Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Powell's Painting & Home Repair

Founded 2006 • With Angi since January 2014

4.6

(9) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1618 James River Road

Scottsville, VA 24590

Description

Powell's Painting & Home Repair specializes in Painting, carpentry, remodeling, and handyman services. We offer a senior citizen and a military discount. We also accept all major credit cards.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Kay L.
5.0
06/13/2018
Very professional and efficient will absolutely call for more jobs and recommend them
Description of Work
Minor kitchen work
Category
handyman service
Shannon C.
5.0
09/04/2017
Everything went very smooth and easy. Will definitely be calling them again to tackle some more projects...
Description of Work
We had bathroom flooring and livingroom flooring put down and both looked amazing. We also had the livingroom painted and a door replaced on a bedroom and everything was done in a timely manner and in a very professional way.
Category
hardwood floor, interior painters
Amanda H.
5.0
08/14/2017
It went great!
Description of Work
exterior and interior painting
Category
house painters, interior painters
Timothy T.
2.0
07/23/2017
As for the painting, a lot of places where missed that we had to point out. Then the paint on the inside didn't cover with 2 coats of their paint, so the job isn't complete. Got a little off the price, but I'm having to paint the ceilings again and trim the walls. If you get a comparable bid, I wouldn't use hire these guys. The quality doesn't match the price. Included ceiling shot and two coats of paint on my doors.
Description of Work
Originally had painting quoted for inside and outside of the house (Outside is mostly brick). Then had them do our back step which wasn't put in writing, so communication was lost and still don't have a finished product.
Category
woodworking, house painters, interior painters

Service Provider Response

Mr. [Member Name Removed], I appreciate you taking the time to post a review on Angie's list. I'm sorry that you aren't happy that we didn't give you more free work. My estimate for interior and exterior painting was for two coats, we went ahead and applied a third coat at no charge to you. Also I gave you an estimate to replace rails on your back porch with white vinyl rails, then you thought the replacement of the floor was included, we even did that for you at no charge, then you wanted us to stain that for free also, that's where I drew the line. Me nor my employees do this as a hobby we do this to feed our family's, we will go the extra mile to make our customers happy even if that means doing a little free work, but when it never ends we have to put an end to it at some point. I apologize that we couldn't give you enough free work to make you happy but we definitely tried. Best regards Michael Powell
John D.
5.0
11/04/2016
The work was thorough and of the highest quality. Michael and his crew did an excellent job. They were timely, responsive, professional, very neat and polite. I would definitely recommend their work an will use again in the future.
Description of Work
Power wash and stain deck which is 1300sq/ft with 250 feet of railings, on 2 levels, the top level being 3 stories up.
Category
decks, deck cleaning, house painters
Dana C.
5.0
10/05/2016
Mike Powell's crew did wonderful work of high quality in a very timely fashion. He was able to begin work within about a week from the estimate. The price seemed very fair and I was provided with a detailed written estimate. Mike was extremely responsive and kept me up to date about all aspects of the work in progress, including sending pictures which was essential since I live several hours away from this property. When I asked about additional work at one time, Mike advised me in a way that felt very honest and helped me avoid damage to the home. I am very pleased and highly recommend Mike Powell!
Description of Work
List of home repairs and painting (replacing rotted wood, painting trim and porch, sealing metal roof, repairing roof, repairing stonework, etc.)
Category
decks, handyman service, woodworking, house painters
Tara S.
5.0
04/16/2014
I'm a Realtor, and I use Mike all the time because always reliable and priced competitively. So hard to find someone who can do lots of things and who you can count on to get things done timely.
Description of Work
Replaced rotten wood, repaired a deck, replaced handrails on a porch, powerwashed, painted.
Category
decks, drywall, handyman service, deck cleaning, garage builders, woodworking, house painters, interior painters
John M.
5.0
04/15/2014
Mike and his crew installed drywall on the ceiling and walls of our previously unfinished basement. They showed up on time every morning and the quality of work was top notch. After hanging and applying mud on the drywall, they applied a couple coats of paint to the walls and ceiling. The price was extremely reasonable and less than we originally budgeted. When one crack appeared in the drywall a few days later, Mike came out the next day to patch and re-paint. Tough to beat this quality of work for the price, and I definitely will use them for any future drywall projects.
Description of Work
Hang drywall on ceiling and walls in basement, applied mud, and painted the drywall.
Category
drywall, interior painters
Judy S.
5.0
04/15/2014
He always responds immediately and has always finished on time. His prices are fair and competitive. He has never let me down.
Description of Work
I refer Mike to all my clients for their handyman type needs. He just recently did some deck repairs for a client and previously repaired and replaced some rotten wood on the exterior. Mike has also painted my personal home. He has completed several projects for me on some bank owned properties I manage.
Category
drywall, handyman service, remodeling, replacement windows, garage builders, home remodeling, house painters, interior painters

    Other local Pros in your area

    Eastside Landscaping and Property Maintenance, LLC

    We are a landscaping company providing a wide range of property maintenance services  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Schrock's Custom Painting

    I am a owner-operator of Schrock's Custom Painting. I repair dry wall and paint your interior. I am a owner-operator with 25+ years experience in painting. I do quality work. I also clean up behind myself.  

    Angi Certified

    F & D Painting

    With over 20+ years of professional experience, I am here to meet all your Interior and Exterior Painting needs and dreams.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Interior and exterior painting and staining. All phases of carpentry and drywall. Deck construction and or repair. Siding repair or replacement. Window and door replacement. Pressure washing, gutter cleaning. Light electrical and plumbing. Handyman services. Basement finishing.

    Services Not Offered

    Heating and air work.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Powell's Painting & Home Repair

    How is Powell's Painting & Home Repair overall rated?

    Powell's Painting & Home Repair is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are Powell's Painting & Home Repair open?

    Powell's Painting & Home Repair is open:

    Sunday: Open All Day

    Monday: Open All Day

    Tuesday: Open All Day

    Wednesday: Open All Day

    Thursday: Open All Day

    Friday: Open All Day

    Saturday: Open All Day

    What payment options does Powell's Painting & Home Repair provide

    Powell's Painting & Home Repair accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal

    Does Powell's Painting & Home Repair offer free estimates?

    Yes, Powell's Painting & Home Repair offers free project estimates.

    Does Powell's Painting & Home Repair offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Powell's Painting & Home Repair offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Powell's Painting & Home Repair offer a senior discount?

    No, Powell's Painting & Home Repair does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Powell's Painting & Home Repair offer emergency services?

    Yes, Powell's Painting & Home Repair offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Powell's Painting & Home Repair?

    Yes, Powell's Painting & Home Repair offers warranties.

    What services does Powell's Painting & Home Repair offer?

    Powell's Painting & Home Repair offers the following services: Interior and exterior painting and staining. All phases of carpentry and drywall. Deck construction and or repair. Siding repair or replacement. Window and door replacement. Pressure washing, gutter cleaning. Light electrical and plumbing. Handyman services. Basement finishing.

    Are there any services Powell's Painting & Home Repair does not offer?

    Heating and air work.