Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

River City Heating & Air

Founded 1992 • With Angi since December 2013

4.5

(11) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

6404 Mallory Dr

Richmond, VA 23226

Description

With more than 20 years of experience servicing and installing HVAC, air conditioning and heating in Richmond, VA and the nearby areas, River City Heating and Air has earned a well-deserved reputation for excellence in the industry. We place the utmost importance on your comfort, keeping you cool in the summer and warm in the winter. Our HVAC, heating and air conditioning technicians are experts in the field, well-trained, experienced, and capable, whether you need routine maintenance, emergency repairs, or expert installation of a new system. River City Heating and Air is proud to offer service in Midlothian, Chesterfield, Short Pump, Glen Allen, and throughout the Richmond area. Call us today! Additional email - ute@rivercityheatingair.com....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

05/08/2019


Ann H.

I have a home warranty with 2-10 Warranty company. I put in an online service request 5/5/19 to 2-10 specifically stating that my condominium has a roof top air conditioning unit. I drove over an hour to be at the condo by 8:00 am, as I was given an 8-noon window. At 8:04 River City called telling me they do not service roof top units. I was told the technician recognized the address and realized it was a roof top unit. I told the contact at River City that I specifically stated in the work order that I had a roof top unit and she said that information was not passed along to them by the warranty co. I then called 2-10 warranty to inform them of the situation. 2-10 told me when an online work order is submitted, the exact information I type on the service request is transmitted to the contractor via their automated system. It appears River City did not read the description I included on the service request, then blamed the warranty company for not telling them it was a roof top unit. This is how my service request read: "Unit comes on but blows warm air. Temperature in house increases while unit constantly runs. Need a contractor who is familiar with roof top units on top of condo at Regency Woods Condominiums." So here I sit after a 1.5 hour drive to Richmond, still no air conditioning, and a company that was less than truthful and has screwed up my whole day, not to mention costing me money for gas and wear and tear on my vehicle.

Description of Work
Air Conditioning system not working

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

05/02/2018


Bruce W.

River City had great price, a excellent time frame from time of decision to completing install in my home. The technicians were a pleasure to work with, and went above and beyond to make sure things were installed quickly, and correctly. I was told it would take all day, and they actually were done early. All debris, and old equipment was cleaned up, and removed from my property. It was a pleasure working with everyone at River City

Description of Work
Complete system change out to include Heat Pump, Air Handler, drain pan, heat pump pad, thermostat, and setup

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

02/03/2017


Tessie G.

.

Description of Work
.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

1.0

04/28/2016


Norma S.

We contacted our warranty insurance and specifically requested River City Heating & Air, since the tech had already diagnosed the problem and he seemed professional and knowledgeable. The tech, in turn, responded to AHS (our warranty company) with the following comment: "The duct was damaged due to improper installation, not normal wear and tear". Here are a few problems with that statement: 1. He never mentioned this so-called cause to us on his prior visit. He told us it was age related. 2. He LIED by saying he came to our home a second time, which he did not, thus causing us to be billed an additional service fee. Notice I said "billed" a service fee. We have never billed a service fee, even when asked if we could be billed. Payment is required at the time a tech visits your home. No one came a second time. There is always someone at my home and he would have to enter our garage to get to the large intake duct. 3. AHS customer service took the word of River City customer service because the tech claimed he visited our home a 2nd time. 4. River City quoted a price of $750+ to repair the duct. 5. We built this home from the ground up 18 years ago. If there was an issue with installation it would have presented itself long before now. We are not sure why River City changed their tune as to what happened to the intake duct, but whatever the reason, it wasn't honest and we will not allow them on our property again.

Description of Work
River City responded to our 1st service request quite timely as our home warranty insurance dispatched our request to them. The tech was able to offer a solution to our furnace constantly shutting off. He then told us the main intake duct was bent and needed to be repaired; check with the warranty company to see if its covered...which duct work is covered. The tech indicated he knew the duct work would be covered because it was from normal wear and tear.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

06/11/2015


Matthew J.

