Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Kefficient

Founded 2017 • With Angi since February 2018

5.0

(40) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

13509 E Boundary Rd Ste G

Midlothian, VA 23112

Description

Kefficient is an experienced Crawl Space Repair and Waterproofing company serving homeowners in the greater metro Richmond area. We are a family owned and operated company, and we pride ourselves on the quality of our service and our commitment to our customers. We use only the best quality

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

10/05/2020


Dee H.

Daniel was the guy who came. He was very nice as well. He was very professional and very respectful. He went straight to the point. Gave me options. They also let me know that they have a financial institution within their company in case I want to pay in portions (12 months with no interest). I am interested in doing the work with them.

Description of Work
I requested an estimation for a blow-in insulation.

Category insulation

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review!
5.0

09/03/2020


Joan C.

Mark and his team were fantastic. We had been living with a moldy basement for too long and weren't sure how to best address it. Mark came up with a comprehensive plan that involved installing sump bumps and water barriers. He also helped us find a good carpenter to replace our moldy drywall. This was a year ago and we have had absolutely no problem during the rainy downfalls we've had this summer. The price was reasonable and actually came in a little less than was originally quoted. Before hiring Keffient, I read a review that described Mark as absolutely the best contract they have ever dealt with. I would agree.

Description of Work
Basement waterproofing

Category basement waterproofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed]!
5.0

07/15/2020


Angela K.

Mark and his team are great. We had a lot of water and mold in our crawl space. Mark gave us several options for resolution and didn't try to over sell. He was prompt and very responsive. I would definitely recommend him if you need inspections or work done.

Description of Work
Crawl space repair and pump installation

Category insulation, basement waterproofing, mold removal

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much.
5.0

12/12/2019


David C.

Mark and his whole team did a fantastic job from start to finish — problem solving, estimating, demo, engineering and installation. Can’t say enough great things! I was especially impressed with Mark’s communication skills. In person, over the phone and text / email, he was patient, humble, intelligent and honest. He never over sold or undersold. He managed his team very well and only brought people on the job who shared his values and standards.

Description of Work
waterproof basement

Category basement waterproofing

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], we really enjoyed working with you on this project. Really enjoyed our conversations as well. Thank you for your review
5.0

12/06/2019


brian C.

After I reviewed on line information regarding mold removal and crawl space encapsulation, I began looking for a contractor that would perform the necessary steps to remediate my crawl space. After obtaining several quotes and researching the various companies involved in crawl space mold issues, I selected Kefficient. The major reasons for selecting Kefficient was that I found that the owner, Mark Keffer, was very knowledgeable about mold removal and encapsulation and followed Chesterfield County requirements in permitting, removal of all mold contaminated insulation between floor joists, treatment of mold with a chemical agent which effectively destroys it, cleaning of all areas where mold has grown to remove any remaining spores, sealing the crawlspace vents, encapsulating and insulating the crawlspace, and installing a permanent dehumidifier with an in home monitoring device to ensure moisture levels remained within acceptable limits. His company did an excellent job during this process and kept me informed along every step of the way. After completion, the job was inspected by a Chesterfield County inspector and passed all requirements. Mr. Keffer's attention to permitting requirements is of especial notice as some companies are offering encapsulation without meeting those requirements. Another factor which I considered was that Kefficient was very price competitive with other vendors. I would highly recommend this company for assistance in resolving moisture or mold issues in your home!

Description of Work
Crawlspace encapsulation and mold removal

Category insulation, mold removal

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your kind words. We greatly appreciate your business.
5.0

11/27/2019


Ashontae L.

Mark and his team did an amazing job from start to finish! Mark was so pleasant to talk to and work with. He went out of his way to ensure my satisfaction and I greatly appreciated that. I would recommend Kefficient every time!!

Description of Work
Basement waterproofing

Category basement waterproofing, mold removal

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for your kind comments. We enjoyed working with you on this project. Happy Thanksgiving.
5.0

11/20/2019


Kaitlan L.

