thank you for all of your referrals since completion. We look forward to working with you on future projects. Thanks again, Dave Gordon
5.0

12/20/2014


Patrick C.

The quality of the work, the price stood out, and the staff was very friendly, and very good. They were all great.

Description of Work
We used Nova. They put all new windows and doors in our old house. They replaced 7 windows and 3 doors.

Category replacement windows, doors

5.0

04/18/2014


Karl S.

BEST. CONTRACTOR. EVER! (We base this opinion upon our experiences with prior bathrooms and kitchen renovations, two barns constructed, and a house constructed). We found NRG on Angie's List. This project was simple enough: Add a 7x10 on-slab laundry room onto the back of our existing mudroom, and then replace the small deck that had to come down to make room for the laundry room foot print. A new laundry room addition, built on the main floor of the house where we'd lived for nineteen years, would eliminate having to navigate stairs to use the dark, remote original laundry area in the unfinished side of the basement. We first met David Gordon, NRG Project Manager, at our home just a few days after our initial contact. We provided David with some basic ideas of what we wanted. He listened carefully, made some suggestions, and said he understood the general scope of the project. He took measurements and photos at that first meeting, and then went back to the office to work with his designer. Within a few days, he came back to us with several alternative plans. We picked the one that most closely matched what we thought would work the best for us, and then we all worked together to tweak the design a few more times until it seemed right. Then we plugged-in basic fixtures and materials so David could present us with the NRG contract and pricing. We were a bit taken back by the price, but we agreed to the contract as written, realizing this tiny 7x10 addition would require pretty much all of the trades (excavation, concrete, framing/carpentry, electrical, plumbing, siding, cedar shake roofing, spray foam insulation, counter top fabrication, painting, tile setting, and HVAC). Once the contract was signed, and we gave NRG our deposit, detailed preliminary design plans were created. As the final designs took shape, we all realized there were several existing building code deficiencies adjacent to where the new addition would be tied into the house. David identified what needed to be done to bring these problems up to code, and we added a few additional-cost change orders to the original contract even before the final project plans were approved. Better to be safe than worrying whether the new project won't pass inspections because of something wrong with the original structure. Due to the Christmas holidays, we chose to delay ground breaking until the second week of January 2014. (What were we thinking?) David had already applied for all of the building permits, so everything was ready to begin as planned. Even though January and February had some of the longest duration cold nights and days plus snow/ice storms in more than four years, work progressed daily except on the few days when it was actively snowing or too cold to pour concrete. David's two-man crew and/or subs were on site usually eight hours every weekday, and sometimes on weekends if weather prevented working on a weekday. On several days, once the project was under roof, there were so many subs on site at the same time someone might have thought there was a whole house being built. David was on-site part of every workday, usually early in the morning, and always when a building inspection was scheduled. He was very responsive to all of our questions and issues along the way, either communicating by email, phone, text message, or making additional on-site visits. There was never a time when we didn't feel like we were the most important NRG project that day. David and each member of his crew, plus every sub, was friendly, hard-working, competent, and respectful of our home and property. The project site was tidied-up at the end of every workday, and we always felt our outdoor pets were safe to wander around outside after the work day was done. During the two months of this project, we never once felt unsure whether we could safely leave any of the workers alone in our home when we couldn't be around. Everything didn't go perfectly. On most projects we've done, that's the norm. It's how the contractor reacts to these challenges that demonstrates to us how good the contractor really is/isn't. Every time there was a hiccup, David resolved the issue, and got everything back on track in short order. In every instance, David resolved the issue with ideas better than we could ever have come up with on our own. For example: space was so tight in such a small room addition, once the split-system ductless heat pump air handler was installed high on its wall, it partially blocked the adjacent hanging cabinet door from fully opening. David offered several alternatives, and we all eventually agreed to take the cabinet door off. David re-fabricated the inside of the cabinet and shelves with identical-material laminate. The result was a custom-look open cabinet that perfectly matched the rest of the room's cabinetry. We really like the finished project. It's functional, aesthetically pleasing, and quite an upgrade over what we'd had for almost twenty years in our house. We can't imagine why we didn't do this addition project sooner. We certainly plan to use NRG on our next project, especially if David Gordon is project manager.

