Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Neat Sweep

4.7

(238) Verified Reviews

Founded 1980 • With Angi since July 2006

Angi certified badge

Licensing

Licensed
  • Trade License Number
  • 2705003300
  • Trade License Locale
  • VA
  • Trade License Authority
  • Virginia: Contractors
  • Trade License Expiration
  • 07/31/2021
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Sunday
Closed
Monday
7:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
7:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
7:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
7:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
7:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
8:30 AM - 3:00 PM

Company Contact

5513 Hull Street Rd

Richmond, VA 23224

Description

Neat Sweep has been servicing the Richmond area for over 40 years. We specialize in Chimney Inspections, Chimney Cleanings, Chimney Repair and Debris Container services. Most of our full time employees have been with us over ten years. Your satisfaction is our only concern. Additional email - frankk103@aol.com. Additional contact name - Dave Miller. fax - (804) 232-1682, (804) 232-3000 additional Phones - (804) 288-7900 ...

Verified Reviews

4.7

(238) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

196

4

26

3

8

2

2

1

6

Rating Details

Price

4.7

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.9
Read reviews by category
chimney sweep (208)chimney cap repair (45)chimney repair (44)masonry (17)fireplace services (16)dumpster rental (12)hauling (10)animal removal (4)handyman (3)dryer vent cleaning (2)gas fireplace repair (1)
Showing 1-10 of 238 reviews
5.0

08/24/2020

They repaired our leaking chimney. They showed up as promised. Explained to us the issue. Then repaired as promised. Very happy with their work.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Repaired leaking chimney

CATEGORY chimney repair

COST $90

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 08/18/2020

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you for the kind words.
5.0

02/10/2020

Called me right away to get it fixed

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
wind blew off my chimney cap

CATEGORY chimney caps,chimney repair

COST $139

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 02/08/2020

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad you are happy with the service we provided.
2.0

03/15/2019

They did not properly clean the chimney as I asked and there was later problems and damage which cost me an addition $300 by hiring one of their competitors.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
They did a poor job.

CATEGORY chimney sweep

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 03/15/2019

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

What would you like us to do to make it right Frank
5.0

12/20/2017

John Miller and Chris were both very polite and thorough. They cleaned up the hearth and inspected the chimney in a timely manner without leaving a mess behind. They took the time to explain the chimney and hearth setup which was greatly appreciated. I will definitely be re-using them for the annual cleaning.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
chimney clean and inspection

CATEGORY chimney sweep

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 12/20/2017

5.0

12/06/2017

The associate arrived as scheduled. He was very polite and thorough. We are satisfied with the services we received and would definitely hire them again.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Chimney sweep

CATEGORY chimney sweep

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 03/15/2019

5.0

12/06/2017

It went very smoothly and did not take a lot of time.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Inspect and clean chimney.

CATEGORY chimney sweep

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 12/06/2017

5.0

11/06/2017

Very well, and we were very happy with their service.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Chimney cleaning and safety check.

CATEGORY chimney sweep

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 11/06/2017

1.0

10/21/2017

Horrible and dishonest.! Do not use!

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
We hired Neat Sweep for a chimney inspection prior to selling our house to be sure it was in good shape prior to the sale. Neat Sweep signed off saying it was fine. As a matter of course the buyer of our house also had it inspected and found it needed over $4,000 of repairs. Neat Sweep had inspected it 2 weeks prior! When we called to notify them and get them to stand by their report, the (without bothering to even check it out again!) said, “The Chimney must have ‘shifted!’” Scam artists! Beware!!!!! Do not use!!!

CATEGORY chimney repair,fireplaces

COST $150

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 10/05/2017

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

The chimney was inspected, and meets contemporary standards. No chimney meets building code but this one is just like every other one. Slight cracks are normal. on top of that the inspection only cost $79.
5.0

08/22/2017

Great job that left us satisfied. Those nasty pasty spider webs are gone!

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
I would definitely hire him again. This service was performed on an extremely hot day and raining, but never once did he complain. We liked him a lot Sharon Tanco

CATEGORY chimney sweep

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 08/22/2017

5.0

08/07/2017

He found more work than we anticipated but it needed to be done. He was able to schedule us quickly and pointed up brickwork and added a cap. Did a really nice job and gave us good advice on what was required for our purpose. We would use him again

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Chimney inspection for adding gas unit to fireplace.

CATEGORY chimney sweep,masonry,chimney caps,chimney repair

COST $1,100

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 08/07/2017

Services Offered

Masonry Repair. Rebuilding & Relining. Firebox Repair. Hauling. Construction Debris Clean Up. Dumpster Service.

Services Not Offered

Garbage Collection.

General Information
Free Estimates
No
Payment Options
Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check
Emergency Service
Yes
Warranties
Yes