Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Carroll Plumbing & Heating Inc

Founded 1968 • With Angi since August 2006

4.8

(137) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

2108 Maywill St

Richmond, VA 23230

Description

Carroll Plumbing & Heating, Inc. has been around since 1968. Our primary interest continues to be the best residential plumbing, heating, and cooling repair and restoration experts in our community....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

12/17/2019


Emmy M.

They are excellent, prompt, and reasonably priced. I would highly recommend them to anyone.

Description of Work
I have been using them for years for servicing my HVAC system twice a year. They have also done plumbing for me as well.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing

5.0

01/08/2018


Martin T.

Excellent work, Professionalism, & MOST OF ALL RESPONSIVENESS.

Description of Work
Due to the extremely cold weather, a water line to a hose bib broke in my unheated garage on Sunday (1/7/2018) and I was able to shut the water off. Sent an e-mail request to Carroll Plumbing on Sunday. On Monday (1/8/2018) they acknowledged the e-mail request and were able to come around noon for the repair.

Category plumbing

5.0

11/23/2017


Craig C.

My Wife and I have been using Carroll Plumbing-Heating-Cooling for a variety of home plumbing (water and propane) "jobs" for approximately 4 years. Before describing our most recent experience, we wanted to share a summary of all the projects they have completed. Our first experience with Carroll Plumbing-Heating-Cooling was during the total remodel of our kitchen and laundry room. This was an involved project since we completely changed the footprint of the spaces and therefore had to relocate all the plumbing. We were continually impressed with their professionalism, attention to detail and most of all - the daily communication on the progress/concerns and timeline updates regarding the plumbing related parts of the project. Later, we decided to upgrade our conventional electric water heater to a Rinnai on-demand, propane-fueled water heater (including the installation of the required propane gas lines/connections, required valves). We consulted multiple contractors for bids and were pleased to see that Carroll Plumbing-Heating-Cooling were experienced installers/service providers of Rinnai on-demand water heaters and had competitive pricing for a "turn-key" project including the required Richmond City permits. We decided to go with Carroll based on our previous experience and were delighted again with the quality of their work, commitment to constant communication and competitive cost of the project. Approximately 2 years ago, we again contracted Carroll to perform the plumbing related work; upgrades, etc. regarding the complete renovation of our main, full-bathroom. Their attention to detail in execution and communication with not only us but the other trades (tile, electrical, finish-work etc.) was impressive and refreshing. Our most recent experience occurred during the week prior to Thanksgiving. On 11/19/2017, my Wife contacted Kim at Carroll Plumbing-Heating-Cooling regarding a problem we were experiencing (pipe-knocking/banging noises) after recently installing a new high efficiency washing machine. Kim immediately dispatched a plumber/Rinnai specialist and the identified the problem that day as a condition called "Waterhammering". The part was ordered and installed the next day at a surprisingly low cost. Carroll has always satisfied our plumbing needs - we don't hesitate to call them when an issue or project arises. Give them a call and experience their commitment to customer satisfaction yours

Description of Work
Kitchen, Bathroom Remodel, Rannai Tankless Water Heater install, Waterhammering identification/fix.

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind words! We're always here if you need us!
5.0

10/24/2017


Blair N.

Carroll Plumbing came to our house within 24 hours of our initial call. Our technician, Dustin, was incredible. He was on time, polite, courteous and friendly. He fixed our shower, installed a new sink in our basement and replaced the main shutoff valve for our water. He was fantastic and we will ask for Dustin by name in the future. We have used Carroll Plumbing for over 15 years and were saddened when our former plumber retired. Fortunately, Dustin is absolutely top notch.

Description of Work
Fix a leaking shower, install a new sink

Category plumbing

5.0

10/21/2017


Carol M.

I can't recall the cost, it wasn't that unreasonable. They do a job and they fix anything. Several of my friends use them exclusively because of the plumbing nightmares. What stands out most to me is they're expensive. I would recommend them because they fix any and everything. I think they just charge too much, but then all the other companies walk in and walk out.

Description of Work
Plumbing.

Category plumbing

5.0

08/30/2017


Mary W.