Description of Work
Constructed a 7x10 Laundry room addition on-slab, and rebuilt a small deck that was displaced by the addition.

Category concrete repair, decks, electrician, excavators, heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, remodeling, siding, architect, cabinet refacing

3.0

04/13/2014


Lourie-Ann P.

David Gordon is very nice and was responsive to issues, but probably would not use them again. We kept asking for a project plan so we could know what was happening when. Verbally we were told that he would not be painting until later. We had not 100% decided on the wall color. Then he announces the first day that he changed the plan and we needed to decide then on the color. Made a last minute decision. Did not appreciate it since we had asked him several times for a plan. Painting issue 2: we asked that he use Benjamin Moore paint. He complied verbally and then found Behr paint had been used. 3: The crew used latex or semi gloss to paint the shutters. Plus when I say they painted the shutters. They painted the mechanisms - everything. Can't open and close slats. I kept complaining. David would send the guy over. Guess he was was doing something and then just would leave. Not asking me to check the shutters. Assumed he told David the problem was solved and they weren't. Had to come back 3X. Still don't work but they reduced the balance but now I have to spend time shopping for new shutters!!!!! 4: Paint peeled off the molding. I had to repaint molding. Paint issue 5: Missed places to paint. Kitchen 1 : We bought the appliances vs NRG. Careless mistake, NRG forgot to bring the water line to the refrigerator for the ice maker. When the appliance store went to install they could not install the icemaker. 2: When the gas line was installed it was sticking too far from the wall, so when the gas stove was installed it was protruding 4-5" out from the wall. Appliance store took back the appliance so the gas line could be fixed. NRG had to come out again to fix it. I even had the appliance store talk to David. Not 100% but it's better than before. When I talked to him about issues he didn't seem to writer things down. I put together a punchlist because I was getting tired of him forgetting issues. 3: Appliance folks put hole in cabinet to run microwave power cord. David was suppose to touch it up with cabinet paint. Never got done. He said he left me touch up paint, but who knows. He never handed it to me. May he was relying on his crew AGAIN???? Now we can't get it. Cabinet manufacturer is out of business - zip. Again very nice guy and did try to resolve issues but I think the project could have been better managed. Needs to work on the details.

Description of Work
Complete kitchen remodel, install a tile foyer and paint the main level of the house.

Category ceramic tile, flooring contractor, remodeling, architect, home remodeling, house painters, interior painters

5.0

02/20/2014


Marshall H.

We own our "new master" style colonial home in Orange Hunt estates. These homes were constructed in 1970 and the master bathrooms highlight the 70's-era design. Ours featured baby blue tiles & toilet, a single basin vanity, and a small shower stall. The bathroom was tiny, with wall space for only one towel rack. Our renovation plan included expanding the bathroom into the master bedroom, and thus, a complete gutting of the current bathroom. Walls were demolished and rebuilt, changing the size, shape and layout of our existing bathroom. We had 3 companies provide estimates. The first wouldn't give us a ballpark price until we committed to selecting finishes. Since our project involved major construction, we were reluctant to spend time selecting tiles until we knew what sort of cost we were getting into. The 2nd estimate was the lowest price-wise, but we were unimpressed with the design. Next was David from NRG. He worked several versions of the design until we found one that we liked. He was very upfront with expected costs and time frames. It wasn't a difficult decision to select NRG for the project. David and his wife, Michelle, helped us through the selection of finishes...everything from the new double vanity to light fixtures. They did all the ordering and receiving and we simply watched as our bathroom transformed. David was a joy to work with throughout the process. He devised innovative ideas when problems arose and actually custom-built our vanity light fixtures when we discovered the lights wouldn't mount properly over the mirror we'd chosen. He responded very quickly to any email questions or concerns we had, and was always very professional and honest. The NRG crew was great. Always punctual and respectful, the guys worked incredibly hard and took care to protect the rest of the house as much as possible from the inevitable construction chaos. Our finished bathroom is a delight, and we are thrilled with both the look and functionality brought to the space by David and the NRG crew. As soon as we win the lottery, we plan to call David back to finish our basement and remodel the kitchen.

Description of Work
NRG remodeled (rebuilt is more accurate) our master bathroom, including an expansion of the bathroom and all associated new plumbing and electrical.

