Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

A-Adkins Air Conditioning & Heating

Founded 1991 • With Angi since October 2006

4.7

(28) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

10115 Oxford Ct

Nokesville, VA 20181

Description

Since 1991 A-Adkins has been a family owned and operated business. We like to consider each and every customer as part of the A-Adkins family. In the same way that we take care of our families, we would be honored to take care of your climate control needs. Because we would like to foster a lasting relationship, your comfort and complete satisfaction are our ultimate goals. If one of the owners does not personally oversee your service, we will contact you to ensure the service received met or exceeded your expectations. We don’t rest until you’re satisfied. Additional DBAs - A-Adkins A/C & Heating, A-Adkins Inc. Cost is determined by the job....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

07/18/2021


CRAIG B.

I had seven companies bid to replace my furnace/air conditioner, and although they were not the least expensive, they were very responsive and had the best dealer warranty of any of them -- three years. There was a small installation issue -- which they fixed within two days. I have no trouble recommending them. They're straight shooters and did exactly what they said they would.

Description of Work
Furnace/air conditioner replacement

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

05/15/2018


Dippen Z.

Great! He changed the motor and the previous company said I needed to change the entire system. Changed the motor and the AC works just fine. Didn't have to replace the entire system.

Description of Work
Condenser unit repair

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

04/27/2018


Joseph K.

One doesn't appreciate the luxury of hot water coming out of your faucet until it stops. We had a failure of our 16 year old, 75 gallon gas powered hot water heater and quickly realized how unpleasant life without hot water can be. I made a number of calls to get quotes to replace the unit and A-Adkins provided a very competitive quote ($2700 all inclusive, with a new Rheem power vent model and haul away of the old heater) and were able to schedule the work for two days out. Micah (one of the owners) and Zach (a technician) were punctual, pleasant and professional, and the work and clean up were done flawlessly. As I also needed to make sure my air conditioning systems were ready for summer, I had them do spring maintenance service on both of my central air units. For approximately $200, they serviced both systems and added refrigerant to one of them. I was so pleased with the quality of A-Adkins services that I plan on using them for all my HVAC needs going forward.

Description of Work
Gas hot water replacement and spring air conditioner maintenance

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac,water heater repair

5.0

08/25/2017


Larry D.

I was happy with the services. They were responsive, completed the work quickly and everything is working well.

Description of Work
Full Heat pump replacement

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

06/07/2017


Vadim B.

Excellent experience with A-Adkins. Micah and Nathan are knowledgeable, responsive, honest, and personable. I've dealt with many HVAC contractors and don't make recommendations lightly, but A-Adkins is a standout in the business. Whether it's for emergency service, routine maintenance or major work, such as today's complete HVAC replacement, my experience has been uniformly positive. They now service both of my properties and I can recommend them without reservations.

Description of Work
Installation of new AC and furnace.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

1.0

01/16/2017


Dane J.

Run Fast!!! Run Far!!! This company is horrible! I had them install a pair of Goodman Heat Pump/AC units 5-6 years ago and paid extra for a full parts and labor warranty. All was well until last spring when one of the compressors failed and they replaced it. They gave me a bill for $2,472.27 for a warranty repair! First they told me that I had only a parts warranty and not a parts and labor warranty (fortunately I was able to dig up copy of my receipt.) They also charged me $300 for shipping (nice large, round number, huh?) The worst was that they charged me $1,222.27 for R410a refrigerant! They arrived at that by charging $68 per pound for something that Amazon will sell you for $5 per pound! So, I offered to compromise for what I thought was a reasonable amount and they sued me. I went to trial in Fairfax County Circuity Court and the judge ruled in my favor on everything. The judge ruled that refrigerant was a "part" and thus was covered by the parts and labor warranty. He also refused to award them the shipping costs because they did not prove that they were charged anything at all, let alone the $300 "shipping" charge they included in my invoice. I am not sure, but I think the company changed ownership in the last five years or so -- the guy who I dealt with on the original purchase is not currently listed as an owner. I would never use this company again!

