Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Ghent Plumbing and Heating

Founded 1981 • With Angi since May 2006

Father and Sons business with decades of service placing a high value on professionalism, loyalty and commitment. Handle every age of indoor plumbing with 'old school' usage of modern technology.

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Amenities

Free Estimates
yes
Warranties
ask for details
Senior Discount
no
Emergency Service
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.6

(20) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-20 of 20 reviews
Lucia C.
5.0
01/05/2017
unknown
Description of Work
.
Category
plumbing
Lucia C.
5.0
01/18/2016
unknown
Description of Work
.
Category
plumbing
Lynn T.
5.0
07/22/2015
It went really well, very courteous and professional They were fabulous and diagnosed the problem right away, I have not had any problems since. They came over right away and also performed the service very quickly.
Description of Work
Repaired a pretty significant tub leak that was leaking in to my family room ceiling.
Category
plumbing
Susan B.
5.0
04/17/2015
One of my tenants reported that a lot of water had come down from the apartment above during the shower of the other tenant during the previous evening. Ghent plumbing came when called about it despite their heavy schedule and thoroughly inspected the problem in both bathrooms. A plan to implement was discussed in case it happened again. In the past couple of weeks, it has not reoccurred. I have an old building and Ghent Plumbing has extensive experience with problems that old plumbing can have.
Description of Work
Careful inspection and diagnosis of leak.
Category
plumbing
Diego A.
1.0
04/16/2015
While I was out of town our contractor was working on my home and required the radiator to be removed so he could do work on the wall behind the radiator. He called Ghent Plumbing and the sure came out quick to get the work done with an original estimate of $150. They removed it and then told the contractor to call when he was ready to reinstall it. When I returned home I found out that there was no hot water. They completely isolated my boiler and never insured that there was hot water, they left it running even though no water was in it. That is incompetence. When we called them the following day, Kerry, the leader, said to give him a call when we were ready to have him install it, At 1:30 we called and asked him to come over, and his usual rude self said, "I can't do it. I cant be there until tomorrow at 10." My contractor took over and asked if he could come over later in the evening. He said nope, 10. I then took it into my own hands and decided to hook up the radiator myself, fill the system and make sure everything was running correctly. It did. He calls the next day, 48 hours later and says when do you want me to come over. I told I didn't need him. I told him that I took care of it, that I made sure it was working. He got really rude and said well who is going to pay me. I asked how much and he said $110. It old him for what just disconnecting it? He didn't like it. There is no professionalism in his business. If you want to deal with someone that acts like he is doing you a favor for taking your money, he is your guy. He will take care of you on your time. He will be rude, and he will make sure you feel like he took advantage of you.
Description of Work
Remove and Re-install a radiator.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing
Aron D.
1.0
04/15/2015
Rather than call and cancel due to capacity/scheduling problems, Ghent Plumbing tried to hand me off to someone else without notifying me. Had I know that the apt was not workable, I would have contacted someone else and had service today. Another day+ of a leak that is preventing the full use of my kitchen.
Description of Work
Had a recommendation to call Ghent Plumbing from a friend. Called and made an apt for the following day. Instead of the plumber showing up on the appointed time, I received a call from another plumber to establish a separate appointment. They stated that they had received my number from Ghent Plumbing as a referral.
Category
plumbing
Daniel P.
5.0
02/11/2015
We called Ghent Plumbing and they were there within a half hour and got the pumps working again. They returned later in the day to make sure everything was good.
Description of Work
Our four sump pumps all went out at the same time and our basement flooded.
Category
plumbing
Daniel P.
5.0
02/11/2015
We called Ghent Plumbing and they were there within a half hour and got the pumps working again. They returned later in the day to make sure everything was good.
Description of Work
Our four sump pumps all went out at the same time and our basement flooded.
Category
plumbing
Susan B.
5.0
12/17/2014
There were no further leaks. Given the hours worked and the difficulty of dealing with such a small opening, the price was exceptionally affordable.
Description of Work
The pipes in the bathroom above mine were leaking. Ghent Plumbing came to investigate, cut a hole in the ceiling and set up a time for repair. Soon after, a team of two came and made the repairs to two pipes leading to the main one. In about four hours, it was done and my bathroom was nicely cleaned up. A good firm for repairing the ceiling was recommended.
Category
plumbing
Bryan C.
1.0
03/06/2014
Gentlemen on the phone would not give me estimate over the phone. Told me to "take my business elsewhere" twice, and then hung up on me.
Description of Work
Called to get a price on snaking a drain.
Category
plumbing, drain cleaning

