Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Frank S Eways Fine Rugs & Gallery

Founded 1934 • With Angi since July 2010

5.0

(64) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

347 Moore Rd

Ruckersville, VA 22968

Description

My grandfather, Salem M. Eways, came to the United States as a Stone Mason. In the late 1920s, he began selling fine textiles door-to-door in New York City, until he and his brother found an opportunity to earn money cleaning and repairing rugs. With dedication and hard work, they built the

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Robert K.
5.0
06/23/2017
Excellent service and very professional. We'll use again when the time comes.
Description of Work
This is the second time we used them to clean two 10x12 Asian rugs. They picked up and delivered the rugs on our schedule. They also stored the rugs for two additional weeks while we had our hard wood floors refinished.
Category
oriental rug cleaning
Sandra L.
5.0
08/30/2016
Mr. Frank Eways, Mr. Frank Eways, Jr., and the late Mr. Munier Eways gave us invaluable insight into purchase and placement of the rugs we bought. We are tremendously satisfied with our purchases, and with the excellent cleaning of our several small rugs. Most importantly we trust the Eways family and would buy again; and would recommend to anyone in search of quality and service. They - and their outstanding staff - are respected members of the Central Virginia and Charlottesville community.
Description of Work
We had several small handmade rugs cleaned, and they were cleaned to perfection! They were picked up on time, delivered and placed back in our house on time. We also purchased two new, beautiful, large oriental woolen carpets from the Eways gallery. It took time and effort for their staff to retrieve, unfold, present, describe in detail while we looked (and learned about) at so many, many carpets. Carpet buying is not something done in a hurry, and they never rushed us or made us feel pressured. Their knowledge of fabric, design, origin is superior.
Category
oriental rug cleaning
Irene K.
5.0
07/25/2016
I thought the rug was ruined, and we'd never be able to use it again. Frank treated, re-treated, and re-re--treated the stain. Imagine my surprise and delight when the rug was returned to me a week or so later, and I couldn't tell there had ever been a stain on it! Thank you, Frank! You are a true professional, and a man with great integrity. I am so grateful to you!
Description of Work
My 10-year-old niece ate berries for breakfast, and a couple of hours later, threw up on a custom ivory rug in the guest room. She didn't clean it up and didn't tell anyone, so it was another couple of hours before we discovered the huge purple stain. I called Frank, who told me how to treat the stain until he could have the rug picked up the following morning.
Category
oriental rug cleaning
James P.
5.0
02/14/2016
They did a superb job cleaning the rug and restoring the colors. Can't say enough about the great service and reasonable cost for the service. Frank Eway , Jr took the time to view the rug, determine it's approximate value and explain the process they use to clean the rug.
Description of Work
thoroughly cleaned and removed stains from an oriental rug we inherited from my mother-in-law.
Category
oriental rug cleaning
Stephen S.
5.0
03/13/2015
We asked for it to be done slow because we were cleaning things out to have our kitchen remodeled, so we didn't want it back before the remodel was done. It came back fine.
Description of Work
Cleaned a handmade Tibetan rug.
Category
oriental rug cleaning
Frank R.
5.0
08/18/2014
Frank and his loyal associates spent hours with us showing us hundreds of rugs. If you have ever shopped for fine, handwoven oriental rugs, you will appreciate how physically demanding it is for the dealer and his helpers to display this number of selections. Rugs are heavy. It takes great strength and stamina to handle them. Frank, whose grandfather established the Charlottesville business half a century ago, is as amiable a person as you are likely to meet, and his love of the ancient craft of oriental rug weaving turns your shopping trip into a cultural experience. He is also built like a fullback, and his hardworking crew have to hustle to keep up with him. This all comes together when Frank and his guys arrive at your house, expertly move your heavy furniture (ours is insanely heavy), and adroitly position your treasure in precisely the right place. Frank also cleans fine rugs, so we sent him back with our Danish dining room rug to bring back to life. Frank plans to open a new gallery in Charlottesville proper, keeping the Ruckersville location for rug cleaning and restoration. We are delighted with our purchases and the considerable service we received along with them.
Description of Work
My wife and I bought three new exquisite handwoven oriental rugs from Frank S. Eways Fine Rugs & Gallery. Frank, the owner, greeted us, showed us his wonderful high quality inventory, listened carefully to our sometimes contradictory descriptions of what we were looking for, and helped guide us through the selection process with great insight and understanding. I have bought Persian rugs before, and I can recognize good craftsmanship when I see it. Frank has a superb collection of top quality oriental rugs at affordable prices. Having looked around, I can say with confidence that you would pay a lot more for comparable merchandise elsewhere.
Category
oriental rug cleaning
Jeffrey F.
5.0
08/17/2014
When we picked up the rug, it looked like a new rug. There was no evidence that a repair had been done as the quality was excellent. And the rug was cleaner than it has been in years! Both Frank, Sr. and Frank, Jr. are very accommodating and a pleasure to deal with. They clearly know rugs and are dedicated to making their customers happy. While they are relatively expensive compared to other Oriental rug shops, the quality of their work justifies the higher cost. We highly recommend them and would use them again.
Description of Work
We took a 30 year old Oriental rug that is one of our favorites to Eways for cleaning and to have repaired some fraying on about 30" on one edge of the rug.
Category
carpet cleaners, oriental rug cleaning
Lee D.
5.0
08/01/2014
Frank Eways is an outstanding merchant and we will do business with him again, happily. We rated all 'A's as an accurate evaluation of an outstanding merchant. Not only was Frank himself a pleasure to deal with, but his staff was equally professional, friendly and helpful in his absence. We will enjoy doing business with him again.
Description of Work
cleaning and repair of two oriental rugs
Category
carpet cleaners, oriental rug cleaning
Reecye M.
5.0
08/01/2014
Personable, pleasant, thorough...a delight to work with.
Description of Work
large oriental carpet removed, cleaned, deodorized, moth proofed, replaced.
Category
carpet cleaners, oriental rug cleaning
Shirley F.
5.0
08/01/2014
