Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Triumph Moving & Storage Inc

Founded 1997 • With Angi since May 2011

4.9

(90) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

2608 Wyoming Ave

Norfolk, VA 23513

Description

Triumph Moving & Storage is a locally owned and operated Virginia business. Triumph Movers has a full service packing team, skilled movers and qualified piano specialists. As a A+ accredited Better Business Bureau member, Triumph takes great pride in the quality of service we provide to our customers. Award winning....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

01/15/2019


Colleen E.

Efficient. Affordable. Quality. Sal has a very detailed and controlled process. Highly recommend.

Description of Work
Piano Moving

Category piano moving

5.0

08/22/2018


Rex Y.

I contacted Triumph Moving to get a quote for moving the packed contents of a 800 square foot apartment from Williamsburg, Virginia, to a self-storage unit in Vienna, Virginia (Fairfax County). They offered the lowest quote by far and I hired them. After calling about half an hour before arriving, Sal and two helpers arrived on time on a Sunday to move everything out of the apartment into their moving van. They drove up to northern Virginia and put everything in a storage shed I had already rented a week later. The guys were all incredibly nice and helpful as they moved everything, without a single complaint despite the really hot weather. Attached is a photo showing the majority of the stuff they had to move from the Williamsburg apartment. I had already boxed everything up. They brought blankets and packing materials for the larger pieces, including the large glass framed pieces, the dining room table, and folding bookshelves. They also boxed up the TV after making sure it was in proper working order. They wrapped the couch up in plastic wrap and asked me before putting it on its side for easier moving and storage. In all, it took about two hours for them to move everything out of the apartment, and that was from a second-floor apartment with a fair distance between the building and the parking lot. The guys gave us a window for their arrival time to unload the following Sunday and arrived at the beginning of that window. The move into the storage shed was much quicker and the guys worked quickly and professionally. We ended up buying a few of their packing blankets from them for $10/each to keep some of the glass pieces covered up. They were friendly and professional and the entire process took about an hour. I paid $250 down, with the remainder paid after everything was moved into the storage shed. I would highly recommend their services for any move, and they were very happy to off their services in Northern Virginia despite their base in Norfolk, Virginia. I was very, very happy with the price, punctuality, professionalism and overall quality of their services.

Description of Work
Moving 800-sq-ft apartment

Category moving companies

5.0

07/21/2018


Daniel B.

The folks at Triumph are fantastic, I’ve used them twice now (4 years apart), and this time they stored 90% of my house for 7 weeks. The guys moved everything up and down some complicated stairs in two different houses. I have recommended them to multiple friends and coworkers!

Description of Work
Moving and storage

Category moving companies, storage units

4.0

04/20/2018


Nancy W.

It was a rather lengthy process getting an estimate and scheduling the piano move. I dealt with Becky on the phone (very nice, polite, and thorough). She would take my information and then have to call me back. This happened every time I had a question (price, date, time, etc). We finally settled on a date in 2 weeks (they had earlier times but this was best for me) to be picked up between 9-11am. Great, I was able to schedule a dentist appointment for 1pm. The day before pickup Becky called to tell me they would be there between 10-12, hmmm, dentist is still do-able or so I thought. I had to cancel because they had not shown up by 12noon. I received a call from Becky at 12:25 to tell me they had a delay and would be there soon. At 12:40 the driver called to tell me they would be there soon. Soon, almost an hour later they finally showed up (1:35pm). Everything went smoothly after that, they took good care when moving the piano and it arrived at the final destination with no scratches etc. They were polite and pleasant, my main disappointment is their scheduling. It doesn't matter what time you schedule, they will get there when they get there. If you take the entire day off work and don't schedule anything else you should be fine.

Description of Work
Moved piano from my house to a family member's house.

Category piano moving

1.0

10/30/2017


Julie K.

