Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Brendan Julian Home Repair & Maintenance

Founded 1999 • With Angi since April 2009

5.0

(86) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

unknown

Richmond, VA 23223

Description

With over twenty five years of experience in the home repair industry, Brendan Julian has the knowledge and experience to address your unique home repair and maintenance issues. Additional Service - Shower Stalls, Screens, Remodeling, Range Hoods, Plumbing Repairs, Pet Doors, Hang Mirrors,

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Elizabeth M.
1.0
08/07/2020
Noone answered the phone & there was no voicemail to leave a message. Maybe the company has gone out of business.
Description of Work
drywall repairs, plumbing leak & interior painting
Category
drywall, plumbing, interior painters

Service Provider Response

Sorry to hear that this client was unable to reach me. I was not aware of any problem with my phone line or voicemail.
Kathy K.
5.0
06/30/2018
My husband and I realized our crawl space was flooded and couldn't figure out where/how to turn off the main water line coming into our house. Brendan Julian has helped us numerous times in the past with household improvements and repairs. I luckily had the great idea to call him for assistance. Due to the emergency situation, he was at our house in maybe half an hour--incredible. Brendan found the main water valve, which was buried under a few inches of mulch, by looking at where the valve was in our neighbor's yard. Brendan knew how to turn off the water and the emergency was resolved. Later that day we called Brendan to ask how to get the sump pump we bought to pump out the crawlspace (only type of pump available at Home Depot) to turn on. We couldn't figure this out after reading the pump instructions several times and watching some YouTube videos. Brendan gave us the critical missing instruction--the float has to be higher than the pump to work--and the sump pump roared to life. Second problem solved. Several days later once the crawlspace dried out, Brendan came out to try and repair our land line phone line which had stopped working when the crawlspace flooded. Brendan found that the phone line hadn't been properly tied up by the original installer 15 years ago and had shorted out from the flooding. Brendan repaired the line, properly tied it up, and the phone started working. Third problem solved. Thank goodness for Brendan Julian. He is awesome!
Description of Work
Shutting off water causing flooded crawlspace
Category
handyman service
Charlotte S.
5.0
06/29/2018
We've hired Brendan many times. This trip he repaired a door lock and rewired speakers on our screen porch. My only complaint - I can only grade him "A". He deserves "A+++". Shows up when he says he will. (How rare is that?!) Gets right to work. Does EVERYTHING FIRST RATE. NEVER, ever had to call him back to do a job over again. Fair prices. Courteous, respectful. Tidies up, doesn't leave a mess. Can't say enough good things about him. Already scheduling a couple more jobs we need him to do.
Description of Work
Multiple projects
Category
electrician, handyman service, doors
John Q.
5.0
02/22/2018
I’ve used him three times and he does an excellent job with very good rates. He works quiet and gets the job done. I will definitely recommend him and absolutely use him, again.
Description of Work
Handyman Service
Category
handyman service
Luana L.
5.0
09/22/2017
All I can say is that Brendan is exceptional. His professionalism, quality of work, speed of work, punctuality, trustworthiness, the whole sha-bang is outstanding. He was so respectful of our space and task-focused that he's the only contractor I've felt comfortable with enough to be able to leave the house. Really, I can't recommend him enough, and I will definitely use him again, though understandably, I'll have to wait awhile. The wait's completely worth it though!
Description of Work
Installed base, door, and window trim in newly finished bonus room and bath. Also installed custom shelves in bathroom along with toilet and sink.
Category
contractors, handyman service, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, interior painters, doors
Heath A.
5.0
08/18/2017
Brendan was awesome. I contacted him on 8/17 and he worked me into his schedule today 8/18. He explained what he could do to repair the door, gave the cost up front. Work took about an hour and all of the issues with the door have been resolved. I would highly recommend him and will be using Brendan for future jobs.
Description of Work
Repair front entry door that was sagging and not adequately keeping out outside air/light.
Category
handyman service, doors
Elizabeth S.
5.0
11/22/2016
All work on 10/17 and 10/31 was completed with excellence, efficiency, and courtesy and the prices were very reasonable.
Description of Work
All-day job on 10/17/16 – Installed numerous cordless blinds, sweep under garage door, window film; replaced storm door. Cost - $585 (included some materials--storm door, sweep) Job on 10/31 – Installed new screen in rear storm door, sweep on garage door, and additional blind; caulked around window film. Cost - $140 (included some materials--screen and sweep)
Category
handyman service, replacement windows, doors
Charlotte S.
5.0
09/22/2016
Perfect. This is the 4th or 5th time we've called on Brendan. As always, shows up when he says he will. Gets right to work. Does the job quickly and correctly the first time. The only time we have to call Brendan back is to do more work for us! He is professional, courteous and efficient. He doesn't deserve an "A" - he deserves an "A+".
Description of Work
Replacement of a garbage disposal
