Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Air Express Appliances

Founded 1994 • With Angi since May 2012

4.1

(29) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

7646 Fullerton Rd

Springfield, VA 22153

Description

Air Express Appliances is a Family-Owned business that has been serving the Northern VA, DC, and MD areas for over 15 years. We work on Commercial and Residential Appliances, Air Conditioning, Heating, and Refrigeration. Are goal is to make sure you have the best service done, In the shortest

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
4.0

06/18/2017


Dana G.

Though there was some initial miscommunication between their office and the technician about arrival times, the technician diagnosis of the problem went quickly. He said he would be back the next day to fix it, but failed to call to say he was sick the next day. Once I called to ask for when he was to come, we arranged for the following day. When he came he got right to work and cleaned and fixed our fireplace with an added remote.

Description of Work
Fixed a fireplace gas ignition.

Category fireplaces

5.0

03/11/2017


Tamara N.

Category appliance repair

3.0

09/11/2016


Vickie N.

Description of Work
I was not impressed with the company. They did fix my washer and dryer, but the service tech did NOT inspire confidence. My washer was on the fritz, but the company charged a flat fee to assess up to 3 appliances, so I decided to have them look at my dryer (which took forever to dry things) and my oven (the thermostat has gotten unreliable). He assessed the washer, and made a diagnosis that made sense. He assessed the dryer and said it was working fine, but said he would replace the heating element anyway. He took one look at my oven and said it was not possible to get replacement parts, but he could get me a good deal on a new one. He never even touched it. I find it hard to believe that a replacement thermostat is not available. He didn't have any of the parts he needed for the washer or the dryer in his truck - despite my providing information over the phone several days before they arrived. He was late to the original appointment and to the follow up appointment. He seemed put out that I didn't have a driveway for him to park in and I had not reserved a parking spot for him in front of my house. I live in DC. Around me all parking is street parking and the only assigned spots are for people with handicapped plates. He would not provide a written estimate and then didn't remember the amount that he told me when he returned. The total price was almost enough to buy new appliances... On the up side, the washer and dryer now work well and the oven is no worse than it was before he arrived.

Category appliance repair

3.0

06/22/2016


Christopher M.

Description of Work
There was an AC tune-up package listed on Angie's List, but the payment system was down. They told me on the phone that they would provide the service and I could just pay the technician. Once he arrived, he denied that all of the things listed on the tune-up were covered. He said the $79 package was the fee just to come out. Upon looking at the system, we decided that I didn't need the tune-up, that it was low on freon and that it would cost $550. I disputed the cost, showed him the average price per pound and called the store manager. They gave me a revised quote of $300 for the job, plus cleaning the condenser foils outside. I think this was a reasonably fair price for services rendered, however, they way I had to go about getting that price was very unprofessional. No complaints on quality of the work.

Category appliance repair

5.0

05/25/2016


joseph J.

Description of Work
.

Category appliance repair

3.0

03/02/2016


Emily T.

The repairman for the company showed up within the timeframe the company told me he would arrive. He fixed the electric Ignition, but when I turned the grill on that evening, I realized that the gas jet did not work properly. This was operating fine before the repairman fixed the ignition for the infrared rotisserie panel. The company offered to send the repairman out within 48 hours. I don't recall the name of the person I spoke to but he did not hesitate to address this situation. When the repairman returned He fixed the problem, but referred to it as a new situation when, in fact, he created the problem during his original visit. After he adjusted the jets. He told me that he would waive the service charge, but if I wanted to give him something I could. I was astounded. This made me question the credibility and integrity of the company.

Description of Work
The provider repaired the electric ignition that ignites the infrared rotisserie panel on by Ducane BBQ grill.

Category appliance repair

5.0

02/26/2016


Denise F.

.

Description of Work
Repaired washing machine. The technician was very knowledgeable. He had all the materials to repair on the same day. He provided excellent services.

Category appliance repair

5.0

01/17/2016


Deborah R.

The provider identified the problem, quickly secured the necessary part and completed the repair in short order. Given the age of the oven, I was pleasantly surprised that the provider worked so diligently to get to the bottom of the problem. I will call this provider in the future when a similar need arises.

