Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

James River Painters

Founded 2007 • With Angi since June 2013

3.3

(6) Verified Reviews

Licensed
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Description

James River Painters is a full-service residential and commercial painting company headquartered in Richmond, Virginia. With more than 15 years of experience in handling interior painting, exterior painting, finishes and coatings, Central Virginia residents and businesses have come to trust us for delivering a quality painting job - on time, within budget. We perform all our residential and commercial painting jobs in-house - no subcontractors - and our experienced crews are professional and courteous. We take care to protect your floors and furniture, and we work around your schedule. That’s why our customers in Richmond and the surrounding areas have given us such rave reviews....

Other local Pros in your area

2Macs Power Washing, LLC

Any cleaning need on exterior of home.  

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2020
REYCO POWER WASHING & SEALING

OWNER OPERATED. NO SUBS. COST IS DETERMINED BY THE JOB. NO TRAVEL CHARGES.  

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2020
Estate Softwash

Estate Softwash specializes in cleaning real estate. Our main services include roof cleaning, interior and exterior window cleaning, house washing, gutter cleaning, and of course power washing. https://www.estatesoftwash.com/ Carter Griggs Owner/ Operator carter@estatesoftwash.com 434-962-1631  

Offers by Estate Softwash on Angi

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

09/17/2020


William G.

Preparation: No cover on my furniture or fixtures. Did not protect my wood floor, paint spots all over the floor. Painting: Did not sand all surfaces that needed them. Taped corners and edges bleed onto the molding and other walls cause of improper taping. Paint not spread evenly. Clean up: Left my house with paint on my Leather seat, tables, molding and wood floor. Kevin Scotland (owner): We emailed Kevin Scotland with a list of over 12 items that was not done and needed to be corrected. He did not call or reply back to our email. DO NOT USE THIS Company. Kevin is only interest in the money, no respond to customer concerns until its time to correct money.

Description of Work
Interior Home Painting - Residential

Category interior painters

4.0

12/21/2015


Daniel W.

Kevin quoted me a price for spray painting masonry walls and rafter ceiling, and rolling paint on floor of basement. I got one other price from another contractor, but James River was substantially below that. I had some free time and elected to scrape, wash and caulk all the surfaces and called him back and he adjusted the price down for that. Job was set up for about two weeks later. They were delayed a day because of a prior job, but showed up the next day and knocked out the job in two days, as promised. Quality work, looks good, and I am pleased with the job.

Description of Work
Painted basement walls, ceiling and floor

Category interior painters

1.0

09/09/2015


Lisa A F.

I had an appointment for 4pm for someone to come out and give me a quote on painting. I even received a reminder call the same morning as the appointment. Well at 4:35 when no one had showed up and no one had called. I called the company no one answered I call multiple times, leaving a message asking where the person was. At about 5pm when still no one showed and I hadn't received a call back, I called again and left a message telling them not to send anyone and that I would not be using there company and that they had poor customer service.

Description of Work
I asked for someone to come out and give me a quote on painting upstairs.

Category interior painters

5.0

09/04/2013


Evelyn C.

I like their work. They painted free hand without doing the taping which was awesome. That cut them a lot of time because they didn't need the painter tape to mark off the areas. They did repairs along the way which was good. Although, I told the owner about my complaint that the majority of the guys showed disregard for my property. I took off a couple of days and every other hour I was removing water bottles or cups from my furniture or even hammer or whatever they were using. Any other room that they worked in and they felt something to sit water or something...they would sit in on there. That was the only thing I told them they had disregard for my family. If it was my family I would be screaming as for them I took it off. I go down a couple of hours later and a worker comes in with water bottle and he will flop it down on my furniture. That's the only thing...otherwise they guys was very nice. I'm actually thinking of getting them to paint my deck and outside trim of my house. I believed they did a really good work.

Description of Work
I used the interior painting service of James River Painters They painted my entire house.

Category interior painters

5.0

06/07/2013


David J.

They are really good very efficient did a great job and I will use them again in the future.

Description of Work
James River Painters is who we hired to do some painting at our home.

Category interior painters

2.0

10/13/2012


Shani J.

We found this painter through a Living Social Deal. The initial impression by the Sales Consultant went well. They were enthusiastic and promised everything I "asked" for. This was my first time hiring a professional painter and I was "assuming"that" they would point out or cover all of the details needed to do the job completely. My first mistake was telling them how much I wanted to spend instead of insisting on an estimate for materials and labor. The communication was very poor with me having to initiate next steps and confirmations. On the actual day of service we came very close to canceling the entire project due again to poor communication and line item detail of the materials and labor included in the estimate. They covered nothing, so I spent days cleaning dust off of the furniture.The quality of the paint is not what I requested. The detail LOOKS good but I expect to have to paint again sooner than I was hoping. I would ONLY reccommend this company if they are hired by a general contractor or project manager that will babysit every detail.

Description of Work
Painting of the upstairs common areas in our home.

Category interior painters

Service Provider Response

Unfortunately, there are some misconceptions about the Living Social deal. The coupon which states one room 12x12x9 w/o paint, means that it doesn't include the gallon/s of paint needed to complete the job. We take care to explain this carefully and to explain that it doesn't include any additional discounts. We do offer additional services for additional fees. This is the reason we come out and do a free estimate, at which time the estimate is then provided and agreed upon before the project ever begins. We have gained numerous repeat customers from our Living Social connections made through this value deal. We strive to provide the ultimate in customer care as well as for their homes/businesses. We offer reputable quality paint products that will ensure the maximum life expectancy of the paint. This is with the exception of a homeowner that supplies their own supply of paint products. We request that ALL customers sign a completion form acknowledging the project done to THEIR satisfaction. We are very apologetic to anyone that doesn't agree that our goals and strive for excellence transcends with each detail. We would like to thank all our valued customers and we look forward to continuing to be your quality color care experts on all your home improvement, repair and painting projects.

    James River Painters

    Founded 2007 • With Angi since June 2013

    3.3

    (6) Verified Reviews

    Business Details

    Phone Number

    Address

    1906 North Hamilton St SteD

    Richmond, VA 23230

    Services Offered

    Commercial & Residential Interior & Exterior Painting Services.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    American Express, Discover, MasterCard, Visa, Check
    Senior Discount
    Warranties
    No