Category countertops, drywall, electrician, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, architect, home remodeling

5.0

08/08/2013


Richard S.

We interviewed 4 companies for our kitchen-dining room project. Based on first impressions, NRG was, by far, the most professional company. David Gordon, project manager, listened to our plan of what we wanted done, and he responded in a very timely fashion with an initial design and estimate of costs. The cost was competitive with the other companies that submitted bids. We chose NRG because they are a small and family-owned company, and they were the most responsive. David seemed like the type of person with whom we wanted to work. He is patient, articulate, friendly, trustworthy and very knowledgeable. Other reps that we interviewed were pushy, and did not listen to our design requests. Once we signed the contract with NRG, David projected that the project would begin in two months and that it would take 6 weeks to complete. His time table was incredibly accurate. The end result was amazing. We are so pleased with the quality of workmanship and the concern for detail in our new kitchen. Throughout the 6 weeks, David kept in close communication in person and via emails and texts. Whenever we had a question or concern, he responded very quickly. Whenever we wanted something added or changed, he was very flexible in incorporating these along-the-way requests, if possible. David?s wife, Michelle, was very helpful in answering our design questions. I wish we knew about NRG when we had 2 bathrooms remodeled and 1 new bathroom installed (before I signed up for Angie?s List). That project took almost 2 years to complete. When David told me that the kitchen-dining area project would take only 6 weeks to complete, I was in disbelief. David and the NRG crew delivered and created a very beautiful kitchen and dining area for us. We are so thankful that we chose this company. You will be, too.

Description of Work
NRG demolished the wall between our kitchen and dining room and the wall that created our eat-in area in the kitchen. They removed all plastered walls and ceilings. They insulated before installing wallboard throughout the kitchen and dining area. They leveled all floors and ceilings, & redid all electrical. They installed new hardwood floors in both areas, new cabinets, new appliances, new lighting and new countertops and backsplash tile. They also improved the efficiency of our HVAC system.

Category appliance repair, ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, hardwood floor, heating & air conditioning/hvac, insulation, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, architect, home remodeling

5.0

05/20/2013


Ed S.

Nova Renovation Group built our deck and screened porch. David and his crew did a beautiful job. He came out discussed the design possibilities and proposed several options that were significantly less than other estimates we had received. One of the items that impressed me most was his design eye. At his own cost he used 6x6s instead of the proposed 4x4s which did make a significant difference on the porch. He also was able to sister several boards around some rot on our band joist which saved us a considerable amount of money versus blocking up the house and replacing the band joist. The whole crew was very, very good and conscientious. If you are looking to build a deck or screened porch, I definitely recommend you call Nova Renovation Group.

Description of Work
Replaced our deck with a deck and screened porch.

Category decks, remodeling, architect

5.0

04/07/2013


Debra F.

Overall a fantastic experience, just like back in 2008. I would not hesitate to have them work on my house anytime!

Description of Work
In preparation for selling our home, we had an exterior door that had suffered some damage during recent wind/rain storms. Nova had replaced our front door back in 2008 so we did not hesitate to call them again. They sent a guy out to measure the door the day I called then got back to me the next day with the "art of the possible" for replacement. We settled on a door (house was under contract so they even let the buyer have a role!) and they installed within a day of receiving to their warehouse. It is beautiful.

Category handyman service, remodeling, architect, doors

5.0

03/19/2013


Tom & Susan S.

After NRG did a perfect job (yes, perfect, which may be the shortest and most accurate review on Angie's List) installing hardwood floors throughout our first floor and replacing major kitchen appliances, there was no doubt that we would call on David Gordon again when we wanted to renovate our master bath. He did not disappoint. Once we described our preferences and our budget, he and his wife Michelle worked their magic. It was like having friends help you through the renovation process with one critical difference: David and Michelle know what they're doing. They found floor and shower tiles that not only met our needs but, thankfully, nudged us beyond what we would have settled for. They advised against a paint color we had chosen and, thankfully, the lighter shade was just right. They took care of all the details and dealt with the shipping delays, etc. so all we had to do was enjoy our new bathroom. They took it from a tired '70s tub and dated vanity to a spacious, glass-enclosed shower and stylish vanity. We realized once we read some articles and saw a bathroom showcase that we had set quite a modest budget, but David never indicated we had placed constraints on him. He simply found ways to meet both our wishes and our budget. For example, rather than buy a new medicine cabinet, he stripped, reshaped, and stained our old one to match the new vanity. I unhesitatingly recommend NRG for any renovation work.