Mark was very friendly and helpful when I called to get a quote. He let me know when his team would be available upfront and notified me a week before with an exact date. I was working from home the day of service, and his crew introduced themselves and explained what they would be doing. When they finished, Mark personally checked their work and let me know they were all done. They were courteous, professional, and efficient. I also liked their online invoice system- made it easy for me to pay them for the job.

Description of Work
Installed insulation in crawl space (between floor joists). No previous insulation had to be removed. Approx. 900-1000 sq ft

Category insulation

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for choosing Kefficient.
5.0

10/30/2019


Michael B.

The job was performed as described.

Description of Work
Crawl Space Encapsulation

Category insulation

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much.
5.0

10/30/2019


Connee E.

The workers were extremely polite, on time, and did quality work. Working with Mark was easy and he explained everything to us in detail as well as answer all questions we had. Since having Kefficient encapsulate our crawlspace, our electric bill has dropped about $100 per month! I would highly recommend this company!

Description of Work
Mold treatment and encapsulation

Category basement waterproofing, mold removal

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review.
5.0

09/06/2019


Nathan B.

My wife and I have used kefficient before when we were having issues with our basement. They did an awesome job for us before, so when we decided to encapsulate our crawl space we knew exactly who to use. They came out and once again were fast, professional, and did an amazing job encapsulating. Our house and air quality feel so much better now. Thank you again! Hopefully we wont need any more services for a while but if we do, we know who to call!

Description of Work
Crawl space encapsulation

Category insulation, basement waterproofing, mold removal

Service Provider Response

Thank you for choosing Kefficient. We greatly appreciate your business.
5.0

08/27/2019


Dan C.

Mark and his team did a great job! Mark communicated constantly and clearly throughout the job and Mark consulted during the work to make sure things were done as discussed. He followed up after the job was completed to answer any questions and make sure I was satisfied. Hi team was very professional, knowledgable and hard working and left things very neat and clean when done each day. Work was performed in a very timely manner and as promised. Would definitely recommend Kefficient without hesitation.

Description of Work
basement wall waterproofing and sump pump install

Category basement waterproofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for choosing Kefficient. We enjoyed working with you.
5.0

07/09/2019


Achim A.

We awarded Kefficient the job of encapsulating our crawl space after obtaining a total of 4 competitive offers. We chose Kefficient because we had the impression they would do the most thorough job and follow all building codes (including permitting). In addition, the work scope they proposed followed all the steps we researched to be best practice. None of their competitors we considered displayed this level of thoroughness or adherence to codes and best practices. We were not disappointed with Kefficient project's execution! Workmanship was excellent. The crew would not quit until all of our wishes were satisfied - some of them were not even related to the project itself but Kefficient completed them anyways. Another strong point of this company is communication. We were always very aware of the project status and the steps the crew was taking. And finally, Kefficient built a relationship with us that was built on trust and honesty. We will hire them again should we have a need and do not hesitate to recommend them to family and friends!

Description of Work
Crawl space encapsulation

Category basement waterproofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for choosing Kefficient.
5.0

07/04/2019


Achim A.

After obtaining 4 competitive quotes to encapsulate our crawl space, we decided to award the job to Kefficient and we could not have been more pleased with their work. Unlike their competitors, Kefficient's work proposal included all items we researched as being best practice such as for example drying out the crawl space before mold remediation. Kefficient also ensured that their work is permitted with the county, which is a great assurance that the encapsulation work is done right and will positively impact property value should we ever have to sell our house. Kefficient communicated very well with us and all personnel was professional and polite. They would not close the project before we were completely satisfied and even addressed a problem that was outside of the work scope without charging extra. We were probably more involved than the average homeowner in the encapsulation project and accompanied the crew on numerous occasions in crawl space tours to ask questions related and unrelated to the encapsulation project. The crew discussed and advised us on all questions and made sure all our concerns were addressed. Overall, the project was executed flawlessly with premium materials and an extremely high degree of craftsmanship that we are 100% confident their three competitors we obtained quotes from could not have matched.

Description of Work
Crawl space encapsulation

Category basement waterproofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your business.
5.0

06/08/2019


RONALD M.

