Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

NATIONAL LOCK & KEY

Founded 2012 • With Angi since May 2013

4.9

(288) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

P.O. Box 8642

Reston, VA 20195

Description

Locksmith company serving Northern Virginia, Maryland and Washington, D.C. Weekend service is also available at no additional charge. Forms of payment accepted: Visa, Mastercard, Discover, American Express, check, and cash.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

08/18/2021


Timothy W.

When we hired them they were great. Had not had a problem since. Very professional and easy to work with.

Description of Work
Used them for changing the locks and installing 2 more.

Category locksmith

5.0

03/07/2020


Mark H.

It went perfectly. Alex Isicson was the locksmith sent, and he was able to repair the lock quickly and well in one visit.

Description of Work
We needed a repair to our back door lock

Category locksmith

5.0

01/23/2020


Barry D.

The locksmith was fantastic. He was professional, quick, and did an excellent job.

Description of Work
Rekeying of 4 locks and installing the strike plate of a deadbolt.

Category locksmith

5.0

12/02/2019


Christopher C.

The locksmith that worked on my locks was named Alexander. He was amazing. I received a call from him about 30 minutes prior to him showing up. He was highly professional, knowledgeable and a great guy!

Description of Work
Locks Rekeyed On One Door

Category locksmith

5.0

08/14/2019


Susan N.

Technician was in the area and came right over. He fixed it quickly.

Description of Work
Fix a deadbolt

Category locksmith

5.0

07/26/2019


Adam J.

We were on the verge of replacing our patio doors mainly because the handles were broken. NLK responses to my inquiry in less than 24 hours and had someone out in 48 hours. Our tech was very professional and patient with us while the kids and dog were present. Wonderful job.

Description of Work
Fixed old Anderson patio door locks that had fallen apart

Category locksmith

5.0

05/20/2019


Diane V.

Excellent work! The technician was efficient and informative. He was also pleasant and professional.

Description of Work
Locks changed and garage door opener reset

Category locksmith

5.0

02/19/2019


Swami I.

Exceptional fast, professional, same day. Nicely done! Alex did a great job.

Description of Work
Broken handle and lock

Category locksmith

5.0

12/30/2018


Christopher R.

Alex did an excellent job. He went out of his way to make sure that everything was in working order and was super patient as we set up the finicky August system.

Description of Work
Installed four Yale/August smart locks.

Category locksmith

5.0

10/09/2018


Howard S.

Used the deal to rekey locks for a new home I purchased. I had the key for the front door/deadbolt, but did not for a French door and patio door in the back (those were 'lost'). The tech called me 30 min ahead as promised, arrived on time at the start of the estimated window, and went to work. He was polite, professional, and knowledgeable. The lack of a key for the back doors was no problem (other providers I checked wanted to charge me extra for that). Everything was done within an hour and for the price promised. Very happy with their service, and would use them again.

Description of Work
Re-keying locks

Category locksmith

5.0

09/26/2018


Amber F.

It went great, they came repair my lock and could open my door again. Professional and great price.

Description of Work
Repair lock

Category locksmith

5.0

09/11/2018


Rosa B.

Wonderful. The tech was efficient and professional.

Description of Work
Change the locks

Category locksmith

5.0

08/30/2018


Jerry S.

Great. He took apart the lock and repaired it so that we did not need to replace anything. He was on time, extremely nice and efficient. Would definitely recommend.

Description of Work
Replace or repair front door knob and deadbolt

Category locksmith

5.0

08/06/2018


John H.

Very easy. Tech was punctual and did a good job

Description of Work
Changed locks for new home

Category locksmith

5.0

06/27/2018


R S.

Andre and Alexander showed up on time and did a quick rundown of the locks that needed to be re-keyed. There were more locks than originally anticipated, but it was not an issue and Andre gave me the updated total. They were very professional, worked quickly and efficiently, and in under an hour, had re-keyed and reinstalled the locks. Excellent service that I would definitely recommend. Thanks!

Description of Work
Locks re-keyed

Category locksmith

5.0

06/18/2018


Jim F.

Our front door deadbolt was gradually becoming harder and harder to lock. Turns out the strike plates needed adjusting. Andre did great work--he was prompt, professional, knowledgeable, and solved the problem with our front door. For the storm door, we provided the handle and lock assembly; the old assembly needed to be cut off. We'll definitely call National Lock & Key when we have door/lock issues again in the future. Their cost was also reasonable.

Description of Work
Adjust front door strike plate; install storm door handle & lock

Category locksmith

5.0

05/02/2018


Liana K.

Very fast, same day service. Very polite.

Description of Work
4 locks needed rekeying

Category locksmith

5.0

04/10/2018


janice M.

The work was performed exactly as promised, they showed up on time and did the agreed-upon work for the agreed-upon price. We've used them twice since.

Description of Work
Rekeying locks for a rental change over

Category locksmith

5.0

04/02/2018


Norman R.

My call to National Lock and Key was handled courteously and professionally. Within a few hours of my call, an efficient and seasoned technician was at my house and fixed the problem. He explained the issue thoroughly. Highly recommended.

Description of Work
Fix a lock,

Category locksmith

5.0

03/12/2018


Lea L.

The gentleman was amazing. He worked with the materials we had purchased but couldn't get to work. He was able to put together a working lock and door handle from the materials we had on hand that was secure, functional, and aesthetic.