Description of Work
Remodeled master bath, replacing tub with walk-in shower, replacing toilet and vanity, moving vents and lights to ceiling, tiling shower and floor, replacing and painting walls and ceiling, leveling floor.

Category ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, flooring contractor, plumbing, remodeling, air duct cleaning, architect, home remodeling, interior painters

5.0

01/03/2013


Cristin M.

Great! David is such a patient, considerate, not-pushy professional that it's a joy to work with him. He's very receptive to the customer's ideas and questions. The whole project lasted about 5 days as I recall. We are totally pleased and can't wait to save enough to have him update a few more spaces in the home. PS: His guys did a good job cleaning up as well (and sealing the house off so as to contain the dust). Thanks NRG!

Description of Work
We'd just bought a 1969-era townhome and were moving in. Our greatest desire was to remove the wall separating the kitchen from the dining room so that we could create a "great room" of sorts, a casual dining space. David (actually a new neighbor of ours who lives about 300 feet out our back door) and his team removed the wall, reconfigured the A/C ducting and vents for the room, re-did all the old kitchen lighting (replaced it with 5 recessed lights which are a total joy versus the "way it was"). The cherry on top of all the excellent and very considerate work: we had this gaping hole in the flooring between the kitchen (tile) and the dining room (hardwood floor), and were at a loss as to what to do, aside from redoing the flooring in the whole space (which was not in the budget at the time). David's wife Michelle stopped by to see how the project was coming along and she offered some creative solutions and even went ahead and brought some tile transition ideas by (after showing me some ideas on her iPad). It felt like a good friend was truly trying to help out when I was running into dead ends with the flooring. NRG ended up installing the tile transition and quarter-round to the hardwood. Looks great!+

Category ceramic tile, drywall, flooring contractor, remodeling, architect, home remodeling

5.0

12/29/2012


Al & Jackie S.

The were great. We have previously used another design build company in the local area--one that gets an A rating in your reviews. These guys (NRG) were far, far superior. Everything went better, from the review, drawing and pricing to work completion. This is a great company--If the other crew is A, NRG is A+++

Description of Work
Complete redesign of our screened back porch and connecting deck; this included window movement in the house, re-framing the external door, and bringing the footing up to code.

Category drywall, remodeling, replacement windows, house painters, doors, sunrooms, hardscaping

5.0

12/06/2012


Tom & Susan S.

David's estimate for the work fell between two other estimates we received, but we felt more confident about hiring him than the other two companies, in part because we saw how well he had performed a neighbor's extensive remodeling project. Our confidence was justified by his skill and his cooperativeness. He not only provided advice as we chose the flooring, but his wife accompanied us to the flooring store to make sure all of our concerns and questions were answered. He worked carefully and deliberately, so there were no flaws or disappointments. Although the work he did impacted our entire first floor, he compartmentalized the tasks and cleaned up each night so our daily routine was barely affected.

Description of Work
David Gordon removed carpeting and linoleum and laid hardwood flooring in our living room, dining room, hall, and kitchen, and tile flooring in a bath room. He also installed a new refrigerator, stove, microwave, and toilet.

Category appliance repair, ceramic tile, flooring contractor, hardwood floor, plumbing, remodeling, architect, home remodeling

5.0

11/28/2012


Danielle V.

Overall I was and still am pleased with the work done by David and his team. David is knowledgeable, skillful, professional and so many other things that I can't list them all here in this review. I recommended them to my family, friends and neighbors. At the end of the remodel I hosted an open house just to show off and to have David present to answer any questions. I know that he received at least two other jobs from his work at my house. I only wish I had more money to have David and his team do additional work on my house. From the smallest to the largest detail I will be calling David to do the work.