Description of Work
Installation and later repairs of heat pump and air conditioner units.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

02/25/2016


Mark C.

It went great! I was very happy speaking with them over the phone, and in person. They listened to my wants and needs regarding equipment specifications and pricing and delivered. I am very happy with the work that was done, and the short time it took to to go from a potential customer to a satisfied one.

Description of Work
Installed a replacement heat pump.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

11/29/2015


Christopher S.

My experience with A-Adkins and Nathan, in particular, has been outstanding. They inspected the system, pulled a permit, and coordinated the inspection my previous contractor who installed the system neglected and refused to do. Nathan was incredibly communicative and made rectifying the permit remediation process quick and easy. He also repaired a failed switch for me under the parts warranty of the system as well as the humidifier. I highly recommend Nathan and A-Adkins, and I?ll use him again without a doubt!

Description of Work
They inspected the system, pulled a permit, and coordinated the inspection. They repaired a failed switch for me under the parts warranty of the system as well as the humidifier. Finally, they installed a humidistat to control the humidifier.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

08/17/2015


Barbara B.

They are very knowledgeable. They gave some recommendations. They were honest and on time.

Description of Work
They did an HVAC check up for me. This was for three A/C units.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

06/09/2015


Robert K.

We have been using A-Adkins for the past 3 years and could not be more pleased with them. They are very competent, honest, reasonably priced, and always courteous. Highly recommended for all your HVAC needs.

Description of Work
Routine maintenance check of A/C which we had purchased from A/Adkins in May 2014 for $4000. During the routine maintenance, Nathan noticed that one of our dampers had inadvertently become closed which the restricted air flow in our HVAC system, so he fixed it by tightening it.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

05/17/2015


Dennis M.

It went wonderfully. The tech came out day and time when promised. The tech was polite and professional, knew what he was doing, and didn't leave a mess.

Description of Work
Service call for heat pump tuneup and repair, where they replaced capacitor.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

04/22/2015


Robert B.

Diagnosed it as an extra fan bracket installed decades ago, probably with the building of the house. Since it was acting up and wasn't needed, they removed it and solved the problem.

Description of Work
The attic HVAC fan was noisy.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

12/11/2014


Mary M.

They were very good to work with. There were two technicians here for 2 hours. They found mold and took care of the issue for me. Their price was reasonable.

Description of Work
I have used them in the past. They have worked on my water heater and my AC unit and furnace unit.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac,water heater repair

5.0

08/14/2014


Dennis M.

It went way better than I expected. I called after hours to have them come out to see what was wrong and they came out just a couple hours later. WONDERFUL! Unfortunately, the Control Board in the indoor unit had burned out. It is an older unit and a brand that doesn't exist anymore, so they couldn't replace the board that evening. They promised to call the next morning at 8:30 AM with news as to availability of the board. They did warn me there may be no choice but to replace the entire unit if the board is not available, but they promised to try to find board. They called EXACTLY at 8:30 AM as promised (I was paying attention and wondering how late they would be and what excuse would be given) They said that the company that made the indoor unit was bought by Carrier, and that their supplier didn't have the right board. They asked if I wanted them to get one online, warning me that it would require shipping time and that it would be more expensive. They further warned me that they had no way of knowing for sure that there wasn't other damaged parts. I asked them to go ahead and order it. I received the call from them the next morning that the part was there, installed, and the unit was working!!! All interactions with A-Adkins Inc has been polite, professional, and every promise large and small was kept completely. I will be calling them every time.

Description of Work
After hours service call and replace Control Board.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

04/02/2014


Douglas P.

