Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Gardens By Oz Inc

4.8

(91) Verified Reviews

Founded 1979 • With Angi since October 2011

Awards and Badges

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2021
No License Required for Trade
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Monday
7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Tuesday
7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Wednesday
7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Thursday
7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Friday
7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Saturday
7:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Phone Number

Address

4001 HEUTTE DR

Norfolk, VA 23518

http://gardensbyoz.com

Description

Founded in 1979, Gardens By Oz, Inc. has built a reputation for inspired design, thorough knowledge and unsurpassed customer service and has provided superior landscaping services to Tidewater, Virginia, businesses and homeowners. Our specialty is beautiful aquatic gardens and ponds. We work with a wide variety of customers, from single family homeowners who want to completely transform their landscapes to large corporate clients that need luxurious entry areas, and deliver the same level of attention to each and every customer we serve. At Gardens By Oz we combine science and art to create landscape masterpieces that are the envy of the neighborhood. We are passionate about what we do and approach each and every landscape design project with creativity and enthusiasm. Additional address - 5541 Iowa Ave., Norfolk, Va 23513. Please include your phone number if you are sending us a message through the Angie's List Message Center....

Verified Reviews

4.8

(91) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

77

4

2

3

2

2

4

1

6

Rating Details

Price

4.8

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

4.8

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

lawn care (75)lawn & landscaping (59)mulch delivering (18)hardscaping (14)landscape lighting (10)fountains (10)lawn treatment (9)Patios (4)leaf removal (4)drain pipe installation (1)stone & gravel (7)concrete repair (7)
Showing 1-10 of 91 reviews
5.0

03/03/2022


Trish W.

Gary is fabulous. Although it was a small job he kept me informed of his schedule. His word was meticulous. Trees are replanted mulched and watered. He even saved my bulbs that were in the way. He also offered to spray weeds and moved brush to the street. Gary did ALLTHIS for an incredibly reasonable fee. I look forward to using his services in the future.

Description of Work
Note 2 cherry trees and lilac

Category landscaping,lawn service

Cost $135

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/02/2022

Service Provider Response

Project was straight forward. Customer had everything ready, including hose to help in the transplanting of her trees. Glad I could be of help.
5.0

11/16/2021


Martha B.

Excellent. Best gardener/landscaper anywhere. Every garden project is ongoing for him. One of his clients told me they were so impressed that Gary would come back and check on his project periodically after its completion. He is passionate about what he does, shares his knowledge willingly, and takes pride in his beautiful gardens.

Description of Work
Landscaping. Reconfiguration of garden including addition of dry creek bed, lighting and pruning of existing trees and shrubs. Consultation concerning all landscaping and changes, additions/deletions, health issues to be done.

Category concrete repair,landscaping,fountains,outdoor lighting

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/16/2021

Service Provider Response

I'm so happy you're pleased. Look forward to working with you on future projects.
5.0

11/02/2021


Laura A.

Gardens By Oz was WONDERFUL to work with. Gary came over for an initial consultation and we discussed yard goals and budget. He then presented us with a rendering showing how the yard would look and what plants/bushes he planned to use. The main feature is the fountain he installed for us. HOLY MOLY! He and his crew showed up when promised. We will absolutely use Gardens By Oz again when we renovate our backyard!

Description of Work
A whole front yard landscape renovation

Category landscaping,lawn service,mulch,pavers, gravel,fountains,hardscaping,outdoor lighting

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/01/2021

Images

Review for Gardens By Oz Inc - 4001 HEUTTE DR, Norfolk, VA - 39529672

+4 More

Service Provider Response

There were many components to this project. Really enjoyed putting the pieces of the puzzle together. Appreciate your understanding as to how this project was going to be developed. We designed & installed several different disciplines into the front garden. Look forward to doing the same in the backyard.
5.0

11/02/2021


Cayte B.

Gary and his team were extremely professional and very responsive. Gary gave me great ideas for an entire new landscape design at my house and worked with me to provide plants/flowers that would work with the sunlight my yard gets. When the work was complete, we did not have rain for nearly a month. A few plants ended up not surviving and Gary replaced the ones that didn't make it. That's customer service right there!! He's also really great about providing tips on how to keep the yard looking it's best.