Description of Work
The provider repaired an oven which suddenly stopped working.

Category appliance repair

5.0

12/08/2015


Larry H.

Category appliance repair, heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

10/04/2015


Kendra W.

On Saturday, September 26, 2015, my clothes dryer suddenly began to lose heat. At first, it was partially drying my clothes. Then it would not dry them at all. I checked the lint filter, which I clean after every load, and I tried to dry them on different cycles...but to no avail. On Monday, September 28, 2015, I contacted Air Express Appliances, and they agreed to come to my home on Tuesday, September 29, 2015, between 6pm and 8pm to check it out. On Tuesday, Hamid arrived at my home promptly at 07:00pm, even though it was pouring rain outside. He took care to dry himself off and cover his shoes before he came inside. Hamid patiently and methodically explained every thing that he was doing as he ran diagnostic checks on the dryer. To my surprise, though, the dryer was working, and he could not find anything wrong with it. Hamid checked and rechecked everything to be sure he wasn't missing something. He vacuumed/cleaned the lint/dust from all of the internal components before he put the dryer back together. He then went outside, in the pouring rain, to make sure hot air was blowing out of the dryer vent hose. I am extremely appreciative of the care and patience Hamid showed with the diagnostics, especially considering his trip to my home in bad weather, only to find there was nothing wrong with the dryer. Hamid asked me to give Air Express a call if the dryer began to lose heat again. I did laundry again on Saturday, October 3, 2015, and the dryer worked fine. But I will definitely call Air Express in the future should I have any appliance service needs. Thanks Hamid!!

Description of Work
Performed diagnostics on my clothes dryer. Vacuumed/cleaned lint and dust from internal dryer components.

Category appliance repair

5.0

10/04/2015


Theresa L.

He repaired the dripping line, hooked it up as apparently it should have been. Cleaned the floor under and behind in the nook! Couldn't have been more professional! I offered him a cold bottle of water (which he turned down but I certainly wouldn't have minded and actually wanted him to take). I will certainly use again for any needed repair, etc. - I've already told many people about this company. I was only charged for the basic service call.

Description of Work
I had water coming out from under/behind refrigerator (which I found do to a drip in my basement) - he pulled out the refrigerator, found the old water line from previous fridge hadn't been hooked up (even though it wasn't being used) - but it was dripping. He went into the basement, found that line and repaired it.

Category appliance repair, plumbing

4.0

09/08/2015


M L B.

I ended up paying more than the "Big Deal" I purchased. I had to pay more to open up the system to remove light debris that had got caught in there and it wasn't allowing the arm to swing properly.

Description of Work
I purchased a "Big Deal" for Air Express Appliances.

Category appliance repair

5.0

09/04/2015


BettyAnn T.

Our sears Kenmore refrigerator started leaking two days ago. Since it's under warranty, we called Sears. They scheduled us for service on 9/12! We called them back and told them it was an emergency. We were told the tech would call us back. We are still waiting! I looked on Angie's List and called Air Express Appliance Repair Service yesterday. The scheduled us for service to day. Jay arrived on time. He was very professional, knowledgeable and friendly! He was very fast and efficient. We will onlu use this repair service from now on. Thank you Air Express for being there for us and responding so quickly to our S.O.S.

Description of Work
Installed a water valve.

Category appliance repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you for choosing Air Express Appliance, we value our Angies List customers and always do our best to get a technician on location at your earliest convenience. We're glad our technician was able to get your refrigerator up and running, if you need anything please feel free to call us we'd be happy to help!
5.0

08/28/2015


Tiffin T.

Hamid came to home and was very punctual, calling to let me know when he would arrive. He took his time to look at each unit and determined that the compressors are not working. Unfortunately with this type of unit, it doesn't make sense from a cost perspective to fix them so I need to the replace them. He was extremely helpful in explaining and giving me a realistic answer so that I wouldn't pay for unnecessary work. He also asked that I contact him when I am ready to replace. He said he would see if he could get a better price on any unit I was interested in and make sure they were installed properly to maximize the efficiency. He was really great and when I do replace them, Air Express Appliances will be my first call.

Description of Work
I have two wall unit a/c and they are both very noisy to the point of distraction. I wanted someone to come and look at them to see if there was anything that could be done in order to quiet them down.