I contacted my home warranty company due to my 2nd floor unit not dropping below 79 degrees, and was assigned River City Heating and Air to perform the work. Not only was the turnaround time extremely quick (warranty call placed on the evening of 6/9) they communicated very well with me on the scheduling of the tech. The technician that arrived (Gary) was very courteous and polite. Gary seemed extremely knowledgeable, and was very efficient while working on my units. He answered all the questions I had for him with in-depth explanations (The home is new to me, and I am relatively un-educated on the HVAC equipment currently installed) so this was very much welcomed information. Although the work required on my unit was minor, Gary ensured that if we have any problems, or notice the unit not cooling in the future to not hesitate and give them a call. Overall, I was extremely impressed with the professionalism of River City, and would not hesitate to call them again if needed. Keep up the great work!

Description of Work
2nd floor heat pump stopped maintaining temperature

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

03/10/2015


cynthia P.

it went very well the tech came out in the early part of the 4 hour window that I was told to expect him in. he went under the house to check out all the equipment under there and also checked out my heatpump. he said a circuit board had gone bad in the unit and had to be replaced. he ordered the part and is coming out tomorrow to install it it only took 5 days to order receive and install the part. I think that is great

Description of Work
came out after my home warranty company contacted them to look at and fix my heatpump

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

4.0

06/01/2014


Andy S.

I discovered this company because they had a deep-discount Val-Pak coupon to replace a home's entire heating and cooling system (heat pump AND inside air-handling system). However, I learned the package deal is for only the smallest of homes. My home is 2-story and almost 2000 square feet, so the deep-discount system was a bit too small for my needs. Still, I had them come out to estimate installing a whole-house humidifier. (During our extremely cold winter just a few months before, I decided I needed something to help the heat pump make the house less dry and warmer feeling.) River City's owner, Bobby, came out and did a quick estimate to install the humidifier and repair my air handler fan, which was not working properly (wouldn't come on some of the time). Dominion Power was offering a complimentary system checkup to all their customers, so I asked Bobby if River City would do that as well (and bill Dominion). He said they do. After he left, I had James River Heating and A/C come out a few days later to estimate the same project. Their price was a bit higher than River City's so I phoned River City back and scheduled the work (install humidifier + fix fan problem + perform whole system checkup). They couldn't get to it for two weeks. The young technician (Ryan) who showed up was polite, but didn't seem to be the sharpest tool in the shed when I asked him questions about the humidifier he was installing. For example, the digital readout on the new humidifier was giving bizarre readings that kept changing every minute or so. When I asked about it, Ryan didn't know why it was doing it so he read the small brochure that came with the unit... over and over. He assured me it was "probably fine", but I didn't find that comforting... especially since I won't be able to test the humidifier until the winter -- 7 months from now. On my insistence, Ryan made a note on the repair order that I was concerned the newly installed humidifier may not function properly so if there is a problem this winter, River City will fix it at no charge to me. When I asked Ryan about doing the system checkup, he said no one at his office had mentioned it so he didn't have the equipment to do it on his truck. Adding insult to injury, Ryan told me he repaired my fan problem, but after he left, I learned he had not fixed it and in fact, had made it worse... the fan would not come on at all, so I had no a/c for a few days. I phoned the River City office to report the fan not working and to find out why Ryan wasn't informed about the system checkup. The office personnel I spoke with didn't offer an explanation, or even much of an apology, but did schedule another technician to come out on Saturday. I requested the technician NOT be Ryan again, and "politely" explained why. The woman said the technician coming to my house on Saturday was a "senior" technician, not Ryan. The technician showed up on Saturday afternoon. He was older and a bit gruff... didn't smile or say much... was also a bit disheveled looking... like a car mechanic at the end of the day. His name was Brian. He performed the system checkup, fixed the fan problem, but he too, didn't know why the newly installed humidifier was giving strange/changing digital readings. He said he would look into it and let me know what he found out. To my recollection, I don't think I ever heard back from River City on the topic. In summary, I was underwhelmed with the experience I had with River City. They are a bit cheaper than some of the "big guys", but perhaps you get what you pay for. If you do decide to use their services, I would INSIST on a "senior technician" for the project because it can be a crap shoot with their junior staff.