These are my go-to plumbing and hvac guys. They provide timely, courteous, and skillful service.

Description of Work
A C service

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing

5.0

07/29/2017


John D.

Technicians Dustin and Aragon were friendly, courteous and very professional. The repair was completed far sooner that I would have expected and I was able to avoid a costly bathroom renovation. Thanks so much for a job well done.

Description of Work
Hats off to a great job by Carroll Plumbing. They quickly followed up on a call involving a leaky waste pipe in my second floor bathroom that was draining in my basement.

Category plumbing

5.0

07/05/2017


Trudy B.

Great job done. Very professional and efficient

Description of Work
Install toilet in master bath

Category plumbing

4.0

06/27/2017


Lindy P.

they insisted on replacing pipes that another plumber was able to clean out

Description of Work
cleared out a patio drain, quoted other work

Category plumbing

5.0

06/27/2017


Harold H.

Jeff Waran provided excellent info on our options and was very responsive to our questions/needs. Work crew arrived on time and was very professional. They did an excellent job of cleaning up after the installation and in explaining how to use the new system. Very impressed overall.

Description of Work
Added a Mitsubishi mini-split A/C system to our 2nd floor bedrooms (2 indoor wall-mounted units plus an outdoor unit).

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

06/06/2017


Maureen H.

They were efficient and replace the pipe and notified me of other issues that might be problems in the future. Both people who came were helpful and considerate. I will definitely call them again.

Description of Work
I had a stopped up sink in my half bath and when I tried to snake it, the p-trap broke through. I called Carroll and they were able to come the same day even though it was not an emergency repair.

Category plumbing

5.0

04/19/2017


Melissa C.

Carroll made sure the work got done quickly. They charged a fair price for the man hours and parts. Were professional and low pressure.

Description of Work
HVAC and Plumbing

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing

3.0

04/07/2017


Andy D.

When the original installer answered the phone under a new name and accidently hung up on me, I searched Navien’s website and found Carroll to be listed as a Navien Service Specialist. After a quick call, I was delighted that they could send someone over within the hour. The technician arrived promptly, was extremely professional, and quickly diagnosed the problem. He quickly returned to the shop and discovered that they had the part in their repair kit. After quick replacement and testing, we discussed the labor charge and he indicated that they would need to look up the cost of the flow sensor and send me an invoice. Unfortunately, the invoice arrived several days later with an unreasonable $218 charge for the part! A quick search for the part online reveals several retailers selling it for ~$40 ([*** Link removed ***] [*** Link removed ***] and for further confirmation, I called a local distributor who quoted $38. After receiving the bill, I brought the matter up with Carroll thinking it was a mistake, but was assured that their wholesale cost was “well over $170.” I certainly understand the cost of overhead, but they clearly took advantage of the situation. Bottom line is that service was timely and great, but given their billing practices, I will not be calling Carroll again.

Description of Work
I recently had a flow sensor fail in my Navien combi-boiler, leaving us without domestic hot water.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, water heater repair

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], I have left you a voice mail as a courtesy and am pleased follow up to our conversation a few weeks ago. We are happy to consider a price adjustment on the part. We understand your sensitivity, Someone else installed a high efficiency appliance.... and then when you called them.... you did not have the confidence that they had the wherewithal to service or repair that high efficiency appliance. Simply stated-That is not the case with our Company. We are able to troubleshoot and repair your high efficiency appliance. We try to stock and carry complete parts kits that are worth thousands of dollars for each and every model of Navien water heater, boiler and combination boiler/water heater units. Each model unit has a separate parts kit and most parts are not interchangeable. This investment changes year to year as the models are updated the parts become obsolete and the investment can be become obsolete as well. Our list of preferential clientele enjoy the benefits of immediate repairs , like in your case hot water on your combination boiler, the same day. We value your opinion, If there is an opportunity to earn your business because of a few dollars we are pleased to discuss it with you. Based on not only price alone..... but on the important factors of prompt, professional service, the convenience of having the part , that paired with the training and expertise for repairs, I hope you will reconsider your overall experience with Carroll Plumbing and Heating.
5.0

02/01/2017


Elaine V.

