Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

KDC Contracting Inc

Founded 1988 • With Angi since July 2006

4.9

(37) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

8610 Midlothian Tpke

Richmond, VA 23235

Description

Additional address - PO Box 36292, Richmond VA 23235. Additional website - www.kdccontracting.com.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
David D.
5.0
12/19/2017
The workers were very professional. I have a dryvit and they had to replace some shingles next to the dryvit and they did not damage any of the dryvit.
Description of Work
Replaced my roof and sky lite
Category
roofing
Marie B.
5.0
04/18/2017
The company and Mr. Hudson did an outstanding job. I cannot describe how great of a job they did. They completed the job within a reasonable amount of time. They are prompt and professional. I would refer this company to anyone.
Description of Work
Repaired a leaking skylight and repaired the damaged roof that was caused by the skylight
Category
roofing
Ken N.
5.0
02/04/2017
Kelly came out gave me a fair price. Explained all the work that needed to be done. Crew showed up on time, worked non stop and cleaned up afterwards. I was very impressed with all aspects of this company. Great communication and great product. Thanks !
Description of Work
New shingle roof installed.
Category
roofing
Sherrie C.
5.0
02/16/2015
These guys are amazing. They came out and gave us a quote... that was far more thorough and yet less than several others. They identified issues with our roof from the original roof that were never quite right, and also with our chimney. They came exactly when they said they would. They finished all the work in a very timely fashion. They cleaned up after themselves every day as well as a really thorough clean up at the end. We had one issue with one of our skylights after the fact and they came immediately and cleaned it and made it perfect. These guys are nice, honest, and hard workers and you really get good value for your money!!!! I absolutely love our new roof! Every time I drive up I notice it and reflect how good it looks, and sleep easy at night knowing that everything is secure and I have a great roof that will last for a lifetime, with a lifetime warranty!!
Description of Work
Installed new roof.
Category
roofing, skylights
Hedy S.
5.0
08/12/2014
I had siding replaced on one entire side of my house and the entire chimney. KDC had to locate the custom milled planks, and did so, and ordered, installed and painted. They replaced all of the areas where the wood had rotted. Everything went very well. I felt as if I could trust KDC to tell me what they found in terms of damage and what it would take to do the repairs, and I believe that I received excellent value.
Description of Work
Replaced wood siding
Category
roofing, siding
Melissa H.
1.0
06/14/2014
It didn't. After waiting, we went with someone else.
Description of Work
We called, got someone on the phone who said they would forward our contact information and we would get a call back in the next couple of days. They never called back.
Category
roofing
C JAY R.
5.0
12/10/2012
KDc showed the day after I emailed with a complete package of information. including certificate of insurance. Work done on time and within estimate.
Description of Work
House needed a new roof. KDC did a good job and also performed some badly needed repair.
Category
roofing
DeLayne M.
5.0
11/28/2012
Very well. They were the first to respond, and they were very professional. They answered all my questions. Everyone in this area had damage from the storm, and it was difficult to get ANYONE to come out and give an estimate. They were the first.
Description of Work
They gave me a very fair and reasonable estimate. They could have been more specific about the details that they were going to perform, however, when I phoned and asked questions, they came back out and wrote it up more specifically. I went with another contracor, because I could get a contractor that did more of the work that I needed done, rather than dealing with multiple contractors.
Category
roofing, garage builders
john C.
1.0
11/27/2012
i never got a quote for the roof, he never showed on vet's day or has never called someone called about the 17th about the windows and siding, i told him i was still waiting for the roof est he said he tell the owner. i declined setting up an appointment for windows and siding until i get the roofing est. nothing ever happened, not very professional even when his employee knew a customer was waiting for an estimate that never happened.
Description of Work
requested a quote for a roof and gutter/guards and future windows and siding. the owner said he would be by on 11/12 to look and get an estimate and he would have someone contact me about windows and siding.
Category
gutter repair, roofing, siding, replacement windows
Jeffrey V.
5.0
10/15/2012
They were very professional in all aspects of the work. The new roof looks perfect. They cleaned up everything. The workers were polite and they finished on time. The only small negative was that I had to ask several times for a copy of the warranty, and it took a couple of weeks to get it.
Description of Work
Got a new roof on my house.
Category
roofing
Hedy S.
5.0
10/04/2012
Perhaps the greatest challenge any business has with regard to the customer is earning the customer's trust. KDC was successful in this area, and I can say without any reservations that Robert Hudson and Al Thomason are professional, they take pride in their work, and that I felt like a valued customer. Workmanship was high quality, and both Robert and Al spent time explaining what they were going to do, what my options were, etc. There is no doubt that I will contact KDC in the future for any additional work I have done on my home, and will recommend them to friends and family.
Description of Work
KDC repaired siding, installed gutter guards, and replaced the roof and a skylight.
Category
gutter repair, roofing, siding, skylights
Mary C.
5.0
05/27/2012
Excellent. Mr. Hudson is an excellent communicator and honest. He tried his best to keep the costs down. He was flexible to accommodate my concerns on water damaged wood or rotten wood etc. If I wanted wood out so that the structure and insulation could be inspected it was done. He respected my decisions on matters and acted on them and did not try to push or pressure me to do things in a certain way. (I had done my homework by the way and talked with out of state family who are roofers what to check for)My one concern after the job was done is that the osb board had chunks out of on the underside of the roof in the attic. As far as I know from my brother who is a roofer it should be ok.
Description of Work
Two story house and garage was given a new roof. All rotten decking replaced and all decking was removed which I specifically requested and replaced along the chimney wall and insulation inspected for water damage. Along the front of the house there was about a half an inch of rotten wood along the gutter edge and I had them replace all of that. Installed 15# roof felt with ice and water shield: 3 foot at all valleys and 3 to 6 ft at all eaves. Installed ice and water shield around 3 vent pepes and chimney. Installed new pipe collars. Installed step flashing at walls and re- flashed the chimney. They supplied and installed new shingles (GAF Timberline Natural Shadow Lifetime Dimensional Shingles). They supplied and installed new ridge vent and caps.
Category
roofing
michael D.
5.0
05/01/2012
very good and fast , cleaned up after work.
Description of Work
remove old roof and reroof and clean up
Category
roofing
William G.
5.0
03/22/2012
These guys are fantastic! Price was good, though not the best bid. Punctual, workmanship is excellent.
Description of Work
remove slate from approximately 20% of the roof. Replace two valleys and slate with artificial slate.
Category
roofing
Kelly W.
5.0
02/20/2012
I was referred to them and reviewed them on Angie's List. I thought they were great and the roof is holding up. Their pricing was competitive and I will use them again in the future.