Mark and his crew are one of the most professional contractors I have worked with over the years, and I have worked with many over my own professional life in commercial and industrial facilities maintenance, so i'm well versed in what it takes to hire contractors and ensuring that a job is done on time, in budget and with professional results. They are very professional in their work in all ways, everything about this company is spot on, everyone is very professional in demeanor and character, they are diligent about doing the job professionally and the end results are top notch, as we used to say when I myself was a contractor, "they do pretty work" everything about my project when smoothly and efficiently, and the humidity in my crawl space is being controlled within +/- 1% of set point, and maintains set point with minimum operation of the dehumidifier, most excellent. I highly recommend them with no reservations.

Description of Work
Crawl Space encapsulation

Category basement waterproofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind comments. We enjoyed working with you on your project.
5.0

06/04/2019


M R.

Work was performed under unrealistic time constraints with confidence and hard work. Mark is communicative and tech savvy making billing and other tasks easier to deal with than most. Did what they said for the price they said. What more do you need?

Description of Work
Crawlspace water and mold remediation. Vapor barrier and insulation replacement

Category insulation, basement waterproofing, mold removal

Service Provider Response

Thank you for choosing Kefficient.
5.0

05/21/2019


Floyd Y.

I usually don’t write reviews, but this company exceeds expectations. When you spend your hard-earned money, you expect a quality product in return and you actually get it with Kefficient. For a service that is not as noticeable everyday as a shiny new kitchen no one is excited about spending the money on a crawlspace however we could not be more pleased with the results. I only wished I had done it sooner. We interviewed 8 other companies and spent a great deal of time researching mold remediation and encapsulation. We learned a lot during this process and met a lot of nice people. The main takeaway I can offer is not all mold remediation services are the same. Only 3 of the companies we interviewed killed the mold and physically removed it in a safe manner. Mold that is sprayed or fogged to kill it but left in place is still an ‘allergen' (that now is covered in chemicals) that can become airborne and produce adverse health effects. It is still considered a contaminated environment by the IICRC S520 Standard and Reference Guide for Professional Mold Remediation. Their mold remediation is just the beginning but an all-important step for optimal, healthy indoor air quality. I cannot say enough about their crews. They were polite and friendly. They keep you informed every step of the process. You can easily reach the owner using text, phone or email in a timely manner during the entire project. They use the highest quality products. For example, the crawlspace door is an actual rot proof, custom made door with jambs, a sill and weather-stripping. The attention to detail on the whole project is very impressive. You won’t be disappointed using Kefficient. At a minimum, have Mark come out for the education and a litmus test for the other companies.

Description of Work
Mold Remediation and Crawl Space Encapsulation

Category insulation, basement waterproofing, mold removal

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for your business, and taking time to leave us a review. We enjoyed working with you on this project.
5.0

05/09/2019


Robert M.

EXCELLENT !!! Not only was Kefficient the cheapest they did an excellent job. The owner was very professional and experienced and fully explained the whole process and secured all the permits required. The inspection went off without any issues and said that they did an excellent job.

Description of Work
Encapsulation and mold remediation

Category basement waterproofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much!
5.0

04/26/2019


Matt C.

Mark and his TEAM did an excellent and thorough job encapsulating our crawl space and installing the dehumidifier. They did not speed through the process and explained each phase of the progress. We had several questions about the process and benefits of encapsulation and they all took their time explaining in detail. I would highly recommend them!!

Description of Work
Crawl Space Encapsulation

Category basement waterproofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for choosing Kefficient, and taking the time to leave us a review.
5.0

04/17/2019


Nita S.

Kefficient Company installed a drainage system in my basement this March. Mark Keffer in a week's time changed my basement from a damp place where water invaded at every storm into a dry area with water going away from house! Mark is a a compassionate professional worker who explained the project to me. Mark and Tyler did everything they could to protect the rest of my home from dust and dirt. My downstairs is now a warm, comfortable area that is dry and protected from rain and storms. I highly recommend Kefficient to do water drainage work. This is an extremely ethical company that does excellent affordable work.

Description of Work
Drainage system for basement

Category basement waterproofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for choosing Kefficient and taking the time to leave us a fantastic review.
5.0

03/18/2019


stan S.