Description of Work
Installed whole house humidifier + repaired air handler fan problem + system check-up

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

1.0

12/04/2013


Melba H.

I pay every month for a home warranty with Total Protect. My claim was filed Tuesday night. We have spent one night without heat, but that does not seem to matter to River City Heating and Air. Homeowners do NOT waste your money with Total Protect home warranty. They couldn't care less about your well being or the service you receive. I called another company (Barnes Heating and Air) about 20 minutes ago and they will send someone before noon today. That is real service.

Description of Work
The provider would not schedule a repair within 24 hours of my report of no heat. They claim they cannot come anytime 12/4/13 and it would be tomorrow (12/5/13) before they would schedule my repair. I called between 9:30 and 10:00 PM 12/3/13.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

07/18/2012


Ming Z.

The company issues a heat pump replacement coupon through valpak with very attractive pricing. When called, its sales consultant Gary came to inspect the site and honored the coupon price without hesitation which came with a famous brand Carrier 2-ton 13 Seers heat pump. The other three companies have much higher price on their quote. This company also has A rating at BBB site and technicians did a wonderful job to install and replace old unit. So far I have received an excellent service from the company. I'll update later once I experience their follow-up service and warranty service.

Description of Work
Replace a broken heat pump including outside unit and indoor air handler.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

07/21/2006

ETIR was great to work with they came out very quickly when we needed them to fix our air conditioner. The great thing was that after they fixed the problem they showed us where to look for problems if it ever happened again.

Description of Work
ETIR fixed a Freon valve and also repaired a small hole that was in the hose.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

    Other local Pros in your area

    C3 Heating & Air, Inc.

    Residential and Commercial Heating and Air Conditioning Class A Contractor serving the Greater RVA. Fully licensed and insured. Specializing in Maintaining, Servicing, Repairing, and Installing all brands and types of HVAC systems including but not limited to: Air Conditioners, Heat Pumps, Boilers, Furnaces, and Water Heaters.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    R.A.C Morales

    We Do Quality Jobs. We have worked with big companies and they were satisfied, we know you’ll be too. Give us a call for an estimate today!  

    TechMasters LLC

    We are a small family oriented HVAC firm specializing in the repair, maintenance, replacement, and instillation of heating and air conditioning equipment in both the residential and commercial industry. Our technicians all use the industries best tools and armed with the best top of the line education. We strive to maintain the best service for our clients at some of the most competitive rates in the industry.  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Residential & Commercial HVAC, Heating, & Air Conditioning - Gas Furnaces, Dual Fuel Systems, Heat Pumps, Gas Boilers, Aquatherm Hot Water Systems, Central Air Systems, Split Systems, Rooftop Units, Package Systems, Ductless Systems, & Straight Air-Conditioning.

    Services Not Offered

    Electrical. Plumbing.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about River City Heating & Air

    How is River City Heating & Air overall rated?

    River City Heating & Air is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are River City Heating & Air open?

    River City Heating & Air is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does River City Heating & Air provide

    River City Heating & Air accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, Financing Available

    Does River City Heating & Air offer free estimates?

    Yes, River City Heating & Air offers free project estimates.

    Does River City Heating & Air offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, River City Heating & Air does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does River City Heating & Air offer a senior discount?

    No, River City Heating & Air does not offer a senior discount.

    Does River City Heating & Air offer emergency services?

    Yes, River City Heating & Air offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by River City Heating & Air?

    Yes, River City Heating & Air offers warranties.

    What services does River City Heating & Air offer?

    River City Heating & Air offers the following services: Residential & Commercial HVAC, Heating, & Air Conditioning - Gas Furnaces, Dual Fuel Systems, Heat Pumps, Gas Boilers, Aquatherm Hot Water Systems, Central Air Systems, Split Systems, Rooftop Units, Package Systems, Ductless Systems, & Straight Air-Conditioning.

    Are there any services River City Heating & Air does not offer?

    Electrical. Plumbing.