Bruce coordinated the whole process for us. We had many complications and delays. There were problems relining the chimney, getting all the utilities marked and assessing how to run the gas line to the house. Bruce stayed on top of all the various companies and agencies involved and kept them on track. The new system and hot water heater needed a few tweaks and Bruce was right there when we needed him to adjust things. Overall, despite the delays and complications we would use Carroll Plumbing and Heating again.

Description of Work
Removed old oil heating system and installed new gas heating system and hot water heater.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

12/29/2016


William B.

Job was quickly and successfully completed.

Description of Work
FIx LEAKY SHOWER AND GARBAGE DISPOSAL

Category plumbing

5.0

11/03/2016


Harold H.

Carroll Plumbing quickly responded to our initial call, quickly diagnosed the issue and gave us the most cost-effective solution. Service guys came on time, were very professional and worked quickly, and cleaned up after finishing the work. They even replaced our kitchen faucet free of charge. Great experience and would recommend them.

Description of Work
We needed our upstairs cold/hot water pipes replaced due to a blockage.

Category plumbing

5.0

09/19/2016


Warren S.

They found a pinpoint hole in a supply pipe and fixed it for $200. Another plumber had diagnosed a faulty shower pan and had referred us to a contractor who gave us an estimate of $7000.

Description of Work
Leaking shower

Category plumbing

5.0

06/02/2016


PAMELA W.

Carroll Plumbing came to repair a leak under my kitchen sink. Carroll is a little more expensive than others, but I knew I could count on them to come as soon as possible and to follow through. This was very important to me, since it was two days before the holiday weekend and I did not have time to spare. Carroll worked me in the day I called and was there when they said they would be. I have had nothing but good experiences with Carroll. Wish they were a little cheaper, but I keep using them because I know I can trust them.

Description of Work
Fixed a leak under my kitchen sink.

Category plumbing

5.0

04/26/2016


Martin T.

Excellent job---Every thing went smoothly. ----The firm was exceedingly responsive----In fact, they accelerated the estimate, actual work (was coordinated to be done the next day after the delivery of the range), due to the fact that we could no longer cook due to our now broken electric range. Additionally, the firm scheduled all inspections promptly. VERY PLEASED & WOULD USE THEM AGAIN.

Description of Work
Gas service already existed in our house as we had a two gas furnaces and gas hot water tank but not gas piping to a gas range. Our electric range stopped working & we decided to replace the existing electric range with gas.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, water heater repair, water softeners

5.0

10/14/2015


Nicholas F.

Carroll Plumbing and Bruce Oglesby were fantastic from start to finish. Not only did Bruce find and pick out a replacement radiator for me, when I wasn't able to find a way to move that behemoth to my house, he had his crew deliver it. They worked quickly and efficiently as a team to move the new radiator into my house and remove the old one. The next day they came and hooked up the replacement, serviced the boiler, bled all the radiators, and replaced our ancient thermostat. They did all of that and still came in significantly under the estimate Bruce originally provided me. I would highly, highly recommend Carroll and Bruce Oglesby to anyone who is looking for plumbing/heating work. I will absolutely use them again.

Description of Work
Removed and disposed of old and broken water radiator from my living room. Replaced with newly purchased replacement, serviced/tuned up the boiler, and replaced our old thermostat.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing

5.0

10/05/2015


Karen S.

The workmen were very professional and attentive. They carefully explained what they were going to do before starting work and showed me their repairs when they were finished. They were also very courteous: they wore protective booties (so as not to dirty the floors), put down a blanket around their work area, and swept up any debris. Overall, an excellent job.

Description of Work
The provider replaced leaking flush assemblies on two toilets and checked a third toilet.

Category plumbing

5.0

03/22/2015


Sheila L.