I had the privilege of working side by side with Mark and Tyler in my crawl space as they did the encapsulation and I absolutely could not have had a better group of professionals do my encapsulation than Kefficient. These gentlemen told me exactly what would take place and how long it would take and would do anything asked of them. The materials used were of high grade 16 mil liner and had my new crawl door made of vinyl. These guys were contractors I met on a job I was doing but they are my best friends for life. Literally, friends for life!! I can't say enough about Mark and Tyler and Kefficient. You cannot go wrong by getting your encapsulation and or mold remediation done by these gentlemen. I forgot to mention not only did I get the typical crawl mold taken care of but I also got them to spray my floor joists to seal as well. Kefficient is by far the best company to hire that works to make your home a safe home to live in. Protect your quality of life in your home by calling the team of Kefficient.

Description of Work
Crawlspace Encapsulation

Category basement waterproofing, mold removal

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for choosing Kefficient.
5.0

02/23/2019


Carrie B.

Mark Keffer is consistently knowledgeable, thorough, professional and kind. When I requested additional measures beyond what we had originally set in the contract, he added them into the project without increasing the price. He even created a sealed entrance on one of the bedrooms so I could have a room to clean my sister's possessions. He was always gracious and helpful and kept me informed through the entire process. I could not have asked for a better experience.

Description of Work
My sister's home required complete mold remediation after she became ill. Mark Keffer and his assistant Tyler cleaned every surface in the house from attic to basement, sealed the wood ceilings in attic and basement to prevent future mold growth, waterproofed and painted the basement, vacuumed insulation out of the attic, sealed holes leading from crawl spaces into the basement, and installed a whole house dehumidifier.

Category mold removal

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for your business.
5.0

02/06/2019


James H.

In early December 2018, I discovered mold in our crawlspace when replacing some fallen insulation. I called several mold remediation/encapsulation companies with Kefficient being one of them - based on their reviews on Angie's List. Mark (the owner of the company) called me back almost immediately, asked some follow-up questions to get an idea of the scope of the project, then set up an appointment later that week to do a full inspection of the crawlspace. He ended up coming out on a Sunday to do the inspection. After completing that, he came inside and discussed what he had found, the best way to remove the mold, prevent its recurrence, and encapsulate the crawlspace. Mark took a great deal of time to explain every step of what he was going to do and why he was going to do things in a particular way, answering all of our questions, and never tried to "make the sale" as some companies do. Both me and my wife very much appreciated his approach and that there was absolutely no pressure to sign a contract with him. On a side note, we had been burned by a contractor years before on adding a screened porch. As a result, my wife in particular is very hesitant to hire anyone do work on the house. The fact that she was ready to hire Kefficient after that initial meeting speaks volumes to Mark's genuine and honest approach. The next day, Mark emailed his proposal to me. I emailed him several times with additional questions and he responded to all of them very promptly. But before signing the contract, I asked to meet with him once more with some additional questions and he was more than happy to oblige. He must have spent easily another hour with us that second time. And even after signing the contract, when I would email Mark with additional questions that came to mind as I did further research on crawlspace encapsulation, he was always very quick to respond with the information I had asked for - from material specs to building code requirements. Mark was able to begin the project earlier than anticipated. It started with sealing the crawlspace vents and installing a temporary dehumidifier to dry out all of the joists and beams prior to mold removal. He came by a couple of times to check on the progress to make sure that the humidity was low enough to make the mold removal effective. Once it was, he and his partner removed all of the insulation between the floor joists, fogged the crawlspace with mold killer, then cleaned all of the exposed wood. Just that alone made a huge difference. They then sealed all of the exterior penetrations with expanding foam, attached foam board insulation around the entire perimeter, installed new fiberglass insulation in the joist spaces along the sill, sealed all of the subfloor penetrations, removed the old crawlspace liner, wrapped all of the piers, installed the new 16mil vapor barrier, installed a permanent dehumidifier, and replaced both access doors/frames with new ones made from pressure treated wood that are insulated as well. Once they began, most of the work was done within about 5 days. However, due to weather delays beyond their control - rain, snow, freezing temperatures - it was January after all, they were not able to install the new access doors until a few days after that. But during the entire time they were working, Mark would update me via email or text on the progress of the job and the timeline of what was left to be done. Mark was exceptional on this point. At no time did I ever wonder about what was being done or when the remaining tasks would be completed. The finished product looks amazing! Kefficient did a fantastic job removing the mold and encapsulating the crawlspace. And the attention to detail throughout it all was impressive. Mark made sure that everything was done right and done well. He's even touched base a month later to see if I had any new questions or concerns (not a single one). If only every contractor worked the way that Mark and Kefficient does!! I would absolutely recommend Kefficient to anyone that needed this type of work done.