They're extremely efficient, do a fine job, and they're knowledgeable. They're very pleasant to work with as well. Mr. Eways is a certified oriental rug specialist and his son is very knowledgeable as well. I've used them for both new and antique rugs in the past. We drive 20 miles to take the rugs to them because they're so great, it's worth the trip.
Description of Work
They've cleaned 5 oriental rugs for us in the last 18 months.
Category
oriental rug cleaning
John D.
5.0
07/31/2014
They did an excellent job. They had the rug for a couple of weeks. I dropped the rug off myself.
Description of Work
They cleaned and repaired an old rug.
Category
carpet cleaners, oriental rug cleaning
Tony C.
5.0
07/30/2014
It went great. They are really really nice to deal with and they did a beautiful job.
Description of Work
They repaired and cleaned an oriental rub
Category
carpet installation, oriental rug cleaning
LYRIA B H.
5.0
07/30/2014
They accepted my Angie's List coupon and I had told them that ahead of time. I had no problems at all and the work was wonderful. The service techs were very good. They took my carpet out to my car & loaded it for me too. The carpets were ready when they said it was time.
Description of Work
They cleaned a rug and a matching runner.
Category
carpet cleaners, oriental rug cleaning
Judy S.
5.0
07/21/2014
They did a great job, were very professional. I just thought they were a little expensive.
Description of Work
cleaned oriental carpets
Category
oriental rug cleaning
Nancy & Paul H.
5.0
07/21/2014
They are great folks! Willing to redo a job if it didn't come out like you thought. Service top notch. Delivery as well. I have used them several times and wouldn't consider using anyone else and I am very picky!!!!!!!
Description of Work
Clean several rugs
Category
oriental rug cleaning
Frank S.
5.0
07/21/2014
They were prompt and did an excellant job of cleaning. I would definitely use them again.
Description of Work
Picked up and cleaned and moth proofed Oriental Rugs
Category
oriental rug cleaning
John S.
5.0
07/21/2014
Arrived and picked up rugs on time. Returned then very well cleaned and on time
Description of Work
Cleaned 'Persian' rugs
Category
oriental rug cleaning
Jean G.
5.0
07/21/2014
The carpet was cleaned beautifully and I was surprised to see the carpet look so new. What a great and professional job they do!
Description of Work
Cleaned my oriental carpets.
Category
carpet cleaners, oriental rug cleaning
Marylouise C.
5.0
07/21/2014
Just lovely people...do a great job
Description of Work
Clean oriental carpet
Category
oriental rug cleaning
Elizabeth B.
5.0
06/07/2014
For a better price than what providers in Richmond charge, they cleaned, and moth-proofed all of our rugs. They charged less since I delivered and picked up our rugs. Only if you know where to look can you see where the 6" hole was repaired. On the numerous trips to Frank S. Eways, everyone with whom I interacted was very pleasant and professional.
Description of Work
Cleaned all and repaired a hole in one of our oriental rugs.
Category
oriental rug cleaning
Patricia K.
5.0
05/13/2014
They were polite, helpful, got the job done when they said they would - overall a great experience, I would not hesitate to use them again or recommend them to others!
Description of Work
They cleaned our oriental rug - overall it was just in need of a good cleaning, and it needed to be deodorized (dog urine).
Category
carpet cleaners, oriental rug cleaning
BOB AND MARGARET R.
5.0
02/09/2014
These folks were so nice and did a great job on our carpet. We were moving so they even stored the carpet for us over a month so we wouldn't have to transport it twice. They loaded the carpet into the car. Just an all around pleasant experience from a lovely local family.
Description of Work
Cleaned 9 by 14 oriental rug, skipped mothproofing as per our request
Category
oriental rug cleaning
John P.
5.0
01/01/2014
Our experience with The Eways family was excellent from start to finish. They were a pleasant surprise following our experience with a larger Persian rug company that included: 1) an inferior cleaning, 2) a significant overestimate of rug value, and 3) a corresponding exorbitant restoration estimate. The other company estimated our rug to be worth over $7,000, and they suggested restoring the rug at a cost of over $2,000. At first sight, Frank Eways Sr. called me to say that the rug was worth $3,500, and it was not worth the added cost to restore the rug. As a certified appraiser with significant experience serving as an expert witness on the value of Persian rugs, I felt confident in Mr. Eways' value assessment. Unlike his competitor, he recommended less expensive repairs, including removing an added fringe and exposing the original fringe, and repairing small holes in the rug. At not additional cost, the Eways company cleaned the rug (which it needed despite the cleaning by the larger company). Frank Eways Jr. met me at a convenient location in Charlottesville so that I did not have to drive the additional distance to their store. He was friendly, courteous, and a true professional. He performed the repairs himself, and the quality is outstanding. The fringe looks excellent, and the repairs are indiscernible unles you carefully look at the bottom of the rug. Overall, an outstanding experience. I highly recommend the Eways family for Persian rug cleaning and repair.
Description of Work
The Eways family assessed the value of a forsaken Persian rug, made appropriate repair recommendations based on rug value, cleaned the rug, and completed the repairs.
Category
oriental rug cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the nice review. It was such a pleasure to meet with you (Member name removed). It means a lot to our family that you were satisfied in your experience with us, and we hope to work with you more in the future. From our family to yours, we wish you a happy, healthy, and safe New Year! Sincerely, Frank Eways, Jr
LYRIA B H.
5.0
12/20/2013
Very well! Technicians were pleasant, professional and helpful. They even showed me how to put down an underlayment on the runner and showed me what type to get.
Description of Work
Cleaned an area rug and matching runner
Category
oriental rug cleaning
Sheridan R.
5.0
10/21/2013
The absolute BEST SERVICE EVER!!! Frank and his crew came to my house and picked up several oriental rugs to be cleaned. I didn't have to move any furniture. They did it all themselves. Approx. ten days later they returned the cleaned carpets. They placed all furniture back in it's original location. After a few days, I noticed one of the rugs still had a faint pet odor. Frank was more than happy to come back and pick up the carpet to treat again, at no additional cost. Frank's main concern was/is customer satisfaction. The rug was returned like new. He used a cleaning product specifically for pet odor and it worked beautifully! I'm extremely happy with the results and would recommend this company to EVERYONE!!
Description of Work
Cleaned several very large oriental rugs.
Category
oriental rug cleaning