Category appliance repair, heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time out to write a review for Air Express, we value our Angies List customers! All the feedback we receive means everything to us and we always strive to ensure quality work and prompt scheduling, glad that our service met your expectations!
5.0

05/13/2015


Robin H.

Great. They were on time ,friendly and I haven't had any problems since.

Description of Work
Came out to fix air conditioning unit, had to replace parts.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Dear [Member name removed], We at Air Express value all of our customers to the highest, thank you for selecting us to take care of your HVAC needs, we're glad everything is up and running as it should. If you ever need us please give us a call anytime at 703-838-9007
5.0

09/24/2014


Laily Z.

Went very well. Got a call on the day I requested an appointment online. They sent someone the following day. Got a call notifying my that the repairman was on his way on the day of service. He was professional and fixed my problem. It cost me only $195 to fix the fridge and they deducted the $69 cost of visit from this. Will definitely use them again.

Description of Work
Fixed my refrigerator. Super easy to set up, professional and punctual.

Category appliance repair

Service Provider Response

Dear (removed member name), Thank you for taking the time to let us know what you think of us here at Air Express. We pride ourselves in ensuring we provide the most affordable rates possible. We do our best to ensure a technician is out to you at your earliest convenience! We are happy you chose us please do not hesitate to call us again, Thank you!
1.0

03/24/2014


Joshua L.

The technician arrived at my home and immediately, without performing any troubleshooting, told me that I had a bad thermostat ("100% it is the thermostat"). Having done a little research ahead of time, the symptoms seemed to indicate that it was an issue with the furnace itself and not the thermostat. After pressing with some questions about why the technician thought it was the thermostat (he could not provide a valid reason, and seemed put off that I did not just accept his diagnosis), he finally ran a test. He removed the thermostat and shorted the heat input to the power input (i.e., to turn on the heat). Sure enough, the furnace shut off after a few minutes (even with a hard switch in the ON position to turn on the heat). He then proceeded to tell me that I had a bad control board in the furnace ("100% it is the control board"). At this point, having no confidence in this technician's diagnostic abilities, I sent him on his way without giving Air Express the work. The next day, I had another HVAC technician from another company come in to look at the furnace. This technician performed detailed, knowledgeable troubleshooting, determined that my temperature limit switch was cutting off the furnace because the air temperature was too high (the switch was scorched...which would have been found if the Air Express technician had so much as inspected it), and then found that the reason for the high temperature was that my heat exchanger was cracked, leading to leakage of the hot exhaust gases into the air flow. The crack was evident by just looking at the flame, and the technician then used a fiberscope to inspect the inside of the heat exchanger to find additional cracks. The bottom line is that the Air Express technician was not knowledgeable, and too hastily attempted to make diagnoses. He was also condescending and irritable when I asked questions. If I had ended up using Air Express to replace the control board, I would have spent $500 and my furnace would still be broken. Not to mention, a cracked heat exchanger is a health safety issue, as it can possibly lead to carbon monoxide poisoning. I will never use this contractor again, and suggest that others do the same.

Description of Work
Air Express sent a technician to diagnose a furnace issue. My heat had been cycling on and off. The furnace was able to maintain temperature, but the thermostat was continuously cycling once every couple minutes or so.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

06/18/2013


Bejan M.

Very professional service. The guy came at the time he said he will, the matter was urgent for me because the freezer was full & he came right away and fixed for less than my original quote from a different company. He showed me what the problem was gave me exact details & was upfront about everything. I have used this company before & they always take of my problems in a timely & efficient manner. I recommend them to others all the time.

Description of Work
Fixed a freezer for way less than competitor's quote

Category appliance repair

1.0

08/05/2011


mark D.

