Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

N Chasen & Son Inc

4.7

(126) Verified Reviews

Founded 1914 • With Angi since August 2006

Licensed
Trade License Number
2701005889
Trade License Locale
Virginia
Trade License Authority
Virginia: Contractors
Trade License Expiration
05/31/2021
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Monday
7:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Tuesday
7:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Wednesday
7:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Thursday
7:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Friday
7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

Phone Number

Address

2924 W Marshall St

Richmond, VA 23230

www.nchasen.com

Description

N. Chasen and Son has been protecting and beautifying homes in the Richmond and the surrounding counties for 100 years. We employ the finest craftsman--experienced and dedicated painters and carpenters. Our workers undergo a criminal background check and periodic drug screening. All workers are employees, and we do not use subcontractors. We are fully licensed (Class A contractor, 2701 005889A) and insured. We are an EPA certified lead-safe contractor (NAT-21637-0) All estimates are written, provided for free and without obligation; all work is warrantied for one year. Jeff Chasen is the third generation owner of N. Chasen and Son....

Verified Reviews

4.7

(126) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

100

4

13

3

2

2

5

1

6

Rating Details

Price

4.4

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

woodworking (71)interior painting (51)house painting (44)drywall (14)door installation (13)general contractors (12)plastering (11)pressure washing (8)window replacement (7)siding companies (6)decks & porches (5)wallpaper hanger (4)
Showing 1-10 of 126 reviews
5.0

03/07/2022


Eric W.

My foyer area is a very high space. I am happily satisfied with the paint color chosen and the job beautifully done.

Description of Work
Interior Painting

Category contractors,interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/07/2022

Service Provider Response

Thank you for trusting us to perform your painting project, we are happy to hear you are satisfied with the work and appreciate your business.
5.0

12/27/2021


Sonja H.

excellent carpentry on our porch spindles and beams. The pain job looked great. We have a brand new porch now!

Description of Work
Porch renovation

Category woodworking,house painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/18/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you, hope you enjoy your porch!
5.0

08/04/2021


Victor Y.

It went well and we are very satisfied.

Description of Work
Interior painting.

Category contractors,interior painters

Cost $1,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/03/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you!
5.0

01/06/2021


Michael R.

Came when they said they would and work was done in a professional and competent manner. the whole experience was a very good one.

Description of Work
Outside carpentry work and associated painting.

Category contractors,handyman service,siding,house painters,doors

Cost $4,700

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/30/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for such a positive review, we appreciate it!
5.0

07/14/2020


Connie C.

It went seamlessly with punctuality, job completion, and workmanship. I will definitely hire N Chasen & Son again

Description of Work
Wallpapering

Category wallpaper,cabinet refacing

Cost $327

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/24/2020

Images

Review for N Chasen & Son Inc - 2924 W Marshall St, Richmond, VA - 38723697

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much, we look forward to working with you again!
1.0

07/03/2020


Gloria N.

I didn’t contact them. Last year, I sent a picture twice, at their request, and they never responded.

Description of Work
Repair step riser

Category cabinet refacing

Work Completed On 07/03/2020

Service Provider Response

Ms. [Member Name Removed] did contact us in March of 2019 but it was in regards to an interior step riser replacement. This is a service we do not provide. We contacted her and let her know this. We have no records of a request for cabinet refacing or any further contact from her.
5.0

04/10/2020


Carla S.

We have utilized N. Chasen and Son in the past and were very pleased with their work. They are professional, friendly and experts at what they do. Every encounter with employees from beginning to end was positive and accommodating, and we intend to recommend them to others including family and friends. Thank you!

Description of Work
painting in multiple areas, carpentry work

Category woodworking,interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/10/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the feedback, we appreciate it and your business!
5.0

03/13/2020


Ray F.

Exceptionally good work. Ceilings are tricky, and both the patching and painting were done on time and with little "dust" spread. Follow up work (as I said, ceilings are tricky, and sometimes minor flaws are only seen in specific daylighting) was punctual and very well done. Not the least expensive contractor; but the best we've found in 30 years in the Richmond area.

Description of Work
significant hole in ceiling from plumbing repair, and several drywall cracks from moisture; interior painting

Category drywall,interior painters

Cost $1,560

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/10/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to provide such a positive review on our behalf. We truly appreciate you and your business.
5.0

03/04/2020


Bill D.

Well. Experienced carpenters, friendly and professional.

Description of Work
Interior doors replaced with a cased opening.

Category woodworking,interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/04/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you, we appreciate it and hope to work with you again in the future!
5.0

03/04/2020


Bill D.

Well. Experienced carpenters, friendly and professional.

Description of Work
Interior doors replaced with a cased opening.

Category woodworking,interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/04/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you, we appreciate it and hope to work with you again in the future!

Services Offered

Interior & Exterior Painting, Wall Covering, Plastering, Wallpaper Removal. Carpentry, Wood Rot Repair. Appliance Refinishing, Faux Finishes, Cabinet Door Refacing & Restoration. Pressure Washing

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Payment Options
Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check
Senior Discount
no
Warranties
Yes

Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about N Chasen & Son Inc

How is N Chasen & Son Inc overall rated?

N Chasen & Son Inc is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

What days are N Chasen & Son Inc open?

N Chasen & Son Inc is open:

Monday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

Thursday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

Friday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

What payment options does N Chasen & Son Inc provide

N Chasen & Son Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check

Does N Chasen & Son Inc offer free estimates?

Yes, N Chasen & Son Inc offers free project estimates.

Does N Chasen & Son Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

Yes, N Chasen & Son Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

Does N Chasen & Son Inc offer a senior discount?

No, N Chasen & Son Inc does not offer a senior discount.

Are warranties offered by N Chasen & Son Inc?

Yes, N Chasen & Son Inc offers warranties.

What services does N Chasen & Son Inc offer?

N Chasen & Son Inc offers the following services: Interior & Exterior Painting, Wall Covering, Plastering, Wallpaper Removal. Carpentry, Wood Rot Repair. Appliance Refinishing, Faux Finishes, Cabinet Door Refacing & Restoration. Pressure Washing