Our existing unit was evaluated by another company as part of their regular annual maintenance we had with them. They gave me a price to replace the whole system with a 13 SEER unit, which I thought was high. A friend of ours recommended A-Adkins, and I gave them a call. Micah came out the same day and provided me an estimate for a Goodman brand system and took all the necessary measurements needed to have the sheetmetal interface items manufactured and ready by installation day. His estimate was $400 dollars less than the first company, with a much better warranty on the compressor. (10 year on parts, Lifetime on the compressor). We made a couple of schedule changes due to inclement weather and found a day (yesterday) without rain or snow. A-Adkns was very flexible in working with me for the best day for the installation and this really helped to prevent damage to our lawn. On installation day, they arrived on-time with everything they needed to complete the install. Micah and Nathan arrived at approximately 10AM and were completely done at 3PM. The outside heat pump unit is a verticle unit with a smaller footprint than the previous unit. Micah was agreeable to position it in such a way as to allow me to install an outdoor storage unit for lawn care tools, etc.. They had to re-arrange the suction lines to make space for new storage unit, which was not previously large enough to place this storage unit. Micah and Nathan worked tirelessly throughout the day, not even breaking for lunch. They carefully cleaned out the existing suction lines using a gas pressure system. After testing the lines, they completed the installation. They took great care in avoiding any mud tracking into our home by laying down tarps and removing shoes while working indoors. They cleaned up at the completion of the job very nicely. Both Micah and Nathan were respectful and professional in all respects. I am a happy camper, and will certainly use them again.

Description of Work
Replaced a 13 year old 2.5 ton Rheem Heat Pump and Furnace. The compressor went bad and the old unit still used R-22 freon. The replacement of the old compressor and the high cost of re-charging the freon with R-22 now and in future repairs made total replacement of the entire system (inside and out) a much better solution.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

4.0

03/24/2014


Cullen H.

It was good. I have used them a lot in the past. They are personable people to work with. They do not have a problem with it. I have loosed since I have used them.

Description of Work
I have used A-ADKINS for servicing an air conditioner.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

02/02/2014


Devon M.

The night previously I did notice it was cold in the house but at midnight I was thinking what can I do? So in the early morning I put in a call to A-Adkins and they responded almost immediately and told me someone would be out. They always call before they come which is great. They came around 11 a.m. and Micah found a panel in the furnace was gone and it wasn't catching. He could either replace it or we could order a new furnace. Since it was 20 years old we figured the best choice was a new furnace. Little did I know they would install it the same day. A couple hours later Micah and Ryan were back. They worked in a very cold atmosphere and got the furnace and a new thermostat installed in a few hours. It is wonderful to be warm again, and they truly saved us. I have used A-Adkins in two different houses and have known them forever. Chuck, Patrick. And now Micah and Ryan. I appreciate that's it's a family owned business. I often find them more conscientious and just better to work with that big businesses. As long as we live in this area, I won't be changing companies. These fellows have always been great and this particular endeavor was above and beyond.

Description of Work
A-Adkins responded quickly to my panicky call at 6 a.m. in the morning, sent a technician out (Micah) and that same day Micah and Ryan installed a new furnace along with a new thermostat since the old one was so complicated and cumbersome. It truly was an emergency situation and they saved us from freezing and getting sicker than we were.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

11/30/2013


Linda B.

In accordance with previously planned work, Micah came to my home to replace an old furnace. He visited and we discussed options and costs for the appropriate equipment and install. While installing the furnace several days later, he found that there were additional problems with the A/C. He diagnosed the issues and then explained my various options clearly so that I could understand.. On his recommendation, I decided to replace the A/C at the same time. Micah found a product from the same manufacturer that would work well with the new furnace and was able to get a much reduced price since it was the end of summer season. He also arranged for it and a humidifier to be covered under the warrantee with no increase in price to the warrantee. Micah installed the furnace one day and then set it up so that I would be safe until the next day when he would be able to install the A/C. He also installed a programmable thermostat and explained how it works it so I could figure out the appropriate temperatures given the new equipment and adjust the programming as needed. The work was completed on a timely basis and Micah cleaned up thoroughly after he was finished. He assured me that he would come out before the hot weather started to recheck the A/C and make sure that it would serve me well. I have used A Adkins for at least 20 years for my HVAC needs and will certainly continue to do so.

