Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Apex Surveys

Founded 1992 • With Angi since August 2011

4.8

(26) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

5240 Port Royal Road 213

Springfield, VA 22151

Description

Apex Surveys is a family owned business established in 1990. The combined experience of both father and son equal over 60 years of quality friendly service to our customers. Pricing will vary according to service, lot size, and deed research. The average cost of a House Location Survey or Lot Stake

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

06/12/2020


Steve D.

My engagement with Apex Surveys, LLP was exceptional from start to finish. Kathleen, the Office Manager was professional and very responsive. She provided an extremely competitive quote and scheduled the survey to meet our needs. Mitch and Gaelen were informative and performed the survey in a timely and professional manner. This company deserves your business!

Description of Work
Lot survey with stakes in corners and along property lines.

Category land surveyor

5.0

03/26/2020


William W.

They did a great job and were easy to work with. The plat was delivered quickly.

Description of Work
Surveyed residential property, installed additional boundary markers and produced an updated plat

Category land surveyor

5.0

04/11/2018


Ty J.

Great overall experience. Apex was very polite an prompt in their communication (via email and phone) and they delivered my setback survey in timely manner. I emailed Apex to get an estimate for a setback certification. They responded within an hour with a quote. After shopping around for other companies, I decided to Apex because of their promptness and politeness in their email. I called to schedule the survey and Apex said they were about 7-10 days out to start the work. I still agreed to continue with their service. On a Friday about 10 days later, Apex showed up to do the surveying. I received an email from Apex on the following Wednesday (3 business days later) stating my survey was completed and once my payment was made, they would electronically forward my survey to print, or, if I was unable to print it, they would also mail it to me.

Description of Work
Setback Survey

Category land surveyor

5.0

12/20/2017


Ilona M.

Two men arrived when promised. Spent around two hours surveying my whole neighborhood to determine the correct boundaries for the property. Decided that the head surveyor needed to take a look at their findings and departed. Returned a few days later, again after first calling me and arriving when promised. Two men spent nearly two hours that day carefully measuring and staking the property with boundary stakes and long nails in the ground with small pink flags. They explained to me that the nail were the exact boundary and the stakes were placed a couple of inches into the property. Very detailed and informative!

Description of Work
Stake property boundaries. I want a fence build.

Category land surveyor

5.0

02/10/2017


Leonardo K.

Flawlessly. I was not even home. When I got home I saw the stakes marking the ground. They ask for 5 to 7 business days to turn around drawings. In 2 days they called me to received payment and send me the stamped and signed plat files. Highly recommend Also note I currently own a townhouse and this work was done on a townhouse.

Description of Work
Apex provided me with a House Location Survey and Lot Stake. House Survey - also referred to as a Physical Improvement Survey. We will provide a current plat of your property, showing all of the existing physical improvements on the property (the house, fences, walks, patios, sheds, etc.) and their relation to the property lines. This plat gives the homeowner, builder, or contractor an accurate survey of what is located on the site. Lot Stake is when we recover or replace your property corners which are marked by 18” iron pipe that is set into the ground. We then accurately (using thorough research) delineate the property lines using 8” metal spikes, which are set at ground level and marked with fluorescent flagging. We then place 24” wooden stakes in the ground next to the metal spikes as a witness. With this survey you will be able to clearly see exactly where your property lines are.

Category land surveyor

5.0

12/12/2016


Marie L.

They were beautiful! They marked my properly where the posts needed to be. They marked it within an inch. They put stakes everywhere to make sure it was precise. They sent me the survey in an email. It shows the lot lines. They showed where everything is! They showed gps coordiates. The other company I hired didn't do any paperwork.

Description of Work
property survey to install fence

Category land surveyor

5.0

09/11/2016


Philip P.

Crew came out despite a very muddy day. They found the property corner markers (that we couldn't find) and clearly marked them, plus put stakes in the relevant parts of the lot line to verify correct setbacks. Very professional and worth the fee.

Description of Work
Needed property lines identified and staked prior to building detached garage.

Category land surveyor

5.0

04/27/2016


Kimberly W.

Description of Work
Surveyed property line

Category land surveyor

5.0

03/26/2016


bryan F.

The team was wonderful. Couldn't ask for better service! I would definitely recommend them!

Description of Work
Boundary Stake

Category land surveyor

5.0

03/10/2016


Charles G.