Description of Work
I used KDC Contracting to roof my house.
Category
roofing
cynthia T.
5.0
01/20/2012
Very professional and courteous. Prompt, good work, and cleaned up. Would definitely use them again.
Description of Work
Repaired roof damage on storage shed resulting from branch falling in storm.
Category
roofing
Evi E.
3.0
12/02/2011
We spoke to them twice and they never called back. On 29th my husband called and it went to answering machine. Then a lady called back saying that somebody would call us back. No one called us back. They did not sound professional on the phone. I would never use them in the future.
Description of Work
I used KDC Contracting Inc to get an estimate for roof on 14th of November. It was just a phone conversation.
Category
roofing
Catherine C.
5.0
03/06/2011
For this small but quickly needed job we relied, for the first time, solely on Angie's List customer reviews. KDC Contracting, Inc. had received consistently high customer ratings so I called their office and left a message on Sunday. I got a call back at 7:30 a.m. on Monday, gave a quick description of the damage, got a general estimate of between $125.00 and $200.00, and the repair was completed by 10:20 a.m. that same day. Since we had shingles left over from a previous repair job (not performed by KDC Contracting) they were used for this repair. The repairman, David, was quick, efficient, and professional. We have had several heavy rain and wind storms since the repair. The replacement shingles have held firmly and there has been no leakage around the shingles. The bill we received for the repair reflected the lowest estimated amount and we felt it was a very reasonable amount for the rapid response and the quality of the repair. I would definitely recommned KDC Contracting for roof repairs and would not hesitate to include them in estimate requests for a full re-roofing job.
Description of Work
Replaced 4 or 5 wind damaged shingles on the pitched roof of a two story house.
Category
roofing
Linda F.
5.0
02/07/2011
They were prompt, courteous and did an excellent job. I would highly recommend KDC Contracting.
Description of Work
Removed existing roof and replaced with GAF 30 yr HDDS. Supplied and installed new ridge vents. Replaced 1 skylight, replace some rotted wood.
Category
roofing
Rachel W.
5.0
01/11/2011
They came out very promptly. There were two people who came in a truck. They immediately went to my roof. They went ahead and did the caulking and put the caps. There was a minor leak on the roof, and they fixed it.
Description of Work
I used KDC Contracting Inc. to do some work on my roof last fall. They re-caulked the standpipes that went through the roof and put new caps on.
Category
roofing
Alan W.
5.0
09/15/2010
Company was able to accomplish work before my wife's surgery. We were concerned that her recovery would be prolonged and aggravated by the noise and activity. Workers were very quiet( as can be done on this type of project) and knowledgable with good supervision.
Description of Work
house with 2 adduitions and 8 skylights. Dimention shingles.
Category
roofing
jill L.
5.0
01/25/2010
I was very happy with them. They were very responsive. They gave me a bid, but I am not quite sure if that was the lowest or the middle. I was very impressed with the guy that came out. His name was Robert.
Description of Work
I used K D C Contracting Inc for roofing in November.
Category
roofing
John E.
5.0
10/05/2009
Prompt, courteous; complete estimate; described options; stuck to estimate/contract - no surprises. Completed job in 2 days including through cleanup. Competitive, fair pricing - would call again.
Description of Work
Replaced cedar shingle roof with 30yr GAF Timberline shingles, low profile ridge vent, 2 4x8 roof sheets, 15# felt, constructed chimney bridge; complete reflashing and pipe collars; supplied and replaced 3 glass skylights; copper flashed including bay window. 5-yr KDC workmanship warranty in addition to GAF.
Category
roofing, skylights
Marvalee B.
5.0
03/26/2009
They were very responsive to request for estimate and followed up with written proposal of all work to be done. Once it was scheduled, they showed up on time and were finished by 3:30. Complete clean up of all materials, you would never know they were here. Only negative and it is a small one, they left their trailer in our drive way for 2 days and we had to park on the street.
Description of Work
Replaced entire roof, removing two old roofs. Replaced shields.
Category
roofing
Luke H.
4.0
02/06/2009
Overall I am pleased with the result of KDC's work. They were extremely pleasant to deal with and always gave a strong impression of customer service. Their prices were very competitive and they were willing to provide services beyond their normal expertise to accommodate me. The work was done up front which was reassuring and I have received many compliments on the results to our home. There was a carpentry crew and a siding crew. The carpentry crew was very efficient and mindful of never leaving any mess, at the end of each day they would deliberately clean all evidence of their work. They were very keen to make sure we were satisfied. The siding crew worked extremely fast. They would start work at 7am and work until 7pm. They were respectful and nice, but spoke little English. There were a few cons as there always are on a job of this size, it may seem like there are more cons, but I believe it's just it's easier to remember and focus on any small issues even when overall the project is a success, so do not let these cons out weigh the pros. I still think it's important to document them. The job was long and complicated for both KDC and myself as a result of the multiple projects they were performing and the order everything needed to be handled in. KDC was always respectful and eager to please, but were at times difficult to contact. Many messages went unanswered and appointments broken with no warning. I learned to double any time estimate they gave me and call back again and again to get answers. I have only discovered one small issue with the work of the carpentry crew, a door that was hurriedly installed that needed some work done by me after they left to keep it from sticking closed. The siding crew was less interested in clean up. They deposited several hundred nails and slivers of aluminum trim all around my yard that I still find daily months later. They cut the siding with no drop cloth leaving massive piles of obnoxious trimmed concrete siding and dust for me to clean up out of my grass. Requests for KDC to clean these areas were met with enthusiasm, but not results until well after I had already cleaned the areas. In a few instances I caught the work by both crews being done incorrectly, it left me a little concerned for the work I had not observed. Front porch rails that the siding crew accidentally broken were rebuilt and painted by the carpentry crew. They were in a hurry to finish and rain was threatening. The rain started before they finished painting. The paint was washed off the rails by the rain, it splashed all over and left a permanent white spatter across my concrete porch. A promised power wash for this and the house never materialized and I gave up reminding them for it. One of the gutters did not work after the new trim was slightly thicker than the old trim. KDC provided a temporary fix, but said I would have to purchase a new roof for a permanent fix.
Description of Work
KDC removed the old siding and replaced with Hardi-Plank siding with aluminum trim. They also replaced the gutters, one large picture window, installed two new windows, converted a outside access shed to an inside closet, closed one door and created the opening for another in my garage, rebuilt a section of decking on the back porch and replaced the front door. I had purchased the replacement windows and doors separately myself.
Category
decks, garage doors, gutter repair, siding, replacement windows, garage builders, doors