Description of Work
Replaced old furnace and air conditioning units, installed new humidifier and programmable thermostat

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

10/22/2013


lauri I.

Two visits. First to find and fix HVAC leak which Mikah did quickly and accurately. He was extremely neat and very courteous. He was back today to check his work to be certain the problem was fixed... and it was. Once again, Mikah was extremely courteous and very professional. He arrived exactly at the specified time. Although I hadn't requested a winter heat check until he arrived, he was more than happy to take care of it. I will definitely call Mikah when I need Heat and/or AC work.

Description of Work
Fixed HVAC leak and performed winter heating check

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

06/25/2013


Thomas D.

Asked for bid to install a specific Goodman system (DSZC18)...a top-of-the-line package we researched ourselves that 2 other family members also have had installed in their homes. A-Adkins Air Conditioning and Heating provided a very reasonable quote and recommended a higher quality Honeywell programmable thermostat, which works very well and was only slightly more than a Goodman thermostat. Installation was quick, unit has performed as advertised and total cost was just as originally quoted. We recommend A-Adkins Air Conditioning and Heating to anyone looking for an HVAC contractor that isn't trying to push a gold-plated, overrated system. The company is professional, does what it says it will and is not at all pushy. We would use them again.

Description of Work
Installed new Goodman 18-SEER heatpump (DSZC18)and removed and disposed of a 15-year-old Ruud old unit.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

10/04/2012


CATHERINE R.

It's a family-owned business and small company, so you know the technicians. They are professional, polite, and skilled. They've always been prompt and their prices are reasonable.

Description of Work
We've worked with them for about 20 years for heating and air conditioning services, including replacing systems. They come out twice a year: in the spring & fall.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

04/03/2012


Terrill B.

We have used them for years and years, and they do a very good job. The experience has been great, and they have always been very responsive.

Description of Work
We use A. Adkins Air Conditioning & Heating for our heating and A/C. We have them come over every fall and spring, to get ready for winter and to get ready for summer. They have a special spring and fall tune up where they come and clean everything out. Last year they had to come out and change the outdoor condensing unit, they made a recommendation on what they thought the best one was, and that they could get parts for. They came in and did it in just the time we needed.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

07/12/2010


S S.

I called at 8:30 a.m. reporting that my air conditioner had stopped cooling. They said they could send a technician out the same morning and that he would call when he was on his way. The technician called 20 minutes later and said that he was on his way, but that traffic might take him half an hour or more. He apologized for the traffic when he got here at just before 10, then set to work. He initially diagnosed a problem with the control from the thermostat, but replacing that did not solve the problem. He realized that he was getting power on the 24-volt circuit to the controller only sporadically, so checked the entire line until he found a loose connection inside the inside furnace/blower. After he fixed that, I asked him to check the refrigerant level (which was fine) and to verify that the unit was cooling by checking the temperature of the air from the register. It was fine. All in all an excellent experience.

Description of Work
Repaired air conditioner on short notice. Micah originally thought the problem was a faulty thermostatic connector (a $165 item), but found that the problem was a loose connection in the inside unit. Charged only for a service call, $85.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

10/24/2008


Stephen and Kathleen L.

Provided installation at stated time and completed job within 5 hours. Clean-up was thorough and complete.

Description of Work
Work included replacement of 20 year old HVAC system with new SEER 14 A/C and new gas furnace. Provided an estimate at time promised. Answered all questions pertaining to price, but could have used a more formal quote format. Modified quote as requested to match others obtained.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

08/06/2007


Laurelie W.

I was very pleased with the service of A-Adkins Heating and Air Conditioning from the courteous manner of Shirley, the receptionist, to the expertise and efficient manner of Patrick, the technician, and his assistant, Micah. Patrick and Micah arrived on time, got right to work, and completed the installation of the two systems in one day. One of the units that had to be replaced was in a cramped space in my attic. It was not an easy job to perform especially in mid-summer, but they did an outstanding job. Patrick even came out the next morning to check over the systems to be sure everything was working properly. I also felt that the price I paid was fair and it did not deviate from the estimate I was given.