Description of Work
David remodeled my townhome's kitchen and master bath. I presented him with my ideas and he was able to generate 4 floor plans for me to approve. He listened to my ideas and my "wants" and was able to make those happen within my budget. David and his team removed a load bearing wall between my kitchen and den to extend my kitchen the length of my townhome. His team moved heat ducts to make this possible. Upstairs he converted an extra bedroom into a master bath with a walk in closet. My original master bath was removed to make a new entryway from the hall into the master suite. David handled the permits and inspections professionally and in a timely manner. He kept me up on all steps of the remodel so that I could approve any new ideas as well as designer details. I ordered and purchased some materials on my own. David took receipt of those items and expertly installed them.

Category remodeling, architect, home remodeling

5.0

11/26/2012


Eric S.

David and Michelle were tremendously helpful in first guiding me through the design process and, once we settled upon the final layout, providing suggestions on materials (e.g., tile, fixtures). I found the work to be of the highest quality and David's attention to detail excellent. He kept me apprised of each day's schedule and activities and assiduously adhered to both. I was quite impressed as well with his consideration for my schedule and comfort throughout the process. At the conclusion of the project, David and Michelle even purchased accoutrements (e.g., towels, candles) to help decorate the new bathrooms, which no contractor had ever done for me before. In sum, NRG is by far the finest contracting company I have ever used and David will certainly be the first call I make upon embarking upon my next home improvement initiative.

Description of Work
NRG remodeled two bathrooms in my home over a period of twelve weeks. The first job was a smaller, hallway full bath. The second was a much larger and extensive master bath renovation. Both involved completely gutting the bathrooms and rebuilding them from the ground up.

Category remodeling, architect, home remodeling

    Other local Pros in your area

    Bienal Custom Closets

    At Bienal Closets, we are on a mission to bring quality closet to every household in America. As professional closet organizers, we strive to bring quality, organization, and comfort to your space. Our closets are manufactured in America & Europe as our way of adding value to the economy, create jobs, save costs, and maintain high standards of production. We are ready for a new phase in providing storage solutions by using state-of-the-art technology to create 3D renditions of your closet choice. We take custom closet design a step further and allow you to create what you want with our online design support system. All our closets are manufactured in America & Turkey as a way of creating more jobs, keeping to the high American standard of quality, shorten lead time, and reduce delivery cost.  

    Angi Certified

    Closet America, LLC

    Closet America is a privately owned and locally operated manufacturer and installer of custom home organization systems for closets, home offices, pantries, media centers, and garages. By raising the standards for quality and customer service, Closet America has steadily grown into one of the premier names in the professional organizing systems industry. We have been consistently awarded the prestigious GuildMaster Award for exceptional customer service and satisfaction.  

    Angi Certified

    J Reynolds Landscaping

    J Reynolds Landscaping was created to provide the Northern Virginia area with the highest quality installation of landscaping materials possible. The Owner, Matt Meyer along with Jason Reynolds, has been installing custom designs right here in the northern Virginia area for over 18 years. With a reputation for excellence, the highest quality customer service, master craftsmanship and fair pricing. A design expert will come to your home and provide you with a free consultation and estimate for your homes unique needs. J Reynolds Landscaping will then provide you with the professional installation of the materials that you have chosen for your home. We differ from other Landscaping companies because we: - Never sub-contract any portion of the job. - A design expert is physically on every job site. - Your job is completed before any other job has been started. - We have no day laborers. - We are licensed and insured. - Estimates are always free. - All installers have at least 3 years of experience.  

    Angi Certified

    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, PayPal
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Design, drafting, space planning, new construction, renovation, cadd presentation drawings, color, finish consultations, additions, decks, kitchen, bath, selection, specification services, wood floors, ceramic tile, natural stone & basements.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Nova Renovation Group

    How is Nova Renovation Group overall rated?

    Nova Renovation Group is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What payment options does Nova Renovation Group provide

    Nova Renovation Group accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, PayPal

    Does Nova Renovation Group offer free estimates?

    Yes, Nova Renovation Group offers free project estimates.

    Does Nova Renovation Group offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Nova Renovation Group offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Nova Renovation Group offer a senior discount?

    Yes, Nova Renovation Group offers a 5% senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Nova Renovation Group?

    Yes, Nova Renovation Group offers warranties.

    What services does Nova Renovation Group offer?

    Nova Renovation Group offers the following services: Design, drafting, space planning, new construction, renovation, cadd presentation drawings, color, finish consultations, additions, decks, kitchen, bath, selection, specification services, wood floors, ceramic tile, natural stone & basements.