My piano was not moved with care. I am not one to usually get upset.....but.....I called your company because all of your pictures show customer's pianos being moved with upmost care and all pianos being moved on dollys. Well.....mine wasn't. But instead it was pushed across the blacktop parking lot on it's wheels and definitely NOT on a dolly. I didn't pay $250.00 to have my piano moved without being covered and pushed across the unlevel blacktop parking lot just because it had wheels. Are you serious????? And every customer and their items that they put in your care to move for them should be viewed as a priceless possession. Tell me why do you advertise your business on your piano moving website with ALL pianos you move for them being moved on dolly's. Every one of them are being moved on dollys. Why wasn't mine?? By the way......if you are moving possessions that belong to customers.....whether the piano is brand new or is 20 years old or so.....each item you move for customers should be viewed as priceless to you as they are to your customers. And my calling your company and sharing my frustrations with and then with you the owner.....you only viewed my complaint as a $50.00 discount and that you were going to start moving per the customer's specifications. All moves should be moved per the customer's specifications and how they want their possessions moved. You don't decide that. Anyways, Is that all my concerns about how badly my piano is worth to you then there is a definite problem. All I can say is that if you advertise the moving of pianos on your piano moving website as each piano moved will be on a dolly then all pianos should be......then if not you are being deceptive to customers. The way you moved my piano today is NOT PROFESSIONAL AT ALL. I am quite upset.

Description of Work
Moving my piano.

Category piano moving

Service Provider Response

Triumph Moving & Storage Inc. takes great pride in the quality of work we provide to our customers. We strive to treat both our customers and their possessions with the utmost care and respect. In this particular case our customer was not at the pick up location but only at the destination. The customer's piano was moved down a long walkway, at the pick up location, using a 4 wheel dolly then properly blanketed and secured on one of our moving trucks. I was able to meet our customer at the destination and begin unloading the piano. Most pianos have very tiny wheels which we would rarely consider using to roll. In this case the piano had much larger wheels which we used to roll into the storage facility, a short distance, safely, and without incident. It was a decision I made due to the circumstances at the destination. We didn't use the 4 wheel dolly, at the destination, not because the piano was old or new, expensive or inexpensive but because of the larger functioning wheels and nothing more. I personally have moved hundreds if not thousands of pianos over the course of 20 years and have never taken for granted the fact that customers continue to call on us for professional moving services and expect the highest quality on each occasion. Sincerely, Salvatore J. Scafidi
5.0

10/04/2017


Debbie M.

I wasn't home when they arrived at my house, but they waited 15 minutes for me to return, which I appreciated. These three men were very courteous, extremely professional, and they used extreme caution moving the piano in through the door so as not to mark up the doors, walls or the hardwood floor. In fact, he brought me coasters from his truck so the legs of the piano didn't scratch my floors. I am thrilled with how everything went, and I would definitely use Triumph Movers in the future. Highly recommend!!

Description of Work
Moving a piano

Category moving companies

5.0

07/17/2017


Deniz G.

They were friendly and very careful. Very pleased!

Description of Work
Triumph moved a piano from my parents house to ours.

Category piano moving

5.0

07/17/2017


Deniz G.

Triumph was friendly and careful. Great experience!

Description of Work
They moved a piano from my parents house to ours.

Category piano moving

5.0

12/26/2016


Steve H.

The work was done exceptionally well very happy with the entire operation

Description of Work
Needed to have a grand piano moved

Category moving companies, piano moving

5.0

10/17/2016


Jean T.

Went well. They arrived on time with the manpower and appropriate size truck to accomplish the job quickly and uneventfully. I would hire them again.

Description of Work
Moved a piano from Hampton to Williamsburg.

Category hauling services, piano moving

5.0

09/14/2016


Kathryn S.

we purchased a piano for our grandson and needed it moved ASAP-called Triumph Moving and Storage and they were able to pick up and deliver to us within a week, and at what we thought was at a good price. Professional and courteous,we would definitely call them again as well as refer them to friends and family for any future moving needs!

Description of Work
Piano moved

Category moving companies

5.0

07/26/2016


Barbara G.