Service Provider Response

.
Ambrose P.
1.0
12/05/2013
I had used Kerry before in the last year. He was responsive and punctual with quality work. This time I called to ask about hot water tank replacement. He told me to email him dimensions of the existing unit and other details. I did, and did not get a response. I thought I might have gotten the email address wrong and followed up with a phone call the next week. He said he was in the middle of a job and would call back. He never called.
Description of Work
Called for replacement of hot water heater.
Category
plumbing

Service Provider Response

.
Don W.
5.0
09/18/2013
Well - I have used Kerry for over 20 years, and without a doubt - he is the BEST service provider of ANY type I have used. Always punctual, always professional - always friendly, and the price is always reasonable. The incident I am writing up here happened on a Christmas Eve. My VERY pregnant wife had complained bitterly for weeks about the kitchen faucet, and "Johnny Fixit" that I imagine myself to be, I purchased a new faucet, pulled out the basin wrench - and disconnected the old unit while my wife was napping. The idea was that she would wake up and see the lovely new faucet (a big plus as her parents were coming over the next day) - and I would be "husband of the year" Murphy had other things to say about that. The previous owners did a lot of their own work - and did it poorly, with the cheapest components possible. With my inlaws coming over the next day - I had water spurting all over the kitchen (yes - I discovered the cutoff was non-functional a bit too late). So I shut off the house water and realized that my good intentions were indeed the road to "heck". I called Kerry - expecting to be told (at 4pm on Christmas eve) - that he would get to me day after Christmas. Not at all - he had a good chuckle, explained it happened to the best of us - and that he would be over at 7pm once his grandkids left. Sure enough - he was there at 7pm - took one look at the old "rig" - and my explanation of what I had observed. He responded that I was definitely a better plumber than the folks who did the previous work (thanks Kerry - that helped with the wife situation a lot), and replaced all the way back to the cutoff. He put in the proper mounting posts - then said "I think you can take it from here - no need to pay me to do it unless you want to. You can call me back if you have any other issues". On Christmas Eve, with no advance notice - he did 90 minutes of work for $75, and positioned it so I once again was "the man" in my wife's eyes. He not only cared about the work - he cared about me.
Description of Work
Repaired "self-inflicted" leak
Category
plumbing
Frank H.
5.0
06/17/2013
Kerry has owned and operated Ghent Plumbing for a loooong time. I called Kerry to get some advise on disconnecting and removing a small radiator in my upstairs bathroom that I am currently renovatin Kerry was super helpful. I was going to do the plumbing myself but thought the wiser of that and asked Kerry to quote out cutting out all of the existing plumbing, roughing in the new, and connecting the new fixtures for the shower, toilet, and vanity. He gave me a great price. He and his sons were very busy at the time but they made time for us and knocked out the tear out quickly and were also very responsive to coming back for the rough in. So nice to have Kerry and his business, Ghent Plumbing live up to a well deserved reputation of quality work and great customer service.
Description of Work
Cut out and removed existing plumbing in upstairs full bath. Removed old radiator lines. Roughed in all new plumbing in bathroom. Replaced old lines with copper down to the basement. Added cut off valves for both. Will connect fixtures when bathroom tile is completed
Category
plumbing
Thomas D.
5.0
05/28/2012
Ease of appointment, flexible and quick
Description of Work
Outdoor faucet install, repair tub faucet.
Category
plumbing
Robert D.
5.0
01/21/2012
Called Kerry and he answered from the road.I was told he would stop by within the hour, He arrived and checked out the leaking toilet. Told me he could fix it and what the cost would be. I agreed to the price. He called one of his employees and told him what he needed as far as parts and additional tools.. It seem that the emplyee showed up quickly and the toliet was repaired/refurbished in the less then 90 minutes. They were clean and very professional. I highly recomend Ghent Plumbing and will not hesitate when I need their services again.
Description of Work
Had the toilet bowl in the upstairs bath refurbished.
Category
plumbing
Penelope L.
5.0
12/08/2011
See above
Description of Work
We discovered a leak at the base of the toilet (and the date listed above isn't accurate, but it was within the last six months). The problem was identified quickly, a part was needed, they returned quickly with the part, and the repair was done in very little time at a very reasonable price.
Category
plumbing
Sandy D.
5.0
09/06/2011
Overall, a job above and beyond standard service. No wonder that Ghent Plumbing & Heating was rated the 2011 Best in its category by The Virginian Pilot.
Description of Work
Kerry and his assistant came by to convert a patio propane grill into a natural gas one. Before starting the job he provided me with an estimate which I accepted. Altough the work took longer than expected, Kerry assured me that he would work untill the grill was fixed and operational, which he did (at no extra cost). Furthermore, they helped me to move the old grill out of the house at no expense.
Category
gas grill repair
Paul R.
5.0
04/27/2011
They are really friendly. They do good work. They are fast. They are really good. I would use them in the future.
Description of Work
I used Ghent Plumbing & Heating about a month ago. They replaced my shower in the bathroom.
Category
plumbing
JON E.
5.0
05/25/2006
They were a life saver when our basement was flooded. They drained the water for us and we haven't had any problems with the pump they installed. The workers were hard working and knew exactly what to do. They finished sooner than expected and were a great group of guys to have come out.
Description of Work
I had water damage in the basement so they installed a sump pump for me.
Category
basement waterproofing, wells
BARBARA M.
5.0
05/25/2006
They came out the next day after I called them. The man did a good job of explaining what he was going to do. He did a nice job of cleaning up after himself when he was done. I have had no problems with my sink leaking. I really don't remember the price that they charged me.
Description of Work
They replaced a seal in our bathroom sink. I think it was the seal.
Category
plumbing