    Other local Pros in your area

    Managed Services Group, LLC

    Welcome to Managed Services Group!!! We take great pride in our experience, expertise, quality and customer service that we provide to meet every consumer's needs. It is our mission to provide excellent customer service from start to completion of a project. We understand the needs and expectations of our customers, so we take great care to work and communicate with every customer in a personal and professional manner. Our reputation is based on service, safety and quality, regardless of how large or small the job. With a wonderful staff dedicated to your happiness we are sure you will find we are the contractor for you.  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Williamson Best Garage Doors

    We guarantee your satisfaction and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out our services offered and call or click to schedule a free estimate today.  

    Angi Certified

    America's Best Choice of Richmond

    As a locally owned and operated business we feel invested in our clients and constantly strive for customer satisfaction. We won't leave until the job is done right! Call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Roof repairs, skylights & ventilation, vinyl and hardiplank, decks, porches,gutters, siding & replacement windows.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about KDC Contracting Inc

    How is KDC Contracting Inc overall rated?

    KDC Contracting Inc is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are KDC Contracting Inc open?

    KDC Contracting Inc is open:

    Sunday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Saturday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    What payment options does KDC Contracting Inc provide

    KDC Contracting Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does KDC Contracting Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, KDC Contracting Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does KDC Contracting Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, KDC Contracting Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does KDC Contracting Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, KDC Contracting Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by KDC Contracting Inc?

    Yes, KDC Contracting Inc offers warranties.

    What services does KDC Contracting Inc offer?

    KDC Contracting Inc offers the following services: Roof repairs, skylights & ventilation, vinyl and hardiplank, decks, porches,gutters, siding & replacement windows.

    Are there any services KDC Contracting Inc does not offer?

    Ask for details