Midlothian Mechanical

Founded 1990 • With Angi since July 2007

Residential and commercial heating, air conditioning & refrigeration. Whole house generators too. Additional email - kkirsh@midlomechanical.com. Additional contact name - Kevin Kirsh.

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Images

A Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile image

Williams

HVAC Companies

202223235
Installed a single 4-way ductless cassette heat pump system w/ a single outdoor unit
View project
Williams project

Williams

HVAC Companies

202223235
View project
Bosch_Central project

Bosch_Central

HVAC Companies

202223113
View project
Powhatan_Shell_Rooftop project

Powhatan_Shell_Rooftop

HVAC Companies

202223139
View project

Verified Reviews

4.6

(69) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

53

4

7

3

5

2

1

1

3

Rating Details

Price
4.5
Professionalism
4.7
Punctuality
4.9
Quality
4.7
Responsiveness
4.7

Read reviews by category

HVAC Companies (66)water heaters (4)plumbers (4)heating oil company (1)
Showing 1-25 of 69 reviews
Jackie L.
5.0
09/14/2022
Midlothian Mechanical awesome work
Description of Work
HVAC Maintenance
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Hire Again?
Yes
Fran T.
5.0
09/14/2022
Young man was here 4 hrs and had to put in 2 parts for my unit to work. He was very nice, but in training, use the phone to get help. The only thing that I did not like, I asked for Patrick to do the service and when this man came to my door, he told me that Patrick no long works for your company, I should have been told that when I set up the appointment, I have done may years with your company and I was very upset that no one told me that Patrick did not work there anymore. It was up to management to tell me not this young man. Fran Topper
Description of Work
HVAC Maintenance
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Cost
$500
Hire Again?
Yes
Chris P.
5.0
06/22/2022
I highly recommend Midlothian Mechanical. My parents bought a Ryan Home in a 55+ community a year and a half ago. The home was actually built for them. Entering the first summer (4-6 months after moving in) the AC did not work. My parents called the company that installed the unit to come out and were charged an outrageous amount, when it should have been free under warranty. Never buy anything that Ryan Homes makes!!!!! Entering this summer the unit did not work again. I told my parents to use Midlothian Mechanical. I have used them for 17 years and they helped me out of a similar bind when I bought my house. They were beyond fair to me for the work they had to do at my home. My unit has worked perfectly ever since. When I called for my parents they fit them in right away. They worked 6-8 hours on repairing what the builder put in. In fact the owner of Midlothian Mechanical came out himself to help the technician track down the issues. The unit now works great, but more importantly he/they were beyond fair to my parents. He could have charged them dearly for their time and effort and been well within their right as it was a big task to backtrack and find all the other company's mistakes. I won't give the price but I will tell you I was trying to get them to take more. I definitely believe my parents were under charged for the excellent service and expertise they received. If you have an issue with your HVAC do yourself a favor and call Midlothian Mechanical. Chris Pizzini
Description of Work
Air Conditioning Repair
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Hire Again?
Yes
George R.
5.0
10/20/2020
I have always been very satisfied with Midlothian. I would like to acknowledge Blake. He was extremely polite and answered all my questions straight forward and in terms that I could understand. I would request Blake for maintenance and service. He is fearless in those enclosed crawl spaces. Thank You Blake. Beau Robinson
Description of Work
HVAC CHECK AND SERVICE
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Hire Again?
Yes
Janice N.
1.0
07/03/2019
I paid for an annual maintenance contract with this company last year on the advice of a neighbor who worked there. When the employee came to perform maintenance on my two hvac systems he literally did nothing. I gave him furnace filters which I had purchased and asked him to replace the filters while he performed his "maintenance". He didn't even do that. He merely left the new filters on top of the hvac units. I called to complain and said I didn't want to continue my relationship with them even though I had paid for the whole year, I didn't want my 2nd visit, I was told I had to write a letter explaining my reasons. I just gave my reasons over the phone. Today, I received a bill for another year. When I called, I was told again that I had to send them a letter to cancel or they would mark my account "delinquent". At this point I am feeling harassed by this company. They can keep the money I have already paid them for services they never performed, all I want is for them to leave me alone.
Description of Work
Annual HVAC maintenance
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Cost
$300
Ashley R.
1.0
03/26/2018
Midlothian Mechanical will not pay their contractors for work already completed, and they have received payment from the customer. Very disappointing!
Description of Work
Payment for work completed
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
David C.
5.0
08/25/2017
We love them. The cost was free because I have a maintenance agreement with them.
Description of Work
They came out for spring service. They changed the filters and made sure everything was running correctly.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Hire Again?
Yes
Susan E.
4.0
08/09/2017
They've been servicing our equipment for the last 8 or 10 years. They're fine, they're not cheap, they're no the greatest thing ever going. We go on an annual contract, we got two units. We use them begrudgingly. We know their management and it's very responsive. They're familiar with us and our units. They're fine, they're good. Richmond has two or three good HVAC people, these are one of them.
Description of Work
Serviced equipment.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Hire Again?
Yes
Thomas B.
5.0
06/06/2017
Prompt courteous service. Minor delay since workers showed up with wrong type of water heater; promptly addressed and had installed in matter of hours.
Description of Work
Replaced cracked waterheater
Category
water heater repair
Hire Again?
Yes
Bill L.
5.0
04/13/2017
they did an excellent job and did it in the time frame.
Description of Work
4 mini-splits installed
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Cost
$14,000
Hire Again?
Yes
Sarah V.
5.0
04/04/2017
They were quick, easy to work with. They did a great job.
Description of Work
They installed an new heat pump.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Cost
$6,000
Hire Again?
Yes
Evan R.
5.0
09/20/2016
It went well. Technician arrived on time and acted professionally. Gave me some advice on my systems which I appreciated.
Description of Work
Annual maintenance, heat pump repair
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Hire Again?
Yes
Susan S.
3.0
06/23/2016
* Technician was knowledgeable * Office appeared disorganized. I did not receive invoices for any work done. I called the office and was able to get them emailed to me. I did not receive a promised call back for service requested. I called them after waiting 2 days. Service was very polite and I could tell they were trying to help. Maybe new staff? * It was painful to pay $695 just to find out I needed to replace the evaporator coil. Granted, this price included 3 pounds of refrigerant. They charge a flat $362 for the leak search regardless of how long it takes. This may be standard practice at all places, however. * The quote to replace the coil seemed way out of the average range. According to the website airconditionerprice.com this should run somewhere between $650 and $1200 based on your region. The quote was $1671. I found a provider on this website with high reviews that did it for $800.
Description of Work
Diagnostic; recharge system with 3 pounds of Freon and conduct a leak search
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Cost
$695
Richard A.
5.0
06/18/2015
They are as good as the company that maintained my equipment in my last house. The costs are in line with the other vendors in the area and I would probably hire them for future work as I do keep them on an annual basis.
Description of Work
They maintain my heating and A/C systems semi-annually.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Hire Again?
Yes
Charlotte S.
5.0
06/17/2015
They did a terrific job. I have a really small utility room, with a cut out for the water heater. They were so meticulous and they measured it carefully and researched to make sure that the water heater would fit properly. They were prompt too, since we were in an emergency.
Description of Work
They installed our water heater about 6 weeks ago.
Category
water heater repair
Hire Again?
Yes