Category
handyman service, plumbing
Leah Rishona B.
5.0
09/02/2016
This is the second time I have used Brendan's services and can offer only the highest of recommendations for his professionalism and quality of work. He is very detailed, responsive to emails, and very punctual. I have one more project that he is going to complete in the cooler weather (replacing a small area of brick paving in the alley entrance way.
Description of Work
Repairs including putting a new plastic vapor barrier in basement crawl space; adjusting storm door; installing new blind; repairing several broken areas on a fence; insulating under a small pantry; repairing a rusted hand rail.
Category
handyman service
Clifton M.
5.0
06/03/2016
This was excellent work. He is detail oriented and takes pride in his work.
Description of Work
Screen porch paint and repair, ceiling tile repair, window pane replacement and screens, stoop cement repair, wrought iron railing repair, brick steps repair, front door repair and painting, replaced screen doors
Category
handyman service
Dave M.
5.0
04/18/2016
Service and workmanship was excellent. Brendan was on time, highly responsive and performed very high quality work at a very fair price. Highly recommended.
Description of Work
Install two storm doors and replace framing around front door.
Category
handyman service, doors
Elizabeth S.
5.0
02/27/2016
Mr. Julian's manner was very courteous; his work, excellent; and his rate, low. We are enjoying our newly functional front door and a secure handrail going up the stairs. We would have been happy to pay more for these repairs. I heartily recommend Mr. Julian to anyone seeking a handyman!
Description of Work
Mr. Julian adjusted several features on the front door so it seals properly and no longer sticks and fixed a broken handrail that parallels the stairs. Additionally, he answered my questions about the scope of prospective house repairs.
Category
handyman service, remodeling, doors
Daniel W.
5.0
08/11/2015
Brendan did an outstanding job. The quality of the material used was excellent and the workmanship was outstanding. The work was performed on the time schedule promised and for the price quoted. Brendan is very professional and is very neat and clean. I highly recommend him. In fact, I have already requested and scheduled Brendan's services for additional work.
Description of Work
Built bookcases in closet; installed a pull-out faucet on wash tub and installed towel racks.
Category
handyman service, plumbing, woodworking
Robert R.
5.0
07/23/2015
Brendan did exemplary work. He is extremely neat and meticulous, and we are very pleased with his work. We already have our next list of projects for him to complete!
Description of Work
Smoothed hallway and bedroom ceiling that had been previously been popcorn ceilings. Installed baseboard and casing in hallway and bedroom. Primed walls and primed and painted ceilings.
Category
drywall, handyman service, woodworking, interior painters
Debbie Q.
5.0
07/21/2015
On a scale from 1 to 10; 10 being the highest, I would rate Brendan's work an 11. Very professional; on time and is very detail oriented. He cleaned every area after performing the work. He came out initially to repair items that were on a list provided from the home inspection. He came back a week later to install some hardware that had to be ordered and took care of some additional items as well. I was so pleased by his initial work that I called again when I discovered that my dining room window had water damage which was hidden by the blinds I had removed. The repair was outstanding! I would highly recommend Brendan for any home repairs. Should I have future needs, I will certainly be contacting him again.
Description of Work
I purchased a town home that per the home inspection needed some additional repairs: caulked around counter top; braced and caulked kitchen sink; tightened and repaired deck boards, installed light fixtures; repaired board in attic; caulked tub; installed new locks for doors; repaired window seal frame and painted and repaired/painted spot on bedroom wall. Changed out all door hardware for bedrooms and closets.
Category
handyman service
Ty D.
5.0
07/09/2015
Well I am a Realtor in Richmond. I had a listing that went under contract and after the buyer did the home inspection, they presented me and the Seller with a list of repairs the buyer was requesting. It was such a diverse list of repairs, that I wasn't sure one person could do all of them ,but I was determined to use Angie's List to locate a handyman. Now I have used Angie's List in the past, and not been completely thrilled with handymen in the past. However after looking at half a dozen or so on Angie's List I was drawn to Julian's profile. The reviews seemed unforced, genuine, and happy. There were no rude reviews with equally rude responses from the contractor which I find unprofessional and distasteful. If someone gives a company a bad review it's best to respond with something that shows concern and a desire to make things right. It's a good business practice. So I contacted Julian and he answered the phone. I explained what I was looking for, sent him the repair list, and met with him the a few days later. He was able to give me a ballpark then and there. I talked to my Seller and explained that I got a good quote and a good feeling from Julian. He has a 'trustworthy' demeanor. Something difficult to find with most contractors. I have a lot of experience in dealing with contractors as a Realtor, and got a good 'vibe' from him immediately. So we hired him, scheduled an appointment, and he was able to correct everything deficient on the list and billed as he said he would. I would just like to say that Julian is an exceptional Handyman(Class "C") Contractor and I would highly recommend him for handyman services.