Salvatore Scafidi responded to my request for a quote to move a student upright piano very quickly. He charged a very reasonable price. Arrived in a timely manner and was extremely careful at both locations, My friend had a piece of furniture that she wanted put in place of the piano at the pick up location and Sal was more than happy to do it for her. Wonderful company and he is a veteran. Thank you for all of your service and your quality of work was top notch. Will use again with future moving needs. I recommend that you do too!

Description of Work
upright piano moved

Category moving companies

5.0

05/18/2016


Jacqueline P.

Everything aspect of dealing with this company was exemplary. I started working with Becky in the office to describe my needs and schedule. Moving is always emotional, isn't it, but in this case I was packing and moving part of my recently deceased mother's house and was completely distraught. Becky was kind and patient with me, as was the owner and mover Sal. They both worked very carefully with me and my real estate agent to complete the move. When it was clear that I was moving only part of the household, Sal and Becky suggested an in-person estimate to know exactly what was staying, what was going, and to provide an accurate estimate. I appreciated this step, because it meant there were no unexpected surprises in cost once the process was underway. I could not be present on the day of packing, so my real estate agent represented me at the house. Nevertheless, Sal called me whenever he had a question about what was to be moved. My agent said a crew of four showed up early and worked non-stop for almost 8 hours. When I got to the house the next day, the place was pristine - not a scuff to be found on any wall or hardwood floor, nor any scrap of packing material. The truck was delivered to NoVA two days later. Sal was very communicative about his arrival time, and was very prompt. He and one other crew member worked for several hours unpacking the truck into storage units. They really packed everything in like a game of tetris, but it seemed like they took great care with the safety and security of all items, nevertheless. Sal and his employee were also personable to chat with throughout the day (I had elevator door duty). They didn't even stop for lunch, just wanting to get the job done. They did a second, small delivery to my NoVA home, and again, took great care of walls and floors, delivering a large glass-top table with no incident. I haven't been able to examine all items closely, since they are packed in the storage unit, but I feel confident that everything is in good shape. I have used other moving companies before, and thought the price was very fair for the service provided. In every other move I have seen a wall scuffed or items carelessly handled. For example, in one previous move a guy consistently placed heavy boxes of books on a wood table, then more or less sat on the table to hoist the boxes on his back. The table was scuffed and a little wobbly by the end of the day. In another move, a crew took a cigarette break about every 20 minutes. That is not the quality of service you will get with Sal and Triumph Moving. You will get hardworking vets who know what they are doing and who will take great care with your belongings. I'm getting ready to move that storage unit and smaller home into a new house, and you can bet I'm going to see if Triumph will pop up to NoVA to do the move.

Description of Work
Packed partial large household with art, collectibles, fine furniture, and piano in Norfolk, VA, and moved and unloaded to storage unit in NoVA.

Category piano moving

5.0

05/14/2016


Carey B.

It was as painless as furniture moving can be! Our first point of contact was Becky who took all of the details of the furniture that we needed moving. She was very nice and polite throughout the entire process (and I called her several times prior to the move with questions). Sal called back the next day (I had called late the day before otherwise I am sure he would have called back the same day) to go over the list and ask additional questions. I appreciated this as it eliminated the need for anyone to come out to give an estimate, he could do it over the phone. The move was scheduled and on moving day they called when they were on the way as promised. Arrived on time, packed the furniture taking great care with our old/fragile pieces. Arrived promptly at the new home and took great care in unpacking everything and placing it exactly where we wanted it (was willing to change a couple of heavy pieces to opposite walls if we wanted). Sal and his crew were professional, polite and friendly during the entire time. We hope that we will not ever need their services again; but if we do need to move again, we will call only them!! The only reason I gave them a B in price was that they were very close to other estimates we got so I can't say their price was exceptional, but it was very competitive. I wish I could give them an A+ overall!!!!!

Description of Work
We hired them to move our furniture to our new home 60 miles away.

Category moving companies

5.0

02/06/2016


Nancy W.