I contacted Apex Surveys through Angie's List one evening and received a phone call back the next morning. I was converting my garage into an office and needed a revised plat to file with the county. Apex did the survey on my property that was used when I purchased the house and they were able to quickly locate my files and discuss what I needed done. After a brief phone discussion I was able to schedule my job and the workers showed up the next day. I informed them that I needed a quick turnaround and I was able to get the revised plat within a week of my initial call. I was home when the crew arrived and found them to be professional and courteous. They worked efficiently, took care of my property, and in my brief discussion with the team leader I found him to be very personable and knowledgeable of his craft. I was glad to find such a reputable and long standing neighborhood business (North Springfield) to support While a property survey is not type of ting I will need done often, I would use them again in heartbeat and would highly recommend them to anyone else looking for a land surveyor. A+ on professionalism, cost, and turnaround.

Description of Work
House Location Plat Revision

Category land surveyor

5.0

02/08/2016


Mary P.

Category land surveyor

1.0

01/04/2016


Edward B.

DON'T CHOOSE APEX UNLESS YOU WANT TO BE BILLED FOR WORK THAT HAD NOT BEEN DONE. I choose Apex based on its reviews but was horribly disappointed in the service, professionalism, and most especially receiving an invoice for work that had not been done. After calling and receiving no response from the company, I had to find out from another surveyor about issues relating to the survey. When Apex survey did finally call me (several weeks later and after the closing), it was just about the invoice. When I spoke about my concerns, the owner? (Hagen) did nothing to address my concerns except offer excuses and talk about how good the ratings of his company are. He was extremely unprofessional and did nothing to address my issues. Details to follow: I was closing on a house and decided to choose Apex for the survey work rather than the survey company suggested by the title company (big mistake). When I called to arrange the survey and staking, I was given a date as to when this work was to be done. After about a week passed AFTER when the work was supposed to be done, I called Apex to find out why I had not received the survey and why the staking had not been done. I was told that they could not find the poles/metal needed on the corners to complete the survey. They said that would go out in a few days and "try" again. I called the realtor selling the house because the closing was now quickly approaching. The realtor called the survey company, which finally came out. The realtor apparently had to show the survey people how to do their job as the poles/metal were there the whole time despite what I had been told. (Keep in mind that the survey company did not call me to say that they could not complete the survey. I had to call them many days after the work was to be done.) The survey company finally found the poles that were there the whole time. I received a plat together with an invoice for the survey and a separate charge for "staked property lines." I was just about to pay the invoice when I decided to go over and look at the stakes. The reason I wanted to see the stakes first was because the survey appeared to show that my soon-to-be-fence was on the neighbor's property. Yet the survey stated that "all fences frame." (as a non-surveyor, I understood all fences frame to mean that the fences are in the property.) I arrive at the house and the stakes had not been put up. To repeat, I was invoiced for stakes when the staking had not been done. I called the survey company to find out about what I thought were discrepancies on the report and about the stakes. No response at all. The realtor was finally able to get in touch with Apex and was told that someone would eventually be out to do the staking (for which I had already been invoiced). Just days before the closing, the staking was finally done. In the meantime, I had to find out from another surveyor that the fence was in part on the neighbor's property. Not only did the survey company not respond to me, they never called me to tell me that there was an encroachment. I guess I was supposed to become an expert on reading surveys to figure that out for myself. Luckily, I was able to resolve the issue with a last minute negotiation and easement for the fence. No thanks at all to Apex. As a final insult, I was told when the invoice was sent (for work that had not been done) that I would receive "several copies" of the plat in the mail. I did not receive those.

Description of Work
Apex was hired to issue an accurate plat and stake the property.

Category land surveyor

5.0

12/14/2015


Robin L.

Outstanding service - needed a plat for deck building permit on short notice - called one day, telephone representative was very professional and courteous - advised survey could be done within 10 days. Survey Team arrived the next day!!!!! Team was professional and courteous, received plat that very day - I was amazed!! Overall extremely satisfied with scheduling, cost, product and speed of delivery - highly recommend Apex and will gladly refer any family, friends and business associates to use Apex for their surveying needs!

Description of Work
Plat Survey - Townhome

Category land surveyor

5.0

11/27/2015


Gary J.

Description of Work
They surveyed and staked property boundary for a fence project. The crew was very professional and took time to explain how and why they were doing parts of the survey.

Category land surveyor

5.0

07/01/2015


Hugh M.