In a nutshell, PROPERTY DESTRUCTION/NEGLIGENCE/ LOSS OF (my) PROPERTY/ AND COMPLETE AND TOTAL REFUSAL TO ACKNOWLEDGE OR RESPOND...! Overall my experience with Air Express was extremely poor. The only acceptable work accomplished was the initial repair of the original washing machine ($300-something). When delivery day arrived for the new washer/dryer unit, the whole experience was a disaster: The appliance techs damaged a 125-year-old brick archway inside the house (which was in 100% intact, pristine condition), and the estimator did not properly plan for the electrical connections (had to use EXTENSION CORD!?!) To top it all off, the appliance installersSI PLACED THE ORIGINAL stackable NEWLY-REPAIRED washer/dryer unit ON THE SI DEWALK in front of my house, INSTEAD OF TRANSFERRING IT to the other location INSIDE THE HOUSE that I had requested. I live on a very busy street, and the just-repaired WASHING MACHINE was immediately stolen off the curb. When I asked what happened to the original washing machine, the appliance techs were dumbfounded. They called their supervisor, who AFFIRMED that the older washer/dryer units were to be moved elsewhere in my house. However when I spoke to the supervisor myself, he immediately went on the offensive and blamed me, asking "Why didn't you stop them from disposing of the old unit?" (I explained that I was working at home that day and trusted that the work would be done as we had contracted). When the supervisor (named Angel, I think?) later visited my house, he (!) promised replacement of the stolen washer with a reconditioned, reasonably similar unit, and (2) when I asked him to put this in writing, he did. However, since that very day I have not heard one word from the company, despite my many attempts to arrange for them to uphold their promise. As a matter of fact, I last emailed the company 3 days ago, and have again not heard a word from them. Unless you have unlimited funds, and having your home damaged by installers would not bother you, STAY CLEAR OF THIS COMPANY! Angel

Description of Work
Contracted with Air Express to (1) repair clothes washer, part of a stackable washer/dryer unit, and (2) move this newly repaired washer/dryer unit to another location in my house, and (3) purchase new, larger, heavy-duty stackable washer/dryer to be installed where the original one was

Category appliance repair, appliance sales

3.0

06/03/2011


Elaine B.

I needed a garbage disposal repaired & I had used this company before. The big problem I had was that first the guy tried to sell me a new garbage disposal. When I said no, VIOLA, he found that the problem was minor & easily fixed (something metal stuck in the blades). While the service & quality was fine, I did not appreciate the attempt to sell me something I didn't need.

Description of Work
Garbage disposal repair.

Category plumbing

1.0

05/26/2011


tanya D.

This was the worst experience i have ever had. I was buying a home and the seller hired this company. The problems to the HVAC /water heater were obvious and in writing. They "fixed it the week before I closed on the house. At final walk through we saw that the HVAC piping that should have been rerouted so that a filter could fit in was still wrong and the technical had made a "homemade" filter that was shoved into the HVAC and stuck. The water heater had a burnt element on top and a element with no current on bottom both set at a 150 degrees. The top was fixed but the bottom element was not. It was still set at 150. I closed on the house the next day with the promise that they would be back in 2 days to fix it. The technical was 4 hours late for the appt and rude! He was an arrogant jerk who I will never hire again. He finally fixed the HVAC correctly but argued about the water heater. He only wanted to turn down the temp just to make me happy. I forced him to test the current and sure enough...there was no current. He spent a few more hours draining the water heater and fixing it. At the end...his last words were "Am I don't with you now?" I will tell everyone NEVER to hire this company.

Description of Work
Attempted to fix water heater and HVAC. it took them 3 times to get it right.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, water heater repair

Service Provider Response

We do sincerely apologize for the trouble you had with our company. I understand how stressful and how much of a hassle that was for you. We have new management and a new team. Hope that you can forgive us for our technician's unacceptable behavior and attitude, don't worry that technician has been terminated from our company and you will if you choose to call us back never have to deal with him again. And we will give you a Great discount for you troubles, if you choose to use us again. Thank you for your time and we do sincerely apologize for what happened
5.0

09/25/2008


Polly B.

What I like about them is that they are prompt and return calls. They are able to fix all sorts of appliances. They are very knowledgeable in the work they do.

Description of Work
They came to our place and repaired our dishwasher.

Category appliance repair

1.0

10/14/2007


Karen C.

Repairman appeared for the estimate. He was arrogant and rude but diagnosed the problem quickly. We proceeded to request the necessary repairs. We were repeatedly provided deadlines for the repair work. Company never called us. We repeatedly waited several days past the estimated deadlines to contact them and were given new deadlines. This proceeded for 6 weeks with no results. Company was extremely unreliable, unresponsive and rude. We ended up canceling the work altogether.