Description of Work
Needed a key lock on my patio sliding glass door.

Category locksmith

5.0

02/27/2018


q A.

Came the same morning I called. Manuel was so helpful and professional. Am happy to recommend them for all locksmith work.

Description of Work
Lock was stuck on back door

Category locksmith

5.0

12/20/2017


Sarah K.

Great service. The office was very responsive, even when I had to reschedule. The locksmith showed up on time, walked me through my options, and did the work well. Would definitely use them again.

Description of Work
Needed locks re-keyed for the home we purchased

Category locksmith

5.0

09/29/2017


Raija B.

National Lock and Key scheduled a visit the day after I called. The told me the price on the phone (including honoring an Angie's list discount coupon). The locksmith arrived on time as promised, and did the job quickly, efficiently and professionally -- it took maybe 15 minutes. The Primus lock moved to the new door works perfectly now. And the charge was already on the locksmith's tablet, exactly as they said it would be the day before.

Description of Work
We had a new door installed that had a Schlage lock. We saved the Primus lock cylinder from the old door and wanted used to replace the cylinder in the new door. The company that installed the door was able to remove the lock mechanism from the old door but didn't know how to pull the cylinder from the lock. We needed a locksmith for that.

Category locksmith

5.0

08/14/2017


Kenenth J.

Andre was great. Very professional and quick. He made sure everything was working before he left. He explained everything he was going to do and ran down the itemized billing. I called National at 8:30am this morning and told them it was urgent that we have our locks taken care of as soon as possible due to our key getting into the hands of a known criminal. They told me someone would be here between 1 - 3pm, Andre arrived a little after 3pm, he was done by 4:13pm. I highly recommend National!

Description of Work
Rekey all entry locks and replace 2 deadbolt locks.

Category locksmith

5.0

08/08/2017


Mitchell M.

Manuel was friendly and professional. He explained all my options, told me the cost of each, and confirmed the total cost after I made my decisions. His work was efficient and professional. He also adjusted the strike plates, so the bolts slide much more smoothly than before. The cost was exactly what he said it would be.

Description of Work
Re-Key 3 storm doors, 3 deadbolts, 2 doorknobs.

Category locksmith

    Other local Pros in your area

    Zee Locksmith

    Zee locksmith is specialized in all types of locks for your home doors, windows, closets, safes. Zee locksmith installs and repair locks and keys. If you lost keys, want to re-key, make new key, break or open any lock just let us know.  

    Angi Certified

    Eastern Safe & Lock Inc

    Northern Virginia, Maryland and Washington DC location : Contact Brian Ford at 703-541-2200 Eastern Safe & Lock is a family owned and operated business since 1985. We are very proud to have won the Angieslist Super Service Award three years in a row. Serving all of Northern Virginia from Stafford to Leesburg to include Washington DC and local Maryland areas. Our highly trained technicians are licensed to service and installation of all types of locks, safes, keys, alarm installation, access control, camera's, CCTV, high security locks. We have been providing all types of physical security of our clients since 1985. Eastern Safe & Lock was instrumental in writing and passing Virginia’s first locksmith license in 2008. This license requires all locksmith companies to be licensed and each technician to be register with the Department of Criminal Justice Services. Each Locksmith has to pass a background check and be fingerprinted by DCJS. Check out Angie's List to find out about the phony unlicensed scammer locksmiths that quote silly low prices like 15.00 or 19.00, they show up in unmarked cars, use a very old con called bait and switch, quote really low to get the job then charge hundreds of dollar more than they should when they get to your home or office. We provide free written estimate. We have been in business for to many years to pressure you to use our services. We will never demand you pay with cash. Checks, Visa, MasterCard & American Express are welcome. We provide emergency service 24 hours a day, our regular hours are 8:00 to 5:00 Monday to Friday. Additional email - bford@easternsafe.com.  

    Angi Certified

    Sure-Fit Security

    14 employees. Use a subcontractor for occasional safe services. Additional phone - (301) 424-5544. Additional e-mail - info@surefitsecurity.com.  

    Angi Certified

    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    11-7496
    Trade License Locale
    Virginia
    Trade License Authority
    DCJS
    Trade License Expiration
    06/30/2022
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Residential lock rekeys, repairs, replacements, & installations. Peephole & door closer installations.

    Services Not Offered

    Emergency services, safes & vaults, automotive.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about NATIONAL LOCK & KEY

    How is NATIONAL LOCK & KEY overall rated?

    NATIONAL LOCK & KEY is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are NATIONAL LOCK & KEY open?

    NATIONAL LOCK & KEY is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 1:00 PM

    What payment options does NATIONAL LOCK & KEY provide

    NATIONAL LOCK & KEY accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does NATIONAL LOCK & KEY offer free estimates?

    Yes, NATIONAL LOCK & KEY offers free project estimates.

    Does NATIONAL LOCK & KEY offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, NATIONAL LOCK & KEY does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does NATIONAL LOCK & KEY offer a senior discount?

    No, NATIONAL LOCK & KEY does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by NATIONAL LOCK & KEY?

    Yes, NATIONAL LOCK & KEY offers warranties.

    What services does NATIONAL LOCK & KEY offer?

    NATIONAL LOCK & KEY offers the following services: Residential lock rekeys, repairs, replacements, & installations. Peephole & door closer installations.

    Are there any services NATIONAL LOCK & KEY does not offer?

    Emergency services, safes & vaults, automotive.