Prompt, courteous, called 30 minutes ahead as promised, clean, and reliable. I will definite hire them in the future and added them to my list of preferred providers.

Description of Work
I am a Professional Organizer and was clearing an estate and had to relocated a piano from the house into the garage in less than 24 hours.

Category moving companies, home & garage organization

5.0

01/21/2016


Cory H.

Their company was amazing. Showed up on time. They moved all of our household goods as they were their own, very patient and methodically. They even let our 3 and 5 year pods help with the reassembly process. The even resent us a copy of our invoice two months after the move. Great company would use them again in a heartbeat.

Description of Work
Triumph Movement and storage moved the contents of our home from one home to another

Category moving companies, storage units

5.0

11/07/2015


Ellen F.

Sal and his team did a great job for us! They showed up on time and worked efficiently. All members of the team were courteous and pleasant throughout. They also showed respect for one another. We have moved 6 times before and although this was the biggest job, it also was the best. None of our items were lost or damaged. Even more surprisingly to me, there was no damage to the old or new house during the move. We would definitely call them for our next move.

Description of Work
Packed and moved entire contents of 5700 sq ft home (3 stories) to a similar home 35 miles away. Move included outdoor furniture and canoe.

Category moving companies

5.0

10/08/2015


Connie U.

I had an EXCELLENT experience with Sal and his team. I had trouble finding a mover willing to move just one piece of furniture - until I called Triumph. My first point of contact was Becky - she was friendly, helpful and responsive. I wanted the bookcase moved as soon as possible and we were able to schedule it for the next day. On move day, Sal was punctual, calling to let me know he was on the way. When he arrived, he was everything you'd want in a mover - careful, knowledgeable, and very pleasant to interact with. Overall a truly delightful experience!

Description of Work
Moved a large, heavy bookcase from my daughter's home to my home.

Category moving companies

5.0

09/10/2015


Cheryl P.

Movers arrived on time and were very professional. I am extremely pleased with the job they did moving me. I would definitely recommend them!

Description of Work
Moved furniture from one apartment to another.

Category hauling services, moving companies

5.0

07/27/2015


Matthew M.

Sal (the owner) and his team of two other guys moved us out of our 3 BR house, including a lot of heavy furniture and books. They also had to disassemble several beds. With ABF U-Pack, we were charged by the linear foot; Sal understood this and was able to pack everything in incredibly efficiently. That trailer had to do around 15 hours of driving across the country and was stored for a month. Some of the boxes ended up crunched down (if anyone is at fault there, it would be us since we packed them), but everything stayed in its place--none of the rows fell over, and even the little things on top stayed there. Both in moving out of the house and during the time in the trailer, nothing was damaged. This was nearly 6 hours of heavy physical labor, but the team kept a good pace and a good attitude the whole time. I believe they only do local moves, but this is something that can be hard to find: An honest, competent, hard-working company of movers.

Description of Work
Moved us out of our 3 bedroom house; tightly packed our ABF U-Pack trailer.

Category moving companies

5.0

07/18/2015


Ronald H.

Fantastic service from an outstanding company. They were on time, brought enough movers to get the job done right and were extremely careful to not cause any damage during the move. All the movers were extremely pleasant to work with. I highly recommend this company for similar moving needs.

Description of Work
Moved our household goods from an apartment to a house. This included 3 bedrooms of furniture, two oversized desks, a large treadmill and numerous oversized and heavy items.

Category moving companies

5.0

05/02/2015


ERIKA C.

They were prompt and professional and took great care with the piano. Note that since we were not on the receiving end we cannot evaluate how it went there, but we do know that the piano arrived safely. (Also, price is N/A only because we have no information against which to compare their price).

Description of Work
Triumph moved a console piano from our house to a school (about 25 miles away) that we were donating it to.

Category moving companies

5.0

03/06/2015


Jean B.