Description of Work
Requested diagnosis and repair on two gas fireplaces.

Category fireplaces

3.0

01/29/2007


LYNNEMARIE B.

My appointment was from 12 to 2pm. Since no one had arrived by 2pm, I called the repair company. They said that their records stated my appointment was until 3pm. At 4:45 pm, the repairman had not arrived, so I decided to call and cancel. Before I could cancel, the phone rang and the company stated they would be there in 15 minutes. The company arrived at 5:10 pm and immediately went to work repairing my dryer. My dryer was repaired in about 15 minutes.

Description of Work
My dryer would heat but would not spin. Repairman Moe immediately went to work installing a new belt. He also fixed the dryer's broken door, which I knew about but had not reported.

Category appliance repair

5.0

09/25/2005


CHRISTINA C.

THEY CAME IN ON TIME AND GOT STRAIGHT TO WORK. THEY KNEW THE MODEL OF MY WASHER AND KNEW HOW TO FIX IT. OVERALL, IT WAS A GOOD OVERALL EXPERIENCE. I WOULD DEFINITELY HIRE THEM AGAIN.

Description of Work
THEY CAME IN AND FIXED OUR WASHER. THEY BROUGHT ALL THE TOOLS THAT WERE NEEDED AND WORKED EFFICIENTLY. THEY WERE ABLE TO FIND THE PROBLEM AND FIXED IT QUICKLY.

Category appliance repair

    Other local Pros in your area

    EAGLES HVAC SERVICES

    Eagles HVAC Services CONTRACTOR A LICENSED HVAC AND GAS MASTER HVAC AND MASTER GAS FITTERS, NATE CERTIFIED Specialised in Heating and Air conditioning Service, Repair,Troubleshooting and installation Eagles Hvac Services is Proudly serves Aldie and surrounded cities in Loudoun County,Fairfax County,Arlington County and Prince William county  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Cosmos Heating & Cooling Co

    Cosmos Heating & Cooling, a family owned business and now Best Selling author on Amazon of the following self-help book: Insider Secrets Of The HVAC Experts. They have been servicing the Northern Virginia area since it was founded in 1986 by Constantis “Gus” Christofi. The one man operation thrived through unending dedication, commitment to quality, and honest hard work. For the past 7 years, with his son George at his side, the family-owned heritage continues to afford its customers with unmatched service, excellence and skilled quality work. We Are Licensed & Insured and Service All Unit Brands. Additional contact name - George Christofi. Award winning.  

    Angi Certified

    Indoor Air Quality Medics

    We are a total home comfort services company that can handle everything from heating and air conditioning to duct cleaning and insulation. Our healthy home comfort specialists have the knowledge and skills to provide thorough service for every inspection, repair, or replacement of your home's heating, air conditioning, water heating, and indoor air quality systems. We pride ourselves in building a relationship with you, as the difference between a good company and an excellent company is the SERVICE provided, including long after the first call. With over 20 years experience and workmanship that is second to none, we are confident that we will keep your home comfortable and the air you breathe clean at all times!  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Offers by Indoor Air Quality Medics on Angi

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Free estimate only with repair
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Commercial and residential heating and A/C, gas grill, gas fireplace, gas logs, water heaters, appliance repair large & small.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Air Express Appliances

    How is Air Express Appliances overall rated?

    Air Express Appliances is currently rated 4.1 overall out of 5.

    What days are Air Express Appliances open?

    Air Express Appliances is open:

    Sunday: 9:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Air Express Appliances provide

    Air Express Appliances accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Air Express Appliances offer free estimates?

    No, Air Express Appliances does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Air Express Appliances offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Air Express Appliances does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Air Express Appliances offer a senior discount?

    No, Air Express Appliances does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Air Express Appliances offer emergency services?

    Yes, Air Express Appliances offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Air Express Appliances?

    No, Air Express Appliances does not offer warranties.

    What services does Air Express Appliances offer?

    Air Express Appliances offers the following services: Commercial and residential heating and A/C, gas grill, gas fireplace, gas logs, water heaters, appliance repair large & small.