Phone

Address

1235 Graydon Avenue

Norfolk, VA 23507

Other Information

Services offered

Plumbing, Heating, Gas appliances, Service, Installation, Repair

Services not offered

Septic Tank cleaning/replacement

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover

FAQ

Ghent Plumbing and Heating is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

Ghent Plumbing and Heating is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday: 9:00 AM - 3:30 PM

Ghent Plumbing and Heating accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

Yes, Ghent Plumbing and Heating offers free project estimates.

Yes, Ghent Plumbing and Heating offers eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Ghent Plumbing and Heating does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, Ghent Plumbing and Heating offers emergency services.

No, Ghent Plumbing and Heating does not offer warranties.

Ghent Plumbing and Heating offers the following services: Plumbing, Heating, Gas appliances, Service, Installation, Repair

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Providing the Hampton Roads area with the finest In landscaping, and turf management needs. Whether you live in Chesapeake or Virginia Beach we can Beautify your lawn, landscape and home. Whether you need lawn mowing, landscape design, fescue, bermuda, zoysia or st. augustine sod, we can help. Whether you have drainage problems, standing water in the yard, more weeds than grass or a paver walkway, driveway, patio or pool deck, we can help. Annual turf management, core aeration, slit seeding, landscape renovation and more..  

BAY Crawl Space & Foundation Repair

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

BAY Crawl Space & Foundation Repair

The most trusted experts for crawl space repair and foundation repair in Virginia Beach, Chesapeake, Norfolk, Suffolk, Hampton, Newport News, Yorktown, Moyock, Currituck, and Elizabeth City. We offer expert crawl space repair solutions including structural repair, encapsulation, vapor barriers, insulation, drainage systems, and we can even make your floors more level. Moisture problems, standing water, structural problems, and insulation in a crawl space are our specialties. Crawl space repair can be confusing so get an expert analysis of your current situation complete with thorough drawings and pictures. Have our professional crawl space repair experts inspect your home, get an incredible value, and you could save $1,000's!  

Kellam Mechanical Inc

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

Kellam Mechanical Inc

Comfort delivered since 1995 by NATE certified technicians to your residence or business serving the south side of Hampton Roads. Tell 'em Kellam!