Description of Work
Crawlspace mold remediation & encapsulation

Category insulation, basement waterproofing, mold removal

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for your kind comments. It was a pleasure to work on your project.
5.0

11/20/2018


Lori H.

Mark & his team did an excellent job! They showed up when they said they would, they texted us pictures of their progress under the house and were very knowledgeable and courteous. They worked hard to get everything done to our satisfaction.

Description of Work
crawl space encapsulation, mold treatment, insulation removal

Category insulation, mold removal

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much. We greatly appreciate your business.
5.0

11/04/2018


Stephen C.

The entire project went as planned. Mark Keffer and his crew kept me informed throughout the project.

Description of Work
Encapsulation of crawl space

Category basement waterproofing

Service Provider Response

We enjoyed working with you on your project. Thank you!
5.0

11/01/2018


Cheri F.

Mark and his team are clean, quiet, and their work is beyond professional. It was like having a family member do the work for us. Such a great company!

Description of Work
Mold treatment in crawlspace

Category insulation, basement waterproofing, mold removal

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much.

    Other local Pros in your area

    VANCE INSULATION INC

    Vance Insulation is a local family owned and operated business in central Virginia that has been around since 1960. Our installers have over 30 years of experience on average and are trained and certified in Building Science Principals through the Building Performance Institute Inc. We offer common sense solutions for making your home more energy efficient. We are also certified in Environmental Mold Remediation, and are certified in Crawl Space Moisture Control/Management. We provide many insulation upgrades to residential homes including fiberglass, cellulose, and Closed Cell Foam. Jeff and Robbie Vance, with over 25 years of experience, will help you find the best solutions for your home at an affordable price.  

    Angi Certified

    Michael & Son Svc Inc

    Michael & Son is family owned & operated and has been servicing the Virginia, Maryland and Washington DC area for over 30 years. We take great pride in providing our customers with the highest quality plumbing services. Our professional and courteous staff are here to help you with whatever projects you need to get done.  

    Angi Certified

    JES Foundation Repair

    JES Foundation Repair, founded in 1993, is a subsidiary of Groundworks: a family of companies that provides engineered solutions for foundation repair, underpinning, crawl space encapsulation and moisture management, concrete lifting and leveling services, and basement waterproofing. The JES brand has grown to become a professional team of over 450 repair experts providing over 70,000 engineered solutions for residential and commercial properties across Virginia, Maryland and beyond. They currently maintain offices in Appomattox, Baltimore, Chester, Manassas, Roanoke, and Virginia Beach. JES is a recognized accredited member of the Better Business Bureau and devotes its years of experience, industry knowledge and specialized training to help customers protect their homes and commercial buildings from water damage, concrete sinking, and foundation failure.  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Business Highlights

    Veteran Owned & OperatedVeteran Owned & Operated
    Se Habla EspañolSe Habla Español
    Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    2705163415
    Trade License Locale
    Virginia
    Trade License Authority
    Virginia: Contractors
    Trade License Expiration
    02/28/2023
    Bonded
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available, Check
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Kefficient

    How is Kefficient overall rated?

    Kefficient is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Kefficient open?

    Kefficient is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Kefficient provide

    Kefficient accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available, Check

    Does Kefficient offer free estimates?

    Yes, Kefficient offers free project estimates.

    Does Kefficient offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Kefficient does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Kefficient offer a senior discount?

    Yes, Kefficient offers a 5% senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Kefficient?

    Yes, Kefficient offers warranties.