Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

N Chasen & Son Inc

4.7

(123) Verified Reviews

Founded 1914 • With Angi since August 2006

Angi certified badge

Awards & Badges

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2020

Licensing

Licensed
  • Trade License Number
  • 2701005889
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Monday
7:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Tuesday
7:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Wednesday
7:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Thursday
7:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Friday
7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

Company Contact

2924 W Marshall St

Richmond, VA 23230

Description

N. Chasen and Son has been protecting and beautifying homes in the Richmond and the surrounding counties for 100 years. We employ the finest craftsman--experienced and dedicated painters and carpenters. Our workers undergo a criminal background check and periodic drug screening. All workers are employees, and we do not use subcontractors. We are fully licensed (Class A contractor, 2701 005889A) and insured. We are an EPA certified lead-safe contractor (NAT-21637-0) All estimates are written, provided for free and without obligation; all work is warrantied for one year. Jeff Chasen is the third generation owner of N. Chasen and Son....

Verified Reviews

4.7

(123) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

97

4

13

3

2

2

5

1

6

Rating Details

Price

4.4

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.8
Read reviews by category
woodworking (70)interior painting (49)house painting (43)drywall (14)door installation (13)plastering (11)general contractors (10)pressure washing (8)window replacement (7)siding companies (6)decks & porches (5)wallpaper hanger (4)
Showing 1-10 of 123 reviews
5.0

01/06/2021

Came when they said they would and work was done in a professional and competent manner. the whole experience was a very good one.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Outside carpentry work and associated painting.

CATEGORY contractors,handyman service,siding,house painters,doors

COST $4,700

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 11/30/2020

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you for such a positive review, we appreciate it!
5.0

07/14/2020

It went seamlessly with punctuality, job completion, and workmanship. I will definitely hire N Chasen & Son again

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Wallpapering

CATEGORY wallpaper,cabinet refacing

COST $327

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 06/24/2020

Images

Photo for N Chasen & Son Inc - 2924 W Marshall St, Richmond, VA - 38723697

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you very much, we look forward to working with you again!
1.0

07/03/2020

I didn’t contact them. Last year, I sent a picture twice, at their request, and they never responded.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Repair step riser

CATEGORY cabinet refacing

WORK COMPLETED ON 07/03/2020

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Ms. [Member Name Removed] did contact us in March of 2019 but it was in regards to an interior step riser replacement. This is a service we do not provide. We contacted her and let her know this. We have no records of a request for cabinet refacing or any further contact from her.
5.0

04/10/2020

We have utilized N. Chasen and Son in the past and were very pleased with their work. They are professional, friendly and experts at what they do. Every encounter with employees from beginning to end was positive and accommodating, and we intend to recommend them to others including family and friends. Thank you!

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
painting in multiple areas, carpentry work

CATEGORY woodworking,interior painters

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 04/10/2020

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you so much for the feedback, we appreciate it and your business!
5.0

03/13/2020

Exceptionally good work. Ceilings are tricky, and both the patching and painting were done on time and with little "dust" spread. Follow up work (as I said, ceilings are tricky, and sometimes minor flaws are only seen in specific daylighting) was punctual and very well done. Not the least expensive contractor; but the best we've found in 30 years in the Richmond area.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
significant hole in ceiling from plumbing repair, and several drywall cracks from moisture; interior painting

CATEGORY drywall,interior painters

COST $1,560

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 02/10/2020

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to provide such a positive review on our behalf. We truly appreciate you and your business.
5.0

03/04/2020

Well. Experienced carpenters, friendly and professional.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Interior doors replaced with a cased opening.

CATEGORY woodworking,interior painters

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 03/04/2020

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you, we appreciate it and hope to work with you again in the future!
5.0

03/04/2020

Well. Experienced carpenters, friendly and professional.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Interior doors replaced with a cased opening.

CATEGORY woodworking,interior painters

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 03/04/2020

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you, we appreciate it and hope to work with you again in the future!
5.0

02/25/2020

Outstanding! We’ve been using N. Chasen’s for about 15 years. They never disappoint. Professional, excellent service.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Interior painting and carpentry.

CATEGORY woodworking,interior painters

COST $2,000

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 02/25/2020

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you for your review and business, we truly appreciate your loyalty!
5.0

01/02/2020

Very well- polite and professional crews, work well done. A few miscommunications quickly taken care of. Highly recommended and would hire again.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Painting, carpentry, drywall

CATEGORY drywall,woodworking,house painters,interior painters

COST $3,000

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 11/30/2019

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on our behalf, we truly appreciate it and your business. Please let us know if we can help again in the future.
5.0

12/18/2019

I was very impressed by the all members of the N. Chasen team that I and my sister interacted with during the full process of assessing, repairing, and painting my house in Henrico. Everyone from the staff in the office to those in the field were courteous, professional, friendly, and skillful. The that included photos of areas that would be repaired was particularly helpful. The carpenters who we...

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Painting and Exterior Painting

CATEGORY replacement windows,woodworking,house painters

COST $6,200

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 12/17/2019

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you for the review, we appreciate you taking the time to post on our behalf. We look forward to working with you again in the future.

Services Offered

Interior & Exterior Painting, Wall Covering, Plastering, Wallpaper Removal. Carpentry, Wood Rot Repair. Appliance Refinishing, Faux Finishes, Cabinet Door Refacing & Restoration. Pressure Washing

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Payment Options
MasterCard, Check, Visa
Emergency Service
No
Warranties
Yes