Triumph did an excellent job with our move. The owner, Sal Scafidi, came to our home and gave us a very reasonable estimate for the move. We scheduled the move and Triumph remained in contact with us and responsive to any questions we had prior to the move. On the day of the move, Sal and his crew called in advance to let us know they were on their way, arrived on time and worked quickly and efficiently to complete our move. They handled our furniture and belongings with great care and managed to wrestle a queen size adjustable bed frame down three flights and up two more with finesse. We would strongly recommend Triumph Moving to anyone contemplating a move in this area.

Description of Work
Triumph moved our furniture and belongings from a third floor 2 bedroom apartment to a second floor 2 bedroom apartment in a different apartment complex.

Category moving companies

5.0

02/28/2015


Katie S.

They were very prompt in getting in touch with me after leaving a message. Appointment was set up for a Saturday and they called to say they could even come a little earlier if I wanted. They did a great job in moving a piano from my garage to the second floor of my house. very tight 180 degree turn in the stairwell and it was done perfectly. Sal even gave me information on a piano tuner who happens to be the one my family uses already! I'm so thankful for their help. I would definitely recommend!

Description of Work
Moved piano

Category moving companies, piano moving

5.0

02/17/2015


Timothy V.

They were fabulous. We had several estimates and they were the cheapest and they could have possibly been any better. They had everything they needed to do a professional job. They have all the tools and the right equipments. They have the right everything. Our piano is not lower about 100 years old. If they moved it wrong, it would destroy all parts but they did such a wonderful job on it. There's no damage at all.

Description of Work
They did move the piano.

Category piano moving

    Other local Pros in your area

    Innovative Waste, LLC

    Innovative Waste is a family operated locally owned junk removal business located in Virginia Beach, VA. Do you have any items you’d like removed from your home, yard, or garage? If so, Innovative Waste offers residential and commercial services. We come to your home or business and take anything that no longer serves you.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Innovative Waste, LLC on Angi
    True Clean USA Junk Removal

    True Clean USA offers junk removal for residential and commercial customers. Our company was founded by residents here in the Norfolk area. Our Owners have extensive experience in The Armed Forces, Real Estate, Property Management, Residential and Commercial Cleaning and 20 years in the Refuse industry. These experiences coupled with professionalism and a desire to provide TRUE quality service is passed onto our clients. Simply put, “We get It Done” Here at True Clean USA Junk Removal we are focused on providing a great service at an affordable price. We are a full-service junk removal and debris removal company providing quality service to residential, industrial, and commercial clients. We will remove your junk and debris no matter where it is located on the property. Basements, attics, in the rafters, or crawlspaces. We are prepared for it all.  

    No Pain Moving

    No Pain moving offers white glove moving services for senior living facilities we offer packing unpacking full move and clean outs. We also offer local, long distance moving.  

    Antiques
    Apartments
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Visa, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Household packing, moving, packaging and wrapping, piano moving, storage, loading & unloading of trucks, containers and trailers, sale of boxes, tape, markers, packing paper, shrink wrap & banding wrap.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Triumph Moving & Storage Inc

    How is Triumph Moving & Storage Inc overall rated?

    Triumph Moving & Storage Inc is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Triumph Moving & Storage Inc open?

    Triumph Moving & Storage Inc is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    What payment options does Triumph Moving & Storage Inc provide

    Triumph Moving & Storage Inc accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Visa, Financing Available

    Does Triumph Moving & Storage Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Triumph Moving & Storage Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Triumph Moving & Storage Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Triumph Moving & Storage Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Triumph Moving & Storage Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, Triumph Moving & Storage Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Triumph Moving & Storage Inc?

    No, Triumph Moving & Storage Inc does not offer warranties.

    What services does Triumph Moving & Storage Inc offer?

    Triumph Moving & Storage Inc offers the following services: Household packing, moving, packaging and wrapping, piano moving, storage, loading & unloading of trucks, containers and trailers, sale of boxes, tape, markers, packing paper, shrink wrap & banding wrap.

    Are there any services Triumph Moving & Storage Inc does not offer?

    Ask for details