For the most part, very well. They had to get a little creative about how to run the lines, and we had to make some adjustments as to placement, but it wasn't a huge deal. It was VERY cold out (nearly record-breaking lows!) and the poor guys were miserable, I'm sure. I kept them well-supplied with hot chocolate, and we all got through it. Very pleasant fellows and I'm very happy with the new water heater. This company also did the plumbing work for my kitchen remodel a few years back, and did a top-notch job then, too. I have complete confidence in their abilities. UPDATE: We had a little condensate (?) puddling under the house, which was noted by the termite inspector. We called Carroll and they sent out a rep immediately. They determined that the particular model of tankless water heater we had purchased needed a different way to handle the moisture (it was a little different from the model they normally install.) They installed some piping to route the moisture out of the crawlspace, which seems to be working well. I'm sure there's a more professional description of the work, but that's the best I can do. Bottom line: They responded quickly and fixed the problem, no charge and no excuses. I'm still pleased with their work.

Description of Work
Installed a new tankless gas water heater that we had purchased elsewhere. The previous heater was a 50 gallon electric heater, so they had to run new gas lines and dispose of the old heater. I also had to have an electrician install a proper recepticle near the new equipment at a cost of about $100 (They don't do the electrical work!)

Category plumbing, water heater repair

5.0

03/14/2015


John D.

I am very happy with my experience. The provider was very courteous and prompt. I feel they gave me excellent advice regarding my options for delivering more heat to a cold 2nd floor bathroom and provided the best solution at a very reasonable cost. While waiting for the solution to be performed, I had a water pipe freeze and burst during a cold spell and they were able to add this work at very short notice. All technicians were very competent, friendly and courteous. I will invite them in again when the need arises.

Description of Work
The provider replaced a cast iron radiator, fixed a burst water pipe in my crawl space, and performed several bathroom plumbing leaks.

Category plumbing

5.0

02/16/2015


Winifred J.

He came and did the job that another plumber didn't do. I was satisfied with it.

Description of Work
I used Carroll Plumbing to fix a leak under the kitchen sink and they gave me a recommendation that one of my pipes coming in from under the house was old and it needed to be changed. They came back and did that job as well.

Category plumbing, drain pipe

4.0

12/19/2014


Robert W.

The company did a lot of work for the money spent. The project coordinator whom I dealt with and the workers were not always on the same page but the end result turned out pretty good.

Description of Work
Hired the company to replace a waist line from the kitchen, hookup a washing machine and kitchen sink to water lines, and run an additional waste line and water lines to unfinished bath upstairs.

Category plumbing

    Other local Pros in your area

    DFC home improvement

    We are a Christian owned, residential builders and home improvement company. We believe serving you and your family is our first priority. There is no job to small or large for our our dedicated team. Message us today for a free estimate! We offer a design service with 3d realistic design renders for your projects to visualize the outcome. Ask us about our budget kitchen and bathroom. We can design your space based on your budget, while focusing on achieving your desired look. Financing and monthly payments available.  

    Jordan's Heating & Air Conditioning LLC

    With over 17 years of experience, we are a full service residential heating and air conditioning including service, maintenance, install and replacement. Owner operated and you will always get fair, honest work and pricing.  

    Freezone Heating & Cooling

    We are Professional HVAC Company , Family owned and Operated, with over 20 Years of experience, with Heavily Background Checked Technicians and Installers, Drug Free, Licensed in Virginia, with extensive training. GIVE US A CALL AND EXPERIENCE SUPERIOR SUPER SERVICE!  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Plumbing, Heating,& Air Conditioning

    Services Not Offered

    Oil.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Carroll Plumbing & Heating Inc

    How is Carroll Plumbing & Heating Inc overall rated?

    Carroll Plumbing & Heating Inc is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Carroll Plumbing & Heating Inc open?

    Carroll Plumbing & Heating Inc is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Carroll Plumbing & Heating Inc provide

    Carroll Plumbing & Heating Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Carroll Plumbing & Heating Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Carroll Plumbing & Heating Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Carroll Plumbing & Heating Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Carroll Plumbing & Heating Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Carroll Plumbing & Heating Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, Carroll Plumbing & Heating Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Carroll Plumbing & Heating Inc offer emergency services?

    Yes, Carroll Plumbing & Heating Inc offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Carroll Plumbing & Heating Inc?

    Yes, Carroll Plumbing & Heating Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Carroll Plumbing & Heating Inc offer?

    Carroll Plumbing & Heating Inc offers the following services: Plumbing, Heating,& Air Conditioning

    Are there any services Carroll Plumbing & Heating Inc does not offer?

    Oil.