Description of Work
Odd and End repair work including, light electric, plumbing and carpentry
Category
handyman service
Jan D.
5.0
06/04/2015
It went great. He did a perfect job. I have called him before and I will call him again!
Description of Work
Brendan replaced worn out hinges on kitchen cabinets and a few small things I needed done to get my house ready for sale. 412500
Category
handyman service, remodeling
Carol R.
5.0
05/26/2015
Brendan did meticulous work, attending to every detail. He was always pleasant, neat and punctual. His communications were excellent. It was a pleasure to have someone of his caliber work on our home and we highly recommend him.
Description of Work
Hall bathroom update. Brendan cut the drywall behind the vanity location to expose the drain line. He raised the vanity drain rough in to accommodate the new vanity and then replaced the drywall that was previously removed. He supplied, fit and installed ~ 16 linear feet of 42" beadboard panel, colonial base molding and cap molding which he primed and painted with the paint we had supplied. He also painted the door trim, the inside of the door, the ceiling and walls and repaired a nail pop in the ceiling. He installed our new vanity, sinktop, faucet and toilet in addition to removing the existing shower arm, shower control trim and tub spout and replacing them with new ones. Although not in the estimate, Brendan also reconfigured the drain in the adjoining bathroom because my husband did not like the way the plumber had connected it during a previous update.
Category
drywall, handyman service, plumbing, woodworking, interior painters
Margo S.
5.0
05/26/2015
Brendan was the epitome of complete customer satisfaction. He dressed nicely-not grubby coming into my house. He made absolutely no mess whatsoever in ANY of his undertakings. I paid him by the hour, (which is not something I usually like to do), but, he did not waste time-he was extremely proficient. Read the complicated instructions (I couldn't make heads nor tails out of them). Brendan never asked for tools-he was well prepared, and it was undoubtably one of the best associations I have had with a handyman in my entire life!!!!
Description of Work
Brendan corrected the mistakes I had made putting together a huge King Size Prepac Platform Storage Bed and then put together the Matching King Headboard, Bookcase style. Brendan also re-hung some pictures. He got a door that had been off it's track (one of those that goes into the wall) for over 15 years. He also looked at some other projects I have for him in the upcoming future.
Category
handyman service, woodworking
BARBARA T.
5.0
05/17/2015
I had an excellent experience with Mr. Julian. He replied to my Angie's List request quickly and kept in touch as needed. In fact, he went "over and above" as far as availability. When he learned I'd have to take off work if he came on a weekday, he immediately offered to come out on a Saturday; I was very pleased that he was willing to do so! He arrived right on time and worked steadily, apprising me of his progress and helping me figure out measurements for some mini-blinds (I'd measured incorrectly!). He was friendly but professional during his time here. I found his price to be very reasonable for the work done. I need a couple of more things done this summer, and am already planning for him to come back and work on those. I recommend Mr. Julian very highly.
Description of Work
Mr. Julian came to my house and did several repairs that I'd requested.
Category
handyman service
Rebecca L.
5.0
05/10/2015
Brendan was punctual, friendly and the work was done very well.
Description of Work
We moved into a new home and needed some minor repairs (lattice replacement etc).
Category
handyman service
Cindy B.
5.0
04/28/2015
Great! Brendan is extremely professional and does very high quality work at fair price. He stays pretty busy so there is usually a wait of a couple weeks or longer, but I am okay with that.
Description of Work
A LOT! Brendan and I walked around and did a bit of a punch list and came up with several things I had him do: sand & paint columns on my front door stoop, remove and install 2 new lanterns on garage, repair aluminum at garage frame, facia, and soffit, remove rotting wood molding on garage pedestrian door and replace, replace hinges on cabinet doors, replace cartridges on several faucets, repair sliding closet door. He will return when weather is warmer to replace an attic fan.
Category
contractors, electrician, handyman service, plumbing, siding, woodworking, ceiling fans, house painters, doors
kristin L.
5.0
04/08/2015
Mr Julian did an excellent job. We are both very busy so he helped me with doing the priority work quickly. Good quality work- he is trustworhty and provides quality work at a fair price. I will definitely call him again.
Description of Work
Mr. Julian replaced a shower head, added a deadbolt to the front door, replaced a baseboard heater and built a handrail on my entrance steps.
Category
contractors, handyman service, plumbing, woodworking, doors
Margaret G.
5.0
03/09/2015
Very well and efficiently.
Description of Work
The gentlemen were professional and and polite. They assessed the problem quickly and corrected the problem.
Category
handyman service
Jan D.
5.0
02/25/2015
Brendan was just great. He was responsive, and very skilled . He is what everybody is looking for in the perfect handyman. I plan to call him again soon!
Description of Work
He hung mini blinds in two bedrooms and fixed a bathroom lite switch.
Category
handyman service