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much. We really appreciate your business!
Curtis W.
3.0
05/12/2015
I liked these guys when they first installed the system. Got the feeling they were fair and not trying to screw me. But over the years, I've become less sure of that. I also had a system installed in another house I own and have had nothing but problems with it. Every new season, heat or cooling, it requires a service. As soon as the final warranty expires on the equipment, I'm outta there. I have never found a hvac company I was pleased with after a few years and that streak unfortunately continues.
Description of Work
Replaced a board that they had installed with the system. I was told that this was not the same board they replaced just a few months ago, but I had no way to verify that. Sounded like the same thing. The problem was the same.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Cost
$500

Service Provider Response

Dear (removed member name), It was good meeting with you yesterday. I was glad the issue was not related to the hvac system we installed. I understand the frustration of having repeated service calls. This is frustrating for us too, as the customer often places the blame on us. Unfortunately, equipment manufactured today is just not made the way it used to be, principally with parts made in the USA. That is why most manufacturers have been forced to offer a ten year parts warranty. I would hope your overall rating of Midlothian Mechanical is based more on our response time to your issues and our dedication to customer service. Please do not hesitate to call me at 379-6222 should you wish to discuss further. Sincerely, John Gibson, Residential Service Manager
David C.
5.0
05/01/2015
Very friendlyknowledgeable helpful and complete. I'm going to be calling this company back when we are able to redo our furnace and duct work.
Description of Work
Washing machine repair
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Cost
$100
Hire Again?
Yes
Susan H.
5.0
04/21/2015
I didn't see from the thermostat but from my bills that I was on emergency heat. I finally determined the blades outside weren't spinning, and called Midlo Mechanical. They were very professional and courteous, both on the phone and the technician. He quickly determined that the outside unit wasn't getting any juice. Once power to the unit was restored, I was 'good to go'. Trust me when I say that the fuse box will be the first thing I check next time. But I hadn't had the unit serviced in-- too long, and with coupons and signing up for maintenance, they didn't charge me for that call. The tech did not pressure me into signing up for a maintenance package, he only told me what they were; seeing how long I let servicing the unit go, I thought it best for me to be on a maintenance plan. I don't like to give all 'A's, I had a bad experience with who put in the new heat pump about 2 years ago and decided I would not rate with too many 'A's, but I don't have anything that I didn't like about the visit. I would tell anyone who would ask me about this company to go ahead and call them.
Description of Work
Got the unit off of emergency heat and operating; performed a regular servicing.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Hire Again?
Yes