    Other local Pros in your area

    GROUT & CARPET WIZARDS

    Winner of Angies List Super Service award 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 & 2018 Grout & Carpet Wizards is a locally owned business by Angelo Jennings. Thank You to all our central Virginia customers! We provide the following services; Organic Carpet & Upholstery Cleanings Tile & Grout Restoration - Re-grouting and Re-caulking of showers, bathtub surrounds and countertops. We can apply color sealers to your grout which will make the grout uniform in color and stain resistant without removing the grout. Tile Repair and Installation. Residential & Commercial Free Estimates. 10% discount for Angies list members!! Numerous references available  

    Angi Certified

    TrueClean of Virginia

    True Clean of Virginia uses Green Certified solutions to achieve the healthiest clean! Whether hard or soft surfaces, our combined cleaning methods really do restore your carpets, rugs, upholstery, tile and grout, and more.  

    Angi Certified

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Rug sales, cleaning, repair & appraisals.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Frank S Eways Fine Rugs & Gallery

    How is Frank S Eways Fine Rugs & Gallery overall rated?

    Frank S Eways Fine Rugs & Gallery is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Frank S Eways Fine Rugs & Gallery open?

    Frank S Eways Fine Rugs & Gallery is open:

    Monday: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM

    What payment options does Frank S Eways Fine Rugs & Gallery provide

    Frank S Eways Fine Rugs & Gallery accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard

    Does Frank S Eways Fine Rugs & Gallery offer free estimates?

    No, Frank S Eways Fine Rugs & Gallery does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Frank S Eways Fine Rugs & Gallery offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Frank S Eways Fine Rugs & Gallery does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Frank S Eways Fine Rugs & Gallery offer a senior discount?

    No, Frank S Eways Fine Rugs & Gallery does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Frank S Eways Fine Rugs & Gallery?

    No, Frank S Eways Fine Rugs & Gallery does not offer warranties.

    What services does Frank S Eways Fine Rugs & Gallery offer?

    Frank S Eways Fine Rugs & Gallery offers the following services: Rug sales, cleaning, repair & appraisals.