I was required to have a survey done for construction since the original home purchase survey included language that would not be accepted by the county. I went with Apex Surveys since both they and my contractor knew of the practices of my former firm. I had be survey completed within two weeks and received by email along with the invoice. Easy and professional!

Description of Work
Provided a House Location Survey (for construction)

Category land surveyor

5.0

01/27/2015


Judy B.

Somehow the appointment I first made was missed. However, they came out at their next opportunity and completed the job to my satisfaction.

Description of Work
Marked property lines.

Category land surveyor

5.0

10/07/2014


Kathryn H F.

Perfect. They located the original metal pipe corner markers and placed additional metal markers along the boundary. They also placed clearly visible states and sometimes a streamer near all markers. Walked me around the boundary showing me the location of all markers/stakes.

Description of Work
Surveyed lot and remarked boundaries

Category land surveyor

5.0

09/29/2014


James M.

Great work, highest quality, and very pleasant people. Work was top quality and fully worth the price. They were timely and reasonably priced when other surveyors were neither. An excellent transaction with a skilled service provider.

Description of Work
Full survey of lot and staking of all corners. Verified their work by double checking adjacent lots. Where monuments were missing they restored them. Provided stakes along the adjoining property lines allowing easy identification of property lines.

Category land surveyor

5.0

08/04/2014


William S.

Came on property as scheduled - no issues.

Description of Work
Staked residential lot. Found all corner stakes and tagged as well as placed stakes along the property line for ease of determining the property limits.

Category land surveyor

5.0

06/06/2014


Lan N T.

Description of Work
Do land survey. They di a good job.

Category land surveyor

1.0

03/24/2014


Pehr P.

I made an appointment with the provider to survey my property. Since they did not work outside of my own work hours, I took a half day off on a work day to meet them at my property. Long story short, they did not show up. Since it was a Friday afternoon, I had to wait until Monday morning to contact them and find out what happened. When I called them, they confirmed that we had an appointment. There was no apology of any kind. When I tried to reschedule, I was given no consideration for their previous failure to show up. I was then told to find another provider.

Description of Work
Nothing

Category land surveyor

5.0

03/03/2014


Chris Y.

True Professional; all I had only one conversation and when I went home to see, its already done very perfectly and professionally. I did not request for additional markers but Guy did it to make it perfect and I really like it the work was done and end result. Definitely will recommend Guy and Apex Survey for any one who is looking for professional land surveying to be done ontime without any delay. Thanks again.

Description of Work
Boundary marker on 1/2 acre lot for fencing.

Category land surveyor

5.0

08/08/2012


Richard S.

Mr. Guy Briggs was timely, responsive, courteous, and knowledgeable when I spoke with him about the possibility of doing the work. Once the work was arranged, Hagan Briggs and a colleague came exactly on schedule. They appeared to do the work carefully and in a methodical manner, never seeming to hurry or be rushed. They were polite and friendly to deal with. Their prices were considerably better than other prices that I saw for similar work, some of which were remarkably higher. I would recommend them without hesitation.

Description of Work
Apex Surveys did a survey of our lot in July.

Category land surveyor

5.0

07/05/2012


JOSEPH T.

Both men were professional, efficient, and courteous. Highly recommend!

Description of Work
Located all 5 metal stakes and verified that they were accurate. At our request they placed additional markers along our line so we can sight through the woods.

Category land surveyor

5.0

04/30/2012


Peter C.

I was pleased with their service and I would absolutely use them again.

Description of Work
I hired Apex Surveys to provide a house location survey.

Category land surveyor

    Licensed
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Land surveying. Construction stakeout & boundary surveying. Lot stakes. Wall checks. Physical improvement surveys. Brick points for wall forms. Plats for topographic surveys.

    Services Not Offered

    flood elevation certificates.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Apex Surveys

    How is Apex Surveys overall rated?

    Apex Surveys is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Apex Surveys open?

    Apex Surveys is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Apex Surveys provide

    Apex Surveys accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Apex Surveys offer free estimates?

    Yes, Apex Surveys offers free project estimates.

    Does Apex Surveys offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Apex Surveys does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Apex Surveys?

    No, Apex Surveys does not offer warranties.

    What services does Apex Surveys offer?

    Apex Surveys offers the following services: Land surveying. Construction stakeout & boundary surveying. Lot stakes. Wall checks. Physical improvement surveys. Brick points for wall forms. Plats for topographic surveys.

    Are there any services Apex Surveys does not offer?

    flood elevation certificates.