Description of Work
I called A-Adkins Heating & Air Conditioning after receiving a confusing report from 3 technicians from a different company. Patrick evaluated my heating and air conditioning systems and explained to me in language I could understand what work needed to be done and why. He replaced two of my three heating and air conditioning systems and serviced the third unit that did not have to be replaced at this time.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

    Other local Pros in your area

    McCarthy Services

    For fast and exceptional service for all of your heating, cooling or plumbing needs, call us now: 866-853-6081. McCarthy Services is a full service heating, cooling and plumbing company located in Alexandria, Virginia. We have been providing top quality services to residents in the Northern Virginia and Washington DC Metro area for over 20 years. Accredited by the Better Business Bureau, McCarthy Service has grown to become an industry leading provider of plumbing, heating and air conditioning repair and replacement services. With convenient scheduling, emergency service, and expert technicians, we strive to provide the best service we can. From the moment you contact us, you’ll notice the difference. Our areas of specialty include: Heating System Repairs and Replacements Cooling System Repairs and Replacements HVAC Preventive Maintenance Plans Drain Line and Sewer Line Repair and Installation Home Plumbing Repair & Fixture Replacements Water Heater Repair and Replacements Much, much more! Our great service offerings and fantastic team can’t be the best there is without the best products on the market. That’s why we choose replacement parts and fixtures only from top quality manufacturers. We are also members of the Air Conditioning Contractors of America (ACCA). All of these things come together to make McCarthy YOUR choice for heating, cooling and plumbing repair in Northern Virginia and the Washington DC Metro area. License # 2705 142947A  

    Indoor Air Quality Medics

    We are a total home comfort services company that can handle everything from heating and air conditioning to duct cleaning and insulation. Our healthy home comfort specialists have the knowledge and skills to provide thorough service for every inspection, repair, or replacement of your home's heating, air conditioning, water heating, and indoor air quality systems. We pride ourselves in building a relationship with you, as the difference between a good company and an excellent company is the SERVICE provided, including long after the first call. With over 20 years experience and workmanship that is second to none, we are confident that we will keep your home comfortable and the air you breathe clean at all times!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Indoor Air Quality Medics on Angi
    McCrea Heating & Air Conditioning Services of VA

    McCrea is a family owned business that has served our area since 1936. Financing and rebates are available on Trane systems installed by McCrea. Resistrictions apply and these are limited time offers call for details. "Its hard to stop a Trane"  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Air conditioners sales and installation, heat pumps, gas furnaces and boilers & specializing in oil heat.

    Services Not Offered

    Air duct cleaning.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about A-Adkins Air Conditioning & Heating

    How is A-Adkins Air Conditioning & Heating overall rated?

    A-Adkins Air Conditioning & Heating is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What payment options does A-Adkins Air Conditioning & Heating provide

    A-Adkins Air Conditioning & Heating accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available

    Does A-Adkins Air Conditioning & Heating offer free estimates?

    Yes, A-Adkins Air Conditioning & Heating offers free project estimates.

    Does A-Adkins Air Conditioning & Heating offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, A-Adkins Air Conditioning & Heating does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does A-Adkins Air Conditioning & Heating offer a senior discount?

    No, A-Adkins Air Conditioning & Heating does not offer a senior discount.

    Does A-Adkins Air Conditioning & Heating offer emergency services?

    Yes, A-Adkins Air Conditioning & Heating offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by A-Adkins Air Conditioning & Heating?

    Yes, A-Adkins Air Conditioning & Heating offers warranties.

    What services does A-Adkins Air Conditioning & Heating offer?

    A-Adkins Air Conditioning & Heating offers the following services: Air conditioners sales and installation, heat pumps, gas furnaces and boilers & specializing in oil heat.

    Are there any services A-Adkins Air Conditioning & Heating does not offer?

    Air duct cleaning.