    Other local Pros in your area

    America's Best Choice of Richmond

    As a locally owned and operated business we feel invested in our clients and constantly strive for customer satisfaction. We won't leave until the job is done right! Call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    Paramount Builders Inc

    Paramount Builders takes pride in being your local home improvement contractor. Since 1991, we have served our local community by providing the very best products, warranties, installation techniques, service, and most importantly; your experience from start to finish. Our exclusive product lines give us the benefit of being able to extend our top-of-the-line products to you, our neighbors, with certainty and affordability. We hand-picked our exclusive products with you, your family, and your home's aesthetic and longevity in mind. All of our products were created to keep your home energy efficient and protected in every way. Our commitment to excellence does not waiver. We understand what it means to own a home, and we understand as professionals what you and your home deserve. We live each day by our mission statement; "Improving the Community, One Home at a Time," and thank you for continuing to trust us!  

    Angi Certified

    Dibble Electrical, Inc.

    FREE ESTIMATES!!!! Dibble Electrical, Inc. is a one stop family owned and operated electrical contractor that offers a wide range of services from whole house wiring, additions, service changes and everything in between. At Dibble we pride ourselves on quality work, honesty and most importantly ethics. At Dibble Electrical, our mission is to provide our customers with only the best services possible, with the goal of building a long-lasting relationship with not only our customers, but their family and friends too!! We have been in the industry since 2002, and here at Dibble we love what we do and hope that we can have the opportunity to provide you with only the best electrical services!! Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100086516116313  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Offers Coupon

    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, PayPal
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Assembling, Minor Bathroom Renovation, Blinds, Bookshelves, Cabinetry, Ceiling Stains, Ceiling Fans, Closets, Deadbolt Locks, Dimmer Switches, Drywall Installation & Repair, Interior Painting, Light Fixtures, Picture Hanging, Pet Doors, Shelving, Storm Doors, Trim, Etc.

    Services Not Offered

    Roofing, Siding, Power Washing

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Brendan Julian Home Repair & Maintenance

    How is Brendan Julian Home Repair & Maintenance overall rated?

    Brendan Julian Home Repair & Maintenance is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Brendan Julian Home Repair & Maintenance open?

    Brendan Julian Home Repair & Maintenance is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 12:00 PM

    What payment options does Brendan Julian Home Repair & Maintenance provide

    Brendan Julian Home Repair & Maintenance accepts the following forms of payment: Check, PayPal

    Does Brendan Julian Home Repair & Maintenance offer free estimates?

    Yes, Brendan Julian Home Repair & Maintenance offers free project estimates.

    Does Brendan Julian Home Repair & Maintenance offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Brendan Julian Home Repair & Maintenance does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Brendan Julian Home Repair & Maintenance offer a senior discount?

    No, Brendan Julian Home Repair & Maintenance does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Brendan Julian Home Repair & Maintenance?

    Yes, Brendan Julian Home Repair & Maintenance offers warranties.

    What services does Brendan Julian Home Repair & Maintenance offer?

    Brendan Julian Home Repair & Maintenance offers the following services: Assembling, Minor Bathroom Renovation, Blinds, Bookshelves, Cabinetry, Ceiling Stains, Ceiling Fans, Closets, Deadbolt Locks, Dimmer Switches, Drywall Installation & Repair, Interior Painting, Light Fixtures, Picture Hanging, Pet Doors, Shelving, Storm Doors, Trim, Etc.

    Are there any services Brendan Julian Home Repair & Maintenance does not offer?

    Roofing, Siding, Power Washing