Description of Work
New Landscaping at new house

Category landscaping,lawn service,lawn treatment

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/28/2021

Service Provider Response

Enjoyed working with you & seeing how your garden has progressed over the past 3 months. You had a basic idea of what you wanted. It's not necessary, but helpful when a customer has ideas on how they want their garden to look.
5.0

04/20/2021


Roy M.

My wife and I couldn't be happier. We were looking for a professional who could update our landscaping that was initially done many years ago. Gary listened to what I was looking for and very quickly made suggestions and offered advice. Once we agreed on a plan, the work was started within a reasonable timeframe, completed quickly and the work that was done was excellent.

Description of Work
Landscaping update

Category landscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/20/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review & looking forward to doing maintenance work in the future.
5.0

01/07/2021


Elizabeth Z.

Gary was excellent. Polite, professional, friendly. He understood what I wanted, asked questions for clarity during the walk-around, and found a problem I'd missed (a large branch down in the azalea patch) and gave me a price for that as well. He arrived the next day with a team, and the whole job was done in a few hours. His prices were competitive, and they cleaned up the area completely.

Description of Work
Trimmed azalea shrubs around house and sidewalk.

Category lawn service

Cost $700

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/06/2021

Service Provider Response

Appreciate your review & look forward to doing work for you in the future.
5.0

11/19/2020


Neal F.

Everything went quite well. Gary brought his whole crew. Each person appeared to have a specific task. It was like an orchestra playing as everyone work together and finished in record time.

Description of Work
Areas in the backyard for plants such as the butterfly garden needed to be cleared of trees, cloth put down, mulch edit, order straightened out, debris removed, and cut down to manageable sizes.

Category concrete repair,landscaping,lawn service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/03/2020

Images

Review for Gardens By Oz Inc - 4001 HEUTTE DR, Norfolk, VA - 39035025

+4 More

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review. Look forward to assisting you with your front yard landscaping project.
5.0

09/28/2020


Barb B.

We’ve used Gary for years and have been very happy with his work, professionalism and ability to get the work done in a timely manner. He is very approachable and gives excellent suggestions on how to upkeep yard maintenance. He is also great with kids, dogs and is very personable.

Description of Work
Landscaping

Category landscaping,lawn service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/27/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your time & appreciate you review. Look forward to working with you in the future.
5.0

08/26/2020


Joye M.

Very good. Been using his service for many years.

Description of Work
Landscape maintenance

Category concrete repair,landscaping,lawn service,lawn treatment

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/26/2020

5.0

06/18/2020


Jay L.

Excellent. Gardens by Oz has been doing this and reseeding the lawn in the fall for many years. The results are always excellent: The grass and the plants are always beautiful. They are always punctual and responsive to my requests.

Description of Work
Putting in plants and mulch

Category concrete repair,landscaping,lawn service,mulch

Cost $330

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/18/2020

Services Offered

Garden & lawn maintenance, installation, personalized landscape consulting, design-installation, lawn care, mulching, seasonal & water features, natural stone retaining walls and columns, accent lighting, site amenities including pergolas and arbors, zeroscape, native planting design, synthetic grass, putting greens, drainage systems

Services Not Offered

Do not provide service for sprinkler systems or lawn irrigation

General Information
Free Estimates
No
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Payment Options
Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover
Senior Discount
5%
Warranties
No

Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Gardens By Oz Inc

How is Gardens By Oz Inc overall rated?

Gardens By Oz Inc is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

What days are Gardens By Oz Inc open?

Gardens By Oz Inc is open:

Monday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Thursday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Friday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Saturday: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM

What payment options does Gardens By Oz Inc provide

Gardens By Oz Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover

Does Gardens By Oz Inc offer free estimates?

No, Gardens By Oz Inc does not offer free project estimates.

Does Gardens By Oz Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

No, Gardens By Oz Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

Does Gardens By Oz Inc offer a senior discount?

No, Gardens By Oz Inc does not offer a senior discount.

Are warranties offered by Gardens By Oz Inc?

No, Gardens By Oz Inc does not offer warranties.

What services does Gardens By Oz Inc offer?

Gardens By Oz Inc offers the following services: Garden & lawn maintenance, installation, personalized landscape consulting, design-installation, lawn care, mulching, seasonal & water features, natural stone retaining walls and columns, accent lighting, site amenities including pergolas and arbors, zeroscape, native planting design, synthetic grass, putting greens, drainage systems

Are there any services Gardens By Oz Inc does not offer?

Do not provide service for sprinkler systems or lawn irrigation