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review and comments. There are many benefits available with our Customer Service Agreements(CSA). We find most customers will experience $$$ utility savings that totally offset the cost of the CSA. We are grateful and pleased to have you as a customer!
EJ B.
5.0
02/10/2015
I cannot speak highly enough about this company. My a/c went out during one of the hottest weeks of the summer - 98 and 99 degree days. I called several companies and no one could do the work right away - I got estimates between 3 days to 2 weeks. I explained to each company that I had 3, 17 year old, long-hair kitties that were suffering with the heat. Midlothian Mechanical sent a rep out within hours. He took the time to explain the difference between the units he recommended so that I could make a good decision on which unit to purchase. He charged the broken unit with Freon two times at no charge. He must def be an animal lover because he said he had a job the next day that could be rearranged and they could install the units the next day. He bent over backwards for me (and my old senior kitties) and I very much appreciate it. The heat pump and air handler were installed professionally and quickly, without incident. I LOVE my new YORK heat pump - it even looks good! BTW, the "he" I am speaking of is Kevin (one of the owners). I didn't even know I was speaking to the owner until we were well into the conversation. Very nice person, great company and excellent YORK product. I am very very pleased and I highly recommend Midlothian Mechanical and they're yearly maintenance plan.
Description of Work
Replaced heat pump and inside unit (air handler).
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing
Cost
$8,400
Hire Again?
Yes

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your kind comments!
Glenn P.
5.0
11/12/2014
They were fast, friendly, and professional. Highly recommended!
Description of Work
Serviced air conditioning in our multi-floor building, which has separate units for each floor.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Cost
$75
Hire Again?
Yes

Service Provider Response

Thank You Sir! It is a pleasure doing business with you.
Alan T.
5.0
11/03/2014
The technician was prompt and efficient. He took the cover off the main unit, checked Freon levels, coils, motors and other components. Everything checked out. However, after the technician left, we noticed that the AC was not working - the fan was running constantly but it was not cooling the air. We called Midlothian Mechanical back and they adjusted schedules to send the same technician back that afternoon. It turns out that he had somehow managed to knock one of the plugs on the coils off and all of the Freon had escaped. The technician filled the system with Freon and replaced the plug and everything is working fine.
Description of Work
We have an annual service contract on our heat pump. They checked everything out to make sure it working properly for the winter season.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Cost
$75
Hire Again?
Yes

Service Provider Response

Thank you Mr [member name removed]. The refrigerant access valves have a Schrader screwed into them, similar to the valve stem on an automotive tire. Yours had worked its way loose, most probably when Robert removed his gauges on the earlier visit. It was our fault, so obviously no charge to you. Thank you for your business!
Kirk B.
5.0
10/13/2014
Job was well-planned and completed. The pump has functioned flawlessly. Very professional and on time. Price quote was exactly the same as the final charge.
Description of Work
Installed a pump to remove heat pump condensation outflow.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Cost
$410
Hire Again?
Yes
Steve O.
5.0
06/08/2014
Arrived on time as scheduled with a phone call in advance for same day service call. He spent some quality time diagnosing the problem, enough to satisfy the equipment manufacturer that the device was faulty and it wasn't the installer (me). Final bill for about an hours worth of diagnostics seemed a little steep, but I don't know the going rates in the area for comparison...
Description of Work
Troubleshooting of a troublesome thermostat.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Cost
$180
Hire Again?
Yes

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your business!
Pat W.
5.0
02/27/2014
I was told that the problem was solved but if it happened again, a new part would have to be installed. It happened again, but because I was still under warranty the company has already ordered the new part. I was treated as if I were paying out of my own pocket. We have found this company to go above and beyond.
Description of Work
Repaired heat pump.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Hire Again?
Yes

Service Provider Response

Thank You! We appreciate your kind comments. For any customer that has a Customer Service Agreement (CSA), we warranty all repairs for three years. To the best of my knowledge, none of our competitors offer this. For customers who purchase a replacement system from us, we offer parts and labor warranties up to ten years!
Bryan B.
5.0
08/15/2013
The sales rep was straightforward. Everything he presented upfront was taken care of. The entire crew was professional.
Description of Work
We used Midlothian Mechanical to replace a downstairs A/C unit.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Cost
$4,200
Hire Again?
Yes

Service Provider Response

Thank You [member name removed]. We appreciate your business and kind words. Todd Johnson President

Phone

Address

501 Research Rd.

North Chesterfield, VA 23236

Monday
7:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
7:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
7:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
7:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
7:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Website

http://www.midlomechanical.com

Other Information

Services Not Offered

Duct and drain cleaning, residential plumbing.

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover
Financing Available
Licensed
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

FAQ

Midlothian Mechanical is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

Midlothian Mechanical is open:

Monday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Midlothian Mechanical accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available

Yes, Midlothian Mechanical offers free project estimates.

Yes, Midlothian Mechanical offers eco-friendly accreditations.

Yes, Midlothian Mechanical offers emergency services.

No, Midlothian Mechanical does not offer warranties.

Midlothian Mechanical offers the following services: Residential installation and repair of heating, air conditioning, gas pipe, tankless water heaters & generators.

Duct